Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 113 - Countdown Show

• 01-05-2010 12:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭

UFC is on next weekend, May 8th and sees Shogun vs. Machida yet again.

Here is a link to the UFC countdown show:

http://mma-fighter-videos.com/2010/04/ufc-countdown-to-ufc-113-shogun-vs-machida-full-video/

Main Card
    Lyotoa Machida vs Mauricio Rua
    Josh Koscheck vs Paul Daley
    Sam Stout vs. Jeremy Stephens
    Kimbo Slice vs. Matt Mitrione
    Patrick Cote vs Alan Belcher

Personally, I hope Rua takes the belt off Machida (although, I couldn't see him holding onto it for too long) Don't really like Koscheck but hope he KO's Daley! Would be nice to see Kimbo have a win also.

Sorry if any of this was posted already

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Havent watched it yet heard it was quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

sheehy83 wrote: »
    UFC is on next weekend, May 8th and sees Shogun vs. Machida yet again.

Here is a link to the UFC countdown show:

http://mma-fighter-videos.com/2010/04/ufc-countdown-to-ufc-113-shogun-vs-machida-full-video/

Main Card
    Lyotoa Machida vs Mauricio Rua
    Josh Koscheck vs Paul Daley
    Sam Stout vs. Jeremy Stephens
    Kimbo Slice vs. Matt Mitrione
    Patrick Cote vs Alan Belcher

Personally, I hope Rua takes the belt off Machida (although, I couldn't see him holding onto it for too long) Don't really like Koscheck but hope he KO's Daley! Would be nice to see Kimbo have a win also.

Sorry if any of this was posted already

They'd be my weird balance of different guesses and hopes.
    The phrase below confuses me though since I don't see a LHW in the UFC right now who could beat a fit Shogun.(shogun nuthugger with good reason)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

They'd be my weird balance of different guesses and hopes.
    The phrase below confuses me though since I don't see a LHW in the UFC right now who could beat a fit Shogun.(shogun nuthugger with good reason)

nutghugger LOL, I guess i can see other contendors taking Rua before Machida. I also really don't wanna wait 4,5 months for a Machida title fight only to be bored to tears.

The countdown show is class. The rematch is gonna be something else the way they are studying each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

Just going to watch the Countdown show now. The only thing is after I watch the count down show I always want the event to come on next!!

I love it!!!!!

Shogun "He left the ring with broken ribs, bruised ribs and a cut lip. And how did I leave the Octagon? I left ready to fight again!"

Machida "Doesn't matter how it finished. When people look back, it's a victory for me and a loss for him" Doosh!!!

Come on the Rua!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I think there was possibly an opportunity to Primetime for that fight.

unknown13 wrote: »
    I think there was possibly an opportunity to Primetime for that fight.

Too bad Rampage and Evans is the same month and the promotional priority.

Yupp Rampage & Evans are getting the 3-part Primetime event!!! 3 episodes of them talking the best of shiit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Very much looking forward to this rematch. I was upset for three days, THREE DAYS after the judges gave it to Machida. I watched the fight with my brother and we joked that they would give it to Machida cause he is a poster-boy for the UFC with his Karate style and such, and when they actually gave it to him! Couldnt believe it :eek:, was gonna give up on the UFC that day thinking the whole org was rigged.

Hope Shogun destroys him. I wont be satisfied with anything other than a KO just cause i want to see Machida KO'd on the floor, and I really think Shogun can do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

I did a double of Shogun and Daley at 7-1.

Great odds for just two fights!

bret69 wrote: »
    I did a double of Shogun and Daley at 7-1.

Great odds for just two fights!

Hey Bret, where did you get those odds? I'm a complete novice at gambling but i'd definitely throw down a tenner on that!

Same those are great odds. I like Koscheck for that fight though. I'm not a fan, just think he'l do it. I'm a huge Shogun fan though so I can't wait for that flying knee to claim the belt.
    I can see Kimbo winning for some reason.

Paul Daley from that countdown show:

"Good word I got from the Mike Tyson documentary. Im gonna absolutely decimate this muh facka. I havent actually been in the dictionary to see what it actually means, but i guess its gonna be something in the way of killing the muh facka"

lol...

