Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Texting'

• 29-04-2010 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

Texts can be handy little things.... like sending one round to a few people at once to see if they fancy a few scoops or just asking a quick question.

But what do ye think of them for conversations??

I'm getting to know this girl and I quite like her but what does my head in is that she's into the whole 'text all day - have once huge conversation thingy'. So I wake up in the morning and I have a 'Good morning text. and the remainder of my day is spent texting every thirty minutes with little or no interest in the conversation at hand which normally is about crap like whats on TV or 'wat ru u up2?' ... grrr....

Does anyone actually find this enjoyable?

I can barley stand it when I'm doing nothing but if I'm busy, on the way to work, playing my Xbox or whatever its just a thorn in my paw. Yet loads of people seem to text all day...every day...
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I never have credit on my phone. Everyone I know is aware of this. Problem solved.

Although with that girl you like, dirty texts ftw ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I never have credit on my phone. Everyone I know is aware of this. Problem solved.

I've done that before with a previous GF ... not as great as you'd think. Kinda boring actually. Prefer a good aul shag :cool::P

Obviously they weren't dirty enough then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I only text because I can't be asked to do small talk.
    If I want a conversation I'll ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I've done that before with a previous GF ... not as great as you'd think. Kinda boring actually. Prefer a good aul shag :cool::P

No law that says you can't do both.

Personally I enjoy sending an obscene text and then reading the delighted response. Certainly beats "how r u 2day?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

All I can say is - thank **** for free webtexts.

It's not that I'm being a stingy bastard, it just allows me to use a full keyboard. I hate typing long texts on a phone with a passion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

bonerm wrote: »
    No law that says you can't do both.

Sexting?

Fcuk off with your text conversations. Give me a ring or I'll ring you. Alternatively I'll ignore you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I can barley stand it

I know wheat you mean.
    It's oats o annoying.

o1s1n wrote: »

It's not that I'm being a stingy bastard, it just allows me to use a full keyboard. I hate typing long texts on a phone with a passion.

You know you get free texts if you top up by 20 a month .... web texts are a hassle. Might as well use IM ....

Insurgent wrote: »
    Sexting?

Fcuk off with your text conversations. Give me a ring or I'll ring you. Alternatively I'll ignore you!

I THINK 'Sexting' involvels the actual sending of pictures or videos ... not just some dirty 'I'd like to shove my ... "

bonerm wrote: »
    Certainly beats "how r u 2day?"

Cant argue with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

'wat ru u up2?'

Ooh, I'd watch that one. The text lingo. Some of it is indecipherable. Personally I'd rather the text to be actual words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I text mostly. I only ever ring people if it's essential to talk to them. Otherwise, I just text people and half pay attention.

I think texting a girl is a good way to start out with a new girl. It gives you time to think about what to talk about, something you don't get in a real conversation.

I text mostly. I only ever ring people if it's essential to talk to them. Otherwise, I just text people and half pay attention.

I think texting a girl is a good way to start out with a new girl. It gives you time to think about what to talk about, something you don't get in a real conversation.

But its not a real conversation. It annoys me... and mostly the conversation, if you could call it that, is about tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

yeh i agree with original poster, it is a bit of headmelt especially if you are busy with something like driving or at an event or something, and at the end of the day, the conversation couldve been had in 10 mins on the phone. i hate it but yet i seem to do it when i get a response to a text and then it goes on and on and on. And i really hate when it goes on into the wee small hours and all i want to do is sleep!!! i try so hard to just not text anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

biko wrote: »
    I only text because I can't be asked to do small talk.
    If I want a conversation I'll ring.

I'm the same-i hardly ring anyone these days,i've gotten so used to texting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

mikom wrote: »
    I know wheat you mean.
    It's oats o annoying.

Drives me hop-ping mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

But its not a real conversation. It annoys me... and mostly the conversation, if you could call it that, is about tripe.
    Yeah, I know. That's why I said it's something you don't get in a real conversation.

Texting has it's benefits but it's nothing compared to talking to someone face to face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You know you get free texts if you top up by 20 a month .... web texts are a hassle. Might as well use IM ....

Yes, but then I'll have to use the phone to type the text. Which I just said I hate doing.

