Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are empty/unfinished estates?

• 09-05-2010 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,191 ✭✭✭

I was thinking of doing a photo story of the unfinished estates around Galway.
    Can anyone tell me where they are in Galway. (don't worry, I'm not a thief).

Cheers,
    Patrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

thief.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

hamburglar-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

OP, I'm sure you're 110% honest. But there's a change that the odd person reading here isn't.

If they are unfinished there wouldn't be much to steal.

I'm not aware of any - I rarely go further than walking distance from town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I think most of them are in East County Galway, but I don't know where any are specifically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Not in the city but there's one just on the outskirts of Loughrea, railings over the entrance and rows and rows of half finished houses inside it. The sign for the place is so funny now in hindsight, lots of Audi's and BMW's photoshopped into the driveways, yeah, good luck with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Spadina wrote: »
    Not in the city but there's one just on the outskirts of Loughrea, railings over the entrance and rows and rows of half finished houses inside it. The sign for the place is so funny now in hindsight, lots of Audi's and BMW's photoshopped into the driveways, yeah, good luck with that!

Loughrea has a good few "ghost" estates.

Athenry has 2 or 3.

1 is behind the Raheen Woods Hotel.

There's another across from Joyces (up on the hill across from the small bridge)

Another on the way out of Athenry towards Monivea

Actually, there's 2 in Monivea also, one is in Glennaslat and I dont know the name of the other one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I think you'll find those first 2 in Athenry are finished, the 2nd isnt fully occupied yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭DD67

Davegalway wrote: »
    There's another across from Joyces (up on the hill across from the small bridge)

A mate of mine is buying one of those houses, their been sold by Galway county council as affordable housing and he has been waiting months for them to close the deal according to him there on a go slow and he is realy frustrated with the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭lampsie

I'm fully open to correction on this, but I think the Reilean estate in roscam (just off the dublin road, past the spar) has only a few houses actually occupied...good few houses in there in various states of completion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

maybe not an estate, but as you come in to moycullen there are 6 unfinished houses on the bend. they have been in the same state for the last year or more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

there seems to be a shed load of unfinished apartments in leargan, knockncarra. it is half completed but the rest of it is a building site. also around the corner at the bottom of the cappagh road there is a block of apartments there that haven't been touched in over a year at least. and if you go into moycullen (from the galway side) just on your right there some houses that look like they won't be finished anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I think you'll find those first 2 in Athenry are finished, the 2nd isnt fully occupied yet
    I'm sure they meant the one behind the hotel that you can't see. There is only 3 houses finished, the rest still have all the scaffolding in place. Such a sad site(sight), couldn't imagine living in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

actually, one of the most striking unfinished projects is within city limits: the crown plaza which hasn't been touched since October 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

dinneenp wrote: »
    I was thinking of doing a photo story of the unfinished estates around Galway.
    Can anyone tell me where they are in Galway. (don't worry, I'm not a thief).

Cheers,
    Patrick.

There is a small estate about 100m past An Spidéal, looks mostly finished, but appears to be unoccupied.

There is also a half-finished estate called Slí Na HAiteann in An Cheathrú Rua.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Also it's not an estate but there is a big sad looking half finished house on the Loughrea/Craughwell main road, it's been in the same state for about 18months, grass growing up over the heaps of blocks, some poor person is well out of pocket.

There are plenty of unfinished one off houses dotted around the countryside at different stages of completion.

Could be an alternative to the estates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

There is a small estate about 100m past An Spidéal, looks mostly finished, but appears to be unoccupied.

There is a less than half finished one on the Moycullen road out of An Spidéal ( opposite the mast) and another 2 on the An Spidéal road out of Moycullen ...one was a field with ground cleared and maybe one foundation started called Árd na h-Aislinge and the other is Coill Ard or Bun na Coille ( maybe both) which has a finished front but and with nothing done in the back of it. It think it is one third finished but well finished in fairness.

