Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bill Cullen Email

• 12-05-2010 6:15pm

Did ye get that email! It was sent to every student!
    Cant believe the Head of the college expects us to vote for Bill Cullen :eek:
    Jaysus its all who ya know in this country :mad:

Bill Cullen is the guy who thinks we are "spoiled celtic tiger cubs" and should work for nothing when we graduate all while his "business" leeches off state subsidies.

Anyone else think that email was out of line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Not being someone who reads/listens/watches the news, since it generally makes me very angry, I neither know nor care who Bill Cullen is. So I couldn't actually say whether it was out of line or not. That said, I'm still glad to be getting more mails from the college even if they are utterly trivial. How much does it cost to press the DELETE key?

mickstupp wrote: »
    Not being someone who reads/listens/watches the news, since it generally makes me very angry, I neither know nor care who Bill Cullen is. So I couldn't actually say whether it was out of line or not. That said, I'm still glad to be getting more mails from the college even if they are utterly trivial. How much does it cost to press the DELETE key?

Even if you dont know who he is do you think the Head of the college should be asking us to vote a certain way in anything never mind a stupid book competition!?

Totally inappropriate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Bill Cullen is the guy who thinks we are "spoiled celtic tiger cubs" and should work for nothing when we graduate all while his "business" leeches off state subsidies.

That video made me respect Bill Cullen a lot more than I used to and I really hope that you posting it here will get him more supporters rather than "haters".

He's an amazing entrepreneur and he makes a lot of sense sometimes.
    We have it way better off now than we would have had back when he was our age which was his general point.

On a side note, he's apparently helped out the Uni financially with some things and stuff like that. I think he launched his book here and I guess it's only natural that when it gets nominated for a reward the college would do whatever it could to help him out in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Even if you dont know who he is do you think the Head of the college should be asking us to vote a certain way in anything never mind a stupid book competition!?

Totally inappropriate
    Couldn't give a damn, I'm much more concerned about my exams at the minute. Why get worked up about this irrelevant nonsense. Do we not all have enough stress at the moment? If I had the power to mail to all and sundry, I'd be sending people links to Rory Gallagher videos on YouTube, president or not. Or pointing out that you might possibly be able to watch the entire Conan the Barbarian movie there, not that I would know or do such a thing even if were totally true. To hell with inappropriateness when it's this silly.

I actually just watched that video... and I think I agree with him completely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

And on top of it all... anyone who has read the book can tell you it's a load of moany boasting sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Not even a P.S.good luck in your exams...?

Tut tut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Mr. SS

Bill Cullen is the guy who thinks we are "spoiled celtic tiger cubs"

Are we not just that?

So what if the President is asking us to support him, he has supported us. Its not a bloody election, its a book award, is the president not allowed to ask for our support no?

Mr. SS wrote: »
    Are we not just that?

So what if the President is asking us to support him, he has supported us. Its not a bloody election, its a book award, is the president not allowed to ask for our support no?

Im certainly.

He has supported us? He is only in business because of substantial state subsidies. Maybe the college and our education system would be better off not bleeding money into that guys pockets.

Have a look at the WPP1 & 2 threads and see what is in store for new graduates.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055852864&page=8
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055795040

Just what Bill Cullen wants.......people to work for businesses making them a profit but no share in that profit - no pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Im certainly.

He has supported us? He is only in business because of substantial state subsidies.

Pardon?
    Have a look at the WPP1 & 2 threads and see what is in store for new graduates.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055852864&page=8
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055795040

Just what Bill Cullen wants.......people to work for businesses making them a profit but no share in that profit - no pay

Where did he state that eh?

stepbar wrote: »
    Pardon?

Where did he state that eh?

lol your jokin!

He sells cars and got the scrappage scheme he gets thousands for every sale from the state.

He clearly states in the youtube link that graduates should work for free.

He has supported us? He is only in business because of substantial state subsidies.
    how substantial?

from my knowledge, we are only in college because of massive state subsidies. one subsidy keeps people in employment, the other in education.

you would have a point if Mr. Cullen had grown up with a silver spoon in his mouth, but he didnt. He actually had to do this himself (do as I did, in other words, not do as I say) and I believe he is sharing his experience to show students what they can achieve, even if they have nothing.

