Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Cheryl Cole the nation's sweetheart?

• 03-05-2010 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭

Don't get me wrong I like Cheryl, she seems nice enough like, but why is she so popular more than any other woman? Has everyone conveniently forgotten about that time she punched that toilet attendent? She used to be a
    knacker
    ! She grew up on a really rough area and stuff, and yeah, it's great the way she managed to get out and stuff, but still, why does everyone love her? I loved FFTL, but why was SHE the one chosen to judge people on their singing voices on the X-Factor, when it was obvious Nadine had the best singer. I'm not being mean, but Cheryl can.not sing live, well she was alright in the X-Factor, but her miming was, autrocious at the Brits(But parhaps the amazing dance routine made up for it). Nobody really raved about Cheryl before she appeared on the X-Factor and the allegations about Ashley came out. Why did Cheryl succeed more than any of the other girls in GA? Sure, there were loads of allegations about David Beckham cheating on Victoria, but you didn't see her become the nation's sweetheart. I recently read that Chezza was voted 'sexiest woman in the world' There's no denying she is stunning, but she has no figure, no curves, she's just straight down, there's no shape to her. Seriously, lads, why does EVERYONE(well, there's a few exceptions) LOVE Cheryl?
    I hope that didn't sound really harsh! I like Cheryl, I really do, I was just wondering, why everyone loves her so much all of a sudden?
    :) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

What nation? Ireland? Isn't she English?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I meant, England, sorry. But isn't she adored over here too?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

She is nobodies sweetheart. She is council house scum from Newcastle. I have never forgotten either Lolly.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/3207822.stm

_39474656_tweedyguilty_pa_203.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

I don't think many people care too much about her over here. I think she's popular with teenagers in England, but she's not as popular with older age groups as other celebrities such as Holly Willoughby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

She did a concert here or will do I'm not sure and that could be one of the reason's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

She isn't. Simon Cowell and the British tabloids just want you to think she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

In my opinion:

(apparent) Plus points:
    She is thin & pretty.
    She sometimes wears nice clothes.
    She managed to get herself into a successful girl group, even though her auditions were extremely unconvincing.

Negative points:
    She can't sing.
    Her accent is horrible.
    Her music is horrible.
    She has no talent I can identify.

My conclusion therefore is that her fans don't care for quality music or singing, but are only concerned with her looks - I would assume they are shallow minded airheads. In a world where Jedward can have heaps of fans...sadly you shouldn't really be surprised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Marthaa

I am so glad other people have realised this. The only reason that she is pretty now is because she has had loads of work done on herself. If you look back to the popstars days, she is skanky.

She cannot sing at all and so it enfuriates me when she is put up on the telly judging people who can and then has the nerve to use prime time TV to promote her music while she mimes?

People seem to have sympathy for her because Ashley cheated on her, I say more fool her for talking him back the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

phasers wrote: »
    She isn't. Simon Cowell and the British tabloids just want you to think she is.

And they'll bang on about it until everybody believes it, then some, just to make sure.

If she makes one bad mistake, they'll latch onto the next manufactured eye-candy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't know what all the big swinging mickey is about either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

Marthaa wrote: »
    I am so glad other people have realised this. The only reason that she is pretty now is because she has had loads of work done on herself. If you look back to the popstars days, she is skanky.

She cannot sing at all and so it enfuriates me when she is put up on the telly judging people who can and then has the nerve to use prime time TV to promote her music while she mimes?

People seem to have sympathy for her because Ashley cheated on her, I say more fool her for talking him back the first time.

While not a fan of Cheryl I have to say that you don't necessarily need to be the best singer in the world to know if someone else is or isn't. Does anyone ever criticise Simon Cowell or Louis Walsh (or Sharon Osborne when she was there) for not being good singers? Nope, but somehow its ok to expect both Cheryl and Danni to be great singers before they can judge someone:confused:

But Louis and Simon are both proven managers. And to add to that, they have never tried to be great singers. They stick to what they know they are good at, wheras she has the nerve to get up on a show where she is a critic of the contestant and mime? I'm sorry, I just have no respect for the chav!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

