Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going away with a Guy Friend

• 14-05-2010 6:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Ladies - a bit of advice

If you were single and invited by a very good guy friend to go away for a weekend to an event you always wanted to see in England - how would you react. Forgot about the money issue - just the two of you.

I am the guy, and have a soft spot for this friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

So you are the guy and have been invited by another guy to go on a weekend trip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 rosenstocktakeh

Sorry no I am the guy going to invite the girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

facepalm.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Should lads answer or ladies then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Chances are if you both had a thing for each other you would have clicked already. If you have arranged the holiday in attempt to bring your relationship on to the next stage... then I think its a bad idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

If you invite her away with the intention of hitting on her, think about how that could make her incredibly uncomfortable for the whole weekend, let alone destroy your friendship.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

In fairness, not in a kingsize fit would I go away with a male friend if I thought he had a soft spot for me. Especially if I suspected that was why he asked me.

EDIT: unless of course I had a soft spot for him too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

Silverfish wrote: »
    In fairness, not in a kingsize fit would I go away with a male friend if I thought he had a soft spot for me. Especially if I suspected that was why he asked me.

Unless You have a soft spot for him too?

I would ask her to go with you if you weren't planning on making a move,
    If you were planning to make a move, I wouldnt do it on holiday in a foreign country with little room to escape!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

I'd go away with any of my proper guy friends no bother. None of these have a soft spot for me though. I wouldn't go anywhere, just two of us, with a friend who fancied me. If it hasn't worked out in Ireland how would a weekend away help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'd have no problem going away with a male mate at all. Providing it was just that-two friends going away together.
    I'd be a bit freaked if i thought it was all just a ploy so he could try it on to be honest..

Well let me tell you a little thing about a female friend of mine.

Her very very good male friend asked her to go away for the weekend to Wales. She has a major soft spot for him. So she was thrilled. He never touched her all weekend..... they had the best weekend, laughed, got very drunk together, danced, drove couple of hundred miles together, had the time of their lives - and that was it :( no kisses, no lovin, nadda! Just.....friends! typical. If you wanted to be just friends he'd want more :pac:

So dude, I'd say go for it, but hint in advance that you have a soft spot ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Why didnt she make the move whoopsy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i reckon you should ask her but under no circumstances hit on her

do everything but if you want to see how she feels make it the best weekend possible as friends dont wine and dine and all that bull**** have the craic, be yourselves get to know eachother more get more comfortable BUT DONT HIT ON HER

if she feels the same after the weekend something will happen when you come home if she dosnt it wont either way you will have had a great weekend

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 252 ✭✭viclemronny

This is not the way to 'get the girl'.

First of all, suppose on the most basic level that things don't go well on the weekend away. What do you both do then? It's going to be uncomfortable at best. At worst, it could seriously damage/ruin your friendship.

Secondly, as others have said, there's the fact that if things were going to happen, they would have. Now, that's not to say that it's a complete no go, just that if ye have been friends for years and nothing has happened when ye have both been single, then maybe take that as an indication. But this is something you'll have to judge for yourself.

Finally, if you want to make your feelings known to her, do it here. If it goes wrong, she won't feel trapped, etc.

You must accept the fact that, for better or worse, your friendship will change for good, regardless of how/where/when you do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

If your planning to make a pass at her imagine how uncomfortable she will feel.
    Honestly I don't think it's a good idea and if she knows how you feel she might say no
    based on that. Honestly I think you should tell her how you feel but stress you don't
    want it to effect your friendship which I'm sure is very important to both of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Just make sure to book a 'double' room not a 'twin' ;)

Seriously though, why not just ask her? If she says no she says no, end of. In my experience, 9/10 girls I know would not go away with a guy unless they thought / wanted something to happen.

Oh, does she know you have a bit of a soft spot for her?

A guy having a 'soft' spot for a girl seems kinda counter productive...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I am the guy, and have a soft spot for this friend.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055907115

Why didnt she make the move whoopsy :)

She did! But he fell asleep :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

She did! But he fell asleep :o
    If at first you dont succeed.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Well let me tell you a little thing about a female friend of mine.

Her very very good male friend asked her to go away for the weekend to Wales. She has a major soft spot for him. So she was thrilled. He never touched her all weekend..... they had the best weekend, laughed, got very drunk together, danced, drove couple of hundred miles together, had the time of their lives - and that was it :( no kisses, no lovin, nadda! Just.....friends! typical. If you wanted to be just friends he'd want more :pac:

So dude, I'd say go for it, but hint in advance that you have a soft spot ;)

Hopefully not in that order!

OP, have you ever got vibes that your friend is in to you? If not, then invite away, but don't try it on. Seriously. Just don't do it.

If you have got such vibes, then best of luck!