Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Country, My A**!

• 02-05-2010 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭

Recently I've been reading the book 1984. And its really got me thinking about the world we live in today. Are we really that far apart from a totalitarian society?

For example, the whole recent thing about headshops being made illegal. Now Who's choice is it, to say whether or not people can take these drugs. Why should the government control what I do? It should be my choice, with consequences that I should have to face. Is it not my life to live? The way that I see fit? I personally have no interest in these drugs but its the principle that counts.

The thing that annoys me is that no matter how valid my argument might be, I'll always just be seen as some random prick on the Internet...

Am I wrong in thinking this or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Headshops? Talk to Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

VIVA LA REVOLUTION.

Or go get drunk and stop thinking so hard about stuff.

Free country, google anarchy and see what it says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Don't you mean 1984?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

There's a prequel to 1984? (story book, not year)

Edit: Damn you, brontesaurus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Liathroidi Dana

bronte wrote: »
    Don't you mean 1984?

And thats what I get for not proof-reading...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Well op, who's going to pay for the healthcare for the people taking these drugs when they end up in hospital? Same people screaming "I can put what I want in my body" will be crying and whinging for free medical care...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I agree. Wholeheartedly.

Come to Ireland, Enjoy a Guinness!
    Guinness and all other alcohols may only be purchased between the hours of 10:30am and 10pm (12pm - 10pm Sundays and Bank Holidays). Please make sure you have valid I.D. (Passport or Driver's Licence ONLY will be accepted), if you appear to be under the age of 30. Enjoy Guinness responsibily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

No such thing as a free country, free society free anything really. If you like having roads , schools etc then you need a system where there are rules. Sometimes not everybody agrees so the same rules but that is life. It is better to not get too worked up about it until you get to a position to change it. Even then it will be something transient for your genertion only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Rules help keep the fun on an even keel!

Recently I've been reading the book 2010. It's based in the future where Ireland has become bankrupt, there's drugs for sale in every 2nd corner shop, there are towns inhabited by ghosts, a strange alien looking thing (described as looking like a scrotum with a sad face & glasses drawn on it) is ruling the country, and there's a strange subplot similar to "Lost" where people can't seem to get off the island.

It's mad stuff. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Recently I've been reading the book 1984. And its really got me thinking about the world we live in today. Are we really that far apart from a totalitarian society?

For example, the whole recent thing about headshops being made illegal. Now Who's choice is it, to say whether or not people can take these drugs. Why should the government control what I do? It should be my choice, with consequences that I should have to face. Is it not my life to live? The way that I see fit? I personally have no interest in these drugs but its the principle that counts.

The thing that annoys me is that no matter how valid my argument might be, I'll always just be seen as some random prick on the Internet...

You are absolutely right. It astonishes me that people not only don't complain about this kind of thing, but actually get angered in opposition to freedom. It seems to me like a child screaming at his parents to impose a curfew and take away his video games. It is disgusting to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭molloyjazz

WindSock wrote: »
    There's a prequel to 1984? (story book, not year)

Edit: Damn you, brontesaurus.

what did he put except 1984?

molloyjazz wrote: »
    what did he put except 1984?

Well op, who's going to pay for the healthcare for the people taking these drugs when they end up in hospital? Same people screaming "I can put what I want in my body" will be crying and whinging for free medical care...

You see I'm not saying that, I'm not trying to imagine a perfect society, I'm just sharing something that I've been thinking about. And yes you are right, if everyone was let do exactly what they want then the whole place would be in utter chaos. But that doesn't change the fact that other people shouldn't control other peoples lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

You live in a country with almost no enforced laws. What are you whinging about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,032 ✭✭✭✭adox

Wait a minute. Hairdressers are being outlawed???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

adox wrote: »
    Wait a minute. Hairdressers are being outlawed???????
    No. Shops that sell heads apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

This is doubleplusungood.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Shows how talented Orwell really was, if something he wrote 60-odd years ago is still making people paranoid...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Ah jeez theres a big difference between 1984 and ireland. Sure you can do pretty much whatever you want here. It just depends on what estate you live on.

Wanna drink, do drugs, burn out cars and rob ol women and childrens piggy banks? Wanna have 4 kids before youre 18? Wanna go out get hammered get beaten up, buy a screwdriver and stab the guy who hit you cuz ya were feelin up his woman? Sure the gardai wont touch ya cuz the squad cars get stoned and shot at when they enter.

To sum up, if you want to live in a truly egalitarian society move to the estates the people who call Adrian Kennedy live in.

I think Ireland can be a pretty free society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Yup, your oppression is truly up there with that of the millions deported to the Siberian gulags, murdered in North Korea for expressing dissent, or imprisoned in Burma for questioning the status quo. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Nope, you're 100% right :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Einhard wrote: »
    Yup, your oppression is truly up there with that of the millions deported to the Siberian gulags, murdered in North Korea for expressing dissent, or imprisoned in Burma for questioning the status quo. :rolleyes:
    But the government is oppressing me by not allowing me to poison myself. How evil of them... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,032 ✭✭✭✭adox

The fact that you could read 1984 at your leisure should be an answer in itself.

But the government is oppressing me by not allowing me to poison myself. How evil of them... :rolleyes:

Maybe they should make exceptions to that rule for some people...

Joking people!

Wow my post was really misinterpreted...

You'd swear that I just wrote: "I have the worst life ever because Headshops might be getting shut down."

Once again all I'm sharing is a thought, I'm not wanting to start up a rebellion tomorrow to overthrow the Irish Government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Wow my post was really misinterpreted...

You'd swear that I just wrote: "I have the worst life ever because Headshops might be getting shut down."

