Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

section 42

• 30-04-2010 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭

hi lads anyone on here ever had a section 42. just wondering what the roles and regulations are in relation to it. cheers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

I havnt. Are you on about deer Paulo??
    I know 2 lads that have gotten them in the past. There has to be crops in the field as far as i know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

it depends on what the requirements are ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Dusty87 wrote: »
    I havnt. Are you on about deer Paulo??
    I know 2 lads that have gotten them in the past. There has to be crops in the field as far as i know.

sorry yes its for deer. and its the farmer that applied for it. the deer are milling his grass that he is saving for silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    hi lads anyone on here ever had a section 42. just wondering what the roles and regulations are in relation to it. cheers:D

ya had one on a few occasions, should be getting another one this year. the land owner applies for it if he is having problems with deer, if he succeeds he will get permission to cull a certain amount and also which sex he can shoot. he has to prove they are causing crop or grass damage to qualify

so does he get a letter back from the department with the amount and sex of the cull permitted. and will i be named on the letter as the nominated hunter.

sorry yes its for deer. and its the farmer that applied for it. the deer are milling his grass that he is saving for silage.

answering your own questions ! ,there lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I had one for deer eating Barley
    Feckin farmer moved the barley to a different field following year :(

Only regulation was to shoot fawns and does not to leave abandoned young!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Did the deer not cop on to move to the different field?? Feckin biffo deer, horrid stupid:p

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Did the deer not cop on to move to the different field?? Feckin biffo deer, horrid stupid:p

It was Far Far away!!

I'll try for another one this year maybe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ronboy

Crop rotation!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

ronboy wrote: »
    Crop rotation!!:P

Ha ha ,,, yea, it's called crop rotation, normal practice.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 monarch

It was Far Far away!!

I'll try for another one this year maybe!

why would you want to get a section 42 with does now heavy with young ,we all know that in certain cases it has to be done but why the hell would you go looking for one,manage the deer where you shoot during the open season and if its just a case that this cant be done on a Saturday or Sunday morning get someone to give you a hand .enough bad press at the moment never mind people shooting heavily pregnant animals or in another few weeks fawns left in the long grass to die because its mother was shot.
    do the work during the season if this cant be done as i said get someone who can to help you

monarch wrote: »
    why would you want to get a section 42 with does now heavy with young ,we all know that in certain cases it has to be done but why the hell would you go looking for one,manage the deer where you shoot during the open season and if its just a case that this cant be done on a Saturday or Sunday morning get someone to give you a hand .enough bad press at the moment never mind people shooting heavily pregnant animals or in another few weeks fawns left in the long grass to die because its mother was shot.
    do the work during the season if this cant be done as i said get someone who can to help you

1. I want to Barbecue a young stag on a spit in JULY for a wedding party.(Ref. River Cottage idea)
    2. I want a YOUNG STAG last years fawn.
    3. The girl wants to get wed in the summer not winter for so out of season.
    4. I will be finished with college exams and have TIME to hunt.
    5. They are eating Corn in the Summer and doing more damage then so easier get section 42

Hopefully this answers your questions. I eat Beef all year round, and I like Venison. I only shoot an adverage of 2-3 deer per year in an area where the population is expanding rapidly.

4 out of your 5 answers have no bearing on why you should get a section 42.
    you said your self the corn has been sowed else where so 5 is iffy .

section 42s are a necessity ,but there to easy get .

i know guys that have shot trophy stags at night using 42s and bragged about how big they are .
    also selling deer in summer off a 42 should be controlled more .summer section 42 animals should tagged and recorded .

to many cow boys shooting deer on 42s .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

in my opinion if you want to eat venison in july buy a freezer ;)

first of all i didnt go looking for the section, i love my sport and i want to preserve it but we rely on the farmers for permission to shoot on their land so we have to keep them happy. i'm glad he asked me and not someone that just wants to shoot anything that moves. i'll do my best to shoot the weaker or sickly animals and leave the healthy strong breading stock.
    the area has a very big population and this small farmer is having a hard time with the deer as his land is edged by forestry.

i will try to video the herd on his land to show just how bad his problem is and i'll post it on here if that suits ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭SpringerF

I hear all this talk of a deer population explosion and the necessity for section 42's.

