Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being attacked and bureaucracy stopping arrest

• 09-05-2010 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭

So I came down from my friends 18th and was eating away outside by a local chipper,this guy starts yellling at a girl giving her abuse,guard comes out talking to him n a first name basis saying calm down,talking to him for several mins.

10-15mins later asks a guy by me for a fag who in response gives him the finge rmessing,the guy comes over threatening the guymthen says ah I'm only joking,but once another guy((My second cousin)) tells him to calm down he starts threatening again,I smirk quitly and he looks at me "Whats your problem" "Nothing why" "Then why are you smirking " I just was" he comes over grabs my collar and headbops me so I stand up"HERE BACK THE **** DOWN NOW AS THE GUARDS WERE JSUT AT YOU AND I SWEAR TO ****" gives me a bop again,so I give him one or two swings back((Which I was told later were quite good and being a guy who's only been in 3 fights with one in 1st year Im quite proud hha)) Hits me few more times and I say **** this and push him back and jump down and call 999,they get the local ghuards on 2 mins later,meanwhile the guy throws a glass bottle at me and tries chasing me a few times.

So anyway he walks off after a girl takes him away and I go back up,talk t my cousin who says"Look jsut dont say your name around,hes not a tinker but the guy has a mentality of one",thn the squad car is abck againa fter driivng by once so I go over,tell them all I know,details and such and ask if I could identify him now,I said I'd rather not get oo involved in which they say"Look,As your the injured party if you want him to be prosectued you'll have to do this,Now I can get back onto you in the morning but unless you do we'll have to leave this go" "Um isnt there cameras up there" "Sorry but you'l have to still do this" "Look I really dont want to get t involved incase anystuff happens after,could you advise me?" "SOrryw I legally cant..You cna contact your lawyer..." And so on.

Now I'm 18..I dont have a ****ing solicitor!what is it with this bureacuracy in where they can just arrest the guy,seeing s its obviouse he bloody well attacked me and there are cameras!.In the taxu back when I was talking to the driver one of the other passengers((Who the driver thinks is a guard)) said to go ahead with it as he could do much worse with people after,and to get onto my cousin whos a recent law graduate to contact them.

As I said I'm only bloody 18 and yer man was 20 somthing,I have no clue what to bloody well do,I'm effin worried about me leaving and they are sayin ask a solicitor for advice:confused:.

Lol I know long but anyof ye that could tell me of similar events or give advice would be great thanks:o

Edit- Just to say I'm not making a complaint about the guards,they were good about this(Despite being late heh) and they legally did what they could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Who celebrates an 8th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

18th :p,just a spelling mistake...litrally this happened 40 mins ago so give me a break hah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

I think the guards have to have a statement from you to prosectute him. They can't do anything if you won't identify him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

emmmmmm... nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Seloth wrote: »
    So I came down from my friends 18th and was eating away outside by a local chipper,this guy starts yellling at a girl giving her abuse,guard comes out talking to him n a first name basis saying calm down,talking to him for several mins.

10-15mins later asks a guy by me for a fag who in response gives him the finge rmessing,the guy comes over threatening the guymthen says ah I'm only joking,but once another guy((My second cousin)) tells him to calm down he starts threatening again,I smirk quitly and he looks at me "Whats your problem" "Nothing why" "Then why are you smirking " I just was" he comes over grabs my collar and headbops me so I stand up"HERE BACK THE **** DOWN NOW AS THE GUARDS WERE JSUT AT YOU AND I SWEAR TO ****" gives me a bop again,so I give him one or two swings back((Which I was told later were quite good and being a guy who's only been in 3 fights with one in 1st year Im quite proud hha)) Hits me few more times and I say **** this and push him back and jump down and call 999,they get the local ghuards on 2 mins later,meanwhile the guy throws a glass bottle at me and tries chasing me a few times.

