Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stealing Drinks in the Pub/Club

• 13-05-2010 2:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭

Do you do this?
    Or what do you think of the people who do?

One of my mates steals anything he can get his stingy hands on every time we're out and may be harsh but to be honest I'm hoping he gets spiked or ends up horrifically ill so he'll learn his lesson!

Do you steal drinks? 34 votes

Yes, all the time
    0% 0 votes
    Yes, every now and then
    20% 7 votes
    No, never
    79% 27 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Its a knacker-ish thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I wouldn't steal anything. One knacker did accuse me of stealing his drink once upon a time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Nice "mate" you have there :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

If you're leaving a half pint down and not coming back to it, just make sure you phlegm it up real good. They can take your drink but they'll pay for it once it passes their lips ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

xoixo wrote: »
    One of my mates steals anything he can get his stingy hands on every time we're out and may be harsh but to be honest I'm hoping he gets spiked or ends up horrifically ill so he'll learn his lesson!

How about instead you just tell him you won't be in his company and that he should f*ck right off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭xoixo

How about instead you just tell him you won't be in his company and that he should f*ck right off?

I've got really mad about it before and started fights (I'm a girl btw, in case that sounded physical) but he's one of those people who pays no attention to what I or anyone thinks of him, really obnoxious... I would just stop seeing him but friend circles means thats not really possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

no, as Im not a scroungy scumbag

I seem to recall another thread, in which a girl noticed her drinks getting pinched, so diluted it via a trip to the bathroom (!) and left it get robbed..

/edit yay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

This actually happens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Wossack wrote: »
    I seem to recall another thread, in which a girl noticed her drinks getting pinched, so diluted it via a trip to the bathroom (!) and left it get robbed..

Yeah, a friend of a friend did the same one night in a club in Cork. Had several drinks stolen so took a piss in an empty bottle and left it out...and it was taken too. Justice served :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I know of two people that do it, There is two sides too this.

One you should be able to leave your drink down without it been taking.

On the other hand you have to remember this is Ireland, and your drink should never leave your side. (At leased this is what I do)

Also, if your drink has been taking, you could count yourself lucky in a way, it could have been spiked. So it is a lesson to be learnt from the whole experience.

Personally I think they should ban pubs, clubs & offos. Messy drunks, waste of Garda time and government money dealing with these yobs that are off their heads on all types of alcohol. Just have a look how well the Head Shop ban worked, I have not seen one person off there head, there is no druggies or drug dealing taking place any more.[SIZE="-3"]Citation Needed [/SIZE]I just see people off there heads on alcohol as this is one of the legal drugs left.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

No cause

A. I'm not a scrounger and
    B. I'm iffy enough about leaving my own drink down for a second for fear of some scummer slipping something into it.. I'm hardly going to go downing a random drink I've just found on a table.. Not to mention what you might catch off the glass.. Herpes etc :( duuurrrty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Its a scummy thing to do. So no, I've never stolen a drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pint-thieves should enjoy the pint.

Because if they get caught, they can choose between two options: paying back the drink with extremely high interest or extreme pain.

I'd never leave my drink down except you know how in some clubs they don't let you bring it outside into the smoking area, so you've no choice.
    Said friend will also wonder over to that table everyone leaves them on by the doors and take as he pleases. Free bar! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hell no, it could be anything in there.
    I once mistook my mates Budweiser for my Carlsberg *shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Never.

biko wrote: »
    Hell no, it could be anything in there.
    I once mistook my mates Budweiser for my Carlsberg *shudders*

Carlsberg is top of the range!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

msg11 wrote: »
    Personally I think they should ban pubs, clubs & offos. Messy drunks, waste of Garda time and government money dealing with these yobs that are off their heads on all types of alcohol. Just have a look how well the Head Shop ban worked, I have not seen one person off there head, there is no druggies or drug dealing taking place any more. I just see people off there heads on alcohol as this is one of the legal drugs left.

:pac: I really hope you are joking, or else I want to live, work, shop and socialise wherever you do. Just at lunch I saw some scrote looking junkie spit a manky big pile of junkie spit on the groiund as he zombie walked by me.