Lots of half finished one offs in both places and of course in Furbo and Barna and Corcullen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

The Spiddal one is a real enigma & worthy of investigation. 12 "luxury" houses that were virtually "all sold off the plans". Then mysteriously a few became available. A year later the last couple are being sold by sealed bid.
    So they are all supposed to be sold but the gates are locked & the lights arn't on !.

Several are on Daft to rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Several houses in various states of unfinishedness around Oranmore and Maree; and some estates in Oranmore itself.

And of course the elusive exclusive Bramley where the prices were halved recently; a mere 850000; mostly empty too.

There are a fair few empty new builds in Kinvara too.

Discodog wrote: »
    The Spiddal one is a real enigma

The locals call that one "Namaland"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

There's a few in Doughiska. One at the back of Fearann Ri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭swe_fi

Several houses in various states of unfinishedness around Oranmore and Maree; and some estates in Oranmore itself.

And of course the elusive exclusive Bramley where the prices were halved recently; a mere 850000; mostly empty too.

There are a fair few empty new builds in Kinvara too.

I was gonna say this, Bramley in particular. I was driving past down there yesterday coincidentally. Proper strange feeling around, would make some good shots i'd say. Rinville is still one of the strangest things i have seen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

Spadina wrote: »
    Also it's not an estate but there is a big sad looking half finished house on the Loughrea/Craughwell main road, it's been in the same state for about 18months, grass growing up over the heaps of blocks, some poor person is well out of pocket.

If that's the same house I'm thinking of, it's been in that state for longer than 18 months, I would say at least 3 years and maybe more.

Plenty of ghost estates in Loughrea, the one across from the hotel was previously mentioned, there's also one called Carraig Mor just off the town bypass that isn't fully finished, but has a few occupants. Would hate to live in an estate like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    The locals call that one "Namaland"

Apparently it will not be affected by Nama. Depending on which billboard you believe they were sold a year ago or there could still be a couple for sale. Someone has put curtains up in one of them !.

swe_fi wrote: »
    I was gonna say this, Bramley in particular. I was driving past down there yesterday coincidentally. Proper strange feeling around, would make some good shots i'd say. Rinville is still one of the strangest things i have seen though.

Yea, Rinville is very strange; eery almost. As is Bramley; in fairness they're very impressive houses, but to see so many of them empty and doors boarded up is just odd.

I reckon you could go out to that neck of the woods and get yourself some great shots of both, get a few of the unfinished one-off houses along the way, and then couple them with some shots of the derelict house in Renville park, and Ardfry(Ardfry in particular being victim of people getting ahed of themselves:)), and top it all off with a shot of the sign on a tiny site on the way into the village advertised as being a site for sale with f.p.p for 3 houses. You could call it 'A study in delusional':P.

LOL at 'Namaland' btw:p

As is Bramley; in fairness they're very impressive houses, but to see so many of them empty and doors boarded up is just odd.

The guy who developed Bramley tended to do high end high spec houses. I personally find an estate full of high density €1m+ houses a rather absurd concept TBH :p

He built another one in Barna called Carraig an Iolair and he levelled a site in Furbo near the school but did nothing else with it that I know of.

It is around 100m west of the Connemara Coast hotel behind a blue hoarding.

I'd agree with you on that Sponge Bob; it seemed like an absurd concept to me also. Tho possibly they thought it would appeal to those who wanted to live in the country yet retain an urban feel. Can't help wondering what's going to happen to them tho.

There's a lot of empty houses in Oranisland aswell.

Another surreal sight is the empty business park on the road out of Claregalway to Oranmore, it was built 3 years ago and is called Claregalway Corporate Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭greeneyedspirit

... and next to the Claregalway Corporate Park is another estate that's got a fair few unfinished houses right down at the back, it's called Cuirt na'habainn (?? something like that). It's between the school and the corporate park in Claregalway, on the road out towards oranmore.

Another surreal sight is the empty business park on the road out of Claregalway to Oranmore, it was built 3 years ago and is called Claregalway Corporate Park

It's not totally empty: some of the units are tenanted. I'm even going do a site map of it soon, 'cos I know that with the auctions being there, it will get (website) visitors.