So anyway he walks off after a girl takes him away and I go back up,talk t my cousin who says"Look jsut dont say your name around,hes not a tinker but the guy has a mentality of one",thn the squad car is abck againa fter driivng by once so I go over,tell them all I know,details and such and ask if I could identify him now,I said I'd rather not get oo involved in which they say"Look,As your the injured party if you want him to be prosectued you'll have to do this,Now I can get back onto you in the morning but unless you do we'll have to leave this go" "Um isnt there cameras up there" "Sorry but you'l have to still do this" "Look I really dont want to get t involved incase anystuff happens after,could you advise me?" "SOrryw I legally cant..You cna contact your lawyer..." And so on.

Now I'm 18..I dont have a ****ing solicitor!what is it with this bureacuracy in where they can just arrest the guy,seeing s its obviouse he bloody well attacked me and there are cameras!.In the taxu back when I was talking to the driver one of the other passengers((Who the driver thinks is a guard)) said to go ahead with it as he could do much worse with people after,and to get onto my cousin whos a recent law graduate to contact them.

As I said I'm only bloody 18 and yer man was 20 somthing,I have no clue what to bloody well do,I'm effin worried about me leaving and they are sayin ask a solicitor for advice:confused:.

Lol I know long but anyof ye that could tell me of similar events or give advice would be great thanks:o

Quoted for posterity in case of edit when sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Did you give the Garda your info? Did you take his card? Nothing will happen unless you want it to.

I'n all fairness dont be a grammer nazi.I didnt drink much tonight so I'm not quite drunk,more a bit shocked than anyhing,at the time I was ina half in half fight or flight but when I started talking to the guards I got really shaky :o

and ya she gave me a contact number and they took my details,I'm going to wait on a response from my cousin as well before I say anything to the parents(As they'd jsut get worried)).

Bt I'm not quite sure what to do :/ all I di was smirk for petes sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

My advice would be dont bother with guards. They wont do anything for you.I have gardai friends but they just want to avoid stuff like that.Ive got a permanent scar on my face coz of an incident pretty similar to yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭hunggar

the guards cant prosecute someone for assault without an official complaint from the person who was assaulted in the first place. makes sense if you think about it. especially if it came down to court.
    it depends where you live and if you know the guy, i.e small town where you might run into him again or big city like dublin where you never will.
    if your from a small town then unless it was a bad assault then i would let it be. you threw your few punches back. you have enough to worry bout with your leaving and there will always be some drunk prick looking to start a fight. he will get his in time.

Not a tottally small town but small enough heh.

Tbh When I called I expected them too arrive when he was still half chasing me seeing as I was in the town centre!One of the guards in the barracks did call to say just after I left the squad car that the guy has gone back to bed:confused:

I know its not much compared to what can and has happened but this has never happend to me before!

hunggar wrote: »
    the guards cant prosecute someone for assault without an official complaint from the person who was assaulted in the first place. makes sense if you think about it. especially if it came down to court.
    it depends where you live and if you know the guy, i.e small town where you might run into him again or big city like dublin where you never will.
    if your from a small town then unless it was a bad assault then i would let it be. you threw your few punches back. you have enough to worry bout with your leaving and there will always be some drunk prick looking to start a fight. he will get his in time.
    agree 100%.He will get his comeuppance

I just kinda wish the guards could give me advice on what to do at the situation.

Just realise dthe ****er broke the zip on my coat jacket :mad:.

The parent situation is another thought heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

You're twisted out of your mind, ain't ya? :P

Make a complaint to the guards in the morning. See what happens. They deal with drunken fights all the time.

Go to bed and worry about it tomorrow ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Dazd_N_Confusd

If the guards won't do anything then how about some vigilante **** on your part? Take matters into your own hands?

I honestly was thinking that but I dont really know who the guy is :pac:
    You're twisted out of your mind, ain't ya?

Make a complaint to the guards in the morning. See what happens. They deal with drunken fights all the time.

and again No 'm for the most part sober,but yeah they said they'd contact me tomorrow night.

