Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ill show you my healthy snacks, if you show me yours.

• 16-05-2010 6:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭

Hey I was wondering what good ideas people have for healthy snacks, here are some of mine.

smoothie - i get the frozen mixed berries from aldi (the summer mix is the best) for 2 euro for a big bag mix it with a bananna and some orange juice, natural joghurt and a few oats

natural joghurt and fruit
    - the dunnes one is only 56 cents and is real nice, i have one of those grater things that are also a container and usually grate an apple and mix it with the joghurt, it's real tasty.

oatcakes and cottage cheese
    with bit of cinnamon on top, i get the cottage cheese from lidl, it's only about 55 cents.

wholemeal and fruit scones, these are suprisingly tasty and use natural joghurt instead of butter - http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/database/wholemealyoghurtandf_1982.shtml
    I use half the sugar it says on that recipe. They are mad cheap to make and can be frozen no bother

granola bars - This is a real good recipe that i use all the time, you can freeze them as well and they are real handy. You are getting a load of seeds, nuts and fruit in your diet that would be hard to get otherwise - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/magazine/2009/0314/1224242556081.html

dried fruit - i usualy have cranberries ( the ones from tesco have apple juice mixed instead of sugar which most usually have) . Think they are 1.29 for 100 grammes. Dried mango as well is really very nice, although very expensive at 3.50 euro for 130 grammes. Both taste like sweets.

cashews - i get unsalteed ones from dunnes in the bakery section, they are often 3 for the price of 2 at 1 euro 50 for 100 grammes, so 3 euro for 300 grammes is grand.

home made popcorn
    - You only need to add a little oil, i season it with a little salt and spray vineger, i think it's lovely altough my gf thinks its rotten.

Raw carrot - I chop up some carrots and leave them in the fridge for a snack and eat them just on there own, and find them really addicitve, my gf has them with homous.

plus fruit, i usually have a bananna a day, i sometimes have sweetcorn on its own as well with a bit of salt and butter.

What are yours people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

you have most of mine covered there (except the raw carrot and dried fruit) .. if im at home id add tins of tuna and frozen prawns to that list.. apples and more apples..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 CK75

you have given me some great ideas there. How about the pollack fillets from lidl (frozen) drizzle with lemon juice, a little olive oil, freshly ground black pepper and a splash of white wine. chop up some red pepper, courgette and any other veg you have in the fridge, wrap it all up loosely in foil and bake in the oven for 20 mins - lovely

also a smoothie made from a ripe small banana (the kids ones from lidl are great) probiotic yogurt (lidl one is the best) some frozen berries (aldi) and a splash of orange juice - its great and not too sweet.

and good old fashioned porrige - lidl one is very good about 40 cent a bag!

pasta, boil it and add some chopped garlic and tomato puree, some ham cubes (aldi) and a little grated cheese on top, serve with tossed green salad

home-made vegetable soup is great, add anything you like to that! great with Mc Cambridge brown bread and some mature cheddar!

thanks for your great ideas - I hope I have helped you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭MissRibena

thanks for these suggestions sillysausage!
    You've covered most of mine too, except for I'm partial to the odd olive as well and have Dark Rye Ryvitas for emegencies too.

But I really need help with the scones. I thought they sounded fab as I'm a bit partial to scones at work. I've never made any til today but I must be daft because I made a batch that were flatter after baking than when they went in, so googled what might be wrong and decided to be much lighter rubbing in and mixing and cut quickly without twisting and leave them a bit thicker. I also used a smaller cutter to make sure there was space around each one to rise. But still no joy :(

I specifically bought Shamrock bread soda, demerara sugar, Howard's wholemeal flour.

Oh and I used butter instead of marg cos I had it at home and thought it would be ok. I used Glenisk low fat yoghurt on one batch and Aldi Probiotic one on the other. My cutter is crinkle, not plain like the recipe said.

Does anyone know what's going wrong? Surely it is something silly I am doing because loads of people make scones without making a hames of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Cashew butter on Oatcakes for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

MissRibena wrote: »
    thanks for these suggestions sillysausage!
    You've covered most of mine too, except for I'm partial to the odd olive as well and have Dark Rye Ryvitas for emegencies too.

