The things you do for Love..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

You've melted this old cynics heart Cherryghost.

May you both be very happy together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

This is such a sweet thread. Took me ages to read but so worth it. Congrats to both of you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Just read the thread from start to finish.. sitting here with a big smile and tears in my eyes... Ah love...
    Well done and congratulations...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

This is just so rose-matic! Read this the whole way through, am bleary-eyed, what a lovely story - 'twould melt the heart of the the most cynical AHer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,318 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Congrats. You did what every warm blooded Irish man wishes he could. Bag himself a latino lady!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Fair play to you dude,cracking story which would touch anyone,best wishes to both of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 900 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

So I'm sitting here with a sore arm and a sore arse, because I got 7 vaccines to go to South America, to meet a woman whom I'm madly in love with.

We knew each other online for ages, and back in September bought a ticket to Buenos Aires on the spur. I only work part time, so I chucked the idea of getting a car, or moving to Dublin for the time being.

I regret nothing though :o

So just out of curiosity, what things have fellow boardsians done for love? <3
    I would do anything for love... but I won't do that...

Too many pages and someone probably beat me to it already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I moved to her country 1000 miles away and with minimal knowledge of the language. Then i came home, saved up again and went back. Didn't like the country but I loved her.

Then after i came home again (work issues) and in the space of 3 days, she changed her mind about the whole thing and dumped me just before my birthday :(

Then the lads got me polluted, made me piss myself laughing all evening and took me to see some boobs at a lapdancing club. Felt better from then on :)

Lesson learned. Love is bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭james098

good luck hope it goes well for yea :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Congrats OP! Lovely end to your story. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Teangalad

Brave man and a Brave woman, unreal ending to that story , many hearty congrats on the nuptials.Considering all the crap people having to deal with these days its great to see an ending like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Odio a los argentinos. Es una cosa mexicana.

But best of luck anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Someone told me about this thread yesterday, just read the whole thing now. I remember reading the OP back in May! Such a sweet story, congrats Cherryghost! Hope you have a very happy life together :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I remember reading the first page of this thread when it was posted up and thinking; I hope it all works out for ya man! I see it has, congratulations to both of you:)

That last wedding pic, your face shows it all...the look of a man who got exactly what he wanted, and couldnt care less! :)

Best of luck in the future.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Just seeing this thread now, all I can say is WOW!
    Thought you were mad when I read the OP, but have to say, I'm thrilled it worked out for you.
    Congrats on your marriage cherryghost and may ye live long and happy lives! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Best wishes. :)

I too went the online route, first trip to America in 2002 on me own after talking and chatting for a few years. Air traffic control was have trouble all over Europe, flights cancelled. I was in Heathrow and my flight went ahead. Fast forward, many trips to and from, many tears, visa stress and we are married for 7 years and happy living in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

More importantly the things you would not do for love ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

This gives me alot of hope for me and my OH whos going away for a year in June...

congrats man! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭msbusterpuss

Congratulations!!! Pics look great best thread ever!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Congrats cherryghost! The photos look great, happy for you both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Hahaha thats mental... what a great story! Best of luck to you both!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

So I'm sitting here with a sore arm and a sore arse, because I got 7 vaccines to go to South America, to meet a woman whom I'm madly in love with.

We knew each other online for ages, and back in September bought a ticket to Buenos Aires on the spur. I only work part time, so I chucked the idea of getting a car, or moving to Dublin for the time being.

I regret nothing though :o

So just out of curiosity, what things have fellow boardsians done for love? <3

I don't mean to put a dampener on this but how sure are you that she isn't some crazy Argentinian drug lord who's gonna bum you into oblivion?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

They are married, isn't that punishment enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I don't mean to put a dampener on this but how sure are you that she isn't some crazy Argentinian drug lord who's gonna bum you into oblivion?

A picture's worth a thousand words, did you not click?

I did, and bugger it, there before my eyes is true happiness.

Long may it last Mr and Mrs cherryghost.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

I really should full read the threads before posting.

Incredible story OP, congratulations and I hope you both have a very happy time together :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

It'd be class if there was something like boardiaz.arg or something and the bride had a massive thread on that! What would be said I wonder...

OP, fair play to you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 gubernaculum

ahhh so lovely :D remember the OP so delighted it worked out for you two! bride looked absolutely gorgeous, love her style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Just read the whole thread. Amazing story and I'm so happy for you both :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Fair play!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Wonderful story OP, congratulations to you both and enjoy Paris next month!