Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German look reg plates

• 07-05-2010 2:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Apologies if this has already been posted, but where would one get a set of the german look reg plates??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

why bother when they are like, illegal, you are in Ireland. not the fatherland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Like, totally let the OP do what it's like, his choice like!
    mein freund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭caze

These guys do them...

http://www.eireplates.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It can help if you use a multi / group buy from a specific group.

I bought mine through Vagdrivers.net and they cost me €26 including delivery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

they are also not illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Are they illegal or not? Is there a specified font for number plates or is it just it has to be clear and a certain width and height?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I'm pretty sure they aren't illegal due to the typeface being legit in another European country.
    (Think I remember someone telling me that before at least)

Wouldn't be my cup of tea though OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Dark-Mavis

draffodx wrote: »
    Are they illegal or not? Is there a specified font for number plates or is it just it has to be clear and a certain width and height?

Don't think a type face is specified, but height and width is.
    Supposedly some of the numbers are not wide enough.
    Would have to be one bad b*stard to fine someone for it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

They arent illegal yes we are in ireland and yes we are in europe also;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Someone from a NCT testing centre should be able to quote the rules, my wifes car failed for it 6 or 7 years ago. Jap import and the plates on it had text that was too close to the edge of the plate...(i.e. he said the text was too big)

Yes the NCT dude was a testicle for failing it on that (only thing it failed on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

BigEejit wrote: »
    Someone from a NCT testing centre should be able to quote the rules, my wifes car failed for it 6 or 7 years ago. Jap import and the plates on it had text that was too close to the edge of the plate...(i.e. he said the text was too big)

Yes the NCT dude was a testicle for failing it on that (only thing it failed on)
    http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/leaflets/format-vehicle-registration-plates.html

Here you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭phog

BigEejit wrote: »

SARASON wrote: »

Additional dimensions available here (see page 9)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭BSPOKE20

I'm a big fan of ze greman style plates....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34151059@N02/4494683066/

they're always a nice subtle touch on a german made car and go unnoticed to the untrained eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

wow you are on fire this week another gem of a post!

They are not illegal once you have the hyphens and county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Apparently they're not illegal. But you're still supposed to have the name of the county of registration in Irish at the top of the plate. I don't think too many people do though!

EDIT: just saw tossy's post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

BSPOKE20 wrote: »
    I'm a big fan of ze greman style plates....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/34151059@N02/4494683066/

they're always a nice subtle touch on a german made car and go unnoticed to the untrained eye.
    Surely the 'trained eye' already knows your car is german?

I heart deutschland as much as the next guy, but I don't think their numberplate engineering is that far ahead of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

well,
    Those style plates are going on my next car for sure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

The main attraction of German plates is that they are pressed metal instead of plastic. (handy for parking!)

You still have to have:

IRL on the blue background
    County in Irish on the top
    Dashes between the numbers/county

As long as the font is normal size the type of font is not an issue.

This is according to both the Guards & the NCT people.

IMG_2395-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Early zollkennzeichen plates are cool. :)

(Plates fitted on export cars 70's era)

200px-20050912a003a.JPG

You still have to have:

Dashes between the numbers/county

As long as the font is normal size the type of font is not an issue.

This is according to both the Guards & the NCT people.

I dont have them on the Civic and it passed the NCT.
    I pointed it out to the tester and he said no bother, They are fine :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭kyote00

try here, for all things german....:D
    http://www.landser.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Plates365.com

vectra wrote: »

We had a customer fail the NCT last week. Their plates were our angle style with dashes, county and irl logo all included. We always tell customers if they want legal plates buy legal. It must depend on the tester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I've been told by a guard that I could be done for them. He might show his face in a while here and clarify...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

EPM wrote: »
    I've been told by a guard that I could be done for them. He might show his face in a while here and clarify...

done for what? there is no specified font so if you have everything else ok you will be fine, sure its the same as the des cullen style bold font plates, only they look better ;)

ive had them on my last four cars never an issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

vectra wrote: »

You were lucky, I failed because of the lack of dashes. I had to drop by again for a visual inspection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

rabbitinlights you should polish up the exhaust tip on your e39 with some Autoglym Metal Polish. I did mine for the first time a few weeks ago, not sure why I didn't do it sooner.

photo-28.jpg

You were lucky, I failed because of the lack of dashes. I had to drop by again for a visual inspection.

The reason he said it would be fine was simply because they were Jap style ( square ) plates and had a lot of numbers, He said their was not enough room for them anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

If there's dashes, IRL as the country and the county in Irish then you can't be failed for having them.

I like them on German cars, they're a bit daft on others, saw them on a Toyota and a Volvo once, I felt just slightly embarrassed for the owners;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Yes there are illegal. Dont know where people are getting once your have stars and county in Irish etc you'll be fine!

[IMG][/img]20012010323.th.jpg Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

Above is the format.

There can be no break in the numbers/letters.

