Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using a weights bench when yer a girl

• 29-04-2010 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭

My boyfriend just bought himself a weights bench in an attempt to gain a few pounds (its an everlast 'power training bench with butterfly' ev-220 just a cheapy argos one). Anyway his being all excited about it has gotten me thinking that maybe its something that I could use too. Is it safe to use a weights bench if you're not strong at all in the first place and is there anything I should know about starting off? I'm not interested in getting bigger but I'd love to get stronger especially in my arms. Do girls generally use these to keep toned etc? Or is it only really useful for putting on more muscle and bulking up? Any tips or insight would be appreciated, Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi Sapsorrow

Have a read through this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055895244

Basically girls should lift the same as guys. Start off with light weight or an empty bar and gradually add weight as you get stronger.

I would also recommend that booking a session or two with a personal trainer might be something to look into. This way you can get a program designed specifically for your goals and make sure that you are using the correct technique in the lifts you are doing.

Best Regards,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Also read www.stumptuous.com which will dispel many myths about female weight training. Weight training is excellent for fat loss and toning up/getting in shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It's very hard to build muscle if you are on a calorie deficit diet, only rally beginners manage it. I would imagine (somebody can correct me if I'm wrong) that for a girl it is downright impossible due to lower levels of testosterone.

Don't be afraid on the bench, or any weights. It's a great way to work out, and almost everyone ends up preferring it over cardio.

There are a couple of girls who regularly posts here and lift weights all the time. I imagine they'll be along soon to give some friendly female advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Go for it. Weights aren't going to make you bigger, just stronger and leaner. I wasn't keen on the bench press when I started, but I love it now, just start with an empty bar and add more weight the stronger you get. Just make sure you keep adding the weight as you get better and don't be worrying about bulking up etc., it's simply not going to happen.

The only thing is that you aren't going to see much difference either way from just benching the odd time, you'd need to have a proper weights program to really benefit. If you're really interested in improving your shape and getting a decent routine then it'd be well worth your while getting a PT session to get some direction, there are loads of bodyweight exercises you could be doing at home too. Then you'd be kicking your boyfriends ass at that bench in no time:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Sapsorrow

Mellor wrote: »
    It's very hard to build muscle if you are on a calorie deficit diet, only rally beginners manage it. I would imagine (somebody can correct me if I'm wrong) that for a girl it is downright impossible due to lower levels of testosterone.

Don't be afraid on the bench, or any weights. It's a great way to work out, and almost everyone ends up preferring it over cardio.

There are a couple of girls who regularly posts here and lift weights all the time. I imagine they'll be along soon to give some friendly female advice.

Ok thats what I was thinking as long as I'm in a calorie deficit or at least at maintenance I should be ok to not put on too much muscle.

I think I would prefer it to cardio I like the idea of the slow and methodical approach rather than the passing out from breathlessness thing you get from running :p

I've been doing floor exercises and using a resistance band the last month or two and have seen amazing results in my abs and arms, I was shocked at how quickly I put on muscle, I like it though and I think I'd like to take it a step further.
    rubadub wrote: »
    Also read www.stumptuous.com which will dispel many myths about female weight training. Weight training is excellent for fat loss and toning up/getting in shape.

Thanks Rubadub I'll check that out now!
    G86 wrote: »
    Go for it. Weights aren't going to make you bigger, just stronger and leaner. I wasn't keen on the bench press when I started, but I love it now, just start with an empty bar and add more weight the stronger you get. Just make sure you keep adding the weight as you get better and don't be worrying about bulking up etc., it's simply not going to happen.

The only thing is that you aren't going to see much difference either way from just benching the odd time, you'd need to have a proper weights program to really benefit. If you're really interested in improving your shape and getting a decent routine then it'd be well worth your while getting a PT session to get some direction, there are loads of bodyweight exercises you could be doing at home too. Then you'd be kicking your boyfriends ass at that bench in no time:D

Ha ha ya I kick his ass the whole time anyway he'll be fecked! Ya the trainer session is sounding like a sensible thing to do alright, theres no point wasting my time doing them wrong really. What is the usual price range for a session just so I don't get burnt?

Thats great that its so hard to get bigger, thats just what I wnated to hear, stronger and leaner would be great and cardios never really done that for me. Am I right in thinking weights is better if you're already at your ideal weight/size rather than cardio to improve your body asthethically?

Basically I'm not looking to gain or lose weight but I'm really enjoying the changes in my abs and upper body I've gotten lately and I want more, being muscley is deadly! :D

Please excuse my ignorance here if I'm being very uniformed but is there much risk of overworking your chest as a girl? Naturally I want to preserve some of my less lean features just as they are! I heard that you can start to lose them if you tone up your upper body too much.

