Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first ever post on boards.....

• 16-05-2010 12:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭

Hi all as the title suggests, and no cheating mind cos we can check (god bless the search function).

I thought mines was a stupid post about a photo i thought was brill at the time, i posted it up on the photo section and got slated, lol. Turns out they were all right, im now hooked on photography, anyways thats not what this thread is about...

My first ever post on boards was to ask for help RE connecting a laptop to a TV, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59112456&postcount=1 i know its not a great post but im sure there are some great first posts out there, bound to ne some noob posts and some crackingly whitty ones too, and post a link to the post/thread to please....

P.S. im sure you dont need telling but to find your first post click search, then advanced, put in your username where it asks to search by username, and select 1 month before your join date in the date range and select and before from the dropdown menu then....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

D'oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Without looking back to check, it was something to do
    with the floods in Galway. That's when i joined up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Can't find mine as it only stores 500 but I joined in 2007 when I was doing exams and a search led me here and had a few posts.

I only started in AH in dec at which time I had under 50 posts and look at me now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

go to your profile
    Your join date is in the panel in the top right
    google "[join date in format used in posts]" +username site:boards.ie
    if you could be arsed that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

pwd wrote: »
    go to your profile
    Your join date is in the panel in the top right
    google "[join date in format used in posts]" +username site:boards.ie
    if you could be arsed that is.

I was arsed and it was that uninteresting its not even worth posting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Can't find mine as it only stores 500 but I joined in 2007 when I was doing exams and a search led me here and had a few posts.

I only started in AH in dec at which time I had under 50 posts and look at me now!

That sounds like me!

My first, ah you always remember the first, but it was just something boring so I'm not gona link it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Seems to be my opinion on system of a down's last released album hypnotise, I now disagree with my past self, it was nearly 5 year ago though...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Simply Red

I stumbled across this in the site development forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/firstpost.php which will tell your own (or any posters) first post
    Mine were 2 jokes in the humour section

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,428 Mod ✭✭✭✭slade_x

my first post and reason for signing up was to help someone with a computer related problem. was a long time ago though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I was trying to remember the name of that beardy giuy who used to do that programme on RTE where he'd chug down the rivers of Ireland in a barge type thing and make comments on otters and like. Turned out his name was Dick Warner. And he wasn't dead which was a nice surprise. And I realised that Wikipedia has n0thing on boards for answers to random questions!!

Speaing of random questions, anyone have a a cure for hangover. I, err, know a friend who might need it in the morning...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

My first post was a noobish first attempt at hosting a LAN party yaaay. 2 years on and I'm planning another one soon :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

My first post was a noobish first attempt at hosting a LAN party yaaay. 2 years on and I'm planning another one soon :pac:

I don't even know what a LAN party is!!

I'm not even 30 and I'm already redundant!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Mine is embarrassing and pretty pathetic :D:D:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57635238&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,125 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can't find it but it was me asking whether or not an Eircom upgrade was worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

Mine was tryin to help someone who had a terrible career guidance councillor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

ive been here longer than anyone who has posted on this thread so far :eek:

anyway my first post was this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1449215

i also found the the very first post on boards :D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

First post

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055471784&page=4

Under taking by a Garda jeep with trailer ...In a bus lane
    Views: 2,615
    Posted By old_aussie

They were on the way to get pork ribs and doughnuts, what else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

My first post was a pretty tepid attempt almost five years ago:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=3166541
    An introductory post in the newbies/faq/introduction.
    Now, looking back, I wish it had been more groundbreaking but what can you do.
    I remember when I joined the site I was just after finishing a job I had only been in for a couple of months, was pretty down about it but finding boards more than made up for it, only wish I had found it earlier. It's been a great resource both in the serious sense and also as a place for having a bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

My first was in the Hip Hop forum.
    Lord I'm ashamed of my picks.:o

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59703118

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Mine was regarding spiritual cleansing and burning sage :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

My first post was 'done' :) It was a vote for the golden spider or something like that. Whats interesting is a comment Dev made:
    Trojan, there isnt a page with a vote count. At least not in the open. Nice transparency.

Mail me and I'll tell you the score http://www.boards.ie/bulletin/smile.gif

Currently we are up near 70 votes with the next nearest at 14.

DeV.

70 voters at that stage and most were quakers, makes me wonder if Boards would have ever existed if it wasnt for Quake!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=1112&page=7

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Mod asked me to join, saying I may like it :pac:

I asked did anybody else in Ireland play this game I played and did they want a game. I also used atrocious English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Cook!eMonster

mine was about eating a yorkie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

i lurked for a long time before i reg and posted. was looking for advice about a car i was going to buy (trajet). got some useful info and links and ended up buying a zafira instead.

very happy with so thanks guys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

It's a good field ....but where are all the dnc players or AI or Numbers ?

