Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hunky Dory's Ad

• 30-04-2010 7:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭

I can't find any thread on this; what do ye think about this ad? I personally love it and i'm female! :D
    I am not bi sexual but i think it's a nice catch, people need to lighten up.

Like the Dory's Ad? 460 votes

Yay(male)
    0% 0 votes
    Yay(female)
    79% 366 votes
    Nay(Male & Female)
    10% 49 votes
    Eh... can't be bothered
    9% 45 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I can see where the rugby crowd are coming from though. I mean rugby is about watching super fit young men with incredible bodies and tight shorts running around after each other and grappling one other in the mud before all going off to shower together and slap each other's bare buttocks with towels...bringing sexy girls into the equation is just so gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm more of a Taytos man, myself. Oooh, and King crisps.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I am not bi sexual
    What a shame :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Can someone post the add? I've heard people talking about it but haven't seen it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hunky Dorys and Bulmers, you know what that makes you, don't you?

That's right people - a fan of apple-flavoured alcoholic beveragesand salty snacks!

Oh, and a target for insecure homophobes :D

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Arr. Well as I have said in the other thread, it would just be any old usual ad, but what I didn't like is that it was associating itself with Irish Rugby. The IRFU have disassociated itselves from the ad, so I am happy enough with that. Hunky Dorys are mank anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I can't find any thread on this

Here it is.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

{-_-} ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

eightyfish wrote: »
    Here it is.

Nice :D

Fail to see what this has to do with crisps, though...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Tits or not, anything that promotes rugby should probably be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Nice :D

Fail to see what this has to do with crisps, though...?

Made my bedsheets crisp!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

WindSock wrote: »
    Arr. Well as I have said in the other thread, it would just be any old usual ad, but what I didn't like is that it was associating itself with Irish Rugby. The IRFU have disassociated itselves from the ad, so I am happy enough with that. Hunky Dorys are mank anyway.

The fact that there is a rugby ball in the ad is enough to turn me off Hunky Dorys.

Rugby is the most retarded and pitiful excuse for a sport in the world that even the remotest connection to it will make me turn off.

orourkeda wrote: »
    The fact that there is a rugby ball in the ad is enough to turn me off Hunky Dorys.

Rugby is the most retarded and pitiful excuse for a sport in the world that even the remotest connection to it will make me turn off.

I feel the same about football. Ah well, each to their own, I guess. Sport is nothing I really get passionate about either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

I don't know why I don't like them. I never thought I'd be one to go on about 'the objectifying of women' but there's something, I dunno, unseemly about those ads.

Apologies for going all victorian on your asses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I dont normally say this but those ads are HOT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

NSFW post and quoting posts removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

I think the advert is quite good.
    I know many people have complained, mostly women, and some I know who are not feminists or strongly for women's' rights, etc.. - they are standard females who can take a joke, and crack many themselves.

As for the tag-line, it's good and a smart way to use it, and I'd say if they refused to pull it and went to court, they wouldn't get done for it.

The agency who created the advertisement are very witty, and I'd like to see their other work. Largo Food Exports must be laughing all the way to the bank.

If they pull this advert, I'll be writing to the Advertising Standards Association giving out about "objectifying males" in that stupid perfume ad where the bloke is leaping around half naked or for having men dressed up as women on the Bounty/Plenty adverts! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I know many people have complained, mostly women, and some I know who are not feminists or strongly for women's' rights, etc.. - they are standard females who can take a joke, and crack many themselves.

As for the tag-line, it's good and a smart way to use it, and I'd say if they refused to pull it and went to court, they wouldn't get done for it.

The agency who created the advertisement are very witty, and I'd like to see their other work. Largo Food Exports must be laughing all the way to the bank.

If they pull this advert, I'll be writing to the Advertising Standards Association giving out about "objectifying males" in that stupid perfume ad where the bloke is leaping around half naked or for having men dressed up as women on the Bounty/Plenty adverts! ;)

I'd agree with this. I'm not into the objectification of women, but she has got a cracking rack.
    I would definitely buy those tits.

The agency who created the advertisement are very witty,

I think they just stooped to the most obvious lowest common denominator in advertising tbh. Here lads, there's some tits, go buy our crisps.

Sometimes, you just gotta sit back and recognise marketing genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

xzanti wrote: »
    {-_-} ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

(@)(@)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The agency who created the advertisement are very witty.

No they're not. The photographer who took the photos is talented, the models are attractive, that's about it.

What's witty about 'Are you staring at my crisps?'

I've come up with funnier sayings when I'm blind drunk and posting on After Hours at 2 in the morning.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    No they're not. The photographer who took the photos is talented, the models are attractive, that's about it.

What's witty about 'Are you staring at my crisps?'

I've come up with funnier sayings when I'm blind drunk and posting on After Hours at 2 in the morning.

no you haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

This may be #####NSFW###### i am not to sure

http://www.q102.ie/entertainment/blogs-item.aspx?arti_guid=d10334f3-6e1a-4296-a73a-3ca5deb3bd17

This was actually discussed the other night on Q102 the scott williams show the other night and the way I see it is if we are talking about it well then its a great advertisement.

I remember working for protim abrasives and they had a bilboard of a women having a shower. You could her chest and bum outline very well...

