Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LUCAN 5K--SUN 13TH JUNE--Tom Byrne Memorial

• 13-05-2010 11:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭

here's another Athletics Club organised 5K for the diary.

Sunday 13th June, 11am, Lucan Harriers Track

i heard great reports about this event from 2009,
    and it's only €12 to enter. i'll be there this year.

more details at
    http://www.lucanharriers.com/ourownraces.html#annual_tom_byrne

ps i have no link to Lucan Harriers, other than being from neighbouring club:)

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 8 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    50%
    pad-camjb-skiDipityronnie085 4 votes
    3 stars (average)
    37%
    JnealonRAL3onimpulse 3 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    12%
    chinguetti 1 vote
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

jb-ski wrote: »
    here's another Athletics Club organised 5K for the diary.

Sunday 13th June, 11am, Lucan Harriers Track

i heard great reports about this event from 2009,
    and it's only €12 to enter. i'll be there this year.

more details at

ps i have no link to Lucan Harriers, other than being from neighbouring club:)

I ran this race last year. Very well organised, great course. Only prob I have this year is that Bohermeen 5K is on the night before:eek: May just treat this as a training run this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 LucanHarriers

I ran this race last year. Very well organised, great course. Only prob I have this year is that Bohermeen 5K is on the night before:eek: May just treat this as a training run this year.

Thanks for your kind comments. We're looking forward to hosting this race again on June 13th. We have new partners on board this year with Runways. It will be the same route as the previous 2 years and is a fast course. The race finishes on our track and there is always a good atmosphere as athletes enter the track at the end of the race.Online entry is now open at www.runireland.com for €12 or alternatively just show up at the club house on the morning of race to register for €15. Looking forward to seeing you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Dipity

4 stars (good)
    I'd be up for this one too. I have another run I'm working towards so think I'll do this as a training run too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 sonkal

Hi Lucan Harriers

YOu say the race is a fast course, does this mean it is not suited to the average or slower runner???? Thanx

sonkal wrote: »
    Hi Lucan Harriers

YOu say the race is a fast course, does this mean it is not suited to the average or slower runner???? Thanx
    Hi Sonkal,

Of course the course is suited to all standard of runners. But for anybody chasing a quick time or perhaps looking for a personal best over 5k we feel that this is a possibility. The race starts on the road outside the clubhouse. At 1km it goes into Griffeen Park and follows a loop in the park for the next 2+ kms. The race then comes back onto the roads and heads back to the clubhouse where it finishes on the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭Birdsong

did this race last year, was enjoyable, especially coming back into track. Will give it a go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Jnealon

3 stars (average)
    Looking forward to this one as the last time I raced on that track I was only a teenager.
    I've a rough idea of the route but has anyone got a map of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Great race well worth considering - have competed in the last two and plan to be there again this year with a big Le Chéile AC crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Thanks for your kind comments. We're looking forward to hosting this race again on June 13th. We have new partners on board this year with Runways. It will be the same route as the previous 2 years and is a fast course. The race finishes on our track and there is always a good atmosphere as athletes enter the track at the end of the race.Online entry is now open at www.runireland.com for €12 or alternatively just show up at the club house on the morning of race to register for €15. Looking forward to seeing you there.

Is there a team event too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I'll be doing this, it will be my first rae in I don't know how long, can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭thegift06

an absolute shocking bad STONE track, probably the worst in Ireland, are there any plans of upgrading this track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭foleyalan

thegift06 wrote: »
    an absolute shocking bad STONE track, probably the worst in Ireland, are there any plans of upgrading this track

Still sounds like a great race. Im in despite the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

foleyalan wrote: »
    Still sounds like a great race. Im in despite the above.

Yep +1
    Going to be my next race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

thegift06 wrote: »

It's not that bad, not great but not the worst. Ok for the final lap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

2 stars (poor)
    Would like to do this but i'll have to wait to see how the legs are closer to the time. Is the track quite stony/bumpy as has been earlier said?

chinguetti wrote: »
    Would like to do this but i'll have to wait to see how the legs are closer to the time. Is the track quite stony/bumpy as has been earlier said?