Yes, in order to better themselves and get ahead of the pack... he's not condeming people to a life of slavery. Most graduates live at home and recieve the dole, they can sit at home, or they can get experience. I know what I'd be doing anyway.

As a matter of fact I have an interest in people not doing this, I missed out on a summer job in Citi Bank because they are hiring people on the dole.

lol your jokin!

He sells cars and got the scrappage scheme he gets thousands for every sale from the state.

When did the scrappage scheme start? :rolleyes:

Let me remind you that you're in college, aka funded by the taxpayer.

He's advocating for young people to get up off their asses and get work experience so that down the line they can become employable.

how substantial?

from my knowledge, we are only in college because of massive state subsidies. one subsidy keeps people in employment, the other in education.

Rubbish, education is part of what got our economy going in the 90s it gives a pay back. Bill Cullens subsidies involve us importing cars i.e more loans more money flowing out of the country and the tax payer is paying for it.
    This keeps a few car salesmen in jobs at a cost of jobs in the wider economy.

you would have a point if Mr. Cullen had grown up with a silver spoon in his mouth, but he didnt. He actually had to do this himself (do as I did, in other words, not do as I say) and I believe he is sharing his experience to show students what they can achieve, even if they have nothing.

I have a point regardless of how Cullen did or didnt grow up. Its really simple....he wants graduates to work for nothing. You work someone else gets the profit. Its exploitation pure and simple

stepbar wrote: »
    When did the scrappage scheme start? :rolleyes:

Let me remind you that you're in college, aka funded by the taxpayer.

He's advocating for young people to get up off their asses and get work experience so that down the line they can become employable.

Look over 400k people are on the dole we could give them all experience but it wont create 400k jobs. Adding businesses wage bills onto the tax payer is not a good time with our massive budget deficit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Jesus, does he ever shut up about how he didn't grow up with a silver spoon in his mouth. I'm sick of hearing it at this stage.

Anyway, he's not "sharing his experience", his tone was not one of a friendly old man giving advice. He's talking down to young people, "giving out" to them, writing off people he has never met as lazy and unwilling to work. I highly doubt many employers would even employ you if you offered to work for free, possible legal issues and the like. He didn't really offer any constructive advice at all.

Look over 400k people are on the dole we could give them all experience but it wont create 400k jobs. Adding businesses wage bills onto the tax payer is not a good time with our massive budget deficit.

How else do you plan to be ahead of the game when the country starts to get out of the recession?

Let me tell you something.... whilst all my friends were off swanning the world on J1's etc.. I was out working my ass off during the summer holidays so that I could add to my experience.

There are lots of companies out there struggling to keep up with the work they have because they've let go staff. You can be sure you wouldn't go idle if you offered your services nor would you be impacting on the next mans job due to your lack of experience..

Let me tell you something.... whilst all my friends were off swanning the world on J1's etc.. I was out working my ass off during the summer holidays so that I could add to my experience.
    For free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

I missed this - what was Bill's book nominated for? Booker? National Book Award? Pulitzer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I don't know how to look at this....

I agree that any experiece you can get is quite valuable, but it depends on what it is and if its relevant to your career aspects. On top of this, well......I have this pressing urge to eat every day that experiance cannot feed.

Of course the arguement of experience leading to better emplyability is valid, but we as a country don't take well to men in suits and a large bank account telling us to work for free. Yes the arguement that 'thats what he did' is a good point, but not everyone who tried it ended up like Bill Cullen.

Me...well I just handed out 30 CV's today, the first of many batches. I need money and cannot afford to work for free, as lovely as the concept sounds.

Rubbish, education is part of what got our economy going in the 90s it gives a pay back. Bill Cullens subsidies involve us importing cars i.e more loans more money flowing out of the country and the tax payer is paying for it.
    *funny how you say education got our economy going in the 90s, the state only started funding third level in the mid ninties meaning the first batch to benefit would have graduated in 1999, long after the boom had begun, i think you'll find that you are talking rubish!*

I'll repeat the question. How substantial are these subsidies?