I have prosecuted several over the years for failure to comply....however I always give them the chance to change them. When they turn around and say no they are legal the get a summons.....one for front and one for rear plate.

Im sure German font plates may pass the NCT......however I seem to remember several people telling me over the years the Exaust is fine Garda it passed the NCT only to be convicted three months later by the court. The NCT is a roadworthy test. Some items are passed for this reason.....but the vehicle may not be conforming with legislation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

google "Craigs plates" they are very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yes there are illegal. Dont know where people are getting once your have stars and county in Irish etc you'll be fine!

Above is the format.

I have prosecuted several over the years for failure to comply....however I always give them the chance to change them. When they turn around and say no they are legal the get a summons.....one for front and one for rear plate.

Im sure German font plates may pass the NCT......however I seem to remember several people telling me over the years the Exaust is fine Garda it passed the NCT only to be convicted three months later by the court. The NCT is a roadworthy test. Some items are passed for this reason.....but the vehicle may not be conforming with legislation.
    With all due respect, and I am not even aiming this specifically at you NGA, but would the Traffic Corps not have better things do be doing??

For example, how about going after those with NO plates (trucks/trailers being a big offender), or those with no lights, or brake lights constantly lit, or tailgaters, or things that actually DO affect the safety of those people and others on the road.

As I say, I know you can only do what you're told, but prosecuting people for what is a very legible clear font (though I'll agree with you on the fancier italicised types) because it doesn't match your rulebook is just pedantic and frankly a waste of resources and public money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Above is the format.

Does that specify the font-type though? As long as the letters/numbers meet the height and width requirements, as well as the spacing, EU designation, county, hyphens etc, whats the problem with the german font, the tiny gaps in the lettering?

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    With all due respect, and I am not even aiming this specifically at you NGA, but would the Traffic Corps not have better things do be doing??

For example, how about going after those with NO plates (trucks/trailers being a big offender), or those with no lights, or brake lights constantly lit, or tailgaters, or things that actually DO affect the safety of those people and others on the road.

As I say, I know you can only do what you're told, but prosecuting people for what is a very legible clear font (though I'll agree with you on the fancier italicised types) because it doesn't match your rulebook is just pedantic and frankly a waste of resources and public money.

No we dont have anything better to do (top line to cheese a Garda off). We deal with every offence we meet.....we dont just drive on looking for jucier ones.

We do go after those with no plates. While plates like discribed get a warning to change (as i said) people with no plates get a direct summons to court.

I dont do what im told or prosecute who im told.....a member of AGS cannot be told by anyone to prosecute someone. We have our discression. O and I dont have a rule book. WE have a rulebook that all persons must comply with. If you think its pedantic then talk to your local T.D. to get the rules changed.

Why should someone with german type plates differ from someone with another personalised plate?? Whether legiable or not they are illegal.

the tiny gaps in the lettering?

Exactly.

If anyone wishes give customs a shout on Tuesday and they will confirm this. They hold the legislation and guidlines for registration plates as they are a revenue generator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Exactly.

If anyone wishes give customs a shout on Tuesday and they will confirm this. They hold the legislation and guidlines for registration plates as they are a revenue generator.

funny, i know a garda in the traffice corps who has german plates aswell :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

No we dont have anything better to do (top line to cheese a Garda off). We deal with every offence we meet.....we dont just drive on looking for jucier ones.
    Well without getting into a protracted debate, I'd argue that part of the problem in this country IS the inconsistent enforcement by AGS - the "it depends who you get approach" as I call it.
    For example, someone like yourself might take a reasonable common-sense line and give the person a chance to change them. Another member might issue a summons on the spot.

Personally I'd be more in favour of your approach, but as I say it really DOES depend who you get on the day, their mood etc, whereas it should be the same rule for all.
    I dont do what im told or prosecute who im told.....a member of AGS cannot be told by anyone to prosecute someone.
    Have to disagree here too. Whether you'll admit it or not, the reality is that prosecutions always go up around end of quarter time.
    For example, near where I last worked there was a Garda station with a roundabout closeby. Across from that was a Post Office.
    Most of the time people would illegally park there with AGS members walking and driving by all the time without a word - but ALWAYS in the last week of a particular month would the tickets start appearing.

Or what about when you're told to go sit out beside a nice wide carriageway for a few hours to shoot fish? If you're not following your superiors instructions then that's your business, but I know that "targets" are set.
    It's why the commissioner and the RSA get to proudly point to stats every so often saying that "the system works" but the reality is people are being killed every day, and unnecessary accidents happening because of this inconsistent, lax enforcement policy by AGS management and the DOJ.

To be fair, while there are too many bad apples in AGS who abuse their authority or think they're Dirty Harry once they get the badge, there are a lot of hard-working, copped on (excuse the pun) members too.

It's just a pity the Garda Press Office isn't as effective as getting that message across to the public, as they are at pointing to meaningless statistics, because ultimately it diminishes the standing and reputation of the force as a whole.

