Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads... ffs...

• 29-04-2010 4:03pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭

That electro mix thread had to be deleted there - for very obvious reasons. It was only brought to my attention afterwards, but Scuba was right when he said it has descended into nothing more than a 'witch hunt' and there was a lot of totally unnecessary blatant abuse. If some of the senior mods had of seen that they would have flipped. Look, this is not dmi/emi etc - you all know boards.ie has certain rules that all forums have to abide by - so can I please ask we seriously tone down the abuse – again, but to new members especially…

Ok yes it looks like some guy has done a really naff attempt at trying to promote his mix and/or himself, but the thread started off with some sound advice and constructive criticism from Steve, but then quickly descended into the guy just getting absolutely slated - with people just running in for a quick dig. This has to stop. Quite a few times in my years here I’ve had people message me saying they can’t stand the attitude of the big-man clicky bunch – and that if you are not a techno expert or working DJ you just feel completely unwelcome here. That is not what this forum is about.

Some of the stuff I read on here makes my jaw drop. I’m sorry but I would never be that much of an asshole anyone, online or offline. We all had to start somewhere and we all probably did stupid things at some stage, but with the help of others we learn. I‘ve learnt a lot from many generous people in the past and I always try to do the same and pass on any knowledge and experience I can to others. That is what this forum should be about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,460 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Carte blanche to advertisers/PR companies....?

I know my first reaction to the thread was to check OP's previous posts, it was that blatant a PR job. I actually left it alone, and saw all the abuse today,and joined in then. Seems to me to be more like the users self-moderating the board.

Not sure what abuse newcomers get, but this site is one of the more (maybe most?) toned down I've seen in the realm of dance music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

hold on just a second. someone comes on shilling and gets a ton of abuse over it.

I know there is a bit too much baiting of newcomers on here. Personally I don't do it, or at least try not to. I did however go to town on the shill. They are different things. Please don't use that thread as an example of a bigger problem.

Newcomers getting a hard time is one thing. Somebody shilling and getting a good bit of telling off is a different story.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

The thread was left alone for a while but in fairness it had got completely out of control - yes it looked as though the person was promoting, shilling or whatever you want to call it but when it starts to get abusive or into a situation where businesses are being named etc I had to step in - as Zascar said, this type of thread would not be tolerated (to the best of my knowledge anyway) by the boards powers that be... I'd be happy to go ask one of them if people feel strongly enough about it and see if they feel it is ok to leave a thread like that open and unedited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Thought that thread was hilarious to be quite honest, would have to agree with jt here, the guy was an obvious shill.

I dont think the abuse in the rest of the forum is taken too personally to be honest, i find the modding here much better than the heavy handedness that is used throughout the rest of boards. It is a bit of a lads atmosphere but to be honest thats what makes me come back and post.

fair enough i guess, but if it CAN be proved to a reasonable standard that the business named was involved, surely it's cool to name them?

this place went like a ghost town when we tried out that whole 'manners and civility' lark. Much better now.

jtsuited wrote: »
    fair enough i guess, but if it CAN be proved to a reasonable standard that the business named was involved, surely it's cool to name them?

Yes probably, I'll check and see what they say.

jtsuited wrote: »
    this place went like a ghost town when we tried out that whole 'manners and civility' lark. Much better now.

I agree, and as much as possible I don't blink an eye at the abuse, comments etc - as long as I know they are in somewhat good taste (if that's possible!).

We don't want to get into a nanny style board, no fun for anyone but have to draw a line at what could be deemed to be libelous on a big forum such as boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Galway Alan

Alan here, Somebody told me there was a bit of an incident here earlier but I see the thread is gone. Just to confrim that I did not hire any PR company or have somebody pretend to be a fan. This might come as a surprise to some of you but I am quite popular in Galway and have many loyal fans who obviously felt like sharing my talents with the wider world! I hope that has cleared up the confusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Alan here, Somebody told me there was a bit of an incident here earlier but I see the thread is gone. Just to confrim that I did not hire any PR company or have somebody pretend to be a fan. This might come as a surprise to some of you but I am quite popular in Galway and have many loyal fans who obviously felt like sharing my talents with the wider world! I hope that has cleared up the confusion.

Many loyal fans? Fair enough, but in this case we're looking at what appears to be a badly executed viral marketing attempt by a single loyal fan and extremely low-post user who, by her own admission, works (or is attempting to find work) in the PR field.

Combined with a plug on a fledgling mom'n'pop PR company situated in the west of Ireland

snip

and its not really a huge leap of faith to assume that someone who knows you or works on your behalf was caught out. Badly.

