Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daughter got robbed today.....her first time.

• 04-05-2010 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Brought my daughter(shes 9) into dublin city centre today so she could buy herself some books she wanted.When into fastfood place in O'connel street , while we were there some scumbag robbed a little plastic handbag (her favourite) along with her new story books(19 euro in total).
    Staff were helpfull enough ,the ones that could speak english.

Personally i thought it was a good lesson for my daughter although she did get upset.

When back to bookshop and replaced her books,rang her aunt and found out were she got handbag,bought replacement in sale for 4 euro.Told my daughter not to let the Feckers get U down and move on.

Ps:Guy in bookshop said they would probably try to get cash refund as receipt was in bag,said his staff would keep an eye out for them.LOL hope some poor innocent does'nt try return some books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Who the FUCK robs a 9 year old?!?!?!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Robbing 9 year olds. I'd like to think this is something of a low but it probably isn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Sorry to hear that, there's such scum around, i swear sometimes i feel like smashing the face outta the next skanger i see but alas its not in me:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Sorry to hear that OP, it's pure filth/scum like this that make my blood boil.

At least you or your daughter were not hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Brought my daughter(shes 9) into dublin city centre today so she could buy herself some books she wanted.When into fastfood place in O'connel street , while we were there some scumbag robbed a little plastic handbag (her favourite) along with her new story books(19 euro in total).
    Aw... that's awful - poor little thing! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Pfft. People have been stealing candy from babies for years.

Shitty thing to happen though OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

That's low so it is, very fucking low to rob a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Aw that's terrible OP, glad your daughter is ok and glad she got her stuff replaced :) especially the favourite bag! Losing something liken that when you're a kid always stays with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Did you buy the books with your credit card.... If so the purchase is insured once reported..

As for it being a good lesson. Your child will prob remember it for life so personally I would not feel the same way but thats me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Aww, bless her. That really is disgusting. Thank goodness you managed to replace everything, but how sad. :( Arseholes. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Very sorry to hear what happened to your daughter.
    I hope she is ok now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why would somebody even do that? I mean wtf was the filthy scobe expecting to find in a child's plastic handbag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

im assuming they were robbed from beside your table or somthing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

That's horrible.

This country gets more fcuked up as the days go by.

I hope Karma comes back to bite the person(s) who did this in the ass.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

If mace was legal, wouldn't people take great pleasure in spicing up those fúckers lives. Rotten scum, I hope there next dose of coke kills them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Mousey- wrote: »
    ffs there only worth 19 euro....you can have the back

Not funny given the context, nice try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Who else read the OP and thought that his daughter shares way to much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

djhunter30 wrote: »
    If mace was legal, wouldn't people take great pleasure in spicing up those fúckers lives. Rotten scum, I hope there next dose of coke kills them!
    Better still, I hope the Luas drives over the scumbags finger, (When he is picking his nose at the same time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Did you buy the books with your credit card.... If so the purchase is insured once reported..

No she bought them with her birtday money.I bought replacements with my card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Personally i thought it was a good lesson for my daughter although she did get upset.

The magic of childhood...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

A northsider, OP was in O'Connell St ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Personally i thought it was a good lesson for my daughter

Take her to see Kick Ass. That'll teach her a thing or two. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

orourkeda wrote: »
    Robbing 9 year olds. I'd like to think this is something of a low but it probably isn't.

they dont care who they rob .... 9yr olds or 80yr olds ... a score is a score... a scumbag is a scumbag.....and the kicker .... IF they get caught .... they wont even get a jail sentence.

hopefully your daughter wont suffer mentally - the trauma of getting robbed can be fairly harsh - especially at such a young age, its certainly something to monitor/watch..... keep an eye on her for nightmares/bed wetting or problems with school.

its important for you to keep an eye on her - and also important that you teach her what to do in a similar situation (ie. mental description of the person, clothes, height, build, hair colour, any identifying marks, tattoos scars etc.... watching out for suspicious people and why they are mooching around.... I actually enjoy people watching)

Why would somebody even do that? I mean wtf was the filthy scobe expecting to find in a child's plastic handbag?

more than likely they assumed the child was spending communion money !!! and probably had a chunk of money in their bag....april/may is prime time for kids to get robbed in this way - most of the time they will be allowed to carry the cash by their parents.

Ah god, the poor little chicken :(

I think it's sad that the thread title contains the words "first time", suggests the OP expects it not to be the last; scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

No she bought them with her birtday money.I bought replacements with my card.

Its a shame it was not the other way around.... You could have claimed on the card insurence... ah well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Christ, that's depressing. I'm no fan of capital punishment or anything, but it would be nice if the perpetrator was struck down with a rather nasty bout of cancer. Seriously though, what an awful eye-opening experience for a 9-year-old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

OP, sorry to hear about your daughter. At least she had her stuff replaced and she wasn't hurt :)

It's kind of ironic that a scumbag robber chose to steal books! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

To be honest, if they were locked up forever it would be too good for em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Typical of center city Ireland today.

• Did she get mugged or did she leave the stuff on an empty seat/on the floor?

FearDark wrote: »
    To be honest, if they were locked up forever it would be too good for em.