Rubbish? How do you make that out, are we as students subsidised by the state or not? I'll answer for you because you think the truth is rubbish. the answer is: yes, we are subsidised by the state.
    I have a point regardless of how Cullen did or didnt grow up. Its really simple....he wants graduates to work for nothing. You work someone else gets the profit. Its exploitation pure and simple
    What is the alternative?

I don't know how to look at this....

I agree that any experiece you can get is quite valuable, but it depends on what it is and if its relevant to your career aspects. On top of this, well......I have this pressing urge to eat every day that experiance cannot feed.

Of course the arguement of experience leading to better emplyability is valid, but we as a country don't take well to men in suits and a large bank account telling us to work for free. Yes the arguement that 'thats what he did' is a good point, but not everyone who tried it ended up like Bill Cullen.

Me...well I just handed out 30 CV's today, the first of many batches. I need money and cannot afford to work for free, as lovely as the concept sounds.
    the new aviva staduim are looking for loads of people by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I thought the deadline for that passed?!?! :eek:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Bill's right about some stuff, our generation are growing up "mollycoddled", always expecting something for nothing.

I'm in two minds about the working for free thing but at the end of the day it's each individual's choice. You'll still get your dole money but if you're going to be sitting around doing nothing, at least if you work for free you'll be getting experience which will count for a hell of a lot more when the jobs start coming back. I've no doubt there are companies out there who still take advantage of you though.

Jesus, does he ever shut up about how he didn't grow up with a silver spoon in his mouth. I'm sick of hearing it at this stage.

Anyway, he's not "sharing his experience", his tone was not one of a friendly old man giving advice. He's talking down to young people, "giving out" to them, writing off people he has never met as lazy and unwilling to work. I highly doubt many employers would even employ you if you offered to work for free, possible legal issues and the like. He didn't really offer any constructive advice at all.
    Thats because they need to be talked down to! entitlement syndrome has gone rife in this country, we are owed absolutely nothing, we (students) have sponged off the state and our parents for the last twenty years of our lives and have offered little by way of taxes (which most students get back the following year) or contribution to society in general. we are owed nothing. and its the likes of bill cullen who are telling it like it is.

I thought the deadline for that passed?!?! :eek:
    i was just talking to a student today who said porter jobs are still open

Fás are offering work experience to people on the dole, I agree that if it's suitable they should go for it. The majority of people I know on the dole are sitting at home all day playing computer games/sleeping/getting trashed. It's a holiday for them, a 2 year long holiday. I personally like to think that if I were in that situation I'd be doing voluntary work somewhere or other, but each to their own.

It's not fair to tar all students as lazy spongers, because a lot of us aren't. I already have a job for when I graduate, it would be absolutely disheartening to walk away with my degree (I've more or less worked full time alongside college to fund all the different things college demands financially) and be told, "No sorry, no paid jobs for you, go slog it for a snobby business owner who doesn't like students".

rant over. Grr.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Fás are offering work experience to people on the dole, I agree that if it's suitable they should go for it.

I disagree, if someone is making a profit from your work then they should pay you. Even if the employer paid half the dole and the state the other half it would be something.

The state cant afford businesses wages. Personally I`ll go abroad and work rather than work for someone who wont pay me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I disagree, if someone is making a profit from your work then they should pay you. Even if the employer paid half the dole and the state the other half it would be something.

The state cant afford businesses wages. Personally I`ll go abroad and work rather than work for someone who wont pay me.

In the vast majority of cases if a business has the potential to make profit by hiring another worker they would probably just go ahead and do that rather than rely on a volunteer. Any business taking on volunteers for work experience probably isn't making much profit off that individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Why would anyone volunteer for a business anyway?

When you can volunteer for worthwhile causes; youth/social work, arts, poverty, environmental causes etc.

Personally I wouldn't be comfortable devoting my free personal time and effort for someone's profit gain. At least you can have the motivation to work well in knowing you're doing something good for the community or the country, and know that you're not just the counter of someone else's pennies.

