Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government protest march Tuesday, the 11th of May, Dublin

• 06-05-2010 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭

There is a protest march next Tuesday, the 11th of May in Dublin starting from Parnell Square. Anyone going out for a "Walk"? I wonder will this march make any kind of a difference?:confused: :rolleyes: I might go in and see what is said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

The Government are protesting? Why because they lost their pensions? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Marching?

WTF is walking down the street going to achieve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Protest against what?

I'd go but I've got stuff on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

snow ghost wrote: »
    The Government are protesting? Why because they lost their pensions? ;)

Ha ha!!;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

What time is it on? I don't want to miss the Afternoon Show. They're doing a piece on public apathy or some such...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Protest against what exactly?
    I want to protest to the government for not outlawing skangers wearing PJs outside.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

nicegirl wrote: »
    There is a protest march next Tuesday, the 11th of May in Dublin starting from Parnell Square. Anyone going out for a "Walk"? I wonder will this march make any kind of a difference?:confused: :rolleyes: I might go in and see what is said!

I might just go to roll my eyes at them.

phasers wrote: »
    Protest against what?

I'd go but I've got stuff on...

Its a protest at the bank bail outs by the government. There will be union leaders, and a number of others speaking about the entire thing. I have never taken part, so I might go in for the walk myself.....I agree with you though, what real difference is a "Walk" and a few speeches going to do? Is this the best we can do?!

Einhard wrote: »
    What time is it on? I don't want to miss the Afternoon Show. They're doing a piece on public apathy or some such...

Ha ha! It starts at 7.30pm at the Garden of rememberance, Parnell Square. So, The Afternoon Show will be over by then! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

orourkeda wrote: »
    Marching?

Weightloss :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

Its a protest at the bank bail outs by the government. There will be union leaders, and a number of others speaking about the entire thing. I have never taken part, so I might go in for the walk myself.....I agree with you though, what real difference is a "Walk" and a few speeches going to do? Is this the best we can do?!

Well we could go Greek on their asses and lob a few firebombs into banks but what the hell does that achieve either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Its a protest at the bank bail outs by the government. There will be union leaders, and a number of others speaking about the entire thing.

Are there any protests that don't involve union leaders or really left wing partys? I'd like to protest too.

I don't feel like walking, if I bring a spinny chair, will someone push me?

I'll believe it when I see it!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    Well we could go Greek on their asses and lob a few firebombs into banks but what the hell does that achieve either.

higher borrowing costs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I wonder will this march make any kind of a difference?:confused: :rolleyes:

No, won't make a lick of difference. Only thing that would get them to sit up and take notice is if the crowd actually consisted of the gombeens who get them elected year after year (which it won't) or if the massing panned out like this ...

The British government has been running scared ever since. A rare occasion where I have been an admirer of Britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Ha ha! It starts at 7.30pm at the Garden of rememberance, Parnell Square. So, The Afternoon Show will be over by then! :p

But then I'll miss Nationwide! :eek:

They're doing a special on seasonal knitting patterns that night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭M.Pool

protesting only seems to work in this country if you're over 70. The government are really afraid of the oldies, so maybe if we all dye our hair grey and use zimmer frames on Tues they might sit up and notice.....

bonerm wrote: »
    No, won't make a lick of difference. Only thing that would get them to sit up and take notice is if the crowd actually consisted of the gombeens who get them elected year after year (which it won't) or if the massing panned out like this ...

The British government has been running scared ever since. A rare occasion where I have been an admirer of Britain.

Jesus! Could you imagine that happening here? All our marches or should I say "Walks" are way too cilvilised, and sensible.....that would be a first if it were to happen. It might wake the government up a bit, if it did happen!

M.Pool wrote: »
    protesting only seems to work in this country if you're over 70. The government are really afraid of the oldies, so maybe if we all dye our hair grey and use zimmer frames on Tues they might sit up and notice.....

Thats what we should do....and everyone bring your granny or grandad in with you. Brian Cowen and the government will be scared sh*tless :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

May I enquire as to what the over all theme of the march is seeing as the countrys actually improving..Slowly but improving and were not greece ffs.

