Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volvo Masters Amateur National Qualifiers

• 11-05-2010 10:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Does anyone know when and where the above qualifiers are taking place this year? this was last played in 2008 with the National Final at
    Moyvalley with the World Final at Valderamma on the Monday after the
    2008 Volvo Masters. Super tournament for amateurs and great prizes! there was only one entry fee last time and if you qualified in your region there was nothing to pay for green fees in subsequent rounds, thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 3putter

brousuka wrote: »
    Does anyone know when and where the above qualifiers are taking place this year? this was last played in 2008 with the National Final at
    Moyvalley with the World Final at Valderamma on the Monday after the
    2008 Volvo Masters. Super tournament for amateurs and great prizes! there was only one entry fee last time and if you qualified in your region there was nothing to pay for green fees in subsequent rounds, thanks in advance.

hi there, i actually managed to win this super tournment, by sheer luck, but that is golf. I finished 2nd in the local qualifing event in athlone and went to the national final in carton hse. This was a fabolous day really well put on by the guys and girls from Volvo. Apart from excellent course all competitors were treated to a fab day, with even a golf clinic with brendan mc daid and a bit of off road driving in some 4x4 volvos. But the biggie was the trip to southern spain to play in the world final. This is run like a top class pro tournment, a real treat for anbody with the slighest interest in golf. Almost a whole week in spain with wall to wall entertainment and goodies for everyone involved - the trip of a lifetime is the only to capture the magic of the event. If that was not enought we alos went to the 'real' pro tournment in valderama as vip guests of volvo - jealous or what? p.s. the volvo 'girls' inc the irish Paul Newman from volvo were perfect hosts! if you get a chance go and enter, many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Jarzinho

Sounds good, I was talking to a few lads in Limerick that played before and there is information about the days on www.volvocars.ie and www.volvomastersamateur.com. I'm getting my entry in soon anyway, only problem will be my golf game!

Bit of info on Facebook about this, the link to enter is http://eepurl.com/wyOj.

Good luck lads!

Hi lads,

The Volvo Masters Amateur National Qualifiers are being run from June to August this year and are all Open Days as well, got an email yesterday about it. The format of the tournament will be singles stableford and you must have an official handicap to be eligible to qualify for the National Final - limit of 24 for men and 30 for ladies I think. The qualifying events are as follows and can be entered by registering via this link: http://eepurl.com/wyOj. The venues and dates are as follows:

Enniscrone Golf Club - Wednesday 16th June, €38 per person;
    Woodbrook Golf Club - Monday 28th June, €40 per person;
    Palmerstown House Golf Club - Wednesday 30th June, €50 per person;
    Dundrum House Golf Club - Friday 2nd July, €30 per person;
    Powerscourt West Course - Wednesday 7th July, €45 per person;
    Dromoland Castle Golf Club - Thursday 8th July, €30 per person;
    Killarney Golf & Fishing Club - Friday 9th July, €50 per person;
    Seapoint Golf Club - Tuesday 13th July, €30 per person;
    Castlemartyr Golf Club - Wednesday 14th July, Price on Application;
    Galway Bay Golf Club - Thursday 15th July, €38 per person;
    Knightsbrook Golf Club - Tuesday 20th July, €50 per person (includes BBQ Buffet after golf);
    The Heritage - Friday 23rd July, €40 per person;
    Glasson Golf Club - Tuesday 27th July, €35 per person;
    County Carlow Golf Club - Thursday 29th July, €40 per person;
    St Margaret's Golf & Country Club - Friday 6th August, €45 per person (includes Steak Dinner);
    Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort - Tuesday 10th August, Price on Application;
    Old Head Golf Links - Friday 13th August, €75 per person;
    Castleknock Golf Club - Wednesday 18th August, €40 per person (includes Burger after 9 holes);
    Waterford Castle Golf Club - Friday 20th August, €27 per person;
    Ballyliffin Golf Club - Thursday 26th August, €45 per person.

Happy golfing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

Man give it a rest... we get it that your on commission with these guys…

And no i dont have anything against Volvo's before you ask....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Does it annoy anyone else when clubs add a meal on to the price of their opens and charge an additional €10-€15?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭carnsoreboxer

Does it annoy anyone else when clubs add a meal on to the price of their opens and charge an additional €10-€15?

Drives me nuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

Annoying, yes. but not quite so annoying as guys who's entire post count is to promote their own business.

Honestly, contribute in a meaningful way or buy advertising space.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Enough already is right.