B-Builder wrote: »
    Hi Sapsorrow

Have a read through this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055895244

Basically girls should lift the same as guys. Start off with light weight or an empty bar and gradually add weight as you get stronger.

I would also recommend that booking a session or two with a personal trainer might be something to look into. This way you can get a program designed specifically for your goals and make sure that you are using the correct technique in the lifts you are doing.

Best Regards,

M

Thanks B-builder I'll have a read through that now! I think your advice about the PT is the wisest approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi Sapsorrow

No Problem.

And you were asking about weight training decreasing your chest size. Obviously one of the ladies who lift are best placed to answer this, but if you look at the video below.

This is a young British Olympic hopfull, who I believe is only 15 or 16.

Even though I would be old enough to have a daughter he age, I think that she looks amazing and I wish I could handle the weights she can.

Here she is lifting 89kg and she only weighs in at 58kg herself.

The fact that you are a woman should not stop you as far as weights are concerned.

**Edit***

The orignator of the thread I linked to in my first post (g'em) is a female Olympic weight lifter who IMHO looks amazing.

Best Regards,

M

Sapsorrow wrote: »

Ha ha ya I kick his ass the whole time anyway he'll be fecked! Ya the trainer session is sounding like a sensible thing to do alright, theres no point wasting my time doing them wrong really. What is the usual price range for a session just so I don't get burnt?

Thats great that its so hard to get bigger, thats just what I wnated to hear, stronger and leaner would be great and cardios never really done that for me. Am I right in thinking weights is better if you're already at your ideal weight/size rather than cardio to improve your body asthethically?

Basically I'm not looking to gain or lose weight but I'm really enjoying the changes in my abs and upper body I've gotten lately and I want more, being muscley is deadly! :D

Please excuse my ignorance here if I'm being very uniformed but is there much risk of overworking your chest as a girl? Naturally I want to preserve some of my less lean features just as they are! I heard that you can start to lose them if you tone up your upper body too much.

To be honest you're going to have to pay €60-€90 a session to get a decent trainer, generally the cheaper ones are just starting out. You're better off going to an experienced PT and getting bang for your buck than throwing away €40 on someone just out of college. And sure it doesn't have to break the bank, you could go for a session to get your technique sorted and get a program and then follow that yourself and just book a session every 4-6 weeks.

You'll soon see a difference in your shape once you start a decent program, I know I did anyways, you should check out www.crossfit.ie and http://thetransformationcatalyst.wordpress.com/ for some workout ideas too. And as for losing your 'less lean features', I've honestly say I've never had that happen since I got into weights 3 years ago, so you can relax on that one - if anything you're just going to perk 'em up a bit!:p

You really should go for it and put your boyfriend to shame!:D

Thans guys, that girl does look amazing alright! Its amazing how dedicated she is so young.

Thats cool that theres a few girls interested in it here, it never crossed my mind before to even try it when I used to goo to the gym a lot. The more I think about it the more I like the idea. Going to look into having a few sessions with a trainer after my exams finsih up in a few weeks, it'll be good to have a new focus after finishing my degree anyway!

Thanks for the links G86 transforms site is great, I keep hearing about crossfit must have a look now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

To be honest if you are running a calorie deficit and you up the training that you do, you are probably going to see a loss in body fat all over your body, including your chest. In my experience when I did this my boobs did disappear somewhat but not completely! Went from something like 36DD to 34D. But on the whole I look and feel a whole lot better and wouldn't change the way things are.

I wouldn't complain with 34D :D As it i I'm only a 34B :( So I can't afford to lose much! The boyf wouldn't let me use his bench anymore :pac:

Sapsorrow wrote: »
    I wouldn't complain with 34D :D As it i I'm only a 34B :( So I can't afford to lose much! The boyf wouldn't let me use his bench anymore :pac:

I honestly don't think you will. And trust me, once he see's how great you look he definitely won't be complaining! Anyways, you want to look good for YOU first, not for him!

G86 wrote: »
    I honestly don't think you will. And trust me, once he see's how great you look he definitely won't be complaining! Anyways, you want to look good for YOU first, not for him!

Lol thanks! Naw I'm only messing really, he's great that way he's not a shallow guy at all he appreciates women in all their shapes and sizes :) I'm actually quite happy with my figure as it is but I know thats not going to last for ever either unless I actually work for it, at the moment strength, fitness and health would be my main aims and. I'm keen to look after my bones and really want to make sure I age well I really don't want to start piling on the pounds as I get old or get lethargic or imobile, the thought of being frail terrifies me! No better time to start doing these things and making them a part of your lifestlye than when you're young and healthy anyway!