Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Placenames and signposts, that just make you laugh.

• 25-04-2010 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭

Have you come about weird or funny signs, placenames etc. ?

Here are a few.

You'd think twice parking here !! (Seen in the Liosban Industrial Estate in Galway):
    25826_385373348681_698008681_4055284_5069475_n.jpg

Came across this one today. Who ever came up with the translation "Nobber" for an irish town or village or place, must have been a nob himself:
    25846_385366148681_698008681_4055077_3140932_n.jpg

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Place on the N7 to KK called "Milford". Always makes me laugh.

Oh and "Muff" in Donegal. :D

Edit: Milford is signposted on the N9, not the N7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Isnt there a place somewhere in Ireland called Muff?!!

Edit: Too slow typing! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Yes, in Donegal on the coast and there's a diving club there too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

JHMEG wrote: »
    there's a diving club there too...

Tis a good way to pass the time I guess :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

county_sligo_map.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Theres a village near me called newtwopothouse. Their is a village called bastardstown!!!! in the butt end of wexford. I would love to get a photo of muff diving club though:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I pass this place on my way to work every morning.

Wankum.JPG

Fantastic beer shop quite close to there actually ..

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I was driving up to a hen party in Cavan recently and we passed a sign for a place called 'Cock'. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Kilcock, Kildare
    Stillorgan, Dublin
    Bastardstown, Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Mianus.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Macca3000

This was in Brisabane in Australia. Always made me smile walking into town.

and I believe there is an estate called Muff Crescent in Nobber :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

cocking.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

stupid censorship messes up the link : http://www.extremefunnyhumor.com/pics/****ing_Austria.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Toots* wrote: »
    I was driving up to a hen party in Cavan recently and we passed a sign for a place called 'Cock'. :p

Wouldn't be the constantly vandalised signs for (the still titter-enducing) "Shercock" by any chance?

This is a town in Austia. The profanity filter screws up the link to Wikipedia.

image00111.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Termonfeckin, Louth :D

