Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me pwease!

• 28-04-2010 5:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thesituation51

So the situation is this: I'm working 4-midnight shifts this week, and only three other people are working - two random girls who are pretty sound, and an incredibly cute guy, who i ended up talkin to for most of our shift on Sunday, since things were quiet. Didnt see him so much the last two nights cos it's been busy but we still had a laugh, and I'm not in til 7 today, n it's probably the last time I'm gonna be working with him, cos this is his last week in the job. how do I make him ask me for my number? We've pretty much established we're both single, and we get on like a house on fire - he comes across as pretty shy but I think I'm getting some vibes from him, I just dunno if he'd actually do anything about it, I'm not the best at making it clear when I like someone... Don't suggest me making a move, cos that aint gonna happen! :p I'm being really friendly and chatty, I dunno what else to do! any ideas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Why don't you ask him for his number?
    Why don't you ask him out for coffee/drink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 thesituation51

I'm waaaay too shy to ask him either of those questions lol, it's all on him I'm afraid!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

IDK, why not ask him and the other 2 girls out for a few drinks after work as a thing for him leaving work. Have a few drinks and then see where it goes from there. Maybe exchange numbers to "stay in touch" and see where it goes from there. If you're really interested you may have to make the first move, but you never know... he might just make the first move when you are together outside work. That's probably how I'd play it if I was shy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I'm waaaay too shy to ask him either of those questions lol, it's all on him I'm afraid!:p

That's a bit unfair, don't you think?

Do you want us to try tell you how to get him to ask you out? Because that's not really something we can answer I think.
    If you like him enough, you say 'Do you want to go for a coffee or a drink after work?'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

Why not suggest a pub or a club you enjoy going to and try and drop some hints.

I know it's not easy for girls but I bet if you asked him he would be flattered.

miss5 wrote: »
    Why not suggest a pub or a club you enjoy going to and try and drop some hints.

I know it's not easy for girls but I bet if you asked him he would be flattered.
    I totally agree! I can only speak for myself, but I genuinely like it a lot when girls are more forward about asking guys out. It's 2010, both genders are capable of making the first move and I think OP should go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

seriously, telepathy is not something that I can teach you over the internet ;)

just ask him out!

Definetly go for it OP. I know girls who have made the first move and have
    never regretted it, You will only regret it if your left thinking "What if"
    Keep it casual and try not to worry to much about his reaction, you seem pretty
    confident he likes you to so go for it!

I know it may seem unfair, but I've always been crazy old fashioned about stuff like this, I know it's stupid but it's just how I feel! I'll try drop some hints anyway lol :p

lol then keep telling him that you're old fashioned and you prefer when men ask out women. If he doesn't get the hint then he's either thick or isn't into you.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Even saying things like "work's gonna be so boring without you. Who's gonna make me laugh on these night shifts."
    or "I imagine you'll miss these 12-hour night shifts" (Im quite sarcastic so this might not work for everyone)
    or "We should organise a night out for everyone who works here to say good-bye to you".
    Bite the bullet and go for it. Worst case scenario he says no and you never have to see him again. Best case: He takes the hints and ye end up happy together

Daisies wrote: »
    Even saying things like "work's gonna be so boring without you. Who's gonna make me laugh on these night shifts."
    or "I imagine you'll miss these 12-hour night shifts" (Im quite sarcastic so this might not work for everyone)
    or "We should organise a night out for everyone who works here to say good-bye to you".
    Bite the bullet and go for it. Worst case scenario he says no and you never have to see him again. Best case: He takes the hints and ye end up happy together
    Exactly, the worst thing that can happen is he might say no... and even if that's the case, a bit of rejection is good for the confidence in the long run.

You're the one who wants him and is posting this thread so no, it looks like it's all on you

Put in some effort and ask him out. It's not easier for guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

"a bit of rejection is good for the confidence in the long run."

lol SO TRUE!!!! :D And can't be said often enough IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I think I have to agree with the others. If you really like this guy then you might have to make the first move.
    Would it be so scary to ask him for an after work drink? Just get out of the work setting and see how that goes.

