Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scum

• 28-04-2010 1:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭

What the fxxk is wrong with people that they find the need to steal parts off other peoples cars?!

Just noticed that the red D and Red I on my back of my passat have been stolen! They left a nice scrape where they pryed off the lettering.

A year ago I also had chrome trim pulled off the front bumper.

Scumbags

(rant over)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Sorry to hear, scum is right.
    I know a guy who had the outer cover of his wing mirror pryed off his 7 series, obviously stolen specifically!
    Its tricky enough to get off too, they knew what they were doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Absolute knackers. Nicked my wipers recently. I can't understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Maybe cos they were red? Replace with non-red?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

JHMEG wrote: »

Thats not much of an excuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Might stop it from happening again tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

Essien wrote: »
    Thats not much of an excuse
    Might stop it from happening again tho.

I know what you are saying but it won't help when i go try sell the car. A lot of people put value on the colour of the letters(!) strange but true.

Just a quote for replacement letters - €15!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I know what you are saying but it won't help when i go try sell the car. A lot of people put value on the colour of the letters(!) strange but true.

Just a quote for replacement letters - €15!
    If it were my car i'd clean off the glue, touch in the scrape and leave the car debadged. If a future buyer wants the badge back it'll only cost €15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

I respectfully suggest you don't bother your hole putting new ones on it. Why would you? Remove the 'T', fix the scratch. Order a new set of letters and throw them in the glovebox ready to fit them when you're going to sell it, for the plonkers who actually give a flying fig..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

Anan1 wrote: »
    If it were my car i'd clean off the glue, touch in the scrape and leave the car debadged. If a future buyer wants the badge back it'll only cost €15.
    RoverCraft wrote: »
    I respectfully suggest you don't bother your hole putting new ones on it. Why would you? Remove the 'T', fix the scratch. Order a new set of letters and throw them in the glovebox ready to fit them when you're going to sell it, for the plonkers who actually give a flying fig..

Sounds like the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Sure my old man had a Starlet back in the late 90's, and didn't some lads come and steal the rear side window (yes, they actually stole it!) and one wheel! :pac:

As for your current situation, a small amount of petrol will remove the glue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

My uncle came out of a function to see someone had taken the front fogs off his 523i ! Oh how you would love to catch them at it....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

2 scumbags tried to rob my front splitter when I was stopped at the roundabout. They werent long infront of the car when I put the foot down. Unfortunly.

My uncle came out of a function to see someone had taken the front fogs off his 523i ! Oh how you would love to catch them at it....

Very easy to get out, stick a screw driver in the hole to the side of the lense and they pop out. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭tmcw

Very easy to get out, stick a screw driver in the hole to the side of the lense and they pop out. ;)

That sounds like you're saying you should stick a screwdriver in the thieving scums ears, and pop their eyes out from inside their skulls. :eek:

Sounds like good advice to me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Someone stole a wheel off a neighbours car recently...jacked up his car, took the wheel and left the jack behind :rolleyes:

I remember many years ago, my dad had a Hiace rented out for a few days for moving stuff, during the night somebody unscrewed the headlights and put them under the front wheels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    2 scumbags tried to rob my front splitter when I was stopped at the roundabout. They werent long infront of the car when I put the foot down. Unfortunly.

eh..really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Better off without them IMO!

Fill it in and don't worry about it happening again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

radiator and air bags stolen from my primera a good few years ago ,

was at a function and the place was packed had to park up a side road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

RoverCraft wrote: »

They robbed the tdi of my wifes passat as well. it must be an expensive item to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

That kinda stuff is giving me second thoughts about getting a fancy motor.

This thread only reminded me of something I was told years ago, a friend of my mother's auntie parked her Fiesta outside a shopping centre, somewhere near the edge of the car park, and when she came back the entire engine block had been stolen.

I must follow up on this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Better off without them IMO!

Fill it in and don't worry about it happening again!

Ridiculous suggestions to not replace them , be like taking the Mercedes emblem off the front bumper because you fear it getting stolen or not getting dents fixed because sure its gonna get dented again ..... the whole idea of keeping your car up to scratch is because it makes ya feel good about it and the red "I" on the back of a car gives it that little bit extra, my advice would be too buy and replace them and hopefully the little scumbags dont choose you again... i drove and astra for 4 years and had the mirror caps either stolen or damaged numerous times at a replacement cost of around 30 euro but because i took look off car i always replaced them. goes with running costs if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The only time I'd agree with anyone taking badges off anyone elses car is where it's a fakey badged up... then I'd more than agree with someone taking a paint scraper to it.

Apart from that, it's just scummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

This thread only reminded me of something I was told years ago, a friend of my mother's auntie parked her Fiesta outside a shopping centre, somewhere near the edge of the car park, and when she came back the entire engine block had been stolen.

I must follow up on this!
    LMFAO
    How long does it take her to do the shopping?:eek:
    Mothers Aunties friends might be confusing the Ford symbol/badge with the engine:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Absurdum wrote: »
    Someone stole a wheel off a neighbours car recently...jacked up his car, took the wheel and left the jack behind :rolleyes:

I remember many years ago, my dad had a Hiace rented out for a few days for moving stuff, during the night somebody unscrewed the headlights and put them under the front wheels.
    im sorry! But that made me laugh. its a very strange thing to do!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

im sorry! But that made me laugh. its a very strange thing to do!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

And you felt the need to drag up a 6 month old thread to add that? :rolleyes:

wow! didnt realise it was that old! come on, it was pretty funny!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I've got scum constantly trying to take my car, one of the joys of owning a TypeR Honda so I just this week spent a small fortune on a new alarm that has proximity sensors, tilt sensors and glass sensors along with a few other things. It's a nice piece of kit but it pisses me off that I had to go out and buy it in order to keep my car safe.