Lollipop95 wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong I like Cheryl, she seems nice enough like, but why is she so popular more than any other woman? Has everyone conveniently forgotten about that time she punched that toilet attendent? She used to be a
    knacker
    ! She grew up on a really rough area and stuff, and yeah, it's great the way she managed to get out and stuff, but still, why does everyone love her? I loved FFTL, but why was SHE the one chosen to judge people on their singing voices on the X-Factor, when it was obvious Nadine had the best singer. I'm not being mean, but Cheryl can.not sing live, well she was alright in the X-Factor, but her miming was, autrocious at the Brits(But parhaps the amazing dance routine made up for it). Nobody really raved about Cheryl before she appeared on the X-Factor and the allegations about Ashley came out. Why did Cheryl succeed more than any of the other girls in GA? Sure, there were loads of allegations about David Beckham cheating on Victoria, but you didn't see her become the nation's sweetheart. I recently read that Chezza was voted 'sexiest woman in the world' There's no denying she is stunning, but she has no figure, no curves, she's just straight down, there's no shape to her. Seriously, lads, why does EVERYONE(well, there's a few exceptions) LOVE Cheryl?
    I hope that didn't sound really harsh! I like Cheryl, I really do, I was just wondering, why everyone loves her so much all of a sudden?
    :) x
    Jealous much?...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭greenie

I think Sarah had the best voice there not nadine!
    And I know she had her teeth fixed but she definitely hasn't had tons of work at all. I always thought she was kinda pretty but now I think she's stunning and she doesn't flaunt it, maybe that's part of the reason people love her. That toilet incident (none of us really know exactly what happened there) happened forever ago when she was young & stupid and when you think about it isn't that the only bad thing she's done? She may not be the best singer but she's making the most of what she has and people are obviously buying her music. Yes she caught a lucky break with the XFactor but I think she's doing grand on it. If England want to love her, let them...she's harmless. Isn't she better than their one time sweetheart Kerry Katona?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

I think she became so popular because of her down to earth personality.
    When you look at celebs like Amanda Holden who are so vain and full of
    themselves you just have to change the channel when they are on. I think
    she is more "girl next door" Also a nation of women empathised with her
    over Ashley Cole's infedelities during which time she did remain dignified
    and I think people respect her for that, She is on the highest rated talent
    show, a huge girlband and a style icon so I think that is why she is admired
    to the extent she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

miss5 wrote: »
    personality. .

I'm lost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Jealous much?...:rolleyes:

Well obviously like! Cheryl is stunning after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

But Louis and Simon are both proven managers. And to add to that, they have never tried to be great singers. They stick to what they know they are good at, wheras she has the nerve to get up on a show where she is a critic of the contestant and mime? I'm sorry, I just have no respect for the chav!

Two appearances on X-Factor as mentor and she's won them both. Nothing wrong with her judgement :rolleyes:

She is nobodies sweetheart. She is council house scum from Newcastle.
    She used to be a
    knacker
    ! She grew up on a really rough area and stuff, and yeah, it's great the way she managed to get out and stuff, but still, why does everyone love her?

Firstly, where she comes from has nothing to do with it. Good people live in bad estates!

Secondly, how can anyone call her scum or a kn****r and then give out about her behaviour?

I'd call you a pair of idiots, but that might get me a ban. Suffice to say, I'm not calling you a pair of idiots. Clear enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

gscully wrote: »
    I'd call you a pair of idiots, but that might get me a ban. Suffice to say, I'm not calling you a pair of idiots. Clear enough?

yea, but you really are though, aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Look at what she did to poor Ashley Cole.
    What man could put up with his missus never being at home with him, the only time he saw her was when she had her arse pointed in the air promoting something or else crying over some tits singing for her dead granny on x factor.
    Shes a money whore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Well obviously like! Cheryl is stunning after all!

So's a smack on the back of the head with a polo mallet

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

ocokev wrote: »
    Look at what she did to poor Ashley Cole..

Care to elaborate on this?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 feargswalsh69

i dont know why people are even bothering to entertain arguments against her popularity..
    number 1.she is a stereotypical rags to riches story and without putting too fine a point on it stereotypically 'normal' people like the type of music and television she is involved in....

number 2.shes hot

xzanti wrote: »
    Care to elaborate on this?? :confused:

Ashley marries her.
    Ashley never sees his wife only on telly.
    All Ashleys mates are having babies.
    Ashley wants to start a family too.
    Ashleys wife too busy making money.
    Ashley becomes lonely and board.
    Ashley gets the attention other women.
    Cheryl leaves Ashley.
    Ashley is the cheeting scum in the Redz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

greenie wrote: »
    That toilet incident (none of us really know exactly what happened there) happened forever ago when she was young & stupid and when you think about it isn't that the only bad thing she's done?