I honestly was thinking that but I dont really know who the guy is :pac:

and again No 'm for the most part sober,but yeah they said they'd contact me tomorrow night.
    theyll do nothing bud.absolutely nothing.trust me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Well, someone is p!ssed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I just kinda wish the guards could give me advice on what to do at the situation.

Just realise dthe ****er broke the zip on my coat jacket :mad:.

The parent situation is another thought heh.

So you call the guards and tell them you have been assaulted. When they arrive they ask you to identify who hit you. You then tell them that you don't want to get involved. They tell you that if this is going to go any further you will have to identify him. You still refuse.

Theres no use bitching about the guards not doing anything if you're not prepared to co-operate.

super-rush wrote: »
    So you call the guards and tell them you have been assaulted. When they arrive they ask you to identify who hit you. You then tell them that you don't want to get involved. They tell you that if this is going to go any further you will have to identify him. You still refuse.

Theres no use bitching about the guards not doing anything if you're not prepared to co-operate.

They know who the guy is,what I am saying is I did not want to hvae ot face im after he attacked me 25 mins after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Ring the guards pretending to be the other guy and get yourself prosecuted then you can counter prosectue since the courts will appoint you a defence solicitor some Lionel Hutz guy.

Well you could drag him into a a field and beat the ****e out of him!!

20mins to eat a chipper when your drunk?? get it together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭theboxer

Cop on. The young lad has his Leaving Cert in a few weeks.

Notch it down to experience OP, the chap sounds like a gob****e and he will eventually start on the wrong bloke. If you were in a position to throw back a few hooks after receiving not just one, but two, headbutts, he isnt half as hard as he seems think.

Focus on your exams, knuckle down with your studies and forget about this guttersnipe.

Oh, and enjoy the hangover tomorrow morn.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭theboxer

20mins to eat a chipper when your drunk?? get it together!

No use monching it. You have to take your time and enjoy the greasy goodness. Savour the fried spud. Appreciate it. Its a beautiful thing after a skinful.

theboxer wrote: »
    Cop on. The young lad has his Leaving Cert in a few weeks.

Notch it down to experience OP, the chap sounds like a gob****e and he will eventually start on the wrong bloke. If you were in a position to throw back a few hooks after receiving not just one, but two, headbutts, he isnt half as hard as he seems think.

Focus on your exams, knuckle down with your studies and forget about this guttersnipe.

Oh, and enjoy the hangover tomorrow morn.:)

You have no idea how much this post really menas to me :).Hopfully with the water Im drinking I wont heh :o...half the reason I didnt drink that much,just curiosue if I did get drunk tonight would I have gone to the club and avoided this heh,ah well experiance as you said :D

Just curiouse but does anyone know what kind of charges would be put on him he he were prosecuted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yeah but the other part seems absolutely shit faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

It's a fact that 99.73% of fights in Ireland happen in or around chip shops in the early hours. I don't go near them after closing time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheTMO

I'n all fairness dont be a grammer nazi.I didnt drink much tonight so I'm not quite drunk,more a bit shocked than anyhing,at the time I was ina half in half fight or flight but when I started talking to the guards I got really shaky :o

and ya she gave me a contact number and they took my details,I'm going to wait on a response from my cousin as well before I say anything to the parents(As they'd jsut get worried)).

Bt I'm not quite sure what to do :/ all I di was smirk for petes sake!

RESULT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

So....what were you smirking at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

My advice would be to let it go, The guy was after an argument with his girlfriend, got in a small scrape with you. I'm sure you will get over it. You seemed to have dealt with it well enough, and the lads will think your brave cos you stood up to him. It's another thing if you got kicked up and down the place but you didn't, so just drop it. When there is drink involved there is a chance of fighting. This willl happen for the next few years unless you learn how to diffuse situations like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Fuggeddaboudit. Be thankful there were no knives, screwdrivers, bottles, etc

What did you get in the chipper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

hunggar wrote: »
    the guards cant prosecute someone for assault without an official complaint from the person who was assaulted in the first place..