The track is a cinder one as opposed to a tartan track. It is normally rolled and smoothed prior to the race.

PS: There will be a team event with a prize for the first female and male teams. The first 4 on each team to score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

In fairness now the track is grand, gift06 is a little bit over the top. Its not bumpy and I trained on the track weekly.

Its a great race and running through the park is really nice before coming back out on to the road. Cant do it this year as have to head home but well worth running the race.

dont think i went overboard at all, the times i have been there there were lumps of stone in some places and none in others, and when the grass in the middle is cut its spread all around the perimeter and onto the track. They should have invested in a Tartan track instead of a new clubhouse. It looks a bit neglected at times

Jnealon wrote: »
    Looking forward to this one as the last time I raced on that track I was only a teenager.
    I've a rough idea of the route but has anyone got a map of it

Hi Jnealon,

We are currently working on getting a map of the route and hope to attach this link within the next week.

We are currently working on getting a map of the route.

Hi LH - rather than going to trouble trying to drawing the route on a map - why not run the route with a GPS watch and post a link to the route - crude but effective :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

lecheile wrote: »
    Hi LH - rather than going to trouble trying to drawing the route on a map - why not run the route with a GPS watch and post a link to the route - crude but effective :)

And we get to see your split times :D

Think I'll enter this myself - not going to win anything but looks like a well organised race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

4 stars (good)
    lecheile wrote: »

any sign of route map yet?

might do a recce on Sun morning on our LSR,

(since your guys cross the border onto our turf on Sunday's:D)

jb-ski wrote: »
    since your guys cross the border onto our turf on sundays

JB-ski, are you trying to get a Jets and Sharks vibe going????

1270488626-jets_vs_sharks.jpg

This is my trace from last year's race.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/route/ie/dublin/443127508111128582

I must say although I have slated the track I had a quick stop off in Lucan the other day and the track looks very well, grass is cut tight in the centre, track is evenly laid and there are now line markings for lanes, so well done and fair play to Lucan Harriers

4 stars (good)
    Lucan Harriers, good news for you.

i asked at training last night, and there are at least 20 members of Le Chéile running on the 13th.

not bad for a relatively newly formed adult group!

So be prepared....

(us Leixlip folk are very fussy about our tea + cake:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

really looking forward to this race on sunday...definite pb potential on this course...fingers crossed we get as summery a day as last year.... had to pull out of cork marathon yesterday after 16miles, which wasn't a good thing, but at least i'll be fresh and ready to go for this race, which is good consolation:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Enjoy the race on Sunday people. Love to be there but have to head off.

Make sure you sprint once you hit the track at the end :)

4 stars (good)
    Enjoy the race on Sunday people. Love to be there but have to head off.

Make sure you sprint once you hit the track at the end :)

i'm looking forward tomorrow (despite the weather forecast).

there were some very impressive times last year

i'm hoping to scrape in under 20min, but not sure if it's in the legs for tomorrow.

Anyone planning on beating last years winning time???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

Is there shower facilities at this? Really looking forward to this and getting a good time.
    i'm looking forward tomorrow (despite the weather forecast)

What's the weather forecast like?

4 stars (good)

What's the weather forecast like?

Widespread showers. http://www.met.ie/forecasts/

so you may not need shower 'facilities':).

(i don't know what's available in clubhouse)

Thanks, is there a map of the route?

If you look back at my previous post you will find a link to my gps trace from last year.

4 stars (good)
    great day had by all the Le Chéile gang.
    the rain held off,so conditions were good, if a little windy.
    there were quite a few 1st timers out and they all enjoyed it,
    although it was a tough enough course.

well done LucanHarriers!
    everything was well organised, and the Tea, Cake etc was very welcome,

(and definitely worth coming back next year for, see earlier post :D)

4 stars (good)
    Well done Lucan Harriers and thanks for an enjoyable event.

