Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex education in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

around the back of the bike shed for a good ride.

In the metaphorical sense of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Never had sex-ed in any form in primary/secondary school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Sex? No thank you, we're Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Was all self-taught back in my day....

are you nervous yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

Was in a school in waterford, and in 5th year they taught us about STI's. A few of my friends and me missed the class, due to extra-curricdular activities with the school, and we werent told of it until that afternoon, so didnt have much of a choice. They told us we could do it in 6th year, and then the same thing happened again. When I questioned my religion teacher about it at the time, I was sent to the principals office for inappropriate discussions in the classroom.

Bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Sex? No thank you, we're Irish.

lil off topic but - my mam just said her friend went to n.ireland to get contraception and was arrested on the way back in 1985 lol

but ya, the sex ed is lacking completely. They were going on about what it means to french kiss....we were 17, and cringing ! haha

Apparently nuns gave my parents sex ed on the premartial course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

jester77 wrote: »
    Was all self-taught back in my day....

are you nervous yet :D

or howya love how's your gee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Sex Ed in Ireland ?

Isn't that where you teach the kids that the sheep with the paint on the ones that kick ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

I learned about sex age 15 from a Tommy Tiernan show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

I was 11 and 12 when it taught in school?
    And it was a catholic one!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

All the sex ed I remember from school was being advised by the teacher to 'wash your front bottom as well as your back bottom' and reading Girl Talk.

Girl Talk, what a crappy book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Had sex ed in 5th and 6th class... I was 12. They explained everything we asked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

LC2010HIS wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0514/breaking56.html

not shocked at all . Found sex ed in school over the years completely useless... its a joke ! They were telling us about periods at ages 17-18 :rolleyes:
    What ye think of this?

If you were educated about sex you might engage in some resulting in less of these threads. 2 thumbs up for sex education.

Priests in my school gave free practicals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I got sex ed in 6th class and 1st year. Mostly about genitalia and periods. Got a pregnancy talk in 4th year - one girl was already knocked up. :rolleyes: In 6th year one forward thinking young teacher taught us about STIs and contraception even though we wear a Catholic nun school... But I learned most sex ed from girl's magazines.

its kinda ridiculous because if the school cant provide a basic service and some parents cant handle telling their innocent child about the facts, some poor kids are gonna get peers there own age, giving them a warped account of it all...if that makes sense?:o
    Education system needs to cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0514/breaking56.html

not shocked at all . Found sex ed in school over the years completely useless... its a joke ! They were telling us about periods at ages 17-18 :rolleyes:
    What ye think of this?

What the hell is a period?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

We had it in 5th class and 6th class in primary school. The teacher did a great job looking back on it now. Covered all manner of topics in an informative way. Not that it had any lasting effect, the usual types still rode all round until babies appeared!

Then there was nada until transition year when the school got some outside agency to give us a workshop. The workshop was far less useful than the stuff our teacher taught us in primary school. Since we were all 15/16/17 it was just used as a pi$$ take. Half the class were long since at it by then and as I said above, we had a few drop outs by that stage due to pregnancies.

PK2008 wrote: »

A fullstop.

proof sex ed is gone done the drain:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We had it in 5th class and 6th class in primary school. The teacher did a great job looking back on it now.

Looking at what , exactly?:eek:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Looking at what , exactly?:eek:

Hardy har, very funny! And no it was not a Christian Brother school before anyone asks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I'm not one bit surprised, the majority of the schools have a strong christian bias.
    There is a sex program but together by the crises pregnancy agency but it can't distribute it through those schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Priests in my school gave free practicals.

Did they show how to safely apply a condom using the oral method?

*Hears student crying the the background*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Nearly three-quarters of Irish secondary school pupils received no sex education classes last year, according to a survey published today.

Well if you look at it, only a fifth of all secondary students will sit the leaving cert this year.

And I suppose only one SIXTH of national schools students were taught their ABC's

Keep on mashing those numbers boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Mine was absolutely rubbish.
    They had a nun come in one day who looked horribly uncomfortable talking about it. To make matters even worse, my mum bought me this woeful book called "Ready Steady Grow" which is like a christian sex ed book.
    It's hilarious!
    I remember reading it when I was 12 or 13 and it went on about the "joyless aftermath" people were supposed to experience after sex.
    I do dramatic readings from it now for my mates when we're drunk.
    Props are optional :pac:

Thank feck for just seventeen magazine, that's all I'll say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 annie87

I'm doing a grad dip in primary school teaching at the mo, and because of the new curriculum we have to teach 'Relationships and Sexuality Education' as part of S.P.H.E (Social, Personal , Health Education.) And just found out, we're not allowed to teach about contraception! Fuppin ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

It's alright, just don't have any and then you don't even need to learn about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Most of of the sex education I got was from girl's magazines like mizz or bliss. They were absolute saviours. Sex ed didn't start until secondary school when we were about fifteen or sixteen, which was far too little too late by then. To be honest I don't blame the education system, it's the parent's responsibility to educate their children on sex and reproduction. I don't see why people are always looking to schools for this.