Car thieves should face execution by shooting with balls of their own sh1te

looks like this old thread is back up and running!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Onkle wrote: »
    I've got scum constantly trying to take my car, one of the joys of owning a TypeR Honda so I just this week spent a small fortune on a new alarm that has proximity sensors, tilt sensors and glass sensors along with a few other things. It's a nice piece of kit but it pisses me off that I had to go out and buy it in order to keep my car safe.

Car thieves should face execution by shooting with balls of their own sh1te

Tempting...local yard is giving 50 a pop for jap scrap:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Actually, I need some new rubber for my wipers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Just smear cat sh!t on the top of the wipers where they clip on, at night time they won't see a thing:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I've got scum constantly trying to take my car, one of the joys of owning a TypeR

Specially now that there is a red D and red I after the red R. Now it's got 380 BHP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I may be able to top this.....

Our Skoda badge was recently knicked off the boot lid!

Whats the point in owning a skoda if chicks cant tell its a skoda!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I heard of an entire rear windscreen being cut out of the back of a canvas roof recently, from a dealer forecourt too AFAIR. I'll have to find out what car it was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

With the economy the way it is you might all need to bring your wipers with you everytime you park the car somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

All 4 valve caps stolen off my wheels...sickened cause they were pretty daycent too.

EPM wrote: »
    Tempting...local yard is giving 50 a pop for jap scrap:p

Want to talk about reliability? How's that Seat of yours? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Want to talk about reliability? How's that Seat of yours? :p

Lol

I'll know in a few hours...

//crosses fingers it starts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Window smashed and radio stolen in a new model transit(2005). Called the cops, went through the usual crap. Was really late for work, so jumped in the drivers seat and promptly smacked my head off the steering wheel.

They had stolen my bloody gear stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Window smashed and radio stolen in a new model transit(2005). Called the cops, went through the usual crap. Was really late for work, so jumped in the drivers seat and promptly smacked my head off the steering wheel.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Uncle was buying a VW transporter (think thats what they are called?) once and he got the roof rack as an extra, the van was ready for him and sitting in the garage forecourt when some lad went into the dealership and told the sales man to name his price for the roof rack off the van.

The dealer wouldn't sell it to him obviously, so next morning the roof rack was gone without a scratch on the van!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

and.?

so?

what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Someone once stole the Renault badge off the bonnet of my Kangoo. What was he up to, collecting badges from the world's ugliest cars?

"... and here's the star of my collection, the badge from a Ssangyong R-Odious".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Our Skoda badge was recently knicked off the boot lid!

Whats the point in owning a skoda if (

...they were probably trying to add reliability/value/kudos to their VW..... :D

LOLOL.....what WERE you doing, a 'Dukes of Hazzard'/Superman leap through the window..?........:p :p:p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭bodun

Recently some of our finest citizens decided it would be fun to place a lighted firework/banger under the back wiper of my golf and blow out the back window and destroy the wiper. Thankfully it was covered by our windscreen cover.
    Also about a week later, early one morning as I was leaving the house I noticed some rubbish on the footpath(I didn't think much of it, as this is Dublin afterall) but when I got out to the car I found that some equally fine citizens had set fire to a bag of rubbish on said footpath which in turn burned some of the paint off the door and melted some of the plastic trim. People are great, aren't they!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭yogimotorsport

When i was working in a main dealership in Cork city(suberbs),we arrived to work one monday morning to see alloys stolen from the sales cars behind the showroom and workshop Honda,Citroen VTRs etc,lads that done it had come up river behind sales yard cut the fence and let themselves in
    Daring little feckers but intuitive none the less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

galwaytt wrote: »
    LOLOL.....what WERE you doing, a 'Dukes of Hazzard'/Superman leap through the window..?........:p :p:p

No seatbelt as I hadn't started it. I reached for the gearstick to check it was in gear. I was really late, I was in a big a hurry and just kept leaning forward expecting it to hit my hand. By the time I realised it was gone I had too much forward momentum.

I also learned that day that a half inch copper pipe with a broom handle sawn in half and taped to the pipe makes a good temporary gearstick.

No seatbelt as I hadn't started it. I reached for the gearstick to check it was in gear. I was really late, I was in a big a hurry and just kept leaning forward expecting it to hit my hand. By the time I realised it was gone I had too much forward momentum.

I also learned that day that a half inch copper pipe with a broom handle sawn in half and taped to the pipe makes a good temporary gearstick.

FFS the people in work think I'm mad, I just sprayed coffee all over my office laughing at your previous post :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Never saw this thread before. My brothers (thankfully work-owned) Passat, 2 years ago. 2 days before his wedding, the car was due to be used as the wedding car with me driving.
    Reckon they only wanted the bumper and grill, maybe the rad but they managed to cause €8k - €10k of damage in the process of ripping them off.