But hey, there's no such thing as bad publicity - right?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I did a muppet check and there is no match between the usernames but I think this says it all...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055896707

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Many loyal fans? Fair enough, but in this case we're looking at what appears to be a badly executed viral marketing attempt by a single loyal fan and extremely low-post user who, by her own admission, works (or is attempting to find work) in the PR field.

Combined with a plug on a fledgling mom'n'pop PR company situated in the west of Ireland

snip

and its not really a huge leap of faith to assume that someone who knows you or works on your behalf was caught out. Badly.

But hey, there's no such thing as bad publicity - right?
    lol busted. alan stop lying.

Zascar wrote: »
    I did a muppet check and there is no match between the usernames but I think this says it all...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055896707

zas that is why we went to town on that other thread.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I only say it a few hours ago and did not even see his link/mix until after, however after seeing this... LOL

yes. that's exactly what it is.

Oh dear. Run. Run quickly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

How much do you cost for a 3 hour set Alan?

here alan, ever hear of john daly?

Zascar wrote: »
    Ok yes it looks like some guy has done a really naff attempt at trying to promote his mix and/or himself, but the thread started off with some sound advice and constructive criticism from Steve, but then quickly descended into the guy just getting absolutely slated - with people just running in for a quick dig.

It was the unanimous conclusion of everyone bar the OP on that thread that shilling was going on. There's dedicated threads on the forum for mixes and even a clubbing forum for self-promotion. Plenty of Irish names and promoters post here as themselves and they are allowed to do so as they are transparent. Thats assuming that this was a random individual.

However, direct commercial interaction is a BIG no-no on boards, if a PR firm wants to buy advertising space then I welcome them, but plenty of other firms are constantly shilling and they get the swift boot.
    This has to stop. Quite a few times in my years here I’ve had people message me saying they can’t stand the attitude of the big-man clicky bunch – and that if you are not a techno expert or working DJ you just feel completely unwelcome here.

It's techno. By definition its cliquey. As are internet forums. I'm sure there's plenty of Christian forums out there who'll love you for what you are, but here we debate the merits of various electronic genres and DJs - warts and all.

But I'm not a techno expert or working DJ and I feel very welcome here. As I have from the age of 15 or so when I first started posting here nearly a decade ago. My secret? I'm not deliberately antagonistic, I don't shill and I generally do my best not to act the prick for the sake of the community. The SMALL Irish electronic music community.

Some of the stuff I read on here makes my jaw drop. I’m sorry but I would never be that much of an asshole anyone, online or offline. We all had to start somewhere and we all probably did stupid things at some stage, but with the help of others we learn. I‘ve learnt a lot from many generous people in the past and I always try to do the same and pass on any knowledge and experience I can to others. That is what this forum should be about.

Exactly. But that requires transparency, a lack of shilling and the ability to stand up against every two bit operation that sees boards.ie as the marketing equivalent of the whore on the hill.

EDIT: @Zascar - I pointed out the PR connection and the Pimp my Band thing from the get go, you're a unequivocally a good lad and mod but don't tell me you just wiped the thread because the OP got flustered and started shouting slander?

My gut feeling is a lot of Dublin based jealousy for a Galway DJ who is clearly doing a bit too well for himself.

Every Promoter, musical collective and DJ in the country uses a combination of this, emi and the Resident Advisor forums to promote their events and gigs. Don't you worry, they'll be well able to make an objective conclusion as to your ability (and attitude) as long as these threads are preserved for posterity.
    I tend to only play the AAA clubs and my rates reflect this. Yes I know John Daly why do you ask.

In the music business, as I'm sure you know, the only universal acronym for AAA applies to ''Access All Areas'' when doing on-site or field work. Although I'm curious as to what you'd deem the AAA venues in the West of Ireland?

EDIT: @ EVERYONE - Assume this is a random person trolling unless Alan puts up a note on... say his website or something so that we're guaranteed that this is the real McCoy

I won't discuss my rates here. You can request a quote here. http://www.djalanclarke.ie/index.php/contact/ Just don't expect it to cost your standard pub/club dj rate. I tend to only play the AAA clubs and my rates reflect this. Yes I know John Daly why do you ask.
    because he's a favourite amongst many of us dublin dj's and producers. And he's based in galway.

Feck it there's not even a point in trying to argue with someone like you, is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Yes XXX PR have worked with me before but they have no involvement in promoting me on boards. Let's be clear about that now. My gut feeling is a lot of Dublin based jealousy for a Galway DJ who is clearly doing a bit too well for himself.