That extra €15-20 for food totally puts me off playing them. You can play Margarets for €25 normally, I'm not going to play there for the steak after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

jimjo wrote: »
    That extra €15-20 for food totally puts me off playing them. You can play Margarets for €25 normally, I'm not going to play there for the steak after.
    Mags is e35 on a friday, but still fair point. I'd rather see a special where competitors have an option of a meal for a priority rate than to blanket charge everyone for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mygolfsociety

Hi lads,

Have just been referred to this thread on boards, first reply after registering today. We haven't used boards.ie before to promote our business but should probably have looked at this before. Our "voluntary" promoter had simply copied and pasted the email we sent out to our subscribers so hope it did not cause offence.

We are indeed promoting the event and filling the tee sheet for all the clubs mentioned. I was involved with one of these days back in 2008 and it was a very successful and well attended day. There are prizes on offer for all of the National Qualifiers including the chance to win your way to the National Final and then onto the World Final.

I'm sure ye have the details anyway, if ye would like to enter please log onto www.volvocars.ie. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I think there's some good deal there for good prices. I mean mid summer to play old head for €75 is the same price as with a member. palmerstown house for €50 is not bad either.....

I'll give it a whirl somewhere.

As for people complaining about the food, As a member of knightsbrook, the food that they put on is excellent - they'll grab a chef from the main hotel and you'll have a huge spread with as much food as you want - they do it for all our big days - its well worth €15.

amazing how many people moan about small things on this site - if you're getting a days golf for €50 on a top course in Ireland with food afterwards, good prizes and chances of getting to play overseas - what more do you want?

I think there's some good deal there for good prices. I mean mid summer to play old head for €75 is the same price as with a member. palmerstown house for €50 is not bad either.....

I'll give it a whirl somewhere.

As for people complaining about the food, As a member of knightsbrook, the food that they put on is excellent - they'll grab a chef from the main hotel and you'll have a huge spread with as much food as you want - they do it for all our big days - its well worth €15.

amazing how many people moan about small things on this site - if you're getting a days golf for €50 on a top course in Ireland with food afterwards, good prizes and chances of getting to play overseas - what more do you want?

That's all well and good, if you want food. I don't think anyone has the hump over clubs offering it, it's simply that there is often no non-food option.

As for Knightsbrook, i played an Open there last year with a group lads and after the round we were looking for a quite bite to eat before heading home. The only thing on offer was a BBQ at (iirc) €20 per head. All we were looking for was a sandwich, but we were told it was a BBQ or a bag of peanuts.

As it was we all (10+ golfers) just jumped in our cars and left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 The Lone Rangeer

Anyone interested in entering a good competition, its this one, I was lucky to get to Spain and the finals in 2007, was placed 2nd in the local qualifier and came second also in the National Final in Carton House.
    The trip to Spain was incredible, weather was brutal, but the craic and the whole event was top notch, made some good friends at it, stayed in a 5 star resort, had plenty of great wine!!, a great day in Valderrama amd have memories that I will not forget in a long time. Volvo were magic and their 'minder' looked after us well. Its expanded now, but no doubt with it back on this year, whoever qualifies is in for a fantastic time. It is a trip of a lifetime. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭MasterKZG

Anyone interested in entering a good competition, its this one, I was lucky to get to Spain and the finals in 2007, was placed 2nd in the local qualifier and came second also in the National Final in Carton House.
    The trip to Spain was incredible, weather was brutal, but the craic and the whole event was top notch, made some good friends at it, stayed in a 5 star resort, had plenty of great wine!!, a great day in Valderrama amd have memories that I will not forget in a long time. Volvo were magic and their 'minder' looked after us well. Its expanded now, but no doubt with it back on this year, whoever qualifies is in for a fantastic time. It is a trip of a lifetime. :)

I suppose this competition is ideal for the low handicappers...us mid handicapper haven't a hope in hell..right???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 The Lone Rangeer

I qualified with 33pts playing off 7, shocked to actually get through, beat a 19 hcap on the back nine!! I was the most surprised person in the room when the announced my name.

Best golf on the day. High or low Hcap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Playing Galway Bay on the 15th July. Anyone on here playing it too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

Signed up on that website to what I thought was email/text alerts about booking details and that....couple of hour later get a call from some guy looking for credit card details and the exact number of players and time we'd like to tee of at.

Considering I hadn't signalled an interest in the first few tournaments it all seemed a little 'jumping the gun'. I know bills got to be paid and the clubs want numbers but two months in advance?