Its the only time I actively supported my company by visiting an add campagn...

Successful efforts to find out who the women was failed....

Was it ..... yer ma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

I assumed thats where adverts come from

no you haven't.

I knew that was coming!

My point is - 'Are you staring at my crisps?' isn't funny. If people laugh at it they need to get out more, seriously.

Also - 'Others Haka, We Hunky' - that's pretty weak as advertising slogans go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I generally find that your posts from the 3-4AM period of the night tend to have greater comedic worth.

I knew that was coming!

My point is - 'Are you staring at my crisps?' isn't funny. If people laugh at it they need to get out more, seriously.

Also - 'Others Haka, We Hunky' - that's pretty weak as advertising slogans go.

But it works on so many levels.

Does one count as many these days? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Not really, they're a blatent ripoff of the "Lingerie Bowl" (which has been around since 2003/2004). Youtube it if you need to check, it's not NSFW, but I wouldn't be watching it there either.

I do like the ads though.

I have a full length DVD of the LB 2006 if anyone wants to make an offer for it :D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I dont like it because the ad agency seems to believe that to get me to buy a product all they have to do is cosy up between things I like, like sport and pretty ladies. Thats patronising. "look at the nice boobs near our product... look at the boobs, next time you see our product you will associate it with boobs...."
    Actually, next time I see your product i'll be associating it with arrogant patronising marketeers... and I hate them.

Anyway, they taste nasty.

DeV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

I wont be buying Hunky Dory crisps anymore than I would have before they had adds with boobs in them.

But I will happily look at the adds, the rugby scrum one is on a billboard just before I turn off for my house. What can I say, I like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Let's see what (sideways) Bill Hicks thought about these kind of ads ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

My French wife laughed and just said "They'd be naked in France..."

There's food for thought ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Dont forget the strewberry fm one with the guy running around Dublin naked. If that was a woman it would never have seen the light of day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I am really drunk right now; but on my way home i saw one of those billboards..... Lets just say the cab driver let me off easily :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

It's an ad, I like it because they are good looking but it's not something I would talk about.

I knocked off my fav radio show the other morning because they kept talking about it. Get over it ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mollzer

I cannot understand why anybody would be offended by these ads.............why is it any different from the ads with scantily clad men in chocolate ads?

The advertising companies know sex sells, and obviously the Hunky Dory company want more men to buy their product and what better way to get them to do that than associate their crisps with boobs.

The catch phrase isnt great but whos going to remember what is written?

I also remember the huge publicity about the Wonderbra ads, didnt some of their billboards have to be taken down because they were causing driving accidents or something?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I think you're all missing the point - the sex isn't selling here it's the controversy about the sex. It's worth ten times more in free publicity than the photo ever was. This has been discussed at length all over the media this week. Again, marketing genius.

Ah ffs is that it? That's what all the fuss is about?

I'm left feeling incredibly let down.

I am really drunk right now; but on my way home i saw one of those billboards..... Lets just say the cab driver let me off easily :D
    You know taxi men aren't supposed to do those kind of things to paying customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Because obviousness isn't fundamental to marketing... Oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

eamon234 wrote: »
    I think you're all missing the point - the sex isn't selling here it's the controversy about the sex. It's worth ten times more in free publicity than the photo ever was. This has been discussed at length all over the media this week. Again, marketing genius.

Damn straight. The publicity is doing the company great, and that was the concept.
    Jay D wrote: »
    It's an ad, I like it because they are good looking but it's not something I would talk about.

I knocked off my fav radio show the other morning because they kept talking about it. Get over it ffs.

Well, er, again- people talking about it.
    mollzer wrote: »
    I also remember the huge publicity about the Wonderbra ads, didnt some of their billboards have to be taken down because they were causing driving accidents or something?? :rolleyes:

Yeah, and I remember that especially in Milltown, in Dublin, the nuns back in the day erected a poster demanding the advertisement to be removed from the road opposite the church because it was so disgraceful and offensive and against the bible. Everyone in the the locality was thinking "Huh? Are you serious!" as it was a pathetic request.

Pfft. I forget nuns don't wear bras.
    Dont forget the strewberry fm one with the guy running around Dublin naked. If that was a woman it would never have seen the light of day

Yeah. I don't like walking down O'Connell street or strolling through Temple Bar to see some bloke, bollock-naked advertising a radio station. Yeesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Are you staring at my crisps... yeep yessor eee.... and that is one heck off a poster outside the bus station in Tralee. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

I don't think it's as sexist as the Herald when showing models, these models look more SexyStrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Mute

I genuinely was lookihg at her crisps.............hmmm Crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Nice tits, crap ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭MsMoo

To be fair the girls are absolutely gorgeous; I'm straight, but found myself staring at the bill-board, drooling.

It's a smart marketing move, has us all talking about hunky dory's!

Oh, and I voted Yay (female)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

These feminists seriously need to get a grip - if a snickers ad came up with a half naked man with a slogan "are you staring at my nuts" - they wouldn't be reacting like OH MY GOD THAT IS SO DISRESPECTFUL TO MEN.

Really this is the 21st century, deal with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

bonerm wrote: »
    Tits or not, anything that promotes rugby should probably be banned.

I had no idea it was about rugby for a very long time.