Nobody knows? Was it not in court?

Once a knacker, always a knacker. She even married a knacker.

Look at what she did to poor Ashley Cole.
    What man could put up with his missus never being at home with him, the only time he saw her was when she had her arse pointed in the air promoting something or else crying over some tits singing for her dead granny on x factor.
    Shes a money whore.

She is a money whore? Wasn't her (soon to be ex) husband affectionately known as Cashley?

Anyhow how dare any woman carve out a career of her own (one she had before he asked her out with the killer line "hey hot stuff, nice bum") rather than sit at home (like many other WAGS) waiting for him to come in. How dare she? No wonder he slept with anything that had a pulse. :rolleyes:

Ashley marries her.
    Cheryl leaves Ashley.

He should have had the balls to leave her then, cheating is cheating, plain and simple. If she had run off and bedded a load of chavvy fellas because he was busy with the Premier League or whatever she'd be branded a slut, why should it be any differnet for him.

I don't buy that b0llox..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Ehhhhhh, she's exceptionally hot. Who the fuck cares whats shes like "as a person"? :confused:

Honestly people, don't you get it yet? No one cares about a "celebrities" personality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

She is just an indication of the type of world we live in now, where peoples private lives are not only played out in front of the world as if we have a right to know because they agreed to be 'celebrities', she just happened to be clued in enough to use a very bad situation in her life to gain full publicity and support in a very contrived way when she 'took back' her husband.

Ask Ashley what she did and he has another version but he does not have her appeal or savy when it comes to playing the media, when he did try to use it to explain to Arsenal fans in his book why he left them it completly backfired as he was so out of touch with the common man with his now infamous 'The deal he offered was a £10,000-a-week increase ......a piss-take. It was a slap in the face, not a pat on the back' quote which apparantly he wanted sympathy for.

Some people can use the media and others used by it. We do not expect talent from our celebrities, that ship sailed a long time ago. Simon Cowell and Louis Walsh were succesful managers in their own right, albeit of drivel music but at least they were good at what they did. Sharon Osbourne was every bit as talentless as Cole/ Minogue but did very well playing the pantomine villain. The people I feel sorry for are those that use the Jordans and Coles of this world as role models as they are only human and sooner or later will fall from their pedastals and its up to them to climb back up and when they do their cult following increases. Its all part of the world we live in and the Americans are decades ahead with their celebrity culture and we only have to look at them to see where we are heading. :rolleyes:

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Nobody knows? Was it not in court?

Once a knacker, always a knacker. She even married a knacker.

Oh really was it an open court? With cameras & tv crew? I know all the newspapers had stories about it but I'm not naive enough to believe a lot of the rubbish they print.

She was found guilty of assault but not racism. Cheryl has never apologised for the attack either. She apologised to her fans for upsetting them but has said that her brothers taught her to hit back if in an aggressive situation and that is what she'd teach her children too.

Ashley marries her.
    Cheryl leaves Ashley.

Ridiculous!! Did you know Cheryl was home alone a lot more than Ashley hence her mother moving in?
    Lonely & bored? Lol...do you know what his profession is?

I hate these 'blame the other half' excuses people try to come up with to justify a cheater's actions. Even worse than the 'sex addiction' joke that seems to be the main reason people say they stray! It's laughable! If you want to mess around then don't sign a marriage certificate. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

And I know she had her teeth fixed but she definitely hasn't had tons of work at all.

Not sure if I'm fully convinced by that statement.

She was found guilty of assault but not racism. Cheryl has never apologised for the attack either. She apologised to her fans for upsetting them but has said that her brothers taught her to hit back if in an aggressive situation and that is what she'd teach her children too.

Seems like a small reason for people to banish her to the gates of hell. I mean compared to celebrities these days. She's a hard worker and if people don't like her, fine, but to keep bringing up an incident that happened so long ago when she was young and foolish is a bit like clutching at straws! What other black marks are against her name? None right.

