Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show 14-5

• 14-05-2010 9:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,513 ✭✭✭✭

Stephen Gately's husband Andrew Cowles is set to give his first Irish interview, since the singer's tragic death, on 'The Late Late Show' tonight.

Andrew will be chatting to presenter Ryan Tubridy about his relationship with Stephen, the night he died and why he was so determined to finish Stephen's children's fantasy book 'The Tree of Seasons'.

Performer Twink will also be appearing on the show, to talk about her recent ill-health, which forced her to pull out of her lead role in 'Menopause: The Musical', as well as losing her friend Gerry Ryan.

AdvertisementFormer Labour spin-doctor Alistair Campbell will also be chatting to Ryan about the fallout from the British elections and the heady days of the Good Friday Agreement negotiations, including what it was like to go head-to-head with Bertie Ahern.

Live musical entertainment will be provided by Niamh Kavanagh, performing Ireland's Eurovision entry 'It's For You', and British soul star Plan B, performing his new single.

Stephen Gatelys husband? Mother of gawd the viewing figures from down the country will be shot to ****e.

Ally Campbell should be good in fairness, Tubs will be in his element there.

Major lol at 'British Soul Singer Plan B'; that's all you have these days Tubbo, plan b! :D

But as always save the best wine for last; Twink. What the ****ing jaysus? I mean theres scraping the barrel and theres gouging the barrel. Twink isn't even in the barrel you'd have thought. Ok, I'm done with the barrel analogies.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

This will be great. Where's me crack pipe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pjmn

I think we (the licence payer) should get some of of 'points allowance' to be redeemed against licence renewal, for every time that that twat (Twink) is on the air... angry-smiley-8030.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,826 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You can guarantee that Cowles will be given an easy ride; no hard hitting questions.

Cowles was in the news recently claiming that Stephen died in his arms. That he and
    Stephen were downstairs and Stephen was alseep in his arms "for hours." Cowles thought he was fast asleep when in fact the chap was dead.

Earlier reports said that Gately was found dead and that Cowles was not down with him
    when he died. What does one believe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,513 ✭✭✭✭cson

walshb wrote: »
    You can guarantee that Cowles will be given an easy ride; no hard hitting questions.

Cowles was in the news recently claiming that Stephen died in his arms. That he and
    Stephen were downstairs and Stephen was alseep in his arms "for hours." Cowles thought he was fast asleep when in fact the chap was dead.

Earlier reports said that Gately was found dead and that Cowles was not down with him

He was fond of the meatstick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

walshb wrote: »

I remember reading Cowles was up stairs in bed with another guy when Stephen was downstairs

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I remember reading Cowles was up stairs in bed with another guy when Stephen was downstairs

That is correct, now Cowles is coming out with this. I guess we will never get the truth
    about that death. It's not like Gately can tell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

After the week of Aftershock programs, you would thing RTE could have concluded with a political/economic debate on the LLS.

Instead we get more and more inane bullsh1t. How many times has twink and the louis walsh muppets been on already this season?

I'm getting pretty tired of hearing about Saint Gerry Ryan now too.

Are we suspecting a bit of a Joe O'Reilly job tonight then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Alaister Campbell had a big row on air with Adam Boulton of Sky. Love to see him being similary aggressive with Tubridy, but I'm sure it will just be a love in.

Twink gets far too much time on TV.
    Cowles thought he was fast asleep when in fact the chap was dead.
    reminds me of:
    corpse2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

that is unbelievable.......

twink.............

again

Adam Boulton was the one who made that a row, he totally lost it and blew up, pathetic really. Campbell goaded him and Boulton couldn't keep his cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

Campbell is a genius but was / is dealing with some personal demons too. I don't dislike Twink but she's getting a lot of airtime recently isn't she? We've all heard about her house and her knack of not showing up for her stage show. And Cowles... Well, I've little interest in what he has to tell us. Looking forward to Campbell though - he made Adam Boulton look an even bigger twat tahn usual!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Id like campbell to asked about David Kelly. For me Kelly's tragic death remains a huge blot on the blair adminstration of which Campbell was heavily involved re the spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Twink: :mad:! I can only imagine that this 'person' holds incriminating information and is blackmailing RTE so she can still appear regularily on RTE shows.