Very well organised, I thought they did an excellent job on the marshalling. They even managed to hold the rain off till afterwards.

It was a tough run though. The wind at the end just wiped me out and I'm a bit disappointed with my time. I was hoping to get in under 24 but came in a few seconds over. But, I'll be back next year to give it another go!!

4 stars (good)
    BTW, does anyone know when times will be posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭redved

did this today also, strange course, flat but felt tough with the wind.

I was down 30 sec on my donore harriers time.

Well marshalled and well organised. I'll be back next year for revenge :)

I found the course a bit though going and missed out on my sub 19 time...legs were heavy after a long run yesterday.

Well organised race - well done

3 stars (average)
    Not too sure what to think of the course, a few too many twists and turns for my liking, I nearly over shot the second bridge over the griffeen.The 2km marker threw me a bit.
    Once I had the wind in my face on the stretch coming out of the park I knew the road to Superquinn would be tough, and it was
    I missed the tea and coffee afterwards, where was that hiding

Dipity wrote: »
    BTW, does anyone know when times will be posted?

Hi All,

Many thanks to everyone for supporting our race today and for your comments on this thread. We will take all comments - good and bad - on board for next year's race.

Hi Dipity,

Results should be posted on our website www.lucanharriers.com this evening. We have also got some photographs that can be found at the below link.
    http://picasaweb.google.com/105553745719654403626/TomByrneMemorial5KLucan?feat=email#

good race today....did anyone else wear a gps watch? i clocked it as 3.2miles! the wind definitely slowed us a bit, as did the few twists and turns (it was a diff course to last year.....the opposite direction to last year i think) but i was still 44 seconds than last year and can't put that down fully to the 0.1 mile:D

2 stars (poor)
    I also thought the course was a little long as i ran the 2nd k in 4.30 and the 3rd in 3.45 which is a bit wrong to me as i ran in just over 20 mins.

Not a bad course apart from the wind but a map of the course in the clubhouse beforehand would have been handy and i also spent ages trying to find the tea. I nearly ended up in mass in my efforts to get a cup of tea.

yeah the second km must have been well wrong cos i was something like 3-10 for the first one and then the second was 4mins approx:eek: anyway as i said my gps clocked the course as well long..... sure more of a workout eh;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

3 stars (average)
    chinguetti wrote: »
    I also thought the course was a little long as i ran the 2nd k in 4.30 and the 3rd in 3.45 which is a bit wrong to me as i ran in just over 20 mins.

Not a bad course apart from the wind but a map of the course in the clubhouse beforehand would have been handy and i also spent ages trying to find the tea. I nearly ended up in mass in my efforts to get a cup of tea.

Thanks to Lucan Harriers for a very enjoyable and well organised race.

Myself & Chinguetti were flying the flag for boards today and even though he had only one healthy leg & was 'taking it easy', he still beat me!

I hate these naturally talented runners............

2 stars (poor)
    Well done RAL3 on the new PB despite the wind.

As for the natural talent, well i'm not sure about that but the bad leg behaved itself when i heard you coming fast from behind. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

the 2km marker seemed to be way off, I had it around 2.3km. I'm from Lucan so run around there all the time, I really enjoyed it and we got lucky with the weather.

Well done Lucan Harriers on another great race this year. I took the easy option and did not run :) Did bring the camera though and a few photos here. Will get up onto RacePix over the next couple of days if you cant access on Facebook

Please find attached the results of our Tom Byrne race yesterday. I hope you all enjoyed the run and we hope to see you next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 eddd82

Anyone notice their time being a bit out on results? My stopwatch and the clock at finish line matched but the results say 30seconds slower!?

3 stars (average)
    The winning time was very slow alright, looking at the results from yesterday the winner wouldn't have made the top 10 in Na Fianna a few weeks ago.