If you ask and he says no, then he is not into you. If he is into you he wont say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Okay, it'd be lovely if he asked you out or something but what if he doesn't? Then he'll disappear from your life and you'll be sitting in work with two girls, wishing you'd just said something. Sometimes you have to do things you don't particularly want to do to reap the rewards in life. If he says he isn't interested, that's fine, you never have to see him again anyway! If he is interested though, it could be the beginning of something amazing and you'll always have a nice story of, "Some strangers on Boards convinced me to ask you out, thank god for them"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

if it were me and i was working in a place, and getting on with one of the wimmins there and a few days later she mentioned going out for a coffey or something after outside of work, id go if i did think she was sound to hang out with.
    dont make too big a deal of it in your head, imagine its someone you know, and just say "hay will we go for coffey at such a place"
    chances are he wont really cop your actually asking him out he will think "yeah shes sound ill go for coffey with her"
    and from there just see how it pans out.

good luck!

actually edit what i just said as i really need to take my own advice on this one.
    theres a girl around the college ive been eyeing up all year, she spoke to me once and we had a laugh but since then we make the odd bit of eye contact smile and thats it, and i havent the manballz to go up to her and make some form of conversation. i also know shes going to the UK in september so my window of opportunity is literally tomorrow and friday.
    feck it, if i see her tomorrow, im making a bee line for her, decision made!

my continued good will towards you!:D

I've always been crazy old fashioned about stuff like this

bull**** and a cop out to be honest. You're just scared.

du courage, ma petite!

ask him and you won't regret it.

don't ask him and you probably will... because depending on a person (and a man at that) to pick up on hints is a losing game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Then be prepared to watch him walk out of your life. When he does it will be 100% your own fault.

You can hang onto your "old fashioned" beliefs (ie, fear of rejection with a side of sexism) or you can reach out and take what you want. I have no idea why anyone would CHOOSE to let someone they like get away.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Soo...............................How did it go?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭ilovetosing

OP u shud just suck it up and ask him however as a guy I can shed some advice on the above and if he doesn't pick up on it then either you leave him to walk out without and wonder what might have been or you ask him but I suggest that get talkin to him and get to havin a few laughs and jokes and then just mention that its a pity he is leaving cause you will miss the laugh ya's have that makes work more bareable! From this you have a few outcomes
    1 - He says well sure we can have a laugh outside work and go for a drink sometime
    2 - He will be confused and cause he is shy he wont know weather thats a sure sign (yes we are stupid when it comes to picking up the signs)
    3 - He will give you his number or email so you can keep in touch which in a way is a winner cause noone is really putting themselves out there but the objective will be complete and you have what you want.

Good luck.

Daisies wrote: »
    Soo...............................How did it go?????
    I'm on the edge of my seat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

OisinT wrote: »
    IDK, why not ask him and the other 2 girls out for a few drinks after work as a thing for him leaving work. Have a few drinks and then see where it goes from there. Maybe exchange numbers to "stay in touch" and see where it goes from there. If you're really interested you may have to make the first move, but you never know... he might just make the first move when you are together outside work. That's probably how I'd play it if I was shy.

Think this is the best idea, this is what I would do :)

Best of luck!!

SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!We all went for a few drinks after work (on my suggestion), n when we were on our own, I said how much I'd enjoyed our chats, and he asked for my number - we is going out on mondaaaay! :D cheers for the help guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭susanroth

seenitall wrote: »
    "a bit of rejection is good for the confidence in the long run."

lol SO TRUE!!!! :D And can't be said often enough IMO.
    How is that then?

probably because you face your fears and realise that rejection isn't as bad as you thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Xiney wrote: »
    probably because you face your fears and realise that rejection isn't as bad as you thought.

Absolutely! Plus the sooner you start dealing with the fact that some people won't fancy you, the sooner you will be able to see that you don't need them to fancy you for you to feel good about yourself. Et voila, confidence is born! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭KnocKnocKnock

SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!We all went for a few drinks after work (on my suggestion), n when we were on our own, I said how much I'd enjoyed our chats, and he asked for my number - we is going out on mondaaaay! :D cheers for the help guys!

Fair play :)

Brilliant. Delighted for you. Now to take my own advice!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭cheekyass

I love happy endings! Well played! :D

Brilliant news, so glad it worked out for you.