Whats up with the Brit fighters in the UFC and their **** talking? Koscheck gonna get the win GPS v Hardy style, on the ground grinding away

I find Daley's trash talking refreshing because you have GSP who talks pure s**t and the rest are all very respectful. Daley, Hardy and sometimes Koscheck say it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Paul Daley from that countdown show:

"Good word I got from the Mike Tyson documentary. Im gonna absolutely decimate this muh facka. I havent actually been in the dictionary to see what it actually means, but i guess its gonna be something in the way of killing the muh facka"

lol...

somebody was reading The Heavyweights on Sherdog;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

Same those are great odds. I like Koscheck for that fight though. I'm not a fan, just think he'l do it. I'm a huge Shogun fan though so I can't wait for that flying knee to claim the belt.
    I can see Kimbo winning for some reason.

I did it on paddy power a few weeks ago lads...I just checked now though and the odds are down to €5.50/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,898 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It's 4.5/1 on paddy power.
    I'm guessing you went through the process to place a bet and 5.50 figure ans the odds, this is the return, so it includes the bet amount.

It's currently 6.5/1 on Boyles

Thanks Mellor, wouldn't like to reg my cred card on a gambling site, would not be wise for me!! Might take a visit to my local Boyles, if I can find it!

Can ye tell me do I just go in and say ufc 113, the 2 boys to win or would they have a ready made offer?

Sorry for being way off topic.

Personally Im finding it hard to put down money on the main event given how the last fight went down.

rovert wrote: »
    Personally Im finding it hard to put down money on the main event given how the last fight went down.

Same I think if it goes to decision the judges will be biased towards Shogun just so they aren't criticised.

Hopefully it doesn't go to decision though.

Shogun will not do the same thing again, he might not take it to the ground either. I think this is going the 25 minutes again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Whats up with the Brit fighters in the UFC and their **** talking?

Hardly exclusive to British fighters is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Not Kosh's biggest fan but wouldn't be unhappy to see him KO Daley. Hope Lyoto can perform better this time out and hopefully it won't go to a decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gloryutd

Don't think putting money on Daley is wise.

Koscheck has only been ko'd once and he has stood and swung with some big guys. Daley obviously has power but he's nowhere near as rounded as Koscheck and it will be Kos deciding where the fight goes. His elusiveness is really under rated imo. The only way I see Kos losing is if he takes a punch or two from Daley and isn't hurt and decides he's gonna try knock him out.

Kos gnp leading to submission for me. Then to win TUF against GSP and take the title :cool:

Well, the first part anyway.

Minstrel27 wrote: »

I blame Pro Wrestling :P

Well yeah thats true. But the 3 high profile British fighters, Hardy, Daley and Bisping all seem to like to talk alot.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Shogun will not do the same thing again, he might not take it to the ground either. I think this is going the 25 minutes again.

I think Shogun is gonna push the pace hard this time. I really doubt hes gonna let it go the full 25mins unless hes absolutley dominating each round, which he wont. Im just afraid he will go for the kill and Machida will rock him with a counter punch, as he does...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭YamaMotoYama

I think Rua will try to mix it up between ground and standup. Up to the Machida fight I think he was fairly average looking in the UFC (obviously not including his Pride days) - The Coleman fight was a complete stinker!

I fear he had his chance to catch Machida by surprise and the judges took the win (which he deserved) away from him.

Machida to win - on points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

i really fancy mitrione to beat kimbo at evens
    stick in stout to beat stevens at 1/2 and you have a 2/1 winner
    thats where my money is going

very tempted by cote also against belcher at 10/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Jefferson Steelflex

Is this being shown on Sky Sports?

Nope ESPN has the rights to show UFC in the UK and Ireland. Go on, call sky and subscribe to it :P

Nice one...have ESPN already;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

Nice one...have ESPN already;)

It's on at 3am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

UFC has been shown by ESPN for almost a year now.

It's on at 3am.

Thanks, I'll have the coffee on and the windows open

Keep thinking its on at 1am...pesky time zones
    UFC has been shown by ESPN for almost a year now.

I've only really got into the MMA the last while, so not to up to date on times and TV contracts etc. ...nice one for the info though

Here is a new vid of Shogun training for the big fight. I really hopes he kicks the ****e outta Machida!!! Those kicks look so vicious!

I've only really got into the MMA the last while, so not to up to date on times and TV contracts etc. ...nice one for the info though
    Then welcome to the obsession :D

Here is a new vid of Shogun training for the big fight. I really hopes he kicks the ****e outta Machida!!! Those kicks look so vicious!

