Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Final Robertson v Dott

• 02-05-2010 10:27am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭

Even in light of this mornings awful revelations we still have final to look forward to today and tomorrow.

Neil Robertson v Graeme Dott should be an intriging affair.

We all know about Robertson's potting ability and cue power but he also a great match player and does'nt seem to have a problem withstanding pressure hence his four ranking wins, he won the Gran Prix earlier in the season and recently made a maximum in the China Open.

Greame Dott on the hand is a solid match player who unbelivably has now reached three world finals in the last seven years including this year and winning one.He has two ranking wins to his name and as a qualifier had to play an extra round to reach the cruicble,by reaching the semi final he is assured of a place in next years top 16.

Three points of interest going into the final:

1.Neil Robertson has a 100% success rate in ranking finals.

2.Greame Dott has a 100% success rate against Robertson.

3The last time they met in the Cruicble was in the quater finals in 2006 when Dott won 13-12, he then went on to win the title.

Two contrasting styles should really make for an enthralling contest lets just hope events which have already begun to dominate snooker for the wrong reasons do not take away from these two players achievments in the next two days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I really hope Robertson can do it. He looked very shaky though near the end against Carter, hopefully he can settle down and score heavily. I dont like Dott, dont ask me why I just really dislike watching him.

My biggest hope is that this Higgins news doesnt eclipse what could be a really special final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Very hard to call as is shown by the odds quoted for the match (Robertson 8/11 Dott 11/10). Dott has amazed me with his performances this week. He'd been awful for about two years running before this tournament started.

I thought Ebdon would beat him, thought Maguire would beat him, thought Allen would beat him and definitely thought Selby would beat him. Wrong every time. I agree he's very hard to watch and not very likeable but you've got to admire his tenacity and fighting spirit. That 146 against Selby was excellent and he's obviously cueing as well as he's ever done. I think Dott may just do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

3-1 to Dott at the interval,some scrappy snooker so far which is understandable, I'm sure it will settle down, Dott has had the run of the balls though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭gerardduff

I think Dott has shown the more convincing form over the two weeks. Dott seems to be playing the best snooker of his career, at least I can watch him now, first time I can say that. Dott has the experience of being there before and that should stand to him on Monday evening. It's a bit like the back 9 at Augusta on the Sunday.

Both players have the hunger to win but I'd say Dott will win. I hope Robertson wins though. I just like him as he's a bit weird in a good way, he seems like a really good guy. Just take a look at his website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SD7792

It's amazing how quickly Dott is getting down on the ball considering the circumstances. Obviously nothing wrong with that and he plays a good shot 9/10 times but still quite strange..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

3-3, with Dott 62 up in the 7th frame. this match is unreal!

5-3 Dott after the first session,Robertson will surprisinly be the happier of the two, he nicked a few frames that he should have lost.I think we'll see a stronger Robertson tonight, by the way this match is going I wouldn't be surprised if it went to a final frame decider tomorrow night.

Roberston is looking so weak amongst the balls. Hes getting even worse than the way he finished the Carter match. I dunno how the hell he got away with a 5-3 scoreline in that session, to say Dott has the run of the balls is an understatement - I though John Higgins got the rub of the green a lot until I seen this match!

On a sidenote, fair play to betfred.com! Brilliant statement they sent in to Hazel, gives us some hope. The WSA is really luck to have Hearn too, he seems very genuine about the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

good opportunity here now for robertson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 TheVoid

5-5 a 60 and a 90 win Robertson the first two frames, he's looking a lot sharper tonight.

The biggest match of the snooker calendar and there's only 13 posts after a session and a half. Just shows what this morning's news has done.

But stepping over that depressing statement, I can't say how happy I am that Robertson has come out tonight and made this a proper match. I can't help but get the feeling that his mother watching on has given him the inspiration he needed but it'll probably only be a novelty for this session and after a good night's sleep Dott will be very fresh tomorrow so Neil has to pick up as many of the frames tonight as he can.

Could be a fantastic day of snooker tomorrow :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Well his mother was there today too so thats that theory debunked.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Must be an annual event now of commentators creaming over slo-mo shots of the balls. Ken is getting in the spirit of it.

mewso wrote: »
    Well his mother was there today too so thats that theory debunked.
    Really? Could of sworn I heard the BBC commentators saying she'd just flown in. Anyway, fantastic stuff by Robinson so far. Hopefully he can keep it up :)

that 11th frame! wow!!!

Robertson could win this! Dott is looking tired!

7-5 at the interval and it's four frames on the bounce for Robertson, he really has settled now, Dott would want to be careful, he could easily lose all eight frames tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

yeah i really think Robertson has settled into it
    cliff thorburn jeeze I forgot about him he looks well:)

Dott is looking very tired. I dont think its fair to make him play after that marathon with Selby last night.

SarahBM wrote: »
    Dott is looking very tired. I dont think its fair to make him play after that marathon with Selby last night.

