Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Us

• 08-05-2010 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

What has happened to us guys?

The place is a mess, we all seem more concerned with taking legal highs, guys, than actually getting this wee country up on its feet again.

Ten years ago we were all about innovation, innovation and innovation. Now look at us, I think even our european neigbours have had enough.

Come on guys, lets get it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Sorry I can't hear you over the sound of my dole money rattling in my pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I don't take any highs, legal or otherwise. I work.

Who is this 'us' of which you speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

Your name is Gemma. Isn't that a girl's name?

I'd like a sandwich please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

yeah, if we keep posting about the state of the nation on the internet, we absolutely can't fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

The place is a mess, we all seem more concerned with taking legal highs, guys, than actually getting this wee country up on its feet again.

We should all wee standing up? Couldn't agree more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

The recession threw me into a deep depression...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Guys?

Begone to the United States with ya.

Ten years ago we were all about innovation, innovation and innovation. Now look at us,

That was a line of shite that a lot of people gobbled up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 GemmaCarter

You work!, well that is not enough. You need to innovate.

Us is us guys, we are all in this together, like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Ten years ago we were all about innovation, innovation and innovation. Now look at us, I think even our european neigbours have had enough.

Wait a second so we're all concerned with taking legal highs and guys?

The recession threw me into a deep depression...
    .....I lost my profession....

Says who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

I thought we agreed on this already. You're a girl?!

Ladies' Lounge is that way
    >

ps. where's my sandwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ten years ago we were all about innovation, innovation and innovation.

Well I've found that a small amount of Snow goes a lot further when mixed with baking soda before snorting. Does that count as innovation? It took a lot of trial and error to figure it out.

Says who?

Don't be selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

Yeah guys lets give out about the state of the country,spout yes we can-isms but not actually suggest ways to sort the economy out wooooo!

Don't be selfish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

That's it.
    We're all about inebriation, inebriation, inebriation.
    In a world of depleting resources, lack of ambititon should be celebrated.

By the way, loopylaura posted pretty much this thread about a month ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I'm doing my part by harvesting the organs of homeless people. Helping the health service while easing the financial strain on our social welfare system

Go Team Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

Bonito wrote: »
    .....I lost my profession....

so to rid my aggression, i went on a session.....

Abrasax wrote: »

In a world of depleting resources, lack of ambititon should be celebrated.

Been reading national geographic??

I couldn't be bothered. :p

so to rid my aggression, i went on a session.....
    ...ended up with a garda car in my possession...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What do you want us to do OP? What would you like to see change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How about innovating up some better threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

She's a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Bonito wrote: »
    ...ended up with a garda car in my possession...
    It was your obsession

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Milky Moo wrote: »
    Yeah guys lets give out about the state of the country,spout yes we can-isms but not actually suggest ways to sort the economy out wooooo!

Sorry to burst yer bubble but some clever Yank already had that idea, got himself a nice new house out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Innovate me bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Exactly! Whatever happened to us here on AH? I remember when threads here used to have intriguing & inventive titles that just screamed "Click on me" (open leading to subsequent disappointment, but that's not the point). Now they have titles like "Us". :rolleyes: Actually I'm surprised at myself for opening this thread, let alone posting even more crap in it.

I have to go now and blow my own head of with a shotgun in order to alleviate my self-disgust at contributing to this farce. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Wasn't loopylaura sitebanned?

OP, Philosophy is
    >

Also, do you live in or around D4? Or go to UCD or Trinity? I'm loike tewtally roight, aren't I? And do you mean 'us' as in AH or 'us' and in Ireland? If the latter, you've been reading too many student union articles on socialism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

You sound like my grandad. :pac:
    The grumpy one that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Gemma, I hope you wouldn't take this personally but in my opinion you are
    talking through your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I'd like to teach the world to sing

In perfect harmony

so I would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

What do you do that is innovative OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

well Ms. Carter, what exactly would you suggest we do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Gemma, I hope you wouldn't take this personally but in my opinion you are
    talking through your hole.

And yeah, you are talking to through your hole OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

steady up Erica... never post two in a row, smacks of want:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dear Gemma,

Please frequent us a lot more.
    You might notice then that ratio-wise, there is a hell of a lot more postings about many varied subjects in AH than just about a few RARE ones about "legal highs" - (far) quick to tar with a too wide brush aren't we!

Come back and read more often, you just might get a better education!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

The only thing that has changed is reduction in decent jobs.
    Innovation?-rob a bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I didn't break it so I'm not gunna fix it, now wheres that powda ...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Me fail English? That's unpossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

You are in a minority so, I don't think I have ever met a person who does not take psychoactive drugs, legal or otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

It was your obsession
    But you were taught a good lesson, no more messing :D

I don't take any highs, legal or otherwise.

You have never drank a cup of tea or coffee? coke? and you have never taken pain relievers such as aspirin or ibuprofen? you haven't smoked?

Wow

You have never drank a cup of tea or coffee? coke? and you have never taken pain relievers such as aspirin or ibuprofen? you haven't smoked?

Wow
    Now now, no need to get all pedantic, you know what I mean!:)

I drink tea and am a firm believer in modern medicine.

And no, I have never smoked.

No need to get all pedantic, you know what I mean!:)

I drink tea and am a firm believer in modern medicine.

And no, I have never smoked.

yeah i know what you mean

Ah that's nice.

Thank you kindly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Now now, no need to get all pedantic, you know what I mean!:)
    Yeah, you mean you're a hypocrite, like so many others who regularly take psychoactive drugs, its disgusting reading this head in the sand, holier than thou crap.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caffeine
    Caffeine is a bitter, white crystalline xanthine alkaloid that is a psychoactive stimulant drug.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alcoholic_beverages
    Alcohol is a psychoactive drug that has a depressant effect.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicotine#Psychoactive_effects
    Psychoactive effects

Nicotine's mood-altering effects are different by report: in particular it is both a stimulant and a relaxant.