Norrdeth wrote: »
    Personally I wouldn't be comfortable devoting my free personal time and effort for someone's profit gain. At least you can have the motivation to work well in knowing you're doing something good for the community or the country, and know that you're not just the counter of someone else's pennies.

Well experience is generally regarded as the most important factor when hiring for most jobs.

An employer seeing that you worked previously for very little money will be impressed. Or at least I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Effluo wrote: »
    That video made me respect Bill Cullen a lot more than I used to and I really hope that you posting it here will get him more supporters rather than "haters".

He's an amazing entrepreneur and he makes a lot of sense sometimes.
    We have it way better off now than we would have had back when he was our age which was his general point.

On a side note, he's apparently helped out the Uni financially with some things and stuff like that. I think he launched his book here and I guess it's only natural that when it gets nominated for a reward the college would do whatever it could to help him out in return.

Bill Cullen is commendable only in his consistent ignorance of the good fortune that brought him to where he is today. His success is due to hard work, chance encounters, and circumstances that dont repeat with any regularity for the rest of us. The man is an offensive sh*t merchant.

Bill's 'support' of the college amounts to a yearly lecture to the business faculty where he reminds all present of how great he is. His groundless, hateful populism is an insult to the many equally hard working students now faced with limited employment opportunities. His ignorance is saturating, and his presence - let alone a formal message of support from our own president - is equally hateful.

efla wrote: »
    Bill Cullen is commendable only in his consistent ignorance of the good fortune that brought him to where he is today. His success is due to hard work, chance encounters, and circumstances that dont repeat with any regularity for the rest of us. The man is an offensive sh*t merchant.

Bill's 'support' of the college amounts to a yearly lecture to the business faculty where he reminds all present of how great he is. His groundless, hateful populism is an insult to the many equally hard working students now faced with limited employment opportunities. His ignorance is saturating, and his presence - let alone a formal message of support from our own president - is equally hateful.

I have three letters...

L... O... L!

oh Efla we meet again.
    Firstly I know nothing of his support for NUIM and I don't really care, I just repeated what I had read.

But, I'd love if you were to elaborate of how "circumstances that dont repeat with any regularity for the rest of us" made him turn around a dealership with an £18m debt into a company making €350m turnover a year.

I personally find it very amusing and ironic that you call Dr. Cullen commendable for only how ignorant he is.

Bill saw an opportunity for a Car dealership and made a go of it.
    He succeeded in that and maybe you think that it was easier to get a business going in the 70's Ireland than it is now?
    But i'm sure you'll find that we have many many more opportunities and a greater chance of business success than there was back in those days.

How someone can take all credit from someone as successful as Bill other than saying, he's "hardworking".
    It must only be an Irish thing.
    Gosh we hate our own don't we? Lets all have a pop at Bono while we're at it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,465 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Gosh we hate our own don't we?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055845646
    The views in this thread seem to echo your point.
    Regardless to what I feel about Cullen I do not especially care that I received the e-mail. Cullen has links with us so the University are only protecting that link by sending us out that e-mail

I have three letters...

L... O... L!

oh Efla we meet again.
    Firstly I know nothing of his support for NUIM and I don't really care, I just repeated what I had read.

But, I'd love if you were to elaborate of how "circumstances that dont repeat with any regularity for the rest of us" made him turn around a dealership with an £18m debt into a company making €350m turnover a year.

Delighted.

Quite simply, Bill's warped sense of reality implies that there are an infinite number of outcomes such as his awaiting all who choose to work as hard as he. Of course the real world doesn't work like that - there aren't as many positions waiting to absorb those who try hard enough. For most of us, hard work is not enough - it takes a decent measure of good fortune, chance encounters, personal and international circumstances, the failures of others (most of which he ironically mentions in his book). Bill's particular story is unique. Impressive, but hardly replicable to the extent he assumes.
    I personally find it very amusing and ironic that you call Dr. Cullen commendable for only how ignorant he is.