I recently heard a mother giving out about the sex education her fourteen year old daughter was learning in school, she complained that they were taking it 'too far' and that is was unnecessarily thorough. Why do people feel that young people can know 'too much.' In my opinion with every question a child asks it's up to the parent to answer honestly. If this means learning about sex at five then so be it.

People are still stuck with the old mentality that the more a person knows about sex the more they are likely to engage in it. Has history taught us nothing? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

bronte wrote: »
    Mine was absolutely rubbish.
    They had a nun come in one day who looked horribly uncomfortable talking about it.

LOL, Theres something so "Irish" about a nun teaching sex education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Had sex ed in 5th and 6th class... I was 12. They explained everything we asked...
    Same here! I was 11 at the time, we had our principal teaching us in those classes (shared classroom at the time) and we had one morning a week where we would start a folder, progressing through the act of sex, how children are born, and a whole load of other stuff...that was then shown to our parents at the end of the year to prove we had taken the classes.

In that one class also, we took 15 minutes to ask the teacher ANYTHING we wanted regarding sex, and he would answer it regardless. Very good decision by him it was...learned alot we all did :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I went to a convent primary/secondary school.

We had 'the talk' in 6th class. Am not sure if it was actually supposed to happen but one day one of the girls in our year (she was wild, always in trouble, always expelled) was dared to ask the teacher what an orgasm was. There was war as the head teacher (the nun) heard about this, so she gathered us all in one classroom, to tell us we were at the age where 'changes were to occur'. She stood there all nun like with a straight face on her.

'The Talk' from an expert came the following week - we all had to attend with our parents. My friends and I thought it would be a good idea if the three of us sat together and our Mum's sat together, but no, the head teacher got up on the podium and requested that we all sit with our mothers as it was important 'to share it with them'!! The woman giving the talk thought she was the 'bees knees' and kept using slang words for everything which made us all laugh and we kept getting glared at.

In secondary school then we had a talk in first year. It was the 'period talk'. It was too late for all of us to be honest. A nurse came into the school library and showed us a slide show of how to insert a tampon and then we got freebees. The next class after that was CSPE. Our class teacher used to take us for CSPE but she was absent at the time, so a German exchange teacher took the class. Cue lots of embarassment and went through everything the woman who gave the talk said in minute detail and then asked us for comments and questions.

Then in 5th year we had the 'chastity talk'. This group of American students came in to talk to us about how they were 'saving themselves' until they were married because they 'loved Jesus'.

It's weird reading this back how vividly I remember all this !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

What ye think of this?

same here, no sex ed only the period talk when we were in 3rd year I think, stupidly late. Was a joke the amount of girls who got knocked up in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Bookworm85

LOL, Theres something so "Irish" about a nun teaching sex education.

LOLS
    We had our sex ed in 6th class, but we had a video with a nun! This nun had had two dolls who were 'married',and these dolls were used were used to show the different parts of anatomy. The 'male' doll never had his underpants off.We were told that sex was a wedding present from God.:rolleyes: Sex before marriage was a grave sin and we would go to hell for even thinking about it.

No mention of STIs, contraception etc. Not even a mention of periods!
    I got the period talk with my mam long before that, but didnt a period talk from school until 5th yr! :eek:

Thank god my Mam wasn't the squeamish type, and told us all the gory ins and outs herself (no pun intended).

Same here! I was 11 at the time, we had our principal teaching us in those classes (shared classroom at the time) and we had one morning a week where we would start a folder, progressing through the act of sex, how children are born, and a whole load of other stuff...that was then shown to our parents at the end of the year to prove we had taken the classes.

In that one class also, we took 15 minutes to ask the teacher ANYTHING we wanted regarding sex, and he would answer it regardless. Very good decision by him it was...learned alot we all did :)

That is very similar to my experience, right down to the 15 minutes to ask any questions we wanted. I have to say, it was very beneficial. I think everybody should get the same lessons at that age.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    same here, no sex ed only the period talk when we were in 3rd year I think, stupidly late. Was a joke the amount of girls who got knocked up in the year.

weve had 5 girls knocked up in our year. Only 1 outta the 5 actually had her baby.
    But i mean, look at the US ..they tackle the awkward areas. eg condoms and how to put them on . At least their saying "if your gonna have sex, well, listen" instead of Irelands: "dont have sex or you will get pregnant and die" ,..and be shunned from society.

We need to break free off this denial sex religon irishness :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Bookworm85 wrote: »
    This nun had had two dolls who were 'married',and these dolls were used were used to show the different parts of anatomy. The 'male' doll never had his underpants off.

Ahahaha! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 annie87

Was anyone ever shown some weird video from the eighties with a nun in it giving a sex talk? There was something in it about two raindrops running down the window and joining together as a methaphor for sex.