But I really need help with the scones. I thought they sounded fab as I'm a bit partial to scones at work. I've never made any til today but I must be daft because I made a batch that were flatter after baking than when they went in, so googled what might be wrong and decided to be much lighter rubbing in and mixing and cut quickly without twisting and leave them a bit thicker. I also used a smaller cutter to make sure there was space around each one to rise. But still no joy :(

I specifically bought Shamrock bread soda, demerara sugar, Howard's wholemeal flour.

Oh and I used butter instead of marg cos I had it at home and thought it would be ok. I used Glenisk low fat yoghurt on one batch and Aldi Probiotic one on the other. My cutter is crinkle, not plain like the recipe said.

Does anyone know what's going wrong? Surely it is something silly I am doing because loads of people make scones without making a hames of it!

You might get more answers on the Cooking and Recipes forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Lornen

Baked Beans I add some Cayenne pepper and freshly ground black pepper. They are absolutely lovely.
    Falafel with Wheat Pitta I add some hot sauce and bake the falafel instead of frying it.
    Natural yogurt with raspberries I just grab a handful and crush them into the yogurt.
    Bran Flakes with Low Fat Milk I add a touch of cinnamon and it brings them to life. Lovely snack.
    Tayto's Salt and Vinegar Velvet Crunch If I am on the go! Probably should stay away from the crisps but only 81 cals a bag so they aren't the worst thing in the world and far better than tucking into a bag of Hunky Dory's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lornen wrote: »
    Baked Beans I add some Cayenne pepper and freshly ground black pepper. They are absolutely lovely.

Bran Flakes with Low Fat Milk I add a touch of cinnamon and it brings them to life. Lovely snack.
    Tayto's Salt and Vinegar Velvet Crunch If I am on the go! Probably should stay away from the crisps but only 81 cals a bag so they aren't the worst thing in the world and far better than tucking into a bag of Hunky Dory's!
    Some worry about the sugar content of beans. You can strain off the sauce and add your own tomato sauce with no sugar, I like the chilli idea, I add curry powder to mine.

Bran flakes are 22% sugar, marketed in such a way that very few people would guess it -always read the packs!

Those crisps are probably around the same fat/kcal per 100g as hunky dorys, just smaller portions -but this does help many people. In the WW threads people rave about snacks being "low in points", when really most are just "low in grams" and usually overpriced.

rubadub wrote: »
    Some worry about the sugar content of beans. You can strain off the sauce and add your own tomato sauce with no sugar, I like the chilli idea, I add curry powder to mine.

Bran flakes are 22% sugar, marketed in such a way that very few people would guess it -always read the packs!

Those crisps are probably around the same fat/kcal per 100g as hunky dorys, just smaller portions -but this does help many people. In the WW threads people rave about snacks being "low in points", when really most are just "low in grams" and usually overpriced.

Looks like my healthy snacks aren't so healthy!
    When I eat my beans I sieve the tomatoe sauce after they're cooked, I don't really like the amount they give.
    Are All Bran as high in sugar as Bran Flakes? I'm usually prone to wanting something sweet, and when I grab a bowl of Bran flakes it's usually to try and stop myself grabbing a bar of chocolate. I guess that explains why I don't want one after a bowl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

good idea for a thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

make my own muslie

35% oat bran
    35% oat flakes
    10% Aldi seed and fruit mix
    10% Aldi nut mix
    10% Aldi ground flax see
    Table spoon of lecithin granuales
    Tea spoon of honey
    Hot or cold fresh soy milk

Very filling but be sure to have lots of fluids too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

Apple slices with nut butter, yum yum

Also natural yoghurt (or soya yoghurt) with trail mix stirred through

And Finncrisp rye thins with guacamole or hummous

This thread makes me hungry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Iristxo

Some worry about the sugar content of beans. You can strain off the sauce and add your own tomato sauce with no sugar

For that matter you could just cook the beans and add the tomato sauce instead of buying the cans? They have beans in the health shops