Once again all I'm sharing is a thought, I'm not wanting to start up a rebellion tomorrow to overthrow the Irish Govrenment.

don't get offended bro, I'm with you on this one!

It wouldn't be so bad if this govt weren't so ****ing retarded and useless :(

Once again all I'm sharing is a thought, I'm not wanting to start up a rebellion tomorrow to overthrow the Irish Govrenment.

Awww you're not???

*Packs his things up and goes home*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

The reason headshops are closing is not because the govt doesnt want you to have fun. Its because no one knows what drugs go into making them, what effect theyll have on your system and how to treat them if you end up in hospital. Also theyre being sold as incense and other herbal crap and that illegal too.

Also the shops themselves are gettin burned out regularly by pissed of parents or out of pocket drug dealers.

The reason headshops are closing is not because the govt doesnt want you to have fun. Its because no one knows what drugs go into making them, what effect theyll have on your system and how to treat them if you end up in hospital. Also theyre being sold as incense and other herbal crap and that illegal too.

Also the shops themselves are gettin burned out regularly by pissed of parents or out of pocket drug dealers.

hmm well in that case the only possible solution is to ban them and go back to plain old heroin and washing powder or whatever else it may be cut with

Or hotrocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I'm watching you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

El Weirdo wrote: »
    No. Shops that sell heads apparently.

As long as it's not wrapped in a burka.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Ban the head shops and riddle the country with heroin. REAL HEROIN.Thats the stance of our wonderful gov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

It's more about the impact that it has on the rest of society. Since man formed society, there has been no such thing as total freedom. And I'm pretty pleased about that to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Well op, who's going to pay for the healthcare for the people taking these drugs when they end up in hospital?

Who pays for the smokers and drinkers when they end up in hospital?

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Ban the head shops and riddle the country with heroin. REAL HEROIN.Thats the stance of our wonderful gov.

heroin's illegal, they're already a step ahead of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

The reason headshops are closing is not because the govt doesnt want you to have fun. Its because no one knows what drugs go into making them, what effect theyll have on your system and how to treat them if you end up in hospital. Also theyre being sold as incense and other herbal crap and that illegal too. .

WELL,

If they hadn't made the less lethal thing illegal then we wouldn't be in this mess. The only reason Extasy was made illegal was because it was seen as a "gay drug" (a drug that gay people used, not a drug that made you gay). It was only outlawed in 1985.

Ever since then, people have been trying to make substances as similiar as possible, and those "similiar sunstances" are all incresingly more dangerous than extasy itself!

How many people are said to have died as a direct result of Extasy?
    How many people are said to have died as a direct result of Extasy substitutes?

The more substances are banned, the more dangerous the replacement substances are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

well its a little better than when i was growing up, lets see evil movies like the exorcist banned, playboy banned :eek:

when you live in a country with a conservatively christian mindset you can expect alot of nanny issues, this is the country afterall that has a blasphemy law in place :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Absurdum wrote: »
    heroin's illegal, they're already a step ahead of you
    I know its illegal. But its making a lot of moola for a lot of scumbags.Very little prosecution though:mad:.These legal highs are effin up the drug dealers business. Lesser of 2 evils IMO.Still think they should be clamped down on though and a LOT more guards should be assigned to drug clampdowns instead of bloody speed checks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

It should be illegal to sell 1984 to teenagers. I'm so fed up with hearing peopls amazing insight they think they have after reading it.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    I know its illegal. But its making a lot of moola for a lot of scumbags.Very little prosecution though:mad:.These legal highs are effin up the drug dealers business. Lesser of 2 evils IMO.Still think they should be clamped down on though and a LOT more guards should be assigned to drug clampdowns instead of bloody speed checks.

my tongue was firmly in my cheek, sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

Imagine parents burned downed the off license that let their 15 year old get hammered and end up in casualty/put someone in casualty/cause damage to private property.

OR

If we took away the cash flow of these drug dealers by not making criminals out of drug users/abusers/addicts.

OR

Imagine, if you will once more, we banned all premises that sold alcohol.

Ban their drugs is grand. Ban MY drugs not so much.:pac:
    Ah but my point is useless, we don't know what damage these drugs could do and we know exactly what damage the legal ones do ..oh wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭helios12

SugarHigh wrote: »
    It should be illegal to sell 1984 to teenagers. I'm so fed up with hearing peopls amazing insight they think they have after reading it.

I'd rather they had insights about big brother over watching it on tv :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OP , stop reading , the revolution has passed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Look, I'm all for liberal politics yadda yadda yadda but the point of laws, governance etc. is to protect people, sometimes from themselves and their own idiocy.

I'd agree that in this country there have been a lot stupid, backwards and draconian laws implemented in the last decade or so, but as mentioned it's not as bad as it has been.

/I think that's enough insightful bull from me for one day in AH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Shows how talented Orwell really was, if something he wrote 60-odd years ago is still making people paranoid...

Orwell was the Run_To_Da_Hills of his day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Aldous Huxley the Author of “Brave New World” got a lot closer to what is happening in the world today then 1984 by Orwell.

Having said that Orwell did write it in 1949 and the Khumer Rouge did come to power in Cambodia from 1975 to 1979 ruling with a regime disturbingly similar to that in 1984 (Saloth Sar / Pol Pot the leader of the Khumer Rouge even took the name of “Brother number One” )

So he was right but he’s not anymore and hopefully never will be again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

I am amother of 3 now 42, that sounds just like me at when I was 18, at college and that everyone in authority was trying to opress me and mypeers. Did my fair of drugs a few drugs lived in squats , travelled. But now settled lived the very in suberbia certainly do not want my kids to take any drugs of any sort. I have friends (ex) who all are either dead from herion or still living in squats in London.

Grow up.