Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Discuss your exams thread

• 04-05-2010 5:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭

how did it go for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Just had my first one there, Tradition and Innovation in the Academic Art of the 19th century. Went okay, the question I had best prepared didn't come up but two others I had reasonably well covered did so pretty good. I had 50% got from continuous assessment anyway and I think I did well in that. Three more to go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭orangetictac

i-is-tired-wurk-too-hard.jpg

Think I left things too late for today's exam.

At least I have gaps between my exams and have learned my lesson!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

1 down - 10 to go :(

Although todays one went pretty well now. What i had covered came up so it was some bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

1 down 3 to go. Childcare and Anti-Discriminatory Practice today thankfully the 2 questions I had studied came up word for word so Im a happy camper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

How about an exam 'super' thread? To save multiple threads being set up?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

How about an exam 'super' thread? To save multiple threads being set up?

Sounds like a good idea, I've my first one 2moro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭pirateninja

Had my first one today in the mardyke- Intermediate Management Accounting. It's definitely my worst subject but I think I passed it! Did anyone else think the mardyke was freezing this morning?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Had my first one today in the mardyke- Intermediate Management Accounting. It's definitely my worst subject but I think I passed it! Did anyone else think the mardyke was freezing this morning?

Mardyke is always cold in the morning, we used have 9am classes down in the hall (when it was wet) and it was always cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

This time last year a successful thread was up that discussed exams. To save several threads being set up at different days, I was thinking this would be handy to have all boardsies opinions of their respective exams in one place.

Personally, mine do not begin 'till next Tuesday. :)

Best of luck to all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

1 down - 10 to go :([
    TEN?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Threads merged

Well I have one down, 10 to go. First exam was ok-ish; think I passed anyway.
    Next one is tomorrow and I am utterly fucked. Only consolation is that so is everyone else in my class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Had my hardest today so was looking to not fail if I'm being realistic - IS Strategy - loada shíte tbh but sooooo many articles to read for it.

I normally don't find the Mardyke that cold but was near one of the doors today and the draft was horrible everytime people had to go to the jacks or leave early....speaking of leaving early - 5years in college and twas the first time I needed the whole 3hours for an exam...very proud of that so I am :)

Only consolation is that so is everyone else in my class.

That's a consolation alright unless you're in a class full of people who say "oh I'm sooo screwed for this exam" then get a 1H á la my class

When I say I'm fúcked for an exam I mean it....then fail :(

PaulieC wrote: »
    That's a consolation alright unless you're in a class full of people who say "oh I'm sooo screwed for this exam" then get a 1H á la my class

Yeah I hate those kind of people but in my case I think everyone is genuinely screwed. It's 3rd year electromagnetism, an incredibly difficult subject. And to make things worse, we had three different lecturers who all did different stuff and had different lecturing styles. Just made things a lot more complicated than they already were. Bleh. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

ah...exams! one down and 6 to go! it went only ok but I rather not talk about it!
    I hate when people say they had nothing done but when they go in - they write like mad!:eek:

Good luck everyone ( including my self :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bp1989

First today, was grand! Fairly simple, knew everyone more or less. It was my easiest class though, so I knew that would be the case. The hard ones (all 7 of them) begin Friday :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bp1989

The Paws wrote: »
    ah...exams! one down and 6 to go! it went only ok but I rather not talk about it!
    I hate when people say they had nothing done but when they go in - they write like mad!:eek:

Good luck everyone ( including my self :D)

ah, the art of waffling! It gets you zero marks but makes you feel like you've done something :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

bp1989 wrote: »
    ah, the art of waffling! It gets you zero marks but makes you feel like you've done something :pac:

Ah waffling. If only there was a way to waffle through Physics II.

I hear the fail train!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭bunnyfox7

Started today and I'm delighted with it. Was well prepared, final year now, so would want to be I guess! Will be a long night of it, but tomorrow should be fine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cantabile

Anyone know what time one would want to be there to get the bus to Neptune in the morning? Freaked for property law...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

2 down, 2 to go! Today went better than I had hoped, was really struggling with the amount of information we got for paediatrics, but think I did my 3 questions really well even if I nearly ran out of time! My last one is my hardest and worst though 3 hours for 4 questions on Advanced Early Years curriculum, dont know if Im going to have enough time for them all!

Second exam went badly, as expected. Everyone in my class found it really difficult though, which is some consolation. I'm hoping I passed but I wouldn't bet on it.

Next exam is Monday, so at least I've the weekend to prepare for that one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

2 down, 4 to go. Mine are really drawn out, so I've a week until the next one.

The first two went fine, I'm fairly happy with them. I seem to have massively over-prepared compared to my classmates, but oh well.

Had physiology there--went just fantastic :)

First time feeling really happy coming out of an exam.

Second exam went badly, as expected. Everyone in my class found it really difficult though, which is some consolation. I'm hoping I passed but I wouldn't bet on it.

Next exam is Monday, so at least I've the weekend to prepare for that one.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Mom-Dad-dont-worry-EVERYONE-failed-that-test-/309859527939

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Just had maths there which went fairly well, but the lack of log tables and the fact that we got no formulae printed on the test really screwed us over. So I had to embarrass myself and ask a lecturer what the integral of sin and cos were:o. Ah well, two down, six more to go.

Ye got none??? We got the integral tables and trig tables on two sheets at the back of the exam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Ye got none??? We got the integral tables and trig tables on two sheets at the back of the exam!