Where is the data to backup these statements.

There is none on a national scale, of course there may be localised incidents that would require additional action however not on the grand scale alluded to by many. The many may have their own reasons for such claims.

A young lad wrote an article about this very situation recently and it makes perfect sense. It's in one of the Irish shooting magazines, cant remember which one.It is worth reading.He is from the organisation Wild Deer Ireland.

http://www.wilddeerireland.com/

I personally am not aware of any deer population explosion.

In my area we take great care to choose the right animals and the right
    amount of animals to take during the open season.

There is a lot more to deer stalking than simply pulling a trigger or even pulling a trigger safely.

JWshooter alluded to this in a thread on this hcap tingy.

1. I want to Barbecue a young stag on a spit in JULY for a wedding party.(Ref. River Cottage idea)
    2. I want a YOUNG STAG last years fawn.
    3. The girl wants to get wed in the summer not winter for so out of season.
    4. I will be finished with college exams and have TIME to hunt.
    5. They are eating Corn in the Summer and doing more damage then so easier get section 42

i dont agree with all your points just my opinion
    1.July buy one from a farm
    2.as above
    3.thats just timing and BBQ nice idea again buy one
    4.season there for a reason for everyone just because it didnt suit you is no reason to get a section
    5.once again manage your deer,if this fails then get your section not because its easier, put in the work and if you cant, get someone who can.

enjoy the wedding and hope ye all have a good time however it works out

first of all i didnt go looking for the section, i love my sport and i want to preserve it but we rely on the farmers for permission to shoot on their land so we have to keep them happy. i'm glad he asked me and not someone that just wants to shoot anything that moves. i'll do my best to shoot the weaker or sickly animals and leave the healthy strong breading stock.
    the area has a very big population and this small farmer is having a hard time with the deer as his land is edged by forestry.

i will try to video the herd on his land to show just how bad his problem is and i'll post it on here if that suits ye.

as i said if there is a problem that has to be sorted out by all means keep the farmer happy,but geting a section for a BBQ i think is a s*"@e excuse.they are given out to easily .i shoot a lot of deer for a lot of farmers and just remember they dont want to hear about taking sick and weak animals and the majority think the only good one is a dead one

jwshooter wrote: »
    4 out of your 5 answers have no bearing on why you should get a section 42.
    you said your self the corn has been sowed else where so 5 is iffy .

section 42s are a necessity ,but there to easy get .

i know guys that have shot trophy stags at night using 42s and bragged about how big they are .
    also selling deer in summer off a 42 should be controlled more .summer section 42 animals should tagged and recorded .

to many cow boys shooting deer on 42s .

You must have difficulty understanding me.
    1.I never sold an animal in my life. Thankfully I have a good job and good money. The wedding is for a family member.(do you think I would go to all the rounds for somebody I did not care about?)

2.I have more than one shooting area permitted for deer. The other guy has deer in his barley too, Just I have no time at the minute to do anything about it.
    3.I never bragged about trophy stags?? I shoot deer to EAT hence "barbeque";)

Hopefully this should explain my reasoning. I am not a literary genius so sometime; "I may not have portrayed my point fully". Most people who know me would have know exactly what I was talking about. :D

No where in ANY of my posts or private conversations have I EVER bragged about Trophy deer or talked about selling game. So I wish you would retract that remark Sir!

You must have difficulty understanding me.
    1.I never sold an animal in my life. Thankfully I have a good job and good money. The wedding is for a family member.(do you think I would go to all the rounds for somebody I did not care about?)