Well I'm a Dublin based DJ and I'm very jealous that someone who can't keep a pair of of hairdresser electro house tunes in the mix for more than 8 bars without raping the bejaysus out of his cheesy DJM 600 Flange FX while paying zero attention to the way his tunes are structured is getting work in AAA venues all over Sligo and Donegal, so there might well be a grain of truth in this post.

haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

I won't discuss my rates here. Just don't expect it to cost your standard pub/club dj rate. I tend to only play the AAA clubs and my rates reflect this.

:D:D:D

I tend to only play the AAA clubs and my rates reflect this.

Monster-Roadshow-Carnival-Niteclub-Ballina.jpg

Is Carnival Niteclub in Ballina an AAA club?

I suppose you have played somewhere better then Mr. Executive Steve? What ghettos in Dublin have you played? Have you ever heard of Calvin Harris?

homer-eating-popcorn.jpg

I suppose you have played somewhere better then Mr. Executive Steve? What ghettos in Dublin have you played? Have you ever heard of Calvin Harris?

Heard of Calvin Harris all right. Are you warming up for him in a hotel in Sligo? You should be proud.

Not going to get drawn into a micky waving contest about where I have and haven't played tbh, for much the same reason that I don't get "PR companies" to start threads about myself on forums.

Come back to me when you have actually done something worth waving about. I'm proud of my work. I've played in places that you wouldn't even be let near. Played to some very famous and distinguished people and I have had nothing but good feedback. If only the cool Dublin djs liked me...oh wait, let me check my bank balance. Is that 19000 euro. Why yes it is.

this is the single greatest post of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

did you get the 19 grand by sueing people on internet msg boards alan?

oh wait, let me check my bank balance. Is that 19000 euro. Why yes it is.

Jesus, you'd get yourself a secondhand Ford Mondeo for that kinda money!

Don't be ridiculous Jimi. Everyone know's the Toyota Avensis is the car to have

If only the cool Dublin djs liked me...oh wait, let me check my bank balance. Is that 19000 euro. Why yes it is.

Mmmmmmm. Rich and hates Dublin.

I'm signing up to this fan club. The West's Awake.

Maybe I just don't necessarily feel the need to bang on about it? I'm proud of what I've done too kiddo, I'm also proud I wouldn't be let into an under 18's event in a function room in Castlebar when you're playing.

did you get the 19 grand by sueing people on internet msg boards alan?

6.jpg

Well he didn't get it by doing modelling work anyway.

Might have saved a few blips here and there dying his own hair though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭jfrmbray

Nice one there alan,hard lad over the internet.

Bad times when you're bragging about your income OVER THE INTERNET

Repitition is necessary kidz,don't worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Say that to my face and I will stick those dreadlocks of yours deep into your arse so I can wear you like a backpack whilst I'm scoring hot beurs and high fiving Bertie Ahern.

epic, just...epic!

ps zascar, please don't delete this thread. I want to have this read to me on my deathbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Pah, begrudgery and the usual anti country guff from Dubs who wouldn't know a good David Guetta tune and have never met Calvin Harris. Keep it real Alan, don't let them grind you down.

Say that to my face and I will stick those dreadlocks of yours deep into your arse so I can wear you like a backpack whilst I'm scoring hot beurs and high fiving Bertie Ahern.

I would go to one of your gigs and say it but sure I doubt they'd let me into Carnival Niteclub in Ballina when you're playing there with Calvin Harris, maybe if I had 19k in my bank account and a nice pair of shiny shoes they'd let me in, but hardly in my present state...

And good luck with the mixing, as I said in the other thread you're getting there.

Obaraten wrote: »
    woooajust stumbled into here for the first time..is this normality here?

nyet!

Right, fairly unlikely this is Alan as he's supposed to be on the air from 8 till 10pm at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭splitrmx

"Alan is currently spinning the tunes on Galway Bay Fm’s 958 show. The show is live from Monday to Thursday, 8pm-10pm. The biggest RnB + Dance tunes in and out of the mix and hot new exclusives."

So he's on Galway Bay FM right now! (Damn you jimi! :))

It's not him. Aw that kinda takes the fun out of it

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Right, fairly unlikely this is Alan as he's supposed to be on the air from 8 till 10pm at the moment.

Not to mention his post in this thread:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭jfrmbray

successful-troll-is-successful.jpg

Everyone should feel very silly.

Mods,IP ban that fool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Only one way to settle this. Text Alan and ask him has he been on boards hte last 2 hours.

Went to get his number there off the site. Seems to have gone down in the last 10 mins with all the excitement!

http://www.djalanclarke.ie/

either way this has been a good day for the internet.