Plus on the website no rules and regulations are listed. Considering the first tourne is next week I think someone needs to get a move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭forkassed

Signed up on that website to what I thought was email/text alerts about booking details and that....couple of hour later get a call from some guy looking for credit card details and the exact number of players and time we'd like to tee of at.

Considering I hadn't signalled an interest in the first few tournaments it all seemed a little 'jumping the gun'. I know bills got to be paid and the clubs want numbers but two months in advance?

Plus on the website no rules and regulations are listed. Considering the first tourne is next week I think someone needs to get a move on.

I didn't give credit card details for this reason. I am just about o.k with giving details on a particular clubs website but wasn't so keen on giving them out so easily over the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭amadain

2010 Qualifying Golf Events at

Woodbrook, Wicklow - Mon 28th June 2010. €40 per person
    Palmerstown House, Kildare - Wed 30th June 2010. €50 per person
    Dundrum House, Tipperary - Fri 2nd July 2010. €30 per person
    Powerscourt West course, Wicklow - Wed 7th July 2010. €45 per person
    Dromoland, Clare - Thurs 8th July 2010. €30 per person
    Killarney, Kerry - Fri 9th July 2010. €50 per person
    Seapoint, Louth - Tues 13th July 2010. €30 per person
    Castlemartyr, Cork - Wed 14th July 2010. Price on Application
    Galway Bay, Galway - Thurs 15th July 2010. €38 per person
    Knightsbrook, Meath - Tues 20th July 2010. €50 incl BBQ
    The Heritage, Laois - Fri 23rd July 2010. €40 per person
    Glasson, Westmeath - Tue 27th July 2010. €35 per person
    County Carlow, Carlow - Thurs 29th July 2010. €40 per person
    St Margarets, Dublin - Fri 6th August 2010. €45 incl Steak dinner
    Adare Golf Club, Limerick - Tues 10th August 2010. Price on Application
    Old Head, Cork - Fri 13th August 2010. €75 per person
    Mount Juliet, Kilkenny - Tues 17th August 2010. €65 per person
    Castleknock, Dublin - Wed 18th August 2010. €40 incl Burger after 9 holes
    Waterford Castle, Waterford - Fri 20th August 2010. €27 per person
    Ballyliffin, Donegal - Thurs 26th August 2010. €45 per person
    Enniscrone, Mayo - Fri 27th August 2010. €38 per person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mark316

is this a gui ran competation?? what way does it work ie back tees, restricted times?

Hi lads,

Just wanted to reassure ye about the situation with credit card details, these are being taken to guarantee the bookings due to the high level of interest and any booking can be cancelled given 48 hours notice of the day itself or changed at any time also.

Some of the days are full already for the remainder of the qualifiers so we are trying to make sure any enquiry that comes through is dealt with on the day it is made to ensure the person making the enquiry gets the tee time, or closest to, that they are looking for.

There are some superb courses on the list and as you can see from a few of the lads that were good, and I suppose lucky, enough to qualify for the National and World Finals it is certainly a worthwhile event. Today's Palmerstown qualifier was played off their Bronze tees, forward from the whites, and the scoring was still okay without being crazy - 37 points was the best score with about half the field finished.

Any queries on the event please drop us a line or visit our website for more details. Have a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

Any idea what the earliest or I suppose latest tee times will be at powerscourt?

The first tee time is 11am for Powerscourt next week and the last tee time is 4pm at the moment, if you need an earlier or later tee time than those on offer drop me a line on volvomastersamateur@mygolfsociety.ie and we should be able to sort you out.

Good afternoon all,

We have rescheduled the Knightsbrook Volvo Qualifier for Tuesday 24th August and managed to get a fantastic rate of €35 per person including golf and prizes. If anybody is interested in this day please drop us a line.

Any queries on the event let me know. Cheers!

managed to get a fantastic rate of €35 per person

Nothing fantastic about that rate. Look at teetimes.ie all the rate for the course are €35 and if you book a four ball each player pays €26.25...

This Saturday for example you can play the course for €25, which is a far better day of the week than a Tuesday IMO

Fairs fair you want to promote your event at no cost which you are doing on here but thats not a fantastic rate what so ever...

Appreciate the feedback, fair play on getting that rate for this Saturday as well.

The rate for the Qualifier includes prizes and also the chance to win your way to the all expenses paid National Final at Killeen Castle in September so given the quality of the course I hope you can agree that it is a good deal. If you are interested in playing in one of the qualifiers please drop us a line at volvomastersamateur@mygolfsociety.ie and we would be delighted to help you out with that or any golf you would be looking to book in future.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

jimjo wrote: »
    Nothing fantastic about that rate. Look at teetimes.ie all the rate for the course are €35 and if you book a four ball each player pays €26.25...