Posting about a LAN match in Counter Strike back in May, 2001 :P

Good times...

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Couldn't find it. Probably about boobs or something.

Seems to be my opinion on system of a down's last released album hypnotise, I now disagree with my past self, it was nearly 5 year ago though...

SOAD sure look different on your link now :pac:
    herobear wrote: »
    i also found the the very first post on boards :D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=1

That person only has 3 posts, wtf?
    Mod asked me to join, saying I may like it :pac:

I asked did anybody else in Ireland play this game I played and did they want a game. I also used atrocious English.

textspeak tut tut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Obaraten wrote: »
    thank you sooooo much!!! how did you do it?

using this......
    Simply Red wrote: »
    I stumbled across this in the site development forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/firstpost.php which will tell your own (or any posters) first post
    Mine were 2 jokes in the humour section

.........or MAGIC! maybe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Posting about a LAN match in Counter Strike back in May, 2001 :P

Good times...
    That's the stuff MoN. Could that game be any more fun, don't thinkkkkkk soooooo
    --LOS-- wrote: »
    SOAD sure look different on your link now :pac:

That person only has 3 posts, wtf?

textspeak tut tut.
    Yeah that guy made the site, he lectured in my undergrad course, claim to fame eh. His main account is Cloud. When I met him he had Cloud written on his tshirt, I used my detective skills then.

Yeah you should see others of my first post, doubt you would understand them. It was funny then the turn around to modding a grammar forum...
    using this......

.........or MAGIC! maybe.

That thing is great...stalking so many first posts nomnom

oh gosh, I'll have to look up my autograph book.
    I don't think I would understand, I didn't know what cs was :o

But I'm not even there. I just meant the language. I'd be more surprised if you did know what it was. Sure we'll teach ya. :p

oooh oooh whose first post next..click click click

Ye I know that, but you have the contacts, no need for brown envelopes or anything with you.
    You could try alright, lesson one counter strike, wake up!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=2474042

L7 - ****list

thats all i had to say...

Ye I know that, but you have the contacts, no need for brown envelopes or anything with you.
    You could try alright, lesson one counter strike, wake up!
    That took me ages to know what was going on. If I do now. /dusts off efame.
    You think you won't like it but when I teach somebody they don't want to stop and they hog my computer. All the little guys and dolls that hang out in our house ask me to play so they can watch
    have you all like this in no time
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olm7xC-gBMY
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=2474042

L7 - ****list

thats all i had to say...

All that needed to be said! When i joined boards I was such a whore for the what rock/metal song are you lsitening to now thread...posted so much it got it shut down haha.

(love the sig/flickr btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

My first post on previous ac informed BlitzKrieg that his joke in teh humour forum was gay. :)

You can also go to advanced search and search for posts by a username and set it to show the results in ascending order instead of descending order. You will see the first 500 user posts instead of the most recent 500 user posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

first post was asking how to connect xbox to my laptop. but still couldn't do it. :rolleyes:
    i only started on boards cos i wanted to sell something on adverts last december.
    now look at me, 6 months on, over 530 posts, although it wasn't that high since i discovered After Hours and the Television forums :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

God mine was gay
    brummytom wrote: »
    Should you require the assistance of a well-spoken english teenager, I'm ready and waiting

At least one English accent is essential for any criminal gang, but I could always do an Italian one

Also, the innocent facade of a 15 year old wouldn't hurt to have

Actually, are us english even allowed on here?

But concise.. I managed to slip in my age and nationality in the first post :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Mine was about a darts practise routine. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Hah just read mine and it could be horribly misinterpreted.
    Just finished reading lullaby, excellent novel just as good as fight club.
    Any other CP fans on boards?

I was referring to the author, not to.... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

I said (round the time the o'donoghue expenses came out) that the greens would back out of government by the following Monday, and that we would have a general election at the end of October.

:o I was wrong!!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

My first post on Boards.ie was last July and it was something like, 'Let's see if this is working.' It was in the Nocturnal Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

First post was about being ripped off for an Iphone, which never turned on, I had purchased on Adverts.

Then i found AH, got my first taste of thanks and was hooked for then on:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

About college me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Answer to 951
    25+10
    =35

x9
    =315

+2
    =317

=951

It was in the Countdown thread, probably why I chose my avatar.
    Although I have avatars disabled but cringe when I view my posts as logged out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Typical. My first post was a rant. :rolleyes:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64431409&postcount=13800