2.I have more than one shooting area permitted for deer. The other guy has deer in his barley too, Just I have no time at the minute to do anything about it.
    3.I never bragged about trophy stags?? I shoot deer to EAT hence "barbeque";)

Hopefully this should explain my reasoning. I am not a literary genius so sometime; "I may not have portrayed my point fully". Most people who know me would have know exactly what I was talking about. :D

No where in ANY of my posts or private conversations have I EVER bragged about Trophy deer or talked about selling game. So I wish you would retract that remark Sir!

the only reference to you i made was your 5 points .

the other remarks were not about as i dont know you , there are about others as you can read .
    there about the abuse of section 42s and the way there given out to people that should not get them .

as i said if there is a problem that has to be sorted out by all means keep the farmer happy,but geting a section for a BBQ i think is a s*"@e excuse.they are given out to easily .i shoot a lot of deer for a lot of farmers and just remember they dont want to hear about taking sick and weak animals and the majority think the only good one is a dead one

Shooting one deer to eat out of season that is doing damage is a Sh!te reason??
    I get asked all the time to shoot deer from several farmers.
    I do not have the time or freezer space.
    I only shoot what I can eat.
    I wanted to have a barbequed deer for years but I can not eat a whole one by myself.
    If an animal which caused damage is stopped and put to good use I as a humble peasant can not see the issue.

I was being innocently honest.
    I shoot rabbits for little old ladies to eat, free gratis and for nothing.
    I had a section 42 in 2008 and shot NO deer with it. Deer were in it at night not day and I only hunt deer Legally and above board hence section 42.
    I did not get a section 42 last year as the feild was left to aftergrass.
    I am a SMALL time deer stalker.
    I do not purport to be anything but a firearms & Hunting enthuastist.

For some reason an innocent post has been made out to be something wrong...

I shoot sick and weak animals too. And I'm more than happy to pay €35 to the knacker for them to be turned into dog food.

jwshooter wrote: »
    the only reference to you i made was your 5 points .

the other remarks were not about as i dont know you , there are about others as you can read .
    there about the abuse of section 42s and the way there given out to people that should not get them .

And are you implying I should not get a section 42?
    If I shoot a deer that is doing damage, bring him home. Skin clean out and hang him and a week later barbeque him I am some form of Cowboy?

I would have thought that doing a farmer a service legally and above board is beyond reproach.

I have to admit that I am irritated that there has been a view taken by some that I am some form of cowboy?

I may from time to time wear a 10gallon hat; but the connotations implied by the wording of the last two posters excluding myself to my origional posts is alarming to me.

I had thought that most readers of my posts understood my code of Ethics.......

the sun is shining tack go out and enjoy it ;) you take too much to heart the bloke wasn't refering to you ,as he said

landkeeper wrote: »
    the sun is shining tack go out and enjoy it ;) you take too much to heart the bloke wasn't refering to you ,as he said

I'm in work and it is raining here.
    I love shooting, Hunting and and am very passionate about it.
    It just annoyed me that I was being associated with a bunch of cowboys.

I made dandelion wine last April for the same wedding.
    I could buy a farmed deer but I had thought more effort went into hunting one myself.

I have a strong code of ethics on hunting, ref not shooting a brown fox cub last year that tried to chase me away from his den., but smiling and saying I'll see you next year.

I watch deer all year round to see how they are doing. and follow them if possible to try and get a photo(and all game). I'm pondering buying a DSLR for said purpose:D

I'm in work and it is raining here.
    I love shooting, Hunting and and am very passionate about it.
    It just annoyed me that I was being associated with a bunch of cowboys.

I made dandelion wine last April for the same wedding.
    I could buy a farmed deer but I had thought more effort went into hunting one myself.

I have a strong code of ethics on hunting, ref not shooting a brown fox cub last year that tried to chase me away from his den., but smiling and saying I'll see you next year.

I watch deer all year round to see how they are doing. and follow them if possible to try and get a photo(and all game). I'm pondering buying a DSLR for said purpose:D

shoot a yearling for your BBQ ,have a lovely day .be careful not to let it dry out you should consider pre cooking it in a pit first .
    if all the hunters in the country had the same mind set as your self tac we would be far better off .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

1. I want to Barbecue a young stag on a spit in JULY for a wedding party.(Ref. River Cottage idea).

I like your style!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

At least tackleberry is honest ,
    If he has a 42 what the bloody hell is he supposed to do with the animal, at least it's being used for an ethical use; ie eating it!!!

Shooting one deer to eat out of season that is doing damage is a Sh!te reason??
    I get asked all the time to shoot deer from several farmers.
    I do not have the time or freezer space.
    I only shoot what I can eat.
    I wanted to have a barbequed deer for years but I can not eat a whole one by myself.
    If an animal which caused damage is stopped and put to good use I as a humble peasant can not see the issue.