Its the grovelling that gets me most - the most amusing part of that email was the quote from 'Dr. Micheal Smurfit' (you may not remember the brief media exchange some years ago). It is convention for a recipient of an honorary doctorate not to use the title - 'Dr'. Its this general culture of deference that's starting to get to me - especially in the sense you use it, what exactly about that was ironic? Is the irony of our president openly groveling to Professor Aherne and Dr. Cullen lost on you?
    Bill saw an opportunity for a Car dealership and made a go of it.
    He succeeded in that and maybe you think that it was easier to get a business going in the 70's Ireland than it is now?
    But i'm sure you'll find that we have many many more opportunities and a greater chance of business success than there was back in those days.

Exactly. Bill's is a phenomenal success story, but his rantings are just one more flashing sign directing us to look away from the real issues, fixing blame on the easiest, most visible culprits.
    How someone can take all credit from someone as successful as Bill other than saying, he's "hardworking".
    It must only be an Irish thing.
    Gosh we hate our own don't we? Lets all have a pop at Bono while we're at it :p

I'll have a go at the edge maybe. Too much delay

I don't think the negative attitude towards Bill Cullen can be put down to 'Irishness' tbh. His attitude and personality are very hard to like, have you read the book, Effluo? Read it, then get back to this.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I don't think the negative attitude towards Bill Cullen can be put down to 'Irishness' tbh. His attitude and personality are very hard to like, have you read the book

I don't like his personality either and your dead right he's not a very likable guy.
    But at the same time i'm not stupid or ignorant enough to think that all his business successes only came from the fact that he is a hardworker and the rest just happened by chance.
    Quite simply, Bill's warped sense of reality implies that there are an infinite number of outcomes such as his awaiting all who choose to work as hard as he. Of course the real world doesn't work like that - there aren't as many positions waiting to absorb those who try hard enough. For most of us, hard work is not enough - it takes a decent measure of good fortune, chance encounters, personal and international circumstances, the failures of others (most of which he ironically mentions in his book).
    Efla you putting into dispute the whole point of business as a study.

Everything happens for a reason!

And of course his story may not be completely followable, but the idea is that you look at his experiences and learn from them. Business is not a strict science. There never is only 1 stone wall correct path, there is no guaranteed formula for success, but at the end of the day everything happens for a reason and if you have a good enough business plan and execute it well, you will most probably succeed.

What I found ironic was you saying the only commendable property of Bill Cullen was his ignorance, while at the same time you are clearly ignoring everything that makes him a great entrepreneur.

Exactly. Bill's is a phenomenal success story, but his rantings are just one more flashing sign directing us to look away from the real issues, fixing blame on the easiest, most visible culprits.

Bill wasn't having a go at anyone as far as I noticed. He was just trying to motivate them to not be relying on a new government to change anything and do whatever they can to improve their employability and to take the initiative.
    "They're all the same" was one of my favorite quotes from his little speech when referring to the gov.

I would also like to point out that the woman banging on about the government claps herself after speaking lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Coles

I have mixed feelings about this 'work experience/work for nothing' scheme.

1) IF it benefits the 'employee' then it favours those from a wealthy background who can afford to be sudsidised by family members. Anyone else would just have to get a low paid job.
    2) It gives an unfair advantage to the employer over competing companies, encouraging them to either lower their pay to existing employees or to ensure that any future employees are 'employed' through this scheme.
    3) If a company is in receipt of state aid or is profiting from state subsidies then they should be obliged to create permanent employment rather than undermine the employment of others.

As for voting for Bill Cullen's book? Why would anyone vote for it without reading it? And for the head of the college to call for students to vote for a book without reading it is a bit odd.

I hate this idea that if you make a bit of cash for yourself in Ireland you're allowed to be an arrogant mouthy pr*ck and say whatever you want to people and still expect respect. People talk about the Irish frowning upon success but think that's the case at all. In other countries, people are allowed to criticise the rich if they are deserving of criticism, I don't see why it shouldn't be the case here.

That's a very good point right there. Take a look at Ben Dunne and Margaret Heffernan - Mr.Dunne is pretty much hated by the entire country, and Margaret Heffernan is commended for her hard work.

