Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BNP reaches out to Asian voters...kinda

• 05-05-2010 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭

BNP candidate is spat upon by an Asian man, street brawl ensues.

A fight broke out between a British National Party parliamentary candidate and some Asian men as party members were out campaigning in east London. The Asian men earlier swore at leader Nick Griffin and threw fruit at him and he was taken away from the scene.
    The candidate for Romford, Bob Bailey, continued to campaign in Ripple Road when one of the men swore and spat at him prompting Mr Bailey to punch him.
    Police were called after 1500 BST to the fight between the two groups.

'Campaign of hatred'
    At the time Metropolitan Police said they were called to the incident but no-one had been arrested at the scene.
    Later however, police said an 18-year-old man attended Barking police station and alleged common assault against another man.
    The Barking Community Safety Unit is to look into the matter.
    When asked about the fight Mr Griffin told BBC London the fight was the result of a "campaign of hatred and dehumanisation against any group of people, in this case us".
    He said: "I think people have to realise that the people have spoken, this is a democratic vote and everyone has to go along with that, whether its us, our opponents or people on the streets, and if there are a few crazies or thugs on the streets I'm sure the police will deal with them quite quickly.
    "The more people in the media talk this up as an issue, the more silly kids on the streets will be inclined to take the law into their hands."

And cos I'm so thoughtful, here's a handy visual aid:

What do you people think? Much as I disagree with the BNP, and despise that smarmy creep Nick Griffin, I'm not sure I wouldn't have lashed out if someone hocked up on me on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I think your visual aid is not so handy :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

This is what Jesus thinks of the BNP's campaign:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

reaches out..ohhohohohohohhehehehehehhehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

peanuthead wrote: »
    I think your visual aid is not so handy :confused::confused:

That's a scurrilous accusation sir! I demand a retraction!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Nice to see a politician stand up to a scumbag, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No one wins in that video but the sad thing is that the video will probably gain Bailey popularity with the knuckle-dragging troglodyte core BNP supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

The woman at the end has a huge arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    No one wins in that video but the sad thing is that the video will probably gain Bailey popularity with the knuckle-dragging troglodyte core BNP supporters.

nah will make sod all difference, they still won't get any seats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Tbh, even if they are the BNP, they should be able to canvass without getting fruit thrown at them, spat on or threatened.

The BNP were in the right there.

/goes to wash mouth out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ha, that asian kid got a right pounding on the ground. Don't spit in peoples faces you tosser... He even went to kick him in the face when he fell to the ground... haha.

Nice politician though that tries to kick people on the ground. Lovely folk all involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Tbh, even if they are the BNP, they should be able to canvass without getting fruit thrown at them, spat on or threatened.

I dont see why should the be afforded any rights they would deny to others were they to achieve power.

Nice politician though that tries to kick people on the ground. Lovely folk all involved.

I never commented on the politician and his personality, I know nothing about him, but in a moment of madness, yea I can understand why he wanted to kick him in the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

he wanted to kick him in the face.

I know someone who would be proud to hear this said :pac:

peanuthead wrote: »
    I know someone who would be proud to hear this said :pac:

I was thinking the same :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yeah....I mean why would somebody spit in the face of somebody who wants to run them out of the country....haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

I recall when the BNP - and their cohorts in the National Front - used to attack Irish people and spit at them in London not too long ago. Although now they seem to have apparently dropped their anti-Irish racism to get all cuddly with us and to promote some kind of pan-british isles identity front against people of colour. :rolleyes:

Not too long ago Irish people used to bomb London and Brtish MP's for what they deemed anti-Irish oppression in Ireland, so is anyone really suprised at some British people of Asian origin spitting at a BNP representitive considering the BNP's beliefs?

Especially given that even the leader of the British Tories has called the BNP a 'stain on democracy'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A sad state of affairs from both sides. There is no winners there.

snow ghost wrote: »

so is anyone really suprised at some British people of Asian origin spitting at a BNP representitive considering the BNP's beliefs?

Probably not, but that doesn't make it acceptable.

Especially given that even the leader of the British Tories has called the BNP a 'stain on democracy'.

Actually I think the opposite, in that allowing the free speech of those with whom you fundamentally disagree with is one of the shining ideals of liberal democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Fair play to the three Asian lads for standing up to what was it, six or seven BNP scumbags at least.

(Okay okay violence is bad and all that but still)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Violence was not the answer to the racists/bigots of the BNP. Let them talk, and expose there views for the hateful garbage they are. The Asian lads should have organized a peaceful protest against the BNP, which would have done more damage to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

If that guy spat at me I would have done exactly the same thing.

Anyone who says they wouldn't is either a liberal pussy or is a liar.

To be perfectly honest I would vote for that guy after that.

orourkeda wrote: »

And would you feel the same if it was an Irish lad who spat at the guy?

Well then you are a large part of what is wrong with society tbh.

Einhard wrote: »
    Probably not, but that doesn't make it acceptable.

Actually I think the opposite, in that allowing the free speech of those with whom you fundamentally disagree with is one of the shining ideals of liberal democracy.

