Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

boards gun dogs

• 13-05-2010 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

As ye know i got my first dog a few days ago, but while looking i came across many dogs, so i said why not see what type of dogs ye all have, maybe post up a pic and why ye picked that breed

here is mine

jess

2i71chh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

German shorthaired pointer
    From a personal point of view my grandad had them(pointers) throughout his life always liked them and like there hunting style. I get great satisfaction watching them work. And just find them a good hunting companion..

Grandads dogs late 70s early 80s
    xaswth.jpg
    w223vd.jpg
    6854ed.jpg

My own misty
    so1qpf.jpg
    24bud5w.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I've no pics with me while I'm away. But here is a video from last year.

My britany named Reily.
    Tracking a pheasant while out in the field. He is just under 1 year here, and was happy with his nose at that stage. Was happy that he remained so calm even though he was close to the bird. Flushed on command too.

Almost year later, he has come on even more and is a fantastic dog. I imagine his (suspected) cousins will make an appearance here later. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

1 bitch lab, 3 llewellyn bitches.
    17003g.jpglaika002.jpgpups014.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

marlin vs wrote: »
    1 bitch lab, 3 llewellyn bitches.
    17003g.jpglaika002.jpgpups014.jpg

A great days shooting, My current record is 14 rabbits and a fox in the one day, I never took a photo though which was my only regret. That was 2 years ago most rabbits I have got since in one evening was 5.

I suppose this is a testament of the levels of rabbits I have reduced for my farmer friend.

He still has rabbits but the field does not move with rabbits these days, Much to the delight of the farmer.
    He maintained if there was no cattle on the field the rabbits were keeping the grass in check.

Did your dog retrieve all the rabbits for you?
    And if he did, how do you train the dog to sit still while you shoot?
    Most times if I get to shoot a rabbit if I am quick I get at least 2 others in the same sitting.
    Any dog I ever had would go bolting in after the shot as they were bird dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭lucy333springer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3kOgFFCR2po&feature=channel

Can't seem to post pictures for some strange reason, however here
    she is LUCY and a first time mother to seven pup's shortly after this video, enjoy, 333.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Tackelberrywho, yes she retrieved all the rabbits, it's easy to train a lab to stay at heel while shooting, what I normally do is make her sit and stay as I am getting into position for a shot she won't budge untill I tell her, While I am walking her I allways take her off the leash and tell her to stay as I walk off sometimes out of sight, that gets the dog used to you doing it,I normally shoot between 12 and 15 every Sunday morning starting in june,I shoot from about six in the morning to about half eight then I decoy pigeons untill about mid-day, my record for rabbits is 68 in one evening about 15 year's ago.
    pigeonshooting019.jpgpigeons003.jpg

marlin vs wrote: »
    Tackelberrywho, yes she retrieved all the rabbits, it's easy to train a lab to stay at heel while shooting, what I normally do is make her sit and stay as I am getting into position for a shot she won't budge untill I tell her, While I am walking her I allways take her off the leash and tell her to stay as I walk off sometimes out of sight, that gets the dog used to you doing it,I normally shoot between 12 and 15 every Sunday morning starting in june,I shoot from about six in the morning to about half eight then I decoy pigeons untill about mid-day, my record for rabbits is 68 in one evening about 15 year's ago.
    pigeonshooting019.jpgpigeons003.jpg

Thats dedication I go for an hour at a time myself, normally evening, Not a morning person:D

Thats an impressive total, I would go home after 10 or so as I would be happy, and the ammo would be a consideration too for me .223.

I have no dog as I travel a lot so it wold be unfair to the dog.
    If I ever get my dream dog where I can work from home I'll get another dog!

Job me thinks:D

elius wrote: »
    Job me thinks:D

poxy spell checker, if i could only spell, And I have a written exam in the morning lol

yes DREAM JOB!!:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

jap gt wrote: »
    As ye know i got my first dog a few days ago, but while looking i came across many dogs, so i said why not see what type of dogs ye all have, maybe post up a pic and why ye picked that breed

here is mine

jess

2i71chh.jpg
    The Springer is nearly 4yrs, the Lab is is Two this month big dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

my 2 irws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

My two, GWP and ESS.

31122008425-1-1.jpg

21122008418.jpg

28022009480.jpg

26092009269.jpg

14112009346.jpg

And this was Bruce my Dropper,
    PC020025.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

P010909_1133.jpg?t=1273874317
    Capture.jpg?t=1273874349
    BagofBirds.jpg?t=1273874370
    04032010053.jpg?t=1273874401

Few snaps of the hounds :)

Mods this will be worth a mention in Important threads. Great stuff lads keep em coming...
    On semi point rear leg cocked???
    2dlok6v.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

My Five, two now retired from duty.

IMG_0240.jpg

IMG_0084-1.jpg

IMG_0174.jpg

untitled-2.jpg

IMG_0223.jpg

Mallards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

mallards wrote: »
    My Five, two now retired from duty.