The other option would be that shes having an affair with someone in power in RTE but I find this highly unlikely. For one she looks like a cross between a beaten dragon and one of those ol ones who sell grapes in prams on Henry Str therefore the seducee would need to be blind. Probably deaf too to drown out the annyoing moan of someone has been smoking 40 a day since she was able talk.

Although given the recent quality of RTE shows maybe the chef exces are blind and deaf.

Why in the name of God are we letting this hasbeen trout onto another Late Late show so she can complain about how her life has gone downhill since her hayday (which was somewhere in the mid 1700s).

We see how the BBC are fond of there elderly actresses like Barbara Windsor but she wasnt on Parky or Johnaton Ross every 6months. Plus what exactly has this dinosaur done apart from a few comedy sketches, Candid camera, surviving the Great Famine and the annual Christmas panto.

I would consider a carcass of one of the pigs who played 'Babe' more of a celebrity than twink.

The fact that shes on the show shows RTE inability to move on from previous 'stars', pull in decent guests and acknowledge what people want for Friday night entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I hope she is not going to have another "reaction" to medication tonight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

that is unbelievable.......

twink.............

again

+1 ,

incredible......................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Pot Noodle =

I'm going to go for a pint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Gerry Ryan again? (he'll never be allowed to rest as long as RTE lives).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

mike65 wrote: »

yeah, they'll immortalise him forever. It's hard enough for the family to grieve I'd say without it always, always on about Gerry's demise.

http://www.rte.ie/arts/2010/0514/martin_twink.html
    'Menopause' stars not on speaking terms

Stage stars Linda Martin and Twink have not spoken to each for weeks according to reports. Martin confirmed that the two women had not spoken after "something happened a number of weeks ago", but refused to go into details and said she was "trying to move on from it".

She told the Evening Herald the disagreement had nothing to do with Twink's decision to opt out of 'Menopause: The Musical' in which they both starred, saying that was a separate issue and down to Twink's health. A source close to the production revealed that there has been growing tensions between the pair since the beginning of the year, but they had put aside their differences for the sake of a tour of the musical.

However, the Herald reports that they had a run-in during the show's run at the Royal Theatre in Castlebar in March. Linda confirmed she is currently no longer on speaking terms with Twink.

Oh man, I hope Tubridy asks her about this. But he wont have the balls to ask her, it will be all fluffy and happiness.... Wish Brendan O'Conner was doing this interview..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Alistair Campbell could be good - I'd imagine Tubs will stay from anything controversial, and Campbell will run rings around him if he doesn't.

Also, Twink....*sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I read that too and that they were drinking heavily and smoking hash with the fella they brought back to the apartment, wonder will they mention that:rolleyes:
    Niamh Kavanagh singing the eurovision song, I don't know about anyone else but I thought it was crap the first time I heard it, can't see it being any better this time:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ashes to Ashes is on a 9, its all building to the climax next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Alaister Campbell had a big row on air with Adam Boulton of Sky. Love to see him being similary aggressive with Tubridy, but I'm sure it will just be a love in.

Adam Boulton is a major pain in the arse and started that whole confrontation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

[
    Oh man, I hope Tubridy asks her about this. But he wont have the balls to ask her, it will be all fluffy and happiness.... Wish Brendan O'Conner was doing this interview..[/QUOTE]

Don't be a silly Billy - Tubs will ask her about (not necessarily in this order) her health (she'll look sad but say but hey Ryan ain't I looking better than I feel - cue audience to clap and cheer), her last phone call to G. Ryan (she'll wipe her eye and refuse to give details of what they were talking about - but vows it will remain private forever - she'll take a sip of water and indicate to Ryan to move on with the discussion) how and when she first met G Ryan (she'll tell the story laughing, crying, rolling her eyes up and saying "I just can't believe he's gone - and you did a great show on the evening his death was announced I watched it from my hospital bed crying).

The questioning will carry on from there on topics like her house, her daughter's singing, her cake decorating business and the alledged new man in her life - during which she will wink, looking doefully at the audience, clap her hands, blow her nose, and plug her autobiography which she decided to write while in hospital - as she thought she was going to die.

She will also say how great the doctors and hospital staff were....yawn yawn.

deelite wrote: »
    [
    Oh man, I hope Tubridy asks her about this. But he wont have the balls to ask her, it will be all fluffy and happiness.... Wish Brendan O'Conner was doing this interview..