And webtexts aren't a hassle if you have an IT job and are sitting on your arse in front of a PC all day. It's more hassle to take the phone out of my pocket :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I'm pretty useless when it comes to texting. I constantly forget to text people back and I can't stand, "So what you up to?", "Just watching tv, you?", "Same, eating a biscuit", "Cool...", "Yeah, it's so good!" etc.

If I'm walking down Henry St, I always pretend I'm really busy texting though so I don't get accosted by any of those Oxfam people or whatever! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why is the thread title 'Texting' as opposed to merely Texting?

Why the ' '?

This is worrying. Is it not actually called texting at all? Is there another name for it really?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Why is the thread title 'Texting' as opposed to merely Texting?

Why the ' '?

This is worrying. Is it not actually called texting at all? Is there another name for it really?

'Yes'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Poor conversational skills?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Man to Man text;

Man 1 "Pints tonight?"
    Man 2 "Sound"

Woman to man text;

Woman "Hi - I'm meeting Jenny, Tom, Adam & Ciara tonight. We're going to Keoghs tonight & then probably on to Velvet - Peter is DJ-ing there. Should be a blast! Got a taxi booked for 8 & we'll be passing your place around then if you want us to pick you up - what do you say?"

Man "Sound"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Gang of Gin

Man to Man text;

Man 1 "Pints tonight?"
    Man 2 "Sound"

Woman to man text;

Woman "Hi - I'm meeting Jenny, Tom, Adam & Ciara tonight. We're going to Keoghs tonight & then probably on to Velvet - Peter is DJ-ing there. Should be a blast! Got a taxi booked for 8 & we'll be passing your place around then if you want us to pick you up - what do you say?"

Man "Sound"

Jenny, Tom, Adam, and Ciara appear to have a few bob. Pub by 8 o'clock?

Man to Man text;

Man 1 "Pints tonight?"
    Man 2 "Sound"

Woman to man text;

Man "Sound"
    So women are more efficient then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's a little known fact that a woman invented predictive texting.. but it's obvious when you think about it, as it's the only other thing in the world - besides a woman - that knows what you are going to say before you've even said it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

This is something i just can not see the point of. It is quite literally not worth a ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Texts can be handy little things.... like sending one round to a few people at once to see if they fancy a few scoops or just asking a quick question.

I'm getting to know this girl and I quite like her but what does my head in is that she's into the whole 'text all day - have once huge conversation thingy'. So I wake up in the morning and I have a 'Good morning text. and the remainder of my day is spent texting every thirty minutes with little or no interest in the conversation at hand which normally is about crap like whats on TV or 'wat ru u up2?' ... grrr....

I can barley stand it when I'm doing nothing but if I'm busy, on the way to work, playing my Xbox or whatever its just a thorn in my paw. Yet loads of people seem to text all day...every day...

You must not like her that much then if she's already doin your head in...
    o1s1n wrote: »

What phones have passion?!

On the whole Txt V's Phonecall topic. Anyone get pissed off when you get a txt from someone, and you call them instead of texting them back, but they don't answer the phone?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

You know you get free texts if you top up by 20 a month .... web texts are a hassle.

So they are not free ... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

kingtut wrote: »
    So they are not free ... :cool:

Technically they are. You can top up by €20; spend all of that €20 on calls. but still send txts for free... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Technically they are.

Technically how? You get nothing until you hand over €20 lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Man to Man text;

Man 1 "Pints tonight?"
    Man 2 "Sound"

Woman to man text;

Man "Sound"
    Sinfonia wrote: »
    So women are more efficient then

No. In the example above the man is more efficient - less words used to get his point across. My texts follow this pattern:

SB: ?

Recipient: <concise location of pintage>

SB: k

See? Efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

SKYPE FTW

Smart Bug wrote: »
    No. In the example above the man is more efficient - less words used to get his point across. My texts follow this pattern:

SB: ?

Recipient: <concise location of pintage>

SB: k

See? Efficient.

The original man to man conversation didn't have any details, no matter how concise, and thus would necessarily have to be followed up with another conversation, while the woman's text had all information needed, and a little extra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

There are very few people that I will answer my phone to or text back. I couldn't tell you where my phone is right this minute, I hate it with a passion.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Abigayle wrote: »
    There are very few people that I will answer my phone to or text back. I couldn't tell you where my phone is right this minute, I hate it with a passion.