For nicking a plastic bag & a few books?!! FFS, it's bad form, but dontcha think that's just a tiny bit on the extreme side of retribution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That's just messed up. Little scumbags. How did they do it, if you don't mind me asking? Did they run past and snatch it or take it on the sly? What does a 9 year old have that somebody would want exactly? That's just divilment. A good kick in the chest would make them think again about doing that...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

For nicking a plastic bag & a few books?!! FFS, it's bad form, but dontcha think that's just a tiny bit on the extreme side of retribution?

Absolutely not, theyre obviously scum of the earth if theyre gonna mug a NINE year old, its probarbly not the first time or the last time they will do something like that. Zero tolerance, lock em up, throw away the key, no use to society, nobody will miss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Unfortunately it's a life lesson we all have to learn, thankfully you were there at the time and able to comfort and look after her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

i'm sure the wan ker scum are aware that some kids might be flush with communion money at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

thats awful op. poor wee thing :(

you were fortunate to find the same bag though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Jennyfer

Im so sorry this happened to your daughter. I too brought my 10 year old daughter into town over weekend for same reason, she wanted to buy some books and it was like a big day out for her. To have this happen must have broken your heart. Its such a horrible feeling. I feel so sad for her, thinking how upset my daughter would be in that situation.

Some lousy lowlife f*kers out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

i go to school in the city centre, and to be honest, hearing your little girl was robbed doesn't surprise me, we had a scumbag come into our school last week robbing school bags.

Scumbags are getting desperate and considering they have no morals to start with...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'm going to assume that these items were left unattended in a fast food place on O'Connell street?!

I would expect anything not nailed down to get nicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

my heart goes out to you op, just be glad you didnt catch him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Stories like these would make you lose faith in humanity.

to be fair .... if you dont punish them when they do something small - they simply learn to keep doing it until they are punished - then weigh up the chances of getting caught versus the reward and consider that its worth the risk...because the punishments given are ridiculously low.

its a scummy thing to do to rob a 9yr old kid.... scum needs to be treated as SCUM and doesnt deserve human rights (you might think it extreme but why should someone who doesnt behave like a human be treated like a human...and dont give me that PC Bull**** blaming the gear...addiction waaaah wahh waaaah ...b*llox)

I've been the victim of crime in the past and would love the opportunity to get the faceless scumbag/group of scumbags in a room and teach them there are consequences to what they do.... they dont realise that taking someones stuff will have an effect on the person - they have very little remorse and ALWAYS blame drink/drugs addiction...but they never (rarely) change their lives to remove themselves from their addiction and the people feeding it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Pretty crappy for you and your daughter but not surprising in the least.

Also quite sad to think of how desperate somebody must be in order to steal a child's purse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Scum, the only words to describe the ''person'' that did this. Utter scum.

FearDark wrote: »
    Absolutely not, theyre obviously scum of the earth if theyre gonna mug a NINE year old, its probarbly not the first time or the last time they will do something like that. Zero tolerance, lock em up, throw away the key, no use to society, nobody will miss them.

thats not the answer .... the solution is sterilisation - scum breeds scum (with small exceptions) .... I've seen generations of criminal families go through the courts system over the last 10yrs.

Daddy gets jailed...mammy tells kids it was the fault of the garda, daddys innocent blah blah blah.... kids blame gardai/society and grow up following in the footsteps of daddy...of course then you get the PC brigade coming along claiming that the child had a harsh upbringing.... all the other kids could afford bikes, little johnny was deprived as a kid .... social welfare, childrens allowance, rent supplements and many other reasons why scum dont bother trying to get a job, the state takes care of them too well.... they top up their lifestyle by taking what they want because they are given everything else

EDIT: just to clarify - I'm not saying everyone on social welfare is scum - just that scum tend to come from families that have been habitually in receipt of state benefits (many are on disability as this is the most used loophole - claiming they are suffering depression/stress 'cos they cant get a job ... depression/stress cant be monitored so the welfare people have to accept the claimants word.....SCUM !!)

PCPhoto wrote: »
    thats not the answer .... the solution is sterilisation - scum breeds scum (with small exceptions) .... I've seen generations of criminal families go through the courts system over the last 10yrs.

Daddy gets jailed...mammy tells kids it was the fault of the garda, daddys innocent blah blah blah.... kids blame gardai/society and grow up following in the footsteps of daddy...of course then you get the PC brigade coming along claiming that the child had a harsh upbringing.... all the other kids could afford bikes, little johnny was deprived as a kid .... social welfare, childrens allowance, rent supplements and many other reasons why scum dont bother trying to get a job, the state takes care of them too well.... they top up their lifestyle by taking what they want because they are given everything else

Every child of a thief becomes a thief? All thieves should be sterlised to prevent further crime? Cop the f*ck on will ya.

PCPhoto wrote: »

I'm with you on this. We need more people giving to society, rather than scum that just take take take. The knacker minority are terrorising the decent majority. Fcuking sterlilsation, whatever, lets try it!

Every child of a thief becomes a thief? All thieves should be sterlised to prevent further crime? Cop the f*ck on will ya.

not claiming EVERY child - but in general families of career criminals tend to follow suit.

do you want me to name names of criminals and their offspring who were also convicted ?