Don't be a silly Billy - Tubs will ask her about (not necessarily in this order) her health (she'll look sad but say but hey Ryan ain't I looking better than I feel - cue audience to clap and cheer), her last phone call to G. Ryan (she'll wipe her eye and refuse to give details of what they were talking about - but vows it will remain private forever - she'll take a sip of water and indicate to Ryan to move on with the discussion) how and when she first met G Ryan (she'll tell the story laughing, crying, rolling her eyes up and saying "I just can't believe he's gone - and you did a great show on the evening his death was announced I watched it from my hospital bed crying).

The questioning will carry on from there on topics like her house, her daughter's singing, her cake decorating business and the alledged new man in her life - during which she will wink, looking doefully at the audience, clap her hands, blow her nose, and plug her autobiography which she decided to write while in hospital - as she thought she was going to die.

She will also say how great the doctors and hospital staff were....yawn yawn.[/QUOTE]

Argh, ya spoilsport!! You've seen the feckin rehearsal I'll bet.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Mute

deelite wrote: »
    [

She will also say how great the doctors and hospital staff were....yawn yawn.[/QUOTE]

Shush.....ZIP UP YOUR MICKEY!

Clodagh McKenna on again, she was only on a while ago as well...

Was it just me or was the sax played "improvising" just a little bit.

mike65 wrote: »

Its new work practice in RTE to preceed every programme with ".... the late great Gerry Ryan"

Clodagh McKenna on again, she was only on a while ago
    yeah she was on not that long ago but sure she has a lot to sell, not only is she a chef she has her own brand of aprons on the go:(

Is she the one with the dodgy teeth?

So. How many times will the name Gerry Ryan be mentioned on the show tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

Keith barry might land on yet

yes dodgy teeth and she cooks seafood

Is she the one with the dodgy teeth?
    Yep. that's her.
    How many times will the name Gerry Ryan be mentioned on the show tonight?
    "Gerry" is the word for my drinking game tonight

They had a commitment ceremony in Vegas... Is that not a contradiction in terms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

Poor guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

go on tubs..go for the kill... great tele

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

We can check out Clodagh's new teeth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

casio4 wrote: »
    yes dodgy teeth and she cooks seafood

She got her snaggle tooth fixed.....

Big shiny set of veneers on her now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

"dodgy teeth"
    God lads ye pick on the one thing about her appearance that's not the best. She's a pretty lass, don't know why ye have to refer to her like that.
    Are ye all so perfect?
    Wouldn't like to think how you'd refer to my appearance after ya met me :(
    /rant over

goat2 wrote: »
    i hate to say this
    as i had respect for stephen

but he came on with this book, what for
    money
    he shhould have let the book out of it if he came on to speak of stephen
    Ehh, the book is about Stephen and written by Stephen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

What a tactless twat Ryan Tubridy is. Who the fúck wants to know the details of when SG's boyfriend found him dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

feckin hell that guy is ****e at the oul singing. I reckon I could be singer if that's the
    standard it takes.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    feckin hell that guy is ****e at the oul singing. I reckon I could be singer if that's the
    standard it takes.
    Liked it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

My parents were on a flight home from their holidays in Nice today and Eric Cantona was sitting opposite them! Thought he'd be on the lineup for tonight but apparently not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

imagine asking a visibly upset spouse how they found their OH dead...bloomin 'eck Tubridy...trying to be the oh so concerned interviewer but in fact being a tactless so and so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Muted Cowles, Plan B.... indeed!

I'm out.

She got her snaggle tooth fixed..... Big shiny set of veneers on her now!
    Has she? great... Just wash the stank of fish off her now and she be grand... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Ehh, the book is about Stephen and written by Stephen.

Is it?. I thought it was a kids book written by Stevo.

Anyone else think there is still something suspicious about how he died and where the husband was at the time?. I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭buzzymam

I cant believe he didnt expect that question to be covered. I read some interview he did last week talking about how Stephen died uner his arm on the couch.....so talk about it one day and get hissy the next time he's asked...mmmm not liken that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

If Twink even dares mention her cakes or her daughters I'm kicking my set in. This is the 3rd time she's been on a prime time chat show this year FFS. She has to have compromising photos of some RTE high-up. There's no other possible explanation at this stage.