IMG_0240.jpg

Mallards

Like the look of that German Mallards! Reminds me of the standard of Germans that were out years ago! These days a lot of German pointers seem to have a lighter build, more like that of an English pointer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

attachment.php?attachmentid=113973&d=1273929165I never come home without her :D

Mellor wrote: »
    I imagine his (suspected) cousins will make an appearance here later. ;)
    [/YOUTUBE]

and there they are above :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭DavyDee

122hyip.gif My 2 Bitches!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

how in the name of moses do you put up pics on this thing?:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

dicky82 wrote: »
    how in the name of moses do you put up pics on this thing?:o:o

dicky i use tinypic and the just copy the link in here, it usually works but others might have a better way..

some lovely dogs here lads keep em coming, cant wait to get started with mine, just letting her be a pup for a week or two but getting her to sit at different times evryday, when should i start pushing the recall and drop a bit more seriously

dicky i use tinypic and the just copy the link in here, it usually works but others might have a better way..

some lovely dogs here lads keep em coming, cant wait to get started with mine, just letting her be a pup for a week or two but getting her to sit at different times evryday, when should i start pushing the recall and drop a bit more seriously

is that like a site or a function button?? im a computer retard tbh.

dicky82 wrote: »
    is that like a site or a function button?? im a computer retard tbh.

join the club :D

http://tinypic.com/

click browse and the when you find your picture click upload, when its uploaded you will see a link for forums, just copy and paste that here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

blind retrieve 004.JPG say hello to bonnie..........eats anything loves children

lucy i hope. . . 14si1xv.jpg[/IMG]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

22052010102.jpg?t=1274551381

Here's my 2 pointers sussing out my buck rabbit.
    The springer treats the pointer like a big brother & copies everything he does! Never seen 2 dogs to get on as well. Gas really :D

lovely pointer good strong looking dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 buck hunter

hi all, here are my 2

21v80k.jpg

24mwz7d.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

Whilst I'm in the posting picture mode, here are my girls, I no longer have the one in front. The yellow one is like a JCB in heavy gorse and bramble cover, I've not seen a Lab like her and her daughter follows everywhere so she now thinks this is the norm :)

You can see my rifle stick to the right, two sticks one about 1/3 the length of the other and hinged with a bolt and a wire to limit its spread, cost me nothing and the hinged leg makes it very stable, great when taking a stroll after bunnies. I like simple and cheap.
    Spannerman

FourMonkies.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Whilst I'm in the posting picture mode, here are my girls, I no longer have the one in front. The yellow one is like a JCB in heavy gorse and bramble cover, I've not seen a Lab like her and her daughter follows everywhere so she now thinks this is the norm :)

You can see my rifle stick to the right, two sticks one about 1/3 the length of the other and hinged with a bolt and a wire to limit its spread, cost me nothing and the hinged leg makes it very stable, great when taking a stroll after bunnies. I like simple and cheap.
    Spannerman

FourMonkies.jpg
    Spannerman! what breading is in that little dog at the back?
    Just curious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Spannerman7

Hi Eddie,
    Cross between Jack Russell and Fell Terrier, complete nuts, and I mean nuts, just wanted to pull and drag at things all day, including the other dogs. Now dead, the photo is a few years old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭gavlaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

What are them dogs Gav, bar the lurcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭gavlaw

bull/patt crossed with airedale/patt ...terriers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

Mellor wrote: »
    I've no pics with me while I'm away. But here is a video from last year.

My britany named Reily.
    Tracking a pheasant while out in the field. He is just under 1 year here, and was happy with his nose at that stage. Was happy that he remained so calm even though he was close to the bird. Flushed on command too.

Almost year later, he has come on even more and is a fantastic dog. I imagine his (suspected) cousins will make an appearance here later. ;)

next dog for me ! a good old Brittany :) i prefer the the french look rather than the american one.

lads looking for abit of advice, as ye know im new to training gun dogs, my pup is 3 months now, she will sit and recall fairly well, when should i start pushing her a bit more on the recall, just looking for advice or tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

wouldnt do much with a pup till its about 8 months old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭irish setter

lads looking for abit of advice, as ye know im new to training gun dogs, my pup is 3 months now, she will sit and recall fairly well, when should i start pushing her a bit more on the recall, just looking for advice or tips

take your time and keep doing what your doing. i would try to practice the drop aswell as it's more effective that the sit at stopping your pup when you need to later on. personally i don't train my dogs to sit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

IMG_2165.jpg
    IMG_2151.jpg
    IMG_2148.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

My princess

BoarHunter wrote: »
    next dog for me ! a good old Brittany :) i prefer the the french look rather than the american one.

As far as I know, open to correction, but the Irish breeders are essentially French in origin, every now and again a new name appears with obvious French origins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

n69b9v.jpg
    2rh8jlv.jpg

bumping this up again must be loads of new dogs on here, get posting lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

2012-12-09130636.jpg

my boy rua

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Hendrix chillin during the warm spell

264021.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Never knew about this thread , nice one

2012-12-09130636.jpg

my boy rua

how do you find the red, he is a fine dog, how old is he, what line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

My hannoverian schweisshunde

264025.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Just a day out at the lake

264026.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:aaaaaaaaaaaahh!!! im pulling whats left of me three hairs out,fecking laptop is not letting my post up pics of my springer bitch jess and my new recruit 8wk old springer pup buddy i,l wreck the laptop lol lovely dogs lads great to see the different breeds and personal choices:D:D what would we do with out them eh:D