Said friend will also wonder over to that table everyone leaves them on by the doors and take as he pleases. Free bar! :mad:

Have a discreet word with one of the target tables. Your mate gets a kicking and you can just say they spotted him.

Result.

It's going to happen sooner or later anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Spiking is a myth, anyway pubshops are going to be banned for selling bike to underage gluesniffers:confused:

This forum makes my brain cry ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Did it one night years ago when quite drunk, didnt get caught, my friends though it was funny, I didnt.

Havnt done it since and wouldnt entertain the idea of doing it TBH.

NothingMan wrote: »
    :pac: I really hope you are joking, or else I want to live, work, shop and socialise wherever you do. Just at lunch I saw some scrote looking junkie spit a manky big pile of junkie spit on the groiund as he zombie walked by me.

****e, forgot to add this too that part of the post [SIZE="-3"]Citation Needed[/SIZE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭karlm37

When the auld BZP Party Pills were on the go, we decided to slip one in to a friend's drink to spice his night up a bit, so to speak... Anyway, long story short, a lovely young girl decided to try robbing my drink right in front of me, I told her to fcuk off, so the brazen cow necks my mates drink right in front of us... Needless to say, it didn't sit too well with her, she freaked out, puked everywhere and had to be rushed off with her mates!
    Yeah, I suppose I felt slightly bad and worried at the time, but now I laugh at the story... She'll think twice about doing that again, won't she??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Scummy thing to do. As others have suggested, if you're done with your drink then leave a little present in there if anyone is out on the hunt for free drink. Might put a stop to some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Don't do it, haven't had it done often since I drink the black stuff. Last time was years ago in Naas. Caught the chap, but wouldn't take it back. He could keep the pint, but I marched him up to the bar to buy me a fresh one. It was either that or he got a slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i take my friends drinks all the time just to make sure they dont get too drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Do you do this?
    Or what do you think of the people who do?

Jees I'd be totally mortified and wouldn't be caught dead in their company :eek:

Can he not afford his own? Does he just take a sip and put it back or does he take the whole thing? Not that it matters, I'm just nosey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I have once or twice but I was fluttered on these occasions. I had a boyfriend who used to finance his nights out this way, god I loved him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

DarkJager wrote: »
    If you're leaving a half pint down and not coming back to it, just make sure you phlegm it up real good. They can take your drink but they'll pay for it once it passes their lips ;)

oh jees ....we need a puking smiley :D

sky88 wrote: »
    i take my friends drinks all the time just to make sure they dont get too drunk

We all need a friend like you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I really do hope your friend gets the living **** kicked out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I used to work with a chap who was always taking other peoples drinks and even getting slapped around a few times didn't seem to break the habit.

Until he was setup and lifted a pint with nail polish remover in it. Talk about a bad night out lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

years ago me and my mate were out drinking double vodkas and red bull and everytime we came back from the smoking area they were gone, after about a serious amount of drink was robbed, my mate decided to piss into a glass and put some red bull in it (knackery i know) but he then went over to the girl that was stealing the drinks and said after she finshed it "dont know why you drink that redbull cr4p it tastes like absolute p1ss"
    her face was priceless:D

Jees I'd be totally mortified and wouldn't be caught dead in their company :eek:

Can he not afford his own? Does he just take a sip and put it back or does he take the whole thing? Not that it matters, I'm just nosey :D

He's such an embarrassment, a lot of nights out I find myself having to follow him around just to apologise for him to almost every single person he walks past for something or other hes done/said.

And he's not loaded but he can well afford his own! He's got a decent enough job, and predrinks plenty at home so half of the time when he's doing it in the club he's already locked and doesnt even need it.
    If its a spirit in a small glass he'll neck the whole thing, if its a pint he'll down as much as he can, which is quite a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i would never do it. if i hadnt enough money to buy my own drink i wouldnt go into a pub in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I never put my pint down in a club. Once I start a drink, I don't do anything else 'til I finish it. It's just common sense.

I remember one of my friends was really drunk in a club one night and started throwing up at the table. We shoved his half-empty glass of vodka-blackcurrant under him to try and stop the puke getting on the ground, etc. Anyway, he filled the glass and we got up and left.