I was being innocently honest.
    I shoot rabbits for little old ladies to eat, free gratis and for nothing.
    I had a section 42 in 2008 and shot NO deer with it. Deer were in it at night not day and I only hunt deer Legally and above board hence section 42.
    I did not get a section 42 last year as the feild was left to aftergrass.
    I am a SMALL time deer stalker.
    I do not purport to be anything but a firearms & Hunting enthuastist.

For some reason an innocent post has been made out to be something wrong...

I shoot sick and weak animals too. And I'm more than happy to pay €35 to the knacker for them to be turned into dog food.

nothing personal meant ,just my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

ssl wrote: »
    I like your style!

Tac,
    You are one brave man. :D
    I shoot (hoping to graduate to the 4 leg stuff this year) and I cook. Five course dinner for 14 no problem, buffet for 40, been there, got that. We do a summer clays BBQ for about 20-30 and I inevitably end up as the guy with the apron. It is not easy, and the biggest spit roast I've done is a suckling pig. Essentially a bonbh. I suggest you get TWO deer and have a practice run first. Why do you think the TV chefs ALWAYS have "And here's one I prepared earlier!" waiting in the wings. Do you really want to be remembered as the guy who......................:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Its obvious some people just can't go the six months without shooting deer!:D:D

I won't be getting a section 42 but my god am I looking forward to the 1st of september! Went up for a drive around my permissions yesterday and seen quiet a few fallow, no intention of shooting them just wanted to see them!

nothing personal meant ,just my opinion

Is it still your opinion that I have no right to want a deer in July, to be obtained legally and with due process?

All I would have to do is contact an IFA rep, ask who has a deer problem. Shoot a deer or two depending if somebody else wanted one for the pot, and be content with that.

I can not find your argument justified In MY situation.
    In fact last winter I shot no deer at all!
    So if I take one in the summer LEGALLY is it not keeping a balance in nature and containing an exploding population?
    When my father was a boy the nearest deer were 10km away. 2 Years ago I shot one 900m WALK from my door. Since then I have seen a herd of 16 or more close to my home.

If they encroach on crops and I have use for one, then what is the Moral or ethical grounds that I am infringing if I am legal and above board?

2 Years ago I shot one 900m from my door.

WOW!! 900 metres shot at a deer! impressive shooting sir, what gun did you use?! :D But to the best of my knowledge it is illegel to shoot from your door!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

And before ye start slaggin me I know what he really meant!:D Just shows how something can be easily taken up wrong!

tack your never going to please all of the people all of the time
    we all have different views and principles on things and were reared /brought up differently
    some people believe that seasons are there and that they should be withheld irrespective of section 42 or whatever , the same as some people find shooting hen pheasants reprehensible while others will shoot them with out a second thought
    for a lot of shooting folk it's not a question of legality it's a moral thing
    you said you decided not to shoot a cub fox but elected to wait until later in the year , well i'd quite happliy put a hole in him at any age , but would have no interest in shooting a yearling buck in july. My father born and reared in the uk would not go shooting on a sunday as that's how he was brought up
    we all have different principles

patsat wrote: »
    WOW!! 900 metres shot at a deer! impressive shooting sir, what gun did you use?! :D But to the best of my knowledge it is illegel to shoot from your door!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

And before ye start slaggin me I know what he really meant!:D Just shows how something can be easily taken up wrong!

I meant 900 metre walk.
    I edited original post.
    But yes, or maybe less. Two fields from the back door (small fields 2x4 acres approx~

So yes Deer are more plenty-full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭ronboy

Go out tack and get your section and get your coupe of deer and let us know how that spitroast went;)

ronboy wrote: »
    Go out tack and get your section and get your coupe of deer and let us know how that spitroast went;)

Well it's an experiment like my dandelion wine TBH my wine is a year old but I am almost afraid to tast it. I got Litmus paper to test th PH of it just to be safe :D

I'm into blending the modern with the trad. I work High tech but i like old school to relax and enjoy the country life!
    http://www.rivercottage.net/ShopProduct438/GameOn.aspx

well tac were all going to gate crash the wedding , so this roast better be savage.

ps. or the bridesmaids

And for those of us who can't get the time to gate crash it make sure to take plenty of pics! i'm sure everyone here would love to see what it turned out like!;)

patsat wrote: »
    And for those of us who can't get the time to gate crash it make sure to take plenty of pics! i'm sure everyone here would love to see what it turned out like!;)

Now that would mean my identity would be known!

