Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bank roof "occupied"...then Gardaí beat them up :D

• 15-05-2010 1:33pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/images/2010/0515/254198_1.jpg?ts=1273929936

(great crowd there)

They are getting orgasmic over on Indymedia. They really like this sort of stuff. Kind of the Sky News for loopy anarchist type groups.

http://www.indymedia.ie/article/96639
    He said gardaí arrived "almost immediately" and that there was "no hassle" until about midday when gardaí emerged through the windows of the Anglo headquarters and "dragged" them away in "a forceful manner".

Another three people were arrested at the rear of the building where Mr MacCionnaith said a number of protesters were struck by gardaí.

Irish Times

We should have a counter protest in support of the banks;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

darkman2 wrote: »
    Himmm... Let me think about that one. Its a hard decision. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hell no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Caption for 4th pic "And the secret police" er right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

He said gardaí arrived "almost immediately" and that there was "no hassle" until about midday when gardaí emerged through the windows of the Anglo headquarters and "dragged" them away in "a forceful manner".

Another three people were arrested at the rear of the building where Mr MacCionnaith said a number of protesters were struck by gardaí.

Delighted!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Delighted!!
    Mr Fitzpatrick... is that you? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Delighted!!

for the last few years I've listened to nothing but internet warriors complaining about the state of the country and doing Fcuk all about it but whinging online.

now some people actually make an attempt to stand up for something, and we're dealt the above comments.

I really don't know what to fcukin think...... :rolleyes::mad:

They are not standing up for you or me they are a bunch of stupid lefties trots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

Delighted!!

Yes, im sure they really deserved to be beaten and struck by the gardai, sure what option did they have ? :rolleyes:

mike65 wrote: »
    They are standing up for you or me they are a bunch of stupid lefties trots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

davyjose wrote: »
    for the last few years I've listened to nothing but internet warriors complaining about the state of the country and doing Fcuk all about it but whinging online.

now some people actually make an attempt to stand up for something, and we're dealt the above comments.

I agree with what you are saying but standing on a porch with a silly sign is hardly standing up for anything...it's making yourself look like a dIck regardless of whether you are right or not.

Now if they had worn some superhero suits, well they would have the ears & eyes of the nation on them :D

I forgot the not Biko! Better remove the thanks

I know, that's why I quoted the post.

Maybe you can elaborate on why they are stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I wouldn't bank on that happening.:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

It's time to lend the banks some support;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

How exactly should the Gardaí remove someone who doesn't want to leave in a non-forceful manner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

This may shock you but the Internet isn't one single person with one single unified opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I wouldn't bank on that happening.:P

There's a huge surplus in poor financial puns recently, I wish people would save them rather than depositing them all over forums. Maybe if you loaned them out and if they got a good response leave them, if they weren't welcomed just withdraw them. I'm starting to see Red because of them at this stage.

Cough..

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I agree with what you are saying but standing on a porch with a silly sign is hardly standing up for anything...it's making yourself look like a dIck regardless of whether you are right or not.

Now if they had worn some superhero suits, well they would have the ears & eyes of the nation on them :D

Well, what is?

It's better than whinging on here. there must be a hundred thousand posts on here giving out about the banks, and as soon as someone does protest, however "silly" they look, it's not fcuking good enough.

It's pathetic.

biko wrote: »
    I know, that's why I quoted the post.

Maybe you can elaborate on why they are stupid?

I would ask how are they NOT stupid? A bunch of "political" protesters jump on an awning waving a banner and achieve exactly what? Conscious raising? or merely attempting to boost the profile of some organisation that would turn us into Republican Commies if they had the chance?

No one should fall for that.

indymedia are still removing comment they don't agree with I see.

SugarHigh wrote: »
    This may shock you but the Internet isn't one single person with one single unified opinion.
    *Boom* Nice attempt at ridiculing my post.

Next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I've never been in favour of Police Brutality,
    But when the Indies come a marchin'
    Give him one for me,
    Officer give him one for me!

Biggins wrote: »
    Mr Fitzpatrick... is that you? :eek:

A Sean Fitzpatrick effigy has just been burned outside the bank curiously enough by the scumbags....

http://twitpic.com/1o06oy

At least I think it's an effigy

lol....imagine them running the country.

Well, what is?

It's better than whinging on here. there must be a hundred thousand posts on here giving out about the banks, and as soon as someone does protest, however "silly" they look, it's not fcuking good enough.

It's pathetic.

How the fcuk should I know?
    Don't get your knickers in a twist with me because you don't like to hear the truth. Honestly, they are not doing themselves or their opinions any good whatsoever.
    They look crazy.
    They may have a point but they look crazy pointing it out to the rest of us.

So instead of whinging about everyone else expressing an opinion on the topic why don't you have a little think about a more effective approach & join them the next day they have a protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's pointless, what do they expect to achieve by telling people to 'Rise Up'? Lets all get out there on the ledge with them.. what could possibly go wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

*Boom* Nice attempt at ridiculing my post.

Next?

he made a perfectly valid point. how do you know that the two posters you quoted have been whinging??

I would ask how are they NOT stupid? A bunch of "politcal" protesters jump on an awning waving a banner and achieve exactly what? Concious raising? or merely attempting to boost the profile of some organisation that would turn us into Republican Commies if they had the chance?

No one should fall for that.

indymedia are still removing comment they don't agree with I see.

Are you against what the banks have done Mike?

And assuming so, why haven't you stood up to them?