He forgot his phone so I ran back to get it...and I was glad I did.

I saw some girl pick up his glass that was left on the table (it was a dark purpley colour and the lighting in the place was pretty dim so she couldn't see the chunks in it). She tried to knock it back in one before realising it wasn't actually a proper drink.

The screams and the desperate dash to the bathroom that followed were hilarious. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

I know of two people that do it, There is two sides too this.

One you should be able to leave your drink down without it been taking.

On the other hand you have to remember this is Ireland, and your drink should never leave your side. (At leased this is what I do)

Also, if your drink has been taking, you could count yourself lucky in a way, it could have been spiked. So it is a lesson to be learnt from the whole experience.

Personally I think they should ban pubs, clubs & offos. Messy drunks, waste of Garda time and government money dealing with these yobs that are off their heads on all types of alcohol. Just have a look how well the Head Shop ban worked, I have not seen one person off there head, there is no druggies or drug dealing taking place any more.[SIZE="-3"]Citation Needed [/SIZE]I just see people off there heads on alcohol as this is one of the legal drugs left.

where are you from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Kalahari

A few of my friends from college do it all the time. I don't know why tbh unless it's the thrill, as they all get grants so money isn't an issue. Most nights they'll end up getting sick in the toilets from mixing so many different drinks together, and then head right back out into the club to start over. Headwrecking. Was fairly funny a couple of nights ago though, one of the girls did a series of maneuvers around a group of lads at a table to rob a drink, successfully did so and fled the scene.. arrived back to our group triumphantly and took a swig.. it was water :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Anyone who does this is a cunt. Plain and simple. Had a girl do this once in a bar. I turned around and she was downing my drink in one and gave me a 'so what' look. Went to the bar, ordered another one, went over to her and poured it on her. Told her it was happy hour.

If you can't afford to buy your own drink, stay in and save up until you can.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

I never put my pint down in a club. Once I start a drink, I don't do anything else 'til I finish it. It's just common sense.

I remember one of my friends was really drunk in a club one night and started throwing up at the table. We shoved his half-empty glass of vodka-blackcurrant under him to try and stop the puke getting on the ground, etc. Anyway, he filled the glass and we got up and left.

He forgot his phone so I ran back to get it...and I was glad I did.

I saw some girl pick up his glass that was left on the table (it was a dark purpley colour and the lighting in the place was pretty dim so she couldn't see the chunks in it). She tried to knock it back in one before realising it wasn't actually a proper drink.

The screams and the desperate dash to the bathroom that followed were hilarious. :)

HAHA.

Also, ewww...

Venom wrote: »
    I used to work with a chap who was always taking other peoples drinks and even getting slapped around a few times didn't seem to break the habit.

He just hasn't got the requisite depth of slapping yet, god willing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Drinks are never spiked. Its an urban myth.

Well maybe not never. It may have happened once or twice in the history of the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Absolutely not.
    1. Its the lowest of the low that do this - and...
    2. You pick someones drink and sooner or later your gonna get something they are suffering from, be it mouth sores, infections or worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Young women are the biggest cuprits in this... scumbags so they are. I hope the skanky whooors get fooooked some night because of it.

Billybigunz, get a clue ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 xxlily87xx

i dont know how people can do this. i was out one night with a group of friends about 12 of us, about 4 of us drinking the same drink and 4 drinks i bought one after another kept going missing on me with barely a sip gone out of them when i was up dancing. i really got p*ssed off and had to keep my drink in my hand the rest of the night and couldn't go up dancing incase it happened again. i could've said something to my friends but i hate confrontation and i always end up keeping my mouth closed :( ive been told so many times im too soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Yeah, last time my car got robbed, i counted myself lucky coz it could've been set on fire with me inside it. How lucky am i? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

you should of put in the poll option: ''Sorry Bud, I'm so drunk, didnt realise it was yours *slurp* ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

Yeh, stealing from paying customers is scummy, however stealing from the bar is justified for the rediculous prices ;)
    if you ever get the chance, grab an empty pint glass, put it under the tap, flick it on, one of them sees it overflowing, they turn it off, you gesture to them its yours, and happy days!