The completed units in Racecourse Business Park are about 1/2 full from what I can see, but there are four other incomplete blocks behind them.

There's another empty estate on the Doughiska Rd (Maigh Rua ... spelling may be off), and incomplete bits of an estate up in Roscam (not Reilan) too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

there seems to be a shed load of unfinished apartments in leargan, knockncarra. it is half completed but the rest of it is a building site. also around the corner at the bottom of the cappagh road there is a block of apartments there that haven't been touched in over a year at least. and if you go into moycullen (from the galway side) just on your right there some houses that look like they won't be finished anytime soon.

not all unfinished residential buildings are ghost estates, the banks have been with holding money from builders and subcontractors are having difficulty getting credit from suppliers, which is why a lot of these buildings are unfinished.I think I know the ones your on about at the end of the cappagh road, if there the ones facing galway bay.the likes of them will be sold on completion, most probably with the builder making a loss.but they would not be called ghost estates.most of the ghost estates would be located outside of the city, because as house prices get cheaper in the city, people wont bother moving out to live in estates in athenry and gort etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Greaney

I'm originally from Oranmore and when I see the state of it now I'm gutted:(. It was a grand place to grow up and you could walk from one end to the other in 15 mins.

I can't get over the amount of and size of the developments out the Renville road, where there were never amenities!!

The last bit was me getting back to the point, the ghost estates are on that side of the town:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭catmelodian

... and next to the Claregalway Corporate Park is another estate that's got a fair few unfinished houses right down at the back, it's called Cuirt na'habainn (?? something like that). It's between the school and the corporate park in Claregalway, on the road out towards oranmore.

Most of the houses in that estate are occupied. The Corporate Park is a wasteland.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Discodog wrote: »
    The Spiddal one is a real enigma & worthy of investigation. 12 "luxury" houses that were virtually "all sold off the plans". Then mysteriously a few became available. A year later the last couple are being sold by sealed bid.
    So they are all supposed to be sold but the gates are locked & the lights arn't on !.

Several are on Daft to rent.
    That wouldn't have been developed by one of Galway's "colourful characters" who's been offering some bizarre explanations to the courts recently?
    The guy who developed Bramley tended to do high end high spec houses. I personally find an estate full of high density €1m+ houses a rather absurd concept TBH :p
    It's another fine Bluth Company Development.

Come to think of it, one of the tales I've heard recently sounds quite like George Bluth Snr's "light treason"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

http://ghostestates.com

Don't think this is a complete list but it's a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 GALWAYLAD777

not all unfinished residential buildings are ghost estates, the banks have been with holding money from builders and subcontractors are having difficulty getting credit from suppliers, which is why a lot of these buildings are unfinished.I think I know the ones your on about at the end of the cappagh road, if there the ones facing galway bay.the likes of them will be sold on completion, most probably with the builder making a loss.but they would not be called ghost estates.most of the ghost estates would be located outside of the city, because as house prices get cheaper in the city, people wont bother moving out to live in estates in athenry and gort etc.

Now it makes sense. so its not a ghost estate, just an unfinished development with over 10 units thats been sitting there for quite some time now. at least there is two buyers for a couple of the apts. They have great patience, god bless them. I'd definiteley say they re still paying the €450,000+ each at this point too. I mean, why would you buy a house nearby for half the price. you 'd be mad. So i wonder what to call these empty developments around Knocknacarra now. Im at a loss. maybe there is a more subtle terminology for them that doesn't sound so difficult to reiterate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

Cúirt an Chéirín, Circular Road. Stunning estate of fully-serviced, ready-to-go, walled sites. Footpaths, lighting, etc. complete. Estate fully landscaped. Only one site has as house built on it.

Funny thing is that although the sites are ready-to-go, little attempt is being made to advertise the fact that they are for sale. Nothing is up on DAFT, for instance; nor does an estate agent appear to be involved.