See, I've no idea who these people are, so I'm not showing bias against them. All I'm thinking is "fair fcuks to them, compared to the thousands of whingers who complain and do nothing!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

amacachi wrote: »
    How exactly should the Gardaí remove someone who doesn't want to leave in a non-forceful manner?

They could hug them until they leave. Those lefties would probably think it was some scheme to infect them with super secret anthrax

Also what do they want us to rise up against? I presume they want us to rise up against bad drivers...

Davyjose I haven't firebombed any I admit, what should I do? Remove my savings? That'll show em.

There's a huge surplus in poor financial puns recently, I wish people would save them rather than depositing them all over forums. Maybe if you loaned them out and if they got a good response leave them, if they weren't welcomed just withdraw them. I'm starting to see Red because of them at this stage.

Cough..

There's more of a problem if you've got insufficient puns in your account.

if neil jordan has taught me anything is that there is only one way to deal with people occupying a building.....

aDeener wrote: »
    if neil jordan has taught me anything is that there is only one way to deal with people occupying a building.....

Charge rent?

Davyjose I haven't firebombed any I admit, what should I do? Remove my savings? That'll show em.

It's not about firebombing, are you telling me that protesting is pointless? is any protest worthwhile?

Just because you don't like the people protesting, or because it's a paltry number of people, doesn't make it any less commendable than anyone else who's stood up for something.

he made a perfectly valid point. how do you know that the two posters you quoted have been whinging??

fair enough. But generally, most people are against what the banks have done.

if they are pro how the banks have conducted their business the last few years, then i apologise.

Throw a stink bomb in?:confused:

Fair enough, just don't make the mistake of believing that they are going to change anything or that they have any interest in you and your situation.

How the fcuk should I know?
    Don't get your knickers in a twist with me because you don't like to hear the truth. Honestly, they are not doing themselves or their opinions any good whatsoever.
    They look crazy.
    They may have a point but they look crazy pointing it out to the rest of us.

So instead of whinging about everyone else expressing an opinion on the topic why don't you have a little think about a more effective approach & join them the next day they have a protest.

Well you told me what wasn't standing up for anything, so I assumed if you know what isn't, then you would know what is. Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

When I see the footage of the guards mercilesslyand needlessly battering them with batons I might have sympathy. If I see footage of the guards battering them with batons after a protestor whacked him on the head with a flag pole or try and push him off the ledge, well then my sympathy will be with the guards for having to deal with lefty loonies like them.

Statistically its the latter that more often than not seems to be the case.....in this country at any rate.

I always pity Robocop for losing his job, pictured dragging away a bloody protester or swinging the baton. What we didn't see was the same protester catch another guard with a brick on the head.

Its like the dail protest the other week. Apparently guards locking arms and shoving away protesters from the gate was police brutality and getting hit on the head by a fellow protestors flag pole or been caught by a fellow protestors knee in the head is......police brutality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I love the way indymedia refer to special branch and secret police being after them. Like the undercover gardaí give a sh1t about hippies. I don't know what exactly people expected the response to be when they raided a bank.

Fair enough, just don't make the mistake of believing that they are going to change anything or that they have any interest in you and your situation.

My situation has nothing to do with Anglo-irish, or anyone elses cause. I'm fully employed, and any credit indescretions I have are my own fault (creditcarditis ).

I'm merely saying it's a bit rich to criticise someone else for doing what a lot of the population haven't the balls for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

They are getting orgasmic over on Indymedia.

I fücking hate Indymedia

Well you told me what wasn't standing up for anything, so I assumed if you know what isn't, then you would know what is. Simple really.

Don't get smart sunshine.

Get out & join them so if it means that much to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Don't get smart sunshine.

Get out & join them so if it means that much to you.

that's funny. you directly quoted my post, tacked on a smartarse superhero quip at the end (for a few easy thanks?), got in a strop when I replied, and now you're telling me not to get smart -- I'd say the same to you, but I doubt there's much danger of it.

I'll join who I please, and if you don't want me to respond to your ridiculous posts, then don't quote me.

Don't get smart.....

...get minicall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

Eirigí; because communism has a proven track record:D

Now I'll wait while someone points out the difference between socialism and communism to me. See the great thing about the internet is if you want to know all about something you just have to insult it and someone will be along shortly to tell you all about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

thethedev wrote: »
    Eirigí; because communism has a proven track record:D

Now I'll wait while someone points out the difference between socialism and communism to me. See the great thing about the internet is if you want to know all about something you just have to insult it and someone will be along shortly to tell you all about it.

In a completely unbiased way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

The Guards are the Governments b!tch.

Why do they come down like a tonne of bricks on protestors?

I don't get it. What harm are the protestors doing?

They're not breaking any laws, really. Maybe tresspass....so what

that's funny. you directly quoted my post, tacked on a smartarse superhero quip at the end (for a few easy thanks?), got in a strop when I replied, and now you're telling me not to get smart -- I'd say the same to you, but I doubt there's much danger of it.

I'll join who I please, and if you don't want me to respond to your ridiculous posts, then don't quote me.

A few easy thanks? Where are they so?

My posts are hardly ridiculous. They are expressing my thoughts on the thread. Didn't think there was a law against that.
    And I never said to stop responding to the posts.

But I've often found that a person of low intelligence has problems telling the difference between a discussion & basically trying to ram their opinions down everyone elses throat.
    It's the inability to look at a topic objectively & maturely.

Anyway, I'll leave you to join who you please because I'm out to enjoy the sunshine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There's more of a problem if you've got insufficient puns in your account.

we change exchange puns all day, it still won't have an effect on the trend of poor puns.