And all these mulleted children in awful jumpers asking staged questions such as,"Sister, could you tell me what a period is?" and "I've been noticing some hair growing in unusual places. What's that about?" and things like that. It was hilarious!:pac:

We were shown it by our religion teacher who was a crazy ancient nun and she looked mortified all the way through it. She also showed us a film where someone was "promiscuos" (i.e had sex with 5 people before she got married) and ended up with AIDS. She kept fastforwarding through all the (really unrealistic) sex scenes!

annie87 wrote: »
    Was anyone ever shown some weird video from the eighties with a nun in it giving a sex talk? There was something in it about two raindrops running down the window and joining together as a methaphor for sex.

And all these mulleted children in awful jumpers asking staged questions such as,"Sister, could you tell me what a period is?" and "I've been noticing some hair growing in unusual places. What's that about?" and things like that. It was hilarious!:pac:

We were shown it by our religion teacher who was a crazy ancient nun and she looked mortified all the way through it. She also showed us a film where someone was "promiscuos" (i.e had sex with 5 people before she got married) and ended up with AIDS. She kept fastforwarding through all the (really unrealistic) sex scenes!

ahahahhhaahahaha:D:D raindrops
    oh jesus haha
    promiscuos? 5 people? nowadays its ALOT more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I know a local school gave sex ed to a class of 5th year pupils with 2 pregnant girls!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

A banana and two oranges

haha
    but, why do ye think ireland is still incopatant regarding sex ed? like, the church dont have much of a say now so....:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

FFS if you get to 15/16 and don't know to put a ****ing johnny on it no amount of classes is going to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I remember when we were doing junior cert science there was one chapter in the book on reproduction and from day1 in September we were all looking forward to having a good perv at it and maybe learning a thing or two in class for a change. It was chapter 18 iirc. Anyway we sat there month after month patiently listening to boring crap on Photosynthesis, Atomic Theory and all the other topics that made up chapter 1-17 until finally the glorious day came for a lesson on lady-parts and the rest.

So we file into the classroom and eagerly take our places. "Open you books on chapter 19!" yells the teacher. What? What about? Eh? No explaination. No excuses. It was like "German history 1932-1945" for a kid from Munich. Just totally passed over as tho it never happened. One of my early experiences in adult hypocracy and the sheer worthlessness of a state education.

At the time we thought the teacher was just being a prude (her having to explain the rudimentary biology of sex to thirty 14 year old lads) but In retrospect I'm fairly sure the she drank from the furry cup and didn't know the first thing about the old in-out in-out herself. If she wasn't then she certainly did a great impression of a diesel dyke and wasn't getting her beef injections either way.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Our classes sex education consisted of our very nervous and sweaty religion teacher telling us about the importance of keeping your genitalia clean.

Suffice to say I spent a lot of my teenage years polishing the aul chap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

bonerm wrote: »
    So we file into the classroom and eagerly take our places. "Open you books on chapter 19!" yells the teacher. What? What about? Eh? No explaination. No excuses. It was like "German history 1932-1945" for a kid from Munich. Just totally passed over as tho it never happened. One of my early experiences in adult hypocracy and the sheer worthlessness of a state education.

We had something similar as well

But on the mock exam (paper set externally but marked by teacher) there was a question covering the chapter which caused much delight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

Sex education in Primary school was essentially female puberty class. We were taught about periods and breasts and pubic hair. That was in 6th class. We were shown a graphic diagram of the vagina as well and the woman showed us all the different parts.

In secondary school it was abysmal. We didn't have any until 5th year. Even though I did biology, we hadn't covered reproduction and we never did.
    When we did have sex ed in 5th year, it was pretty terrible. Basically a repeat of the one I had in 6th class except with the woman telling us a bit about STD's, contraception and sex itself. She talked about the legal ages of consent in Ireland as well but it was far too late. Most people had already had sex and most were underage when they started. And about three people in my year alone were pregnant.

She gave us all a free little goodie bag. We were expecting to get maybe a free condom or two but no. Tampons! And a little book about puberty and sex. :rolleyes: Awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

We had a temp science teacher who was an ex nun once. She told one of the biology classes that it took three people to make a baby: a man, a woman, and god.

Did anyone else's school show a horrific film of an abortion as seen through an ultrasound. If I remember correctly it was called The Silent Scream. I've always been surprised that no-one's parents kicked up a stink over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

This thread is both absolutely hilarious and infinitely depressing as a person who wasn't educated in Ireland!

I can't imagine how I'd be able to keep a straight face if a nun was trying to teach me sex ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

haha
    but, why do ye think ireland is still incopatant regarding sex ed? like, the church dont have much of a say now so....:confused:

Well i think parents should have a close enough relationship with their kids to explain to them as early as possible all about sex, sure whats the big deal if you are a parent.
    What about the church sure they are just holy people(well supposed to be) sex isn't holy.