Get rid of it? I hate the thought of having one on me all the time. Texting is bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭SarahMs

I like texting, but couldn't do it all day everyday......... its nice to get the odd random, flithy, flirty, obscene text everyone once in a while.

and for making evening plans when in work and can't be on the phone. sometimes im glued to my phone sometimes its not on for a few days.

speak of the devil *beep beep*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Texts anoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I don't mind the odd text to mates and girlfriend etc but I hate texting someone for hours on end. Just simply too busy for it so just don't do it, whenever I'm starting to see someone etc if they start this texting till the cows come home I simply say sorry bit busy I'll call you later, or call them there and then. Alot of the time you find people who do this all the time will have letters and essays of text to talk about but having NOTHING to say on the phone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Texting is not bad. However I made a big mistake of sending a suggestive text to a radio station instead of the other half. This can happen as I am always texting radio

Anyway the presenter read out on air

" Mary you better get home quick joey is in the shower cleaning himself just for you and judging by this text he wants to exercise his tounge"

Now of course I am not telling you exactly what I said but needless to say a lot of people that know me were listening to the radio..

I then got a text from her mother saying her father heard that and wants you to keep your hands off his daughter.... Instant droop....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

The original man to man conversation didn't have any details, no matter how concise, and thus would necessarily have to be followed up with another conversation, while the woman's text had all information needed, and a little extra.

I half agree...
    But there is often no need to tell a man which pub or when... In any group The Pub refers to a specific pub. And so if someone says pints tonight? They mean that pub... Time is another matter... But not if there is a match on or something on... Otherwise it's a when ever you turn up sort of thing...

tl:dr
    If I ask a mate "Pub tonight?" then he knows which pub I mean.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Yeah but all that information will change within 5 minutes anyway so it's a waste of thumb-leather.

Get rid of it?
    I wish. I only ever want to see it if I need to call someone. I called for a taxi and the garage that was fixing my car on Tuesday, and one phone call to my brother yesterday to organise to meet him. So I've made three calls this week, and its unlikely I'll use it for the rest of the week.
    I hate the thought of having one on me all the time. Texting is bull****.

It annoys the shit out of me too.

Some people just amaze me. They never have their phone out of one hand, while the other is logging into fucking facebook or something, so they can bore the knackers off some poor bastard on it too. Its become far to easy for the terminally needy to harass people.

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Its become far to easy for the terminally needy to harass people.

I used to love going to interveiws and watching well actually countin g how many other interviewys would cheack there phones every 30 seconds.. nearly...

People are affraid of there own compnay these days...

I used to love going to interveiws and watching well actually countin g how many other interviewys would cheack there phones every 30 seconds.. nearly...

People are affraid of there own compnay these days...

In that situation its more likely to be nerves, but I hear what you're saying. Sit on a bus or train and its amazing to watch. I took a train into town a couple of weeks ago and there was a woman sitting across from me. My phone started ringing in my bag (I ignored it), and she was looking at me as if to say 'well are you going to get that'. And it wasn't because it was loud or anything like that, but her face said it all. She probably wondered was I not in the least bit curious to find out who it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

My phone started ringing in my bag (I ignored it), and she was looking at me as if to say 'well are you going to get that'.

You told me you were in the cinema and couldn't answer :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I hate texting with a passion, it's ok in the first week of meeting someone new you like but it quickly becomes the biggest pain in the hole ever!

The actually having to think of a reply to sh*** like what you up? or how was work is as tedious as cleaning a compoter with a toothbrush, it actually pissess me off when people reply back straight away (bar the odd exception)

OutlawPete wrote: »
    You told me you were in the cinema and couldn't answer :mad:

Ooops. Ya got me :o

I was actually on the way into town to meet the other guy :pac:

/runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

I was tempted to start a thread like ths a few weeks ago. It really is headwrecking. My gf of 4 months is mad into textin. From the morning time til i go to bed we text all day. Now i take my time in replying because its pointless nonsense that we do be texting anyway. Now i like the girl alot but really wish i didnt have to keep texting.

And its not like she's unique. Every girl i've been with is pretty much the same :(

Cant even watch a dvd without having to pause the bloody thing a few times during it. The only time i get away from texting is when i play golf and tell her phones arent allowed on the course! I could be a pro golfer if i stick with her :D