Are you serious? Have you seen the poor woman she attacked? The nature of the attack as well, this stuck up council house knacker thinking she was hot **** beating up a toilet attendant.

ratmouse wrote: »
    Not sure if I'm fully convinced by that statement.

Really?
    People claim she had her boobs & nose done but she denied it & said she would feel no embarrasment in admitting to having work done. She admitted to having veneers on her teeth as they embarrassed her.
    If a person did have boobs & nose done would you consider that as 'tons' of work?

Are you serious? Have you seen the poor woman she attacked? The nature of the attack as well, this stuck up council house knacker thinking she was hot **** beating up a toilet attendant.

Lol case & point.
    Yes I saw a picture of the woman with her black eye..we all did because less than 24 hrs later she went to the papers & sold her story. By 'nature of the attack' do you mean what led to the attack too? Because it seems weird that Cheryl or anybody would pop to the loo & attack the toilet attendant because she couldn't have a lollipop. Obviously it happened and I don't condone it at all but we all know many assaults can be provoked. The court said there was no suggestion the attack was racially motivated as the victim's statement to the police made no mention of it. Her statement to the Sunday Mirror was a bit different tho.

Does anyone seriously believe that Cole and Cole is or ever was a genuine marriage?

It's a set up, just like many of these sham celeb marriages. The best thing that ever happened to Cheryl was marrying Ashley, the next best thing was his cheating; it all meant major exposure for Cheryl, who like Beckham, is a media whore.

Thankfully a voice of reason. I'm aghast at how intelligent people buy into this shit.

The mind genuinely boggles.

Zulu wrote: »
    Thankfully a voice of reason. I'm aghast at how intelligent people buy into this shit.

The mind genuinely boggles.

Why wouldn't people buy into it? 2 people meet, date for a few years and get married? What's so unbelievable about that?

I'd find it more unbelievable to think that 2 people would put up such a facade, go through the motions of being in a relationship for years and being publically humiliated by the 'partner' etc for publicity/money??

Maybe if they were famous from being in Big Brother or something together you would of course think it was all set up for the cash, but these two were both doing fairly well for themselves before they met.

xzanti, maybe I'm just a horrible ould cynic, but I have great difficulty buying into 99% of "celebrity" marriages.

Why wouldn't people buy into it? 2 people meet, date for a few years and get married? What's so unbelievable about that?

I'd find it more unbelievable to think that 2 people would put up such a facade, go through the motions of being in a relationship for years and being publically humiliated by the 'partner' etc for publicity/money??

Maybe if they were famous from being in Big Brother or something together you would of course think it was all set up for the cash, but these two were both doing fairly well for themselves before they met.

Nobody said people don't buy into it; the point is that myself and Zulu don't buy into it.

Next we'll be hearing that Katona and Andre are getting hitched...:confused:

Very very few celeb marriages are genuine; business comes first, and dating and marriage are all big business in celeb world

There's nothing unbelievable about the process; it's the people, their media advisors, their publisists, their managers, that are unbelievable.

Two appearances on X-Factor as mentor and she's won them both. Nothing wrong with her judgement :rolleyes:

That says nothing. The person with the most talent wins in and the judge who mentors them just gets lucky with the fact that they got that age group. It the producers that decide and they probably work it so that Cheryl wins and so it will get more publicity cause everyone loves her. Except me. :p

Nonsense! The mentor needs to pick suitable songs or the act will get low votes because they either sung badly, or sung very well but the public don't know the song.

Cheryl has been commended regularly on her song-choices by the other judges.

Nonsense! The mentor needs to pick suitable songs or the act will get low votes because they either sung badly, or sung very well but the public don't know the song.

Cheryl has been commended regularly on her song-choices by the other judges.
    Look, only one of those acts had the X factor, and it wasn't ****ing "ten a penny" singer, Joe! So, Chav Cheryl had little to do with anything.

Her brother was just arrested for armed robbery. That is the sort of breeding we are talking about.

walshb wrote: »
    Look, only one of those acts had the X factor, and it wasn't ****ing "ten a penny" singer, Joe! So, Chav Cheryl had little to do with anything.

So she mentored someone who wasn't the most talented and still won the thing...yet it was nothing to do with her? :confused:

Her brother was just arrested for armed robbery. That is the sort of breeding we are talking about.

Must be very embarrassing for poor Ashley