Spitting in someone's face isn't acceptable... nor is promoting racism and inciting racial hatred under the contrived guise of democratic politics. On a global scale which is worse one person spitting at someone who promotes racism or the racism?

In that video the BNP candidate shouts something at those youths and actually puts his hands on one of them first.

It doesn't suprise me that some young men from an ethnic background would spit at people who promote what the BNP do. But that is what racism does - it creates division and hatred.

No one said anything about not allowing free speech - Cameron, in calling the BNP a 'stain on democracy' was exercising his right to free speech.

Regardless of his politics?

I can understand why he lashed out, but I think he crossed the line when he aimed a kick at his face as he lay on the ground. I'm sorry, but I expect a little more reserve and decorum from the people I entrust to run the country on my behalf.

Can you imagine David Cameron lashing out like that?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    And would you feel the same if it was an Irish lad who spat at the guy?

Of course. Why wouldnt I?

I never commented on the politician and his personality, I know nothing about him, but in a moment of madness, yea I can understand why he wanted to kick him in the face.

If someone spits at you would you feel justified in kicking them in the face as retribution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

What did he say to the Asian lads at the start?

It sounds like "How many of ye's are robbers?"

Could someone clarify?

Of course. Why wouldnt I?

Are you Irish ? Just wondering I'm sure if a party were anti Irish and an Irish lad had spat, he would be claimed a hero.

B****x to reserve and decorum. We are on the verge of a depression because of politicians who have shown reserve and decorum.

If any person in that situation didnt stand up for themselves they'll get damn all respect from me.

Are you Irish ? Just wondering I'm sure if a party were anti Irish and an Irish lad had spat, he would be claimed a hero.

I am. Born and raised. If an irish person spat at someone I'd be delighted to see him getting his head kicked in. To golly at another person is about as low as you can stoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

dlofnep wrote: »

Could someone clarify?

Thats what it sounded like to me too, tbh.

Could someone clarify?

That's what it sounded like to me also.

If that's the case, he clearly incited the situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Could someone clarify?

Sounds like that to me too. He says 'there are more of us than there are of you so get on your f'ing way' too. Basically he is insulting/threatening the asian lads before the one spits on him from what I can see.

I am. Born and raised. If an irish person spat at someone I'd be delighted to see him getting his head kicked in. To golly at another person is about as low as you can stoop.

Even if they were anti Irish and hated the Irish, fair play to ye then.

To golly at another person is about as low as you can stoop.

I'd say kicking someone in the head while they're on the ground is slightly worse.

Can't remember anyone ever dying from being spat at.

Wonder what may have occurred if the BNP candidate went to West Belfast and promoted that Irish people be repatriated from the UK (including N.I.) (as was once their political position), I doubt he would have been just spat at and I doubt many Irish people would have disagreed with the response he would have recieved.

I'd say kicking someone in the head while they're on the ground is slightly worse.

Can't remember anyone ever dying from being spat at.
    Maybe he thinks Asians have poisonous venom in their spit or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

The guy who spat was just a stupid kid. The BNP guy is parading around as a potential poliitician. He really should have been the bigger man there and let it go - to react quite so violently and repeatedly shows the BNP up for everything they stand for.

Wonder what may have occurred if the BNP candidate went to West Belfast and promoted that Irish people be repatriated from the UK (including N.I.) (as was once their political position), I doubt he would have been just spat at and I doubt many Irish people would have disagreed with the response he would have recieved.

Seems some would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Bob Bailey should be ashamed of himself - his political opinions aside - the guy who spat at him was just a kid, legally an adult, being 18, but just a kid nonetheless. To then hit him & kick him whilst he was on the ground, was just the act of a bully.

He should man the f*ck up.

greendom wrote: »
    The guy who spat was just a stupid kid. The BNP guy is parading around as a potential poliitician. He really should have been the bigger man there and let it go - to react quite so violently and repeatedly shows the BNP up for everything they stand for.

Exactly, as I said not in a million years would someone like David Cameron react like that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Poster stinicker has been banned for a message he posted in thread. This post has now been removed as well as a number of messages quoting his post.
    Please continue to report any offensive posts.

Even if they were anti Irish and hated the Irish, fair play to ye then.

Absolutely. If an Irish person reacted to anti-irish sentiment by spitting in that persons face then perhaps they have gone some way to justifying the initial sentiment.

Racism exists and always will. I personally dont have a particular problem with anyone expressing racist views. It's naive to bury one's head in the sand and pretend it doesnt exist. It how you handle it that counts. Its difficult to condone or agree with.

It's naive to bury one's head in the sand and pretend it doesnt exist. It how you handle it that counts.

Head-kicking being your approved weapon of choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Personally i think Nick Griffin and the rest of his 'party' should be shot with a ball of their own shi*e! The only scumbags i saw in that video were the ones wearing the suits and unfortunately the BNP will probably use the clip as propaganda for their hate campaigns.

greendom wrote: »

Maybe he'll engage his brain the next time he decides to golly at a racist.