This Saturday for example you can play the course for €25, which is a far better day of the week than a Tuesday IMO

Fairs fair you want to promote your event at no cost which you are doing on here but thats not a fantastic rate what so ever...
    It's for golf and prizes if you took the time to read it, also the opportunity to get further in the competition. You don't get that paying the normal greenfee that you quoted. You compare like for like in future.

Woodgate wrote: »
    It's for golf and prizes if you took the time to read it, also the opportunity to get further in the competition. You don't get that paying the normal greenfee that you quoted. You compare like for like in future.

Yeah, yeah, golf and prizes, whatever. IMO i still do not think it is, what was quoted, as a fantastic rate as I alluded to in an earlier post.

Fair play Jim. I thought I was the only one getting annoyed at teetimes.ie using the golf forum as their own personal advertising board.

Lads, if you are going to run a golf competition, do it properly. Simple things like posting results would help. I've been to a coulple of qualifiers now and haven't met any of the organisers. Also there is more to doing a good jobfor your sponsors than sticking up a few signs and having a couple of cars left around with nobody there to follow up on any interest. If I represented Volvo I'd be disappointed.

Woodgate wrote: »

Yep, plus, the rate of 25e this sat is a special offer. The following saturday is 40e (35 early bird).

Jasonw wrote: »
    Fair play Jim. I thought I was the only one getting annoyed at teetimes.ie using the golf forum as their own personal advertising board.

Mygolfsociety are nothing to do with teetimes.ie.
    And I've nothing to do with either, either btw.

All the results are posted up on our website and our facebook page as we receive them and cards back from the golf clubs. We need to ensure we go through all the cards before posting any results. We are always on hand to answer any queries on these events or any other we are involved in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Lads, if you are going to run a golf competition, do it properly. Simple things like posting results would help. I've been to a coulple of qualifiers now and haven't met any of the organisers. Also there is more to doing a good jobfor your sponsors than sticking up a few signs and having a couple of cars left around with nobody there to follow up on any interest. If I represented Volvo I'd be disappointed.
    Did you even read the post properly, absolutely nothing to do with teetimes.ie, start a new thread if you want to have a go off them. This thread is about the Volvo Masters Amateur.

1. My apologies. I meant my golf society.

2. When I refered to jim I meant jimbo.

3. The results are not on the facebook page at least last time I checked earlier.

4 . How long exactly does it take to go through the cards? Still no results from a qualifier played last week.

Not really trying to have a go but it does annoy that there isalot of advertising being done without much in the way of contribution. I'm sure nobody would mind them plugging their events if it wasn't the sole reason for them posting.

2. When I refered to jim I meant jimbo.
    Ah i knew that. I was only making a point in reference to your name confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

All the results are posted up on our website and our facebook page as we receive them and cards back from the golf clubs. We need to ensure we go through all the cards before posting any results. We are always on hand to answer any queries on these events or any other we are involved in.

Played in the event at Galway Bay today. Forgot what a fantastic course it is. Pity that the hotel and clubhouse are now closed but the fairways and greens were in excellent condition. Would say the evening starters had the best of the weather-wind has died down a lot.

No one from Volvo around that I could see. Had a few cars at the entrance and that was that. No goody bag which my partners were very disappointed with. No tea/coffee, sandwichs available when we finished. But the course was great would definitely recommend a visit before it's forced to close.

Woodgate, christ alive, relax! That was obviously a typo from the other poster teetimes were not mentioned else were in this thread.

My reason I do not like the sounds of this event are;

1. The organiser is trying to use this thread as his own personal advertising board as Jason pointed out.
    2. The rates aren't fantastic at all. Average but no ways fantastic as the organiser suggests.
    3. Out of the three competitions two of the winning scores posted have been 46 & 45 points. Meaning any single figure handicappers would have to shot well below par to even be in with a sniff of getting through to the next stage. Nothing more annoying when you come in with a decent score and your nowhere near winning, in Powercourt I could have came in with 41 points and been 5 points away from winning.

I just dont think this type of event is value for money and I dont do this goodie bag crap, you get a free apple and mars bar thats why you are paying the extra €10 or whatever for this competition and at that thelongfellow said his mates were disappointed they got nothing!! And i know what you will say next, dont play and I wont!! :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭jimmystars

Any results from Killarney from 3 weeks ago:eek:. Was gonna play a few more of the events but the lack of response about this event is poor form.