Why am I thinking people are only doing this as what the greeks chanted..Might I remind ye that they refuse any cuts and wish for the economy to just improve like that*Um..imagine me click my fingers :p*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I got bored earlier whilst watching Prime Time & drew a face on my scrotum. It looked uncannily like Brian Cowen. I think I'll e-mail a picture of it to him as a form of protest seeing as I don't live in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

Jesus! Could you imagine that happening here? All our marches or should I say "Walks" are way too cilvilised, and sensible.....that would be a first if it were to happen. It might wake the government up a bit, if it did happen!

hmmm nicegirl indeed :-)

don't think the 1990 poll tax riot scenes would happen here to be honest , for starters aren't the gardai and the protestors on the same side ?
    i'm suprised that left wing protestors would be so up in arms against a property tax in the first place but how and ever...

you may be too young to remember but there have been riots/public disorder in Ireland before and at the moment they are the very last thing we need.

what is needed at the moment is national government, solidarity and stability to get us through this crisis.

Its a protest at the bank bail outs by the government

Things might be improving if you've managed to hang onto your job or haven't had your pay cut.......

Seloth wrote: »
    May I enquire as to what the over all theme of the march is seeing as the countrys actually improving..Slowly but improving and were not greece ffs.

Why am I thinking people are only doing this as what the greeks chanted..Might I remind ye that they refuse any cuts and wish for the economy to just improve like that*Um..imagine me click my fingers :p*

the greeks that are on the extreme fringes of the protest and causing the trouble at the moment do not want their economy to improve.

if I'm not mistaken they are communists and anarchists that don't support the status quo..( though what they have against Midge Ure is anyones guess )

they don't want a bail out from the EU and if they keep up this rioting then they might get their way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

orourkeda wrote: »

You get where your going.
    There will be union leaders

Will the banking union leaders be protesting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

This would be the socialist march your advertising.

I think you should take your hippie ideas to Greece. I live in the real world.

The one where we moan initially, but then eventually accept the punishment for the crimes of others because I owe it to future generations to do so.

and the opposites of civilised and sensible are?

Wonder if Bertie's going to join in seeing as he declared himself a socialist in the Dail not too long ago. ;)

ok so he's no Joe Higgins but he's no unionist either ;)

Eh? don't think the unionists are too worried bout the state of this place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

wanna go for a drink later or is your username a total ****ing lie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Fcuk the unions. They're out for themselves.

TheZohan wrote: »

How about the union leaders and the government go for a walk instead, a long walk off a short pier, and we'll stay here and look after the place. Couldn't be much worse.

Can I be minister for something? Can I can I can I????

Eh? don't think the unionists are too worried bout the state of this place.

by the way the unions are behaving I think you might be right good man..but lets wait and see :)

Absurdum wrote: »

This might be your answer..................
    All our marches or should I say "Walks" are way too cilvilised, and sensible.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

Can I be minister for something? Can I can I can I????

If Mary Coughlan do it, anyone can

there's no one in charge so go for it....

I'd be minister of decreased work ethic - working more than 3 days a week would be banned:)

Ha! I'll consider it, after I go out for the "Walk" and listen to a few speeches..... ;)

Not if you know how to get around them ;)

by the way the unions are behaving I think you might be right good man..but lets wait and see :)

emmm unionists are DUP and UUP, although I'm not convinced the unions care too much about us either :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

There is a protest march next Tuesday, the 11th of May in Dublin starting from Parnell Square.

There's never parking in Parnell Square. What are we meant to do fly in? FFS!

Not if you know how to get around them ;)
    Fcuk the unions.

fyp

So you guys post on Boards.ie I see...and you're looking for a loan of 1 billion to pay your front line services....let me get back to you on that..

things COULD be worse...as a famous Dublin criminal* once said "if you think we're bad , wait till you see whats coming after us" .

* - no it wasn't Charlie Haughey who said it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭bytey

you lost me at 'union leaders ' ....

Ha! I'll consider it, after I go out for the "Walk" and listen to a few speeches..... ;)

jesus that sounds like hell, thanks anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Will there be drinks afterwards?

in the Dail bar with our new leaders