Thats the name of the game Sarah, didnt Virgo quote the great Clive Everton there a half hour ago saying "The crucible is a marathon of the mind". He will have two more sessions after tonight though, so theres no excuse by tomorrow. Fingers crossed for Neil, those 4 frames are a real example of what a champion is made of!

I love the way the past players are telling their stories on a bar stool, fair play the BBC always entertain us between frames

SD7792 wrote: »
    Really? Could of sworn I heard the BBC commentators saying she'd just flown in.)

They did say that and she did just fly in but not a few minutes ago a few hours ago. They interviewed her this afternoon and showed her watching the first session from the audience. She spoke about seeing him briefly in the dressing room just before he went out.

As for the game I'm pretty neutral here. A win for either would be a great story for different reasons. Feeling for Dott a bit now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

SarahBM wrote: »
    I don't know - after all of today's goings on, I think he's looking a bit more than tired. Possibly very stressed too. He's not always the most jovial looking player around the table, but I think he looks like he has a lot weighing on his mind. Against Selby too, with the kinda meditation he was doing during it, it seems that he's going through a lot. That he's playing as well as he is, is nothing short of amazing!

casio4 wrote: »
    I love the way the past players are telling their stories on a bar stool, fair play the BBC always entertain us between frames
    I love these too. Year in and year out, they always do a great job there. Sometimes these vignettes are better than some of the sessions :D

True...but he's looking a bit happier in himself than Dott. Do you know, is the kid due to be born in England or will he be travelling for hours to see the sprog after the match?

Wow - they're really playing on the unflattering slow-mo replays of Dott looking tired.

We're hardly looking at a session whitewash here, are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I don't know - after all of today's goings on, I think he's looking a bit more than tired. Possibly very stressed too. He's not always the most jovial looking player around the table, but I think he looks like he has a lot weighing on his mind. Against Selby too, with the kinda meditation he was doing during it, it seems that he's going through a lot. That he's playing as well as he is, is nothing short of amazing!
    Maybe the fact his manager could end up going to jail.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I really wish they'd stop with the super-slow-mo replays of Dott grimacing.

The last one looked like he was receiving a you-know-what job.

9-7 Robertson overnight after he wins the second session 6-2.
    Robertson could well have won seven of the eight frames but he'll sleep well tonight going into tomorrows two sessions needing nine frames to be world champion.

Now I'm off back to the hotel to try and win some cash of Willie Thorne at the cards!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Gwan Neil :)

Anyone know how I might watch the videos on the BBC site? It's for UK viewers only :(

I don't wanna have to go through a list of proxies... most of them are bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Robertson 1/3 now. Dott 11/5. Seems a bit previous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

EnterNow wrote: »
    Thats the name of the game Sarah, didnt Virgo quote the great Clive Everton there a half hour ago saying "The crucible is a marathon of the mind".

Saw some reference yesterday on Sky and BBC to Clive Everton 'former commentator'. Has Clive retired totally from commentating now. It's a pity if he has. Wasn't he doing the early rounds this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

really:eek: i could have sworn he's gay, he has got a limp wristed way about him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Saw some reference yesterday on Sky and BBC to Clive Everton 'former commentator'. Has Clive retired totally from commentating now. It's a pity if he has. Wasn't he doing the early rounds this year.

He was doing reports for RTE radio yesterday, so not retired fully yet

this unbelievable tense stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

By the looks of things they won't be getting much of a break before the final session later!

Man I wish they would pair Denis and JV for the final session. At least then we could endure a grueling commentary period of Ken and Willie only to have the enjoyment of the two lads afterwards.

12 - 9 now, lovely
    tonight when it's all over Dennis taylor & Steve Davis are playing a frame to mark the anniversary to the infamous final in 1985:)

Only playing one more frame in this session, cut short to six frames, the match will resume at 8pm

casio4 wrote: »
    12 - 9 now, lovely
    tonight when it's all over Dennis taylor & Steve Davis are playing a frame to mark the anniversary to the infamous final in 1985:)

They already played that frame earlier in the week I think. There is a documentary afterwards about that final.

Well Dott finishes the session playing the kind of snooker that got him to the final. Ominous for Robertson. Should be a very good final session.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

I'll have the popcorn and slippers at the ready. COME ON DOT !

COME ON DOT !

Permaban*

*Unfortunately, Im not a moderator :p

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

EnterNow wrote: »
    Permaban*

*Unfortunately, Im not a moderator :p

I'm that excited I spelt his name wrong! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Think Robertson is looking nervous! Understanable of course

also taking nearly 5mins to make that call was bizarre!

Dott looked very comfortable coming out for final session, he actally looked excited! And he is looking more and more confident while robertson is not taking on shots he was trying earlier!

This is a huge frame for Robertson, he needs to keep his nose in front

trying to watch online but my internet is so slow it keeps breaking up and buffering! very annoying.

but Come on Robertson!!