By that logic nobody could ever be prosecuted for murder :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

OP are the CCTV cameras in question operated by the local council/police or are they on a private building ?

If the latter there may be some legal process the cops have to go through in order to get the operator to hand the footage over ?

Also the CCTV pictures may be of poor quality (if the camera is working at all)

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    OP are the CCTV cameras in question operated by the local council/police or are they on a private building ?

If the latter there may be some legal process the cops have to go through in order to get the operator to hand the footage over ?

Also the CCTV pictures may be of poor quality (if the camera is working at all)

tbh 'm not too sure who they belong too.

My friend did say that they would only be secondary evidence.

Tbh I'm probably going to leave it,I'll see what my cousin says but I'm feelin allot better now and atleast they know who the guy is.The fact that he threw a glass bottle at me though is kinda ticking into me though:mad:.
    If anything does happen again though then I will go ahead with it definatly,but as I said I'll wait on the reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Openmp

Edit- Just to say I'm not making a complaint about the guards,they were good about this(Despite being late heh) and they legally did what they could do.

Mate, if you're gonna go out and get pissed and hang around outside chippers, be aware. I avoid the scum. Don't let them provoke you. They're not worth getting a permanent scar over some idiotic drunken disagreement. The Gardai have to deal with this **** every night of the week. Just go home, go to bed and ride your girlfriend. Leave the scum out on the streets harassing people for cigarettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I'm not quite sure what to do :/ all I did was smirk for petes sake!

Don't bring me into it, not my fault you got head-bopped :p

Seriously, forget the solicitor, phone the Guard and tell him you will give a full statement and do whatever else it is that he needs you to do.

The guy threw a bottle at you, how would you feel if you head in six months from now if you heard that he glassed another kid your age?

A young Italian student called Guido Nasi was struck with a bottle here in Dublin and is now severely brain damaged and wheelchair bound for what looks like to be for the rest of his days.

Society has to stand up to people like that guy and try and make sure that don't get away with such cowardly behavioral.

Found out who the guy actually is,friend saying hes a tottal scum bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

"head bop" Thats a new one to me.

Sounds more like a dance than a head in the face

Found out who the guy actually is,friend saying hes a tottal scum bag.

Make a report today, if he is a total scumbag then he may be known to the gardai. Then seek legal advice if you want to go down that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Put is down to experiece buddy. **** happens when you hang around outside chippers late at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Openmp

Make a report today, if he is a total scumbag then he may be known to the gardai. Then seek legal advice if you want to go down that route.

Don't waste your time. Your accounts of the night will be compromised because you were drunk and standing outside a chipper at 2 o'clock in the morning. The judge will tell you to feck off. He knows the score and has more important things to be doing than dealing with some 18 year-old who feels hard-done by for being drunk in public and thinks he can waste the time of the gardai, the judiciary and medical professionals.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Seloth - If you want this to go any further, you MUST give the Garda a statement, which he/she will write up and have you sign it. You then MUST appear in court to give evidence against the person who attacked you, if you want this person to be punished by the Criminal Justice system for his actions.

Please try and understand that YOU are in control here. The Gardai can do absolutely nothing unless a complaint is made by you for them to investigate.

It's your choice, and it's an easy one:

Go and give a statement to the Gardai about the attack

OR

Don't

I don't think I can make it any clearer than that.

I wish you well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    My advice would be dont bother with guards. They wont do anything for you.

+1.

After a few weeks of "Erm, yea erm Garda Murphy is in court/sick/leave/on @ 2pm/4pm/10pm, you just missed him, he'll ring you back" etc etc etc you'll wonder why you bothered.

Its the way the town is deisgned..there to squares and a monument in one where everyone sits eating..usually theres no trouble and generally theres a squad car there always.

Openmp wrote: »
    Don't waste your time. Your accounts of the night will be compromised because you were drunk and standing outside a chipper at 2 o'clock in the morning. The judge will tell you to feck off. He knows the score and has more important things to be doing than dealing with some 18 year-old who feels hard-done by for being drunk in public and thinks he can waste the time of the gardai, the judiciary and medical professionals.