All we really needed were the integrals of cos and sin, the test didn't really involve any in dept integration, but still it would have been nice to get some sort of log table. I did ask one of the attendants were we meant to get some sort of sheet with the formulae on it, but he just said that they were not giving out logtables this year. Lucky that i spotted a maths lecturer walking around the exam room and was able to ask him, but I was talking to some one in my class afterwards and he was saying that he couldn't do one of the questions because of the lack of tables. That is not really something that you should have to worry about in the middle of an exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

2 down, 6 more to go. Was in the Mardyke this evening and it was roasting.
    Accounting and Consumer behaviour done. Think consumer behaviour went OK, but accounting was a bit dodgy.
    BIS2 by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

First one yesterday, lecturer completely screwed us over. Our paper was way harder than previous years, only 2 questions of 4 in common, one of them was the one I was planning on skipping as I only half knew it. One of the questions was completely different to anything on any other paper and the other was the same topic but we had to derive the initial equation whereas normally its given and you just work with it. Seriously, a double pendulam with springs, I haven't done that kind of thing since first year. Sorry for the rant, I'm still fuming about it.

Exam tomorrow which should be pretty okay, was given a solution set of the paper from 2007 but its the same lecturer so I'm not sitting back, I don't trust him at all now.

Well, 1 down, 11 to go. Yuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

Cows Go µ wrote: »

Well, 1 down, 11 to go. Yuck

Good god. You're the first person I've come across with 12 exams - that's just cruel.

I think KnifeWRENCH and Papa have 11 each, Parsley has 12 as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

I've eleven too. Didn't think there was anyone worse off...(is it bad to feel better now?:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

I know of a person who has 13!! :eek:

Granted one of them was the university wide module, but still.... :confused:

As for exams.... 3 down, happy enough with them, think the first two went ok-ish, and the third one went really well! heres to the next 2! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Cows Go µ

Yeah, the 12 exam thing is pretty awful, its the most exams I've ever had. All my modules are 5 credits and there are no CA only modules.

My exam today actually went pretty well :) Much nicer equations, only one question was bad and that was pretty expected

3 down :) and no more till tuesday. Goin to chillax for a bit now id say. Exam today actually went well again.....im liking this good exam feeling over the last few days :)

(And my tickets for the Heineken cup came today so that just made me even happier)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

One down, three to go.

Had American Cinema today...didnt have time to finish either question :( 90 minutes really wasnt enough for 2 answers. But I think I've passed anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Aodan83 wrote: »
    2 down, 6 more to go. Was in the Mardyke this evening and it was roasting.
    Accounting and Consumer behaviour done. Think consumer behaviour went OK, but accounting was a bit dodgy.

BIS2 by any chance?

Mardyke was quite warm today too.I wonder who the other BIS2 person is.

Accounting was alright,didnt do as well as I had hoped but meh.Economics was pretty easy as he gave us the exam, will probably mark it really hard though.

titan18 wrote: »
    Economics was pretty easy as he gave us the exam, will probably mark it really hard though.

R. Maloney per chance?? Last year he gave us a copy of questions with the answers as a handout to help us study - some of the exact questions came up in the summer exam then, literally for one of the questions I could remember the answer and worked backwards to make it look right - joke tbh but I'm not complaining got my pass :)

PaulieC wrote: »
    R. Maloney per chance?? Last year he gave us a copy of questions with the answers as a handout to help us study - some of the exact questions came up in the summer exam then, literally for one of the questions I could remember the answer and worked backwards to make it look right - joke tbh but I'm not complaining got my pass :)

Nah,N.Woods,a pretty good lecturer tbh.Told us what topics were coming up in the review week, exam paper was nearly the exact same as our sample paper at the end of our course book.It was also last years summer paper.Our section A was an MCQ.I knew the answers without having to work them out,was good fun.

Sounds like a decent exam alright fair dues to him - if you're doin economics next year which I think you have to, pray you don't have the fella I mentioned above - eeijit of the highest order! That said he's clearly very smart but just a useless teacher imo

BIS2 by any chance?

Why yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

Mardyke was quite warm today too.I wonder who the other BIS2 person is.

Accounting was alright,didnt do as well as I had hoped but meh.Economics was pretty easy as he gave us the exam, will probably mark it really hard though.

Nah Woodsy is a legend he won't mark it hard at all.

deisedude wrote: »
    Nah Woodsy is a legend he won't mark it hard at all.

Excellent,will make up for marks in other subjects.

If there are any people in 1st year BIS here,do not do finance,it's horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Why yes.
    Who is you?
    Or is it impolite of me to ask?

Who is you?
    Or is it impolite of me to ask?

Not impolite at all but it's for fun for me because I know who you are!:p

Have Consumer Behaviour today, haven't a clue what I'm going to do! I'd imagine it'll go something like: Turn over exam paper, raise hand to tell them I've got the wrong one, be told that it is actually the right one and at that stage either laugh or cry! To be extra annoying it's all the way out in Neptune...:(

Excellent,will make up for marks in other subjects.

If there are any people in 1st year BIS here,do not do finance,it's horrible

Finance wasn't that bad actually, thought I did kinda well.Neptune was freezing though,was colder in there than outside this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Agreed. EC1104 wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be, and had I actually been working at it all year it was a nice paper...

Today (Optics, PY3101) went badly. It wasn't an overly difficult exam, it's just that I've been sick for the past couple of days and didn't get any study done as a result. Feeling sorry for myself now. :( I'm gonna go home, take some aspirin and mope sullenly in a dark corner for a few hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I had my first exam in Neptune on Thursday afternoon - The European City. It went pretty well, although the lecturer screwed us over a bit; we spent the first half of the year studying the growth of cities and planning in ancient Greece, and not one question on Greece came up!

I've another 6 exams to go, a lot of my modules this year featured continious assessment, so the heavy workload is working out well now as far as number of exams goes.

They're all pretty spaced out too which is great, although I have one on Wednesday and Thursday of this week. :(