(Sure apparently now ye are all at risk of being bought off because of the cutbacks :rolleyes: - see my point?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Bellemz

Back to the plates, I had an Audi when I was working in Germany...when I can afford a German car over here, I will have those plates, they are a nice touch on a German car.

• Moderators Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

rabbitinlights you should polish up the exhaust tip on your e39 with some Autoglym Metal Polish. I did mine for the first time a few weeks ago, not sure why I didn't do it sooner.

http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w160/rebelranter/photo-28.jpg

Did ya get some on the car too?

Personally I dont see the attraction in them, its just a numberplate.

Above is the format.

Not having a go NGA but i know of several cars that have passed the NCT with these plates,so there ia obviously a bit of confusion there.

I also think most members of the force will let common sense prevail,ive been stopped for speeding and had nothing said about my plates,i was stopped again and the Garda who did me complimented the plates,i was also stopped for having no front number plate and a rear german plate and the Garda still made no comment on it and i have no county name or hyphens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Is there not a big problem with non-standard plates in that they can't be read by the ANPR cameras? I was watching one of those UK police shows last week and the Met in London were pulling left, right and centre for custom plates as their cameras couldn't read them. Mind you they were more concerned about them from a security/terrorism point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭turbo

I had them on for about 4 years without any probs until a few weeks ago, Caught a guard at a check point either having a bad day or needed to fill his quota for the day and gave me a lecture on them, he basically gave me a week to get some legal ones on or else i would be hearing from him again with a big fine, mentioned something like 1.5K!!

Anyway i stuck the originals back on and went to my nominated station and the Guard had a look but said he didnt know how the cop that stopped me was gonna be able to verify i had been there.........:rolleyes: Crazy...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The German plates are very cool as are the federal stickers on them. Really got to like them when I was driving in Germany this year. The again number plates aren't much use over there when your doing 300km/h down the Autobahn as you'd be lucky to catch the colour never mind the reg or make of car!

GalKiefer wrote: »
    Is there not a big problem with non-standard plates in that they can't be read by the ANPR cameras? I was watching one of those UK police shows last week and the Met in London were pulling left, right and centre for custom plates as their cameras couldn't read them. Mind you they were more concerned about them from a security/terrorism point of view.

We have ANPR in work and it reads them no bothers,also work perfectly with the toll plaza cameras.
    turbo wrote: »
    I had them on for about 4 years without any probs until a few weeks ago, Caught a guard at a check point either having a bad day or needed to fill his quota for the day and gave me a lecture on them, he basically gave me a week to get some legal ones on or else i would be hearing from him again with a big fine, mentioned something like 1.5K!!

Anyway i stuck the originals back on and went to my nominated station and the Guard had a look but said he didnt know how the cop that stopped me was gonna be able to verify i had been there.........:rolleyes: Crazy...

I carry my legal ones in the boot and can change them at the road side if instructed to do so.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    With all due respect, and I am not even aiming this specifically at you NGA, but would the Traffic Corps not have better things do be doing?
    Which begs the question as to why people go out of their way to buy and fit illegal plates.

Legible or no, non-standard plates have the potential to make life more difficult for anpr.

Friend of mine is a member of the garda
    Told me it is a waste of time bringing people to court if the Judge can clearly read the plate. He throws it out and tells the garda not to wast the courts time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

barry81 wrote: »
    Apparently they're not illegal.

Yes there are illegal.

I stand corrected!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Above is the format.

I've done a trawl through Revenue (Customs etc) and was pointed to two pieces of legislation, SI 318/92 and amendment SI 432/99.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/vrt/leaflets/format-vehicle-registration-plates.html

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/si/0318.html

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1999/en/si/0432.html

Neither of these state a font or mention anything other than dimensions etc, revenue use the pic/diagram you posted as an example.

Just curious as to what legislation you prosecuted under for "failing to comply" re German font plates with all other requirements met - Euro blue, IRL, Irish language place name etc.?

Fishtits.

Which begs the question as to why people go out of their way to buy and fit illegal plates.

Legible or no, non-standard plates have the potential to make life more difficult for anpr.

Which begs the question why are people so put out by the type of plates someone else fits to their car,i mean of all the 'non standard' plates you see on the roads German style are mild,what about all those stupid italic ones or the chavy Des Cullen style ones with the twice as thick font?

Also do you get many sleepness nights about what does or doesn't make life difficult for ANPR? not withstanding from the fact i've already pointed out ANPR has no trouble with them.

The fact of the matter is Irish plastic plates are ugly,so many are chip and cracked and faded and can actually be harder to read from a distance,German plates like most thinks designed by the Germans do exactly what the say on the tin,you would never have trouble reading a German plate fro ma distance even an old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

They are NOT illegal. The gaurd or whatever that's posting here is wrong, he's been misinformed. There is nothing illegal about the font or the spacing when done correctly.