This man doesn't have a clue wtf he is talking about. Take note and try not take advice from people like these, it will not end well ;)

Did you happen to read the OP Openmp? Highly doubtful taking into account your lack of knowledge and understanding of the situation. I am pretty sure drunk people have the same rights as sober people when it comes to assaults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You have no idea how much this post really menas to me :).Hopfully with the water Im drinking I wont heh :o...half the reason I didnt drink that much,just curiosue if I did get drunk tonight would I have gone to the club and avoided this heh,ah well experiance as you said :D

Just curiouse but does anyone know what kind of charges would be put on him he he were prosecuted?

Section 2 Non-fatal Offences Against the Person.
    Mike 1972 wrote: »
    By that logic nobody could ever be prosecuted for murder :rolleyes:

An assault has to be physical contact without consent. But you can't consent to being murdered. The reason Gardaí can't proceed without a formal statement is that they need the injured party to give evidence that he did not consent to the physical contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

A head bop?

Its another way of saying headbutt :rolleyes:

Don't waste your time. Your accounts of the night will be compromised because you were drunk

again as I stated I did not drink much that night and was for the most part sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

What was your cousin doing standing around while you were getting hit by some scanger?? I'd be having words with him before the cops.

He's my secound cousin and I dont know him too well..tbh I'm a bit pissed at my friend for not doing anything.

the guy was really lucky though that it was really only my self and that friend because if theother who was ment to be out did the guy would in A&E

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

+1.

After a few weeks of "Erm, yea erm Garda Murphy is in court/sick/leave/on @ 2pm/4pm/10pm, you just missed him, he'll ring you back" etc etc etc you'll wonder why you bothered.

OR

He could get one of the thousands of friendly, diligent, hard-working, conscientious Gardai who would:
    • Ensure the member concerned is informed that the OP tried to contact him today as he wished to make a statement
    • Record the fact that the OP attempted to contact the member concerned in his/her notebook
    • Advise the OP to call the station at the start of the shift of the member concerned, as it is usually the best time to contact a specific Garda, so he could agree a time to meet the member concerned
    • Give his/her own name to the OP as a point of contact to use if the member concerned hasn't got back to him, being sure to take contact details of the OP. Every Garda knows their colleagues get sick or are injured on the job, in which event, the details would be passed on to the investigating member's Sergeant for onward delegation
    • Find out if the OP is ok after the assault, offer support, and ensure the OP is aware of the freephone service provided by Victim Support, because the Garda knows that the OP could be traumatised for weeks and months after such an attack

When you leave the station, you'll be very pleased that you were dealt with in a friendly, professional and supportive manner, and you will feel confident and assured by the Garda you've just spoken to that this will be taken seriously, and they will do everything in their power to ensure justice is served.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

psni wrote: »
    OR

He could get one of the thousands of friendly, diligent, hard-working, conscientious Gardai who would:
    • Ensure the member concerned is informed that the OP tried to contact him today as he wished to make a statement
    • Record the fact that the OP attempted to contact the member concerned in his/her notebook
    • Advise the OP to call the station at the start of the shift of the member concerned, as it is usually the best time to contact a specific Garda, so he could agree a time to meet the member concerned
    • Give his/her own name to the OP as a point of contact to use if the member concerned hasn't got back to him, being sure to take contact details of the OP. Every Garda knows their colleagues get sick or are injured on the job, in which event, the details would be passed on to the investigating member's Sergeant for onward delegation
    • Find out if the OP is ok after the assault, offer support, and ensure the OP is aware of the freephone service provided by Victim Support, because the Garda knows that the OP could be traumatised for weeks and months after such an attack

When you leave the station, you'll be very pleased that you were dealt with in a friendly, professional and supportive manner, and you will feel confident and assured by the Garda you've just spoken to that this will be taken seriously, and they will do everything in their power to ensure justice is served.

I lol'd.