Lots of people would love to know who i am as is!
    But , yeah I will take pics all things going well!

I might try and get some wild boar fat rather than pig fat to baste the deer to give a more game flavour.
    I might re-create for my milestone birthday in October too. No Section 42 needed then though ;)

Now that would mean my identity would be known!

Lots of people would love to know who i am as is!
    But , yeah I will take pics all things going well!

I might try and get some wild boar fat rather than pig fat to baste the deer to give a more game flavour.
    I might re-create for my milestone birthday in October too. No Section 42 needed then though ;)

iv been asked to build a stone oven by a friend ,it has got me interested it , im looking up designers etc

he wants fire more so than gas .so its going to be a big thing .should be a interesting project .

I'm getting hungry!

why stop at 9, practice makes perfect. what is the .223 thread

ammo test .223 ?
    http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65672203#post65672203

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

I shoot on a bit of private land and the farmer is getting absolutely scurged with deer. The problem is that he is adjacent to a national park where the deer can breed rapidly with very little control. The farmer tried to get a sec 42 but NPWS refused because it just happened that there was no deer on the farm when a ranger came to take a look. I counted 22 deer in one field one night when i was turning the jeep.
    With that said though I hate it when people shoot good heads without earning them.

shank1 wrote: »
    I shoot on a bit of private land and the farmer is getting absolutely scurged with deer. The problem is that he is adjacent to a national park where the deer can breed rapidly with very little control. The farmer tried to get a sec 42 but NPWS refused because it just happened that there was no deer on the farm when a ranger came to take a look. I counted 22 deer in one field one night when i was turning the jeep.
    With that said though I hate it when people shoot good heads without earning them.

i'll tell you a good one, all the farmer in my case had to do was ring the ranger and he got the go ahead straight away. i know this cos i was there and it was me that called him. the farmer called out the number from his diary , i spoke to him my self for a minute then the farmer went on loudspeaker and gave his name and address and my details that was it. having said that i got the impression that the ranger knew him from before so they are probable familiar with his problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭cbrjohnthou

i'll tell you a good one, all the farmer in my case had to do was ring the ranger and he got the go ahead straight away. i know this cos i was there and it was me that called him. the farmer called out the number from his diary , i spoke to him my self for a minute then the farmer went on loudspeaker and gave his name and address and my details that was it. having said that i got the impression that the ranger knew him from before so they are probable familiar with his problem

Are you serious! Different strokes for different folks eh! :cool: this place where I shoot had an awful time with T.B. and his whole herd had to be destroyed because of it some years back. I shot a doe two years ago in an awful state with a load of lesions when I opened her up. I reported it to NPWS but they just told me to bury it. Where do you go from there eh!:mad:

why stop at 9, practice makes perfect. what is the .223 thread

Your ammo thread, should be renamed the .223 thread.

I left after 9 shots. There was a .22lr comp on so I did not want to wait around for ceasefires etc.

Also wind was strong and blusterly and all the good seats taken!

Your ammo thread, should be renamed the .223 thread.

I left after 9 shots. There was a .22lr comp on so I did not want to wait around for ceasefires etc.

Also wind was strong and blusterly and all the good seats taken!

well lads i'm going for a look at that section 42 this evening, i'll be taking the video camera so all going well i should have a video showing the extent of the problem

If I could only convince a certain neighbour that deer eating your corn is not lucky I would have no problem getting another. I saw a herd of 15 in young barley this evening.

I look forward to the video !

If I could only convince a certain neighbour that deer eating your corn is not lucky I would have no problem getting another. I saw a herd of 15 in young barley this evening.

I look forward to the video !

get a video camera and film it. it would be nice to see it anyway;)