Perhaps they are not really for sale?

good concept up there in circular road, know what you mean about no advertising. there is a number to call but thats it. at this stage the site would want to be cheap and i cant imagine it being that somehow. i do like the idea though of half the work being done for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Vodkat

This site has some ghost estates on it including some pics of the crown plaza!!

http://ghostestates.com/main.php?g2_view=map.ShowMap

Cúirt an Chéirín, Circular Road. Stunning estate of fully-serviced, ready-to-go, walled sites. ... little attempt is being made to advertise the fact that they are for sale ... Perhaps they are not really for sale?

There are lots of half-finished houses, no need for anyone to be building any more just let.

If the owner doesn't need to sell yet, then they probably would rather wait 'til the market recovers.

lots of half finished houses are fecked after the cold spell, rainwater freezing hard and splitting walls etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

there's two big blocks of apartments sitting idle for the last two years at the very back of the estate behind centra/jack jordans in dougiska, I've heard it's home to a few stray dogs now

twas a harmack development, the same people that gave (or rather didn't give!) you the crown plaza in mervue AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭drdoon

Ennis town, at least two three estates I am aware of. TWo on Lahinch road, no names. One of those has been condemmed I was told as the building (Swedish style) was done incorrectly. The other has lots of equipement laying idle. Another on Tulla road, maybe half full with empty site next door. Containers laying around etc. Then in Clare Castle, a crane stands by river with incomplete shopping centre (or old peoples home, not 100% sure) there.
    God imagine being a person who's living in estate with no neighbours (that ain't so bad!) but a wreck all around you! That young woman on tv who has 40 year mortgage and not a single neighbour in big estate, terrible.
    A fella I know here in Ennis had two houses, lost his job (a scaffolder) lost one house, has €200+ mortgage on second house, has a child he pays maintenance on and just had another child. His wife is not getting maternity payment either! NIGHTMARE. Now they are talking about interest payment hikes, YIKES! I missed Celtic tiger having moved back from UK in 2008. With savings and hard head. Friend always used to say "I've got two houses, what have you got?" Now look who's talking, stupid man. I have started a successful business and am watching my pennies, onward and upward people ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,191 ✭✭✭dinneenp

this article in the NY times is about Irish Ghost Estates, same thing as I was thinking of doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 lasgaviotas

There is a lot of unfinished commecial buildings in Parkmore on your way into Galway Racecourse..very unsightly too..I couldn't help wondering what our former Taoiseach thought of them on his visit this year and last..
    There is also that Webworks building on your way down to the Revenue/Radisson..at least they are finished and available for letting but have been vacant for a long time now..3 years at least..

Xiney wrote: »
    actually, one of the most striking unfinished projects is within city limits: the crown plaza which hasn't been touched since October 2008.
    Yes, a very very expensive hole in the ground indeed in Mervue. An alleged €500 million development.. A classsic example of the "build and they will come" theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 DDee

Not sure if anyone is still looking at this thread but there is a sale going on now at Leargan, Reileann and Boireann Beag, with units open, 3 and 4 bed houses going for 215k to 249k, depending on mid or end of terrace, etc. I was thinking of going out tomorrow - does anyone know anything about those estates, what they are like to live in, what the areas are like, etc? Also, the guy on the phone at O'Malley construction said the houses were almost finished, only a few weeks work to be done on them, which rung an alarm bell for me though maybe they are waiting until they get some cash in to do the final touches.

We sold our last house a year ago and are in a rented one-off house in Barna at the moment and very happy there but the rent is pretty high and its time to get into our long-term home before we get too used to the fancy (expensive) lifestyle we're having here and start thinking we could take on a big mortgage and buy the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

DDee wrote: »
    Not sure if anyone is still looking at this thread but there is a sale going on now at Leargan, Reileann and Boireann Beag, with units open, 3 and 4 bed houses going for 215k to 249k, depending on mid or end of terrace, etc.

Too expensive.

You could get a semi-detached for 190,000 in a good part of Knocknacarra for 190,000 at the start of this year. They are going for less than that now.

Once those houses are at 150,000, they would be worth consideration. They may, of course, go for as little as 120,000 by the time the market bottoms.