Certionly a differing Shogun to what we saw in Dublin

Watch the Pre-fight press conference from today:

http://mmajunkie.com/news/19013/watch-todays-ufc-113-pre-fight-press-conference-live-on-mmajunkie-com-at-2-p-m-et.mma

Oh my God, Daley brought the picture that won his fan photoshop competition showing Koscheck having funny hair and he keeps holding it up when Shogun is talking hahaha. Josh does not look happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

What is it with UFC fighters NEVER being able to answer the question they're asked. No matter what the question the answer is nearly always - i'm only thinking about my next fight!

flynny51 wrote: »
    What is it with UFC fighters NEVER being able to answer the question they're asked. No matter what the question the answer is nearly always - i'm only thinking about my next fight!

Ya rediculous when Kimbo was asked if he liked hockey and he said something like "I can't answer that right now, just thinking about the fight" He seemed nervous, he really could hype himself up a lot more. He was getting a lot of attention even tho he was saying nothing.

As for Machida & Rua, they knew how controversial the last fight was, and they were getting asked more of the same q's. Really hope Koscheck KO's Daley. That was BS when they stood off against other and Daley just waving the pic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

Ya rediculous when Kimbo was asked if he liked hockey and he said something like "I can't answer that right now, just thinking about the fight" He seemed nervous, he really could hype himself up a lot more. He was getting a lot of attention even tho he was saying nothing.

Haha I thought he was actually the one person who did answer their questions. That was in response to the question will you be attending tonights Hockey game, he said he's thinking about his fight so he can't say which is fair enough. :)

flynny51 wrote: »
    Haha I thought he was actually the one person who did answer their questions. That was in response to the question will you be attending tonights Hockey game, he said he's thinking about his fight so he can't say which is fair enough. :)

I sense he is feeling the pressure of all his hype. I'm sure he would love to say that he is going watching the game but worried if he does, then people will think he's not serious about about the UFC. Hope he does well in this fight to back up his hype. Even in the new UFC game, he has the lowest stats in the HW and something like 2nd lowest in the whole game. Poor Kimbo

PS. can anyone tell me how to edit the threads subject title?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

Machida to win! will be a class UFC though :D

would love for kimbo to win his fight also :D

With all the talk of not letting this one go to a decision, I can still see it going to a decision. Machida is gonna stick to what he knows best. But hoping for Shogun to KO him. But even if Shogun wins, I think Machida would be next in line anyway? Damn why doesn't Anderson Silva go to LHW to fight Machida, would be a great fight!

Damn why doesn't Anderson Silva go to LHW to fight Machida, would be a great fight!
    Both train in Black House.Both managed by Ed Soares.
    Just not gonna happen without a massive falling out

Both train in Black House.Both managed by Ed Soares.
    Just not gonna happen without a massive falling out

Ah yes thought it was camp related alright, sick of that as well. Fair enough your friends with someone but cmon, if he really wants to put on a show, he should be fighting guys his own caliber

To be honest i wouldnt want to watch Silva V Machida. They would be just standing about looking to counter punch each other :D Besides Shogun is gonna knock Machida out boyeeeeeee. Let Silva fight the best LHW, Shogun :D

That being said id much rather GSP V Silva. Just so i can watch Silva squirm from his back as he eats elbows then to tap to strikes :D He wont be the least hit man in the UFC after that fight.

Im gonna go ahead and make this my prediction thread. I recommend changing the thread title to 113 Discussion?

Lyoto Machida vs Mauricio Rua
    Josh Koscheck vs Paul Daley - (Unless he is stupid enough to stand with Daley)
    Sam Stout vs. Jeremy Stephens - (Sam "Hands of Stone" Stout with the decision. He really should think about changing his nick)
    Kimbo Slice vs. Matt Mitrione - (Id actually like to see him do well)
    Patrick Cote vs Alan Belcher - (This is a tough call. Im going with Belcher cause of the fact Cote hasnt fought in a while and hes coming off some surgery on his leg. Belcher Muay Thai leg kicks vs Cote's gammy leg? Ouch :rolleyes:

Im gonna go ahead and make this my prediction thread. I recommend changing the thread title to 113 Discussion?

Sam Stout vs. Jeremy Stephens - (Sam "Hands of Stone" Stout with the decision. He really should think about changing his nick) :rolleyes:

I'm trying to change the subject title already haha, can you tell me how?

I read on a preview Sam's new nickname should be Sam "Hands of the judges" Stout hahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Just watched the press conference where Daley announced the winner of the Koscheck photoshop competition :D

koscheckphotoshop11.jpg