Apologies for the delay with these results Jimmy, we have not received anything back from Killarney yet and they did not take a note of the results on the day. As you can imagine it has been impossible to get a hold of somebody down there this week so I hope to have the results sorted out by Tuesday of next week.

Again, our apologies for the delay. All the other results are with just the Killarney day outstanding. Did you have a good score on the day?

Played ok, 36 points but it was a nasty day so youd never know.
    Cheers for the response.

Hi lads,

The World Final will be played in Bahrain in January 2011 in conjunction with the Volvo sponsored European Tour Event, all expenses paid (including flights) for the lucky (and good enough) 2 that manage to get through the National Qualifiers and subsequent National Final at Killeen Castle in September. Just thought ye would like to know.

You will be treated to the all access experience of the tournament itself along with the Final being played on the tournament course the day after the European Tour event itself. Not a bad prize, if you manage to get there of course!!

Results Killarney? Any updates. Over a month at this stage.

yeah. c'mon. people payed good money and travelled some fair distances to play in that, in not such nice weather I might add. I can't see what the problem is. It's not fair to blame the staff at Killarney as they had nothing to do with the collection of the scores. The little cardboard box that you were using to collect the cards was in reception when I was leaving so did you just forget it and leave it there? If so the proper thing to do is just come out and admit it.

Hi lads,

Apologies for taking so long with these results, the cards were put away by the staff in Killarney due to the Irish Open being on a few weeks after and they have only found them this morning having thought they had already sent them onto us. They are going through them this morning and we will have the results later today.

Again, our apologies for any inconvenience caused but we could not post the results without the cards which we never received.

Hi lads,

Apologies for taking so long with these results, the cards were put away by the staff in Killarney due to the Irish Open being on a few weeks after and they have only found them this morning having thought they had already sent them onto us. They are going through them this morning and we will have the results later today.

Again, our apologies for any inconvenience caused but we could not post the results without the cards which we never received.

Sounds like such a superbly run competition. Gutted i never played in any of them. I hope the Volvo runs better.

I played Adare and Old Head last week and both days were very well run with a very good turn out at both days, I think about 80 at Adare and well over 100 in Kinsale. The scores from Adare were up by Wednesday and I think the Old Head scores should be sorted today. Both courses were in great shape, the pin positions in Adare were a bit on the difficult side though, and the greens at Old Head were some of the fastest I have ever played.

I'm glad I didn't play in the Killarney day going on the comments about the weather and getting the scores done but my experience of the event has been positive. I would look to play in this again next year just to have the chance to play those courses for the deals that were on offer at least. Didn't qualify on either day though, 41 was the best I heard for Old Head which is a serious score given the course - 39 won the Adare qualifier which wasn't bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Played in the Castleknock section today. Didn't appear to be the best run operation. I registered at about 10am for a 10.30am tee. About 20 had registered at this stage. Got to the tee at 10.15 to find a man on his own who was due out at 10am and nobody had bothered to tell him his playing partners were a now show. 1 of our group didn't show so he played with us.

Course was in fine condition except the greens had been hollow cored and sanded which meant we didn't get to play the "best greens in Ireland" in the condition they might have been. They were very slow.

A burger after nine holes was part of the package but we opted to wait till the end which was just as well as it took nearly 25 minutes from the time of ordering until it was served.

All in all though an enjoyable enough experience and would play it again. Incidentally I had 20 points after 7 holes and thinking here we go....Scratches on 8 and 9 put paid to that though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭ipitydafool

Jarzinho wrote: »
    I played Adare and Old Head last week and both days were very well run with a very good turn out at both days, I think about 80 at Adare and well over 100 in Kinsale. The scores from Adare were up by Wednesday and I think the Old Head scores should be sorted today. Both courses were in great shape, the pin positions in Adare were a bit on the difficult side though, and the greens at Old Head were some of the fastest I have ever played.

I'm glad I didn't play in the Killarney day going on the comments about the weather and getting the scores done but my experience of the event has been positive. I would look to play in this again next year just to have the chance to play those courses for the deals that were on offer at least. Didn't qualify on either day though, 41 was the best I heard for Old Head which is a serious score given the course - 39 won the Adare qualifier which wasn't bad either.

Do you work for mygolfsociety.ie jarzinho? Half your posts on this board are either promoting there upcoming events or praising them. For that reason I think I will take your post here with a pinch of salt.
    Blaming killarney for misplacing the cards and not getting the results sorted for over a month is not good enough in my mind. Is mygolfsociety not running the competition and should therefore be looking after the cards on qualifier days??