Iristxo wrote: »
    For that matter you could just cook the beans and add the tomato sauce instead of buying the cans? They have beans in the health shops
    Yes, though they can be very expensive in health shops. Due to economies of scale and probably below cost selling you can get tins of own brand regular baked beans for next to nothing, the sauce us usually not great so no harm ditching it. I open the lid a little and decant the sauce off holding the beans in with the lid, then pour water in and shake them. Red kidney beans can be got in supermarkets cheaply with no added sauces, I use them to bulk out stuff like chicken curry, and of course chilli with mince. Chick peas are good too, some asian & esp. indian shops can have massive tins of chick peas which are far cheaper than supermarkets.
    good idea for a thread
    Check out this one in the fitness forum too, not necessarily low calorie as many are lifting weights and trying to cram in calories.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055573795

I'm 5'5 and 8st 5 so I wasn't aware that such a large precaution should be taken when I was having a small snack.. I strain off practically all of the sauce when I am done cooking the beans and I season the beans afterwards. Also beans are relatively cheap to buy in a can and I don't know if I could be bothered buying the ingredients separately considering I am not in fear of gaining any weight and exercise and eat well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

Homemade baked beans are awesome I make them all the time with loads of chili! White or haricot beans are really cheap to buy dried and cook very quickly, you can add a tsp of bicarbonate to speed it up. Tesco do cheap tinned white beans now too. I make big batchs and eat it over a few days.

I wasn't aware that such a large precaution should be taken when I was having a small snack.
    Ahh its not that bad, better than biscuits!

It is just a warning to be aware and read all packets etc, many people believe the ads which market stuff as healthy. Or else they find stuff quite bland and presume it must be OK because of this, the mentality "if it tastes good it must be bad for me", and vice versa. People will find bran flakes bland enough but they are loaded with sugar. Cream crackers are little better than regular biscuits. Supernoodles are terrible! a single regular pack can be over 600kcal, total waste! I remember a guy in work said he was dieting and was easily eating over 1000kcal for lunch, the other lads though he was not eating bad stuff either, he would have a full pack of supernoodles and fruit and a sandwich.

I used to eat up to 1000kcal of museli in the mornings, thats the other thing to watch, portion sizes on packets are miniscule, a scales is essential.

Oh ya and raw carrot with peanut butter is my snack of choice at the minute so good! Gonna try celery, peanut butter and raisins soon I noticed Kyle mentioned it whilst watching South Park the last day.

Ahh its not that bad, better than biscuits!

It is just a warning to be aware and read all packets etc, many people believe the ads which market stuff as healthy. Or else they find stuff quite bland and presume it must be OK because of this, the mentality "if it tastes good it must be bad for me", and vice versa. People will find bran flakes bland enough but they are loaded with sugar. Cream crackers are little better than regular biscuits. Supernoodles are terrible! a single regular pack can be over 600kcal, total waste! I remember a guy in work said he was dieting and was easily eating over 1000kcal for lunch, the other lads though he was not eating bad stuff either, he would have a full pack of supernoodles and fruit and a sandwich.

I used to eat up to 1000kcal of museli in the mornings, thats the other thing to watch, portion sizes on packets are miniscule, a scales is essential.

Oh trust me I know plenty about portion size. I use half a can of beans as a snack at a time and fridge the other half for the next day. Koka noodles only have 180 cals tops per personal container and although I don't eat them I know they are a DAMN sight better than Supernoodles! Those things are absolutely CRAZY calorie wise.
    Anyway, I hate the mentality that if it tastes bland/bad it must be good for you. I will admit I couldn't stand the sight of a bean before I started going to the gym and cycling, but one day I came home and all I wanted was some fish and some beans. Now I eat them quite often! I've also started eating plain almonds and it's amazing how lovely they are compared to most almond flavoured sweets/liquers which I can't stand. I'm eating more nuts/dried fruits but I know not to eat more than let's say 3 prune/dried apricots/figs with a palm sized serving of almonds for a snack, and I drink water with that also as you need to drink water when eating alot of dried fruits..