But don't get me started on Bob Geldof :D

I hate this idea that if you make a bit of cash for yourself in Ireland you're allowed to be an arrogant mouthy pr*ck and say whatever you want to people and still expect respect.

No-one ever said that, although I get where you're coming from.

All the same if you're just referring to the video I don't think he said anything particularly bad to anyone, unless you're a political party of course. :D

On the whole working for companies with very little pay...
    Ofc it's always going to be the employees choice if they want to do it or not, everyone has a free will... If the the employee thinks that they'd like to get some experience to increase their own knowledge in a particular sector better, but the company cannot afford to keep them on full time, then I think it's a great idea.

I mean these things are not a new concept, apprenticeships are pretty much the same thing. You go and learn a trade while you may not be getting paid a lot of money, you learn a lot and gain a lot of experience.

Efla you putting into dispute the whole point of business as a study.

Everything happens for a reason!

And of course his story may not be completely followable, but the idea is that you look at his experiences and learn from them. Business is not a strict science. There never is only 1 stone wall correct path, there is no guaranteed formula for success, but at the end of the day everything happens for a reason and if you have a good enough business plan and execute it well, you will most probably succeed.

What I found ironic was you saying the only commendable property of Bill Cullen was his ignorance, while at the same time you are clearly ignoring everything that makes him a great entrepreneur.

This thread isn't about Bills personal business skills, it is about his warped impression of reality. The man has not had to spend a day of his latter years (note: latter - the world is a difference place now) in the circumstances of those he looks down. I don't know if you saw his guff on the late late last night (he manages to weasel in the 'look where I came from' every time). It's a different story when you're sitting at home with an unemployed partner wondering what you're doing wrong. There are no doors to bang on, no bit jobs, there isn't anyone to 'sell yourself' to. All the hard work and good intentions in the world will not create positions - there is nothing to exploit. Equally, not everyone will have access to the things required for small business start up - who will they sell to? Who will give SME credit to someone long-term unemployed with no capital? How can you exploit a stagnant market? How can you overcome the issue of effective demand?

It is different for people like us, we are young, educated, coming from one of the best academic institutions in the country with experience, references from senior lecturers, opportunities for networking and research, access to public funding - public discourse is dominated by people like us, who quite honestly - like Cullen - have no idea how drastically things have changed for everyone else in so short a space of time. It is disheartening in the extreme, and the man - and his kind - are an insult to the people who sustained us for the past decades.
    Bill wasn't having a go at anyone as far as I noticed. He was just trying to motivate them to not be relying on a new government to change anything and do whatever they can to improve their employability and to take the initiative.
    "They're all the same" was one of my favorite quotes from his little speech when referring to the gov.

Not directly, but try to empathize. How would you imagine it feels to have spent every day of the last six months glued to internet jobsites, walking the streets for adverts, grabbing voluntary work, personalizing CV's for jobs that probably didn't exist anyway? Being made feel like scum for claiming your social insurance contributions - hard earned and paid in precisely for something like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

Bill Cullen seems to be under the impression everyone in the world wants to be a businessman.

DingChavez wrote: »
    Bill Cullen seems to be under the impression everyone in the world wants to be a businessman.
    Quite true, Bill chose his calling based on what would make him money, some people might have a particular profession or role that they aspire to which would throw up problems which he never had to face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

I'm not a student (I'm a stay at home mum no college education) I just came across this thread by accident. I've watched the Frontline and last nights Late Show - both featuring Mr. Cullen. If I was a student I would do what Mr. Cullen suggests and start "knocking on doors" and offer to work for free for a week and I would organise it so that there would be a queue of students/unemployed knocking at Mr. Cullen's Car Place and that woman from Avoca - could you just imagine their faces when scores of people turn up - unannounced looking for work.

Working for free is what teenagers do in the transition year in secondary school and for the record I know of at least 10 TY students who have been knocking on doors and offering to work for free - but to no avail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

That's brilliant! Flashmob looking for work at Bill Cullen's place anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

CnaG wrote: »
    That's brilliant! Flashmob looking for work at Bill Cullen's place anyone?

Can I come please thanx.:D