I think i'm doing alright though! And I think a few beans in a sugary tomato sauce won't be the downfall to me keeping fit but i'll give them a good rinse in future:P

Sapsorrow wrote: »
    Oh ya and raw carrot with peanut butter is my snack of choice at the minute so good! Gonna try celery, peanut butter and raisins soon I noticed Kyle mentioned it whilst watching South Park the last day.
    I always loved the idea of Ant On A Log, but I seem to gag anytime I try to eat celery! Crunchy, stringy, watery, aniseedy gross ness! D: Carrots and pb though? Never thought of that! I'd stick to homous though.That stuff is amazing.

Carrots and pb though? Never thought of that! I'd stick to homous though.That stuff is amazing.

Way better than hummous, just try it, trust me! ;)

Ant on a log thats so cute, could do ant on a log carrot style!

Yeah that's what the yanks call it! I went to an elementary school and they were all getting it in their lunchboxes. Was a tough one trying to be polite and swallow the chunk I was offered from a friend. The coveted lunchbox snack that it was!
    I will definitely try ants on a log with a carrot standing in as a celery substitute and get back to you with the verdict!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Half tin of baked beans, tin of tuna, some Dubliner red cheese. :eek: Oddly Godlike, I swear I'm addicted to it now. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Sounds yuck but I am seriously addicted - recipe from John Berardi's Precision Nutrition:

100g cottage cheese
    1/2 tbsp peanut butter
    1 tbsp ground flax
    1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

Apparently it's an excellent late night snack because you have low carbs, good fats, casein that helps repair your muscles and the flax makes the whole thing digest very slowly.

Tastes weird at first but now I love it.

What consistency and texture does this have? Sounds like a tongue tickler.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

What consistency and texture does this have? Sounds like a tongue tickler.
    Um...hard to describe :p A bit goopy. I had to try it a few times before I liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

I like to get an oatcake or ryvita and put on nice bit of peanut butter then top of with either mushrooms or tomato. id feck the tomato onto the georgre foremen grill and by the time im finished putting the peanut butter on the oatcake/ryvita its ready to be put on top.

Or melt some decent dark chocolate - i use vivani or tesco 85% or lindt 85% and then pour over again some oatcakes and let set. Nom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭alpha2010

okay this may of been asked before but what would be the best snack bar as in a cereal one or something, im finding it hard to get some because i like snacking especially cause im studying for exams, and it would be handy if i had some healthy bars or something

my dunnes has nothing, :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I am trying to eat a little healthier, but I am a major biscuit and chocolate fan so sometimes fruits and yogurts don't cut it. I remember seeing a recipe for a low fat flapjack type thing using porridge oats on TV, does anyone have any idea how you could make this without if being hard and dry as a rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Iristxo

I'm 5'5 and 8st 5 so I wasn't aware that such a large precaution should be taken when I was having a small snack.. I strain off practically all of the sauce when I am done cooking the beans and I season the beans afterwards. Also beans are relatively cheap to buy in a can and I don't know if I could be bothered buying the ingredients separately considering I am not in fear of gaining any weight and exercise and eat well.

No I was not saying that it is that bad I was just wondering what the point is in getting them cooked and straining the sauce, I would have thought for that matter it would be better just to cook them yourself but of course, I never thought of the price aspect of it, me never having bought them in cans ;) And also it is quicker of course, I can see that too.

I work from 11a.m til 7p.m and depending how busy the shop is I can be hours doing something and not fit in a snack/meal so when I get home they're a super quick snack that I thought was good for me. Panic stricken to say the least when everyone was bashing my baked beans out of a can! Ah they always put in too much sauce anyway, but for around 60c a can so 30 cent a portion I can't complain really about the price aspect :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

alpha2010 wrote: »
    okay this may of been asked before but what would be the best snack bar as in a cereal one or something, im finding it hard to get some because i like snacking especially cause im studying for exams, and it would be handy if i had some healthy bars or something

my dunnes has nothing, :(

I'd say bake your own flapjacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

Khannie wrote: »
    I'd say bake your own flapjacks.
    I am trying to eat a little healthier, but I am a major biscuit and chocolate fan so sometimes fruits and yogurts don't cut it. I remember seeing a recipe for a low fat flapjack type thing using porridge oats on TV, does anyone have any idea how you could make this without if being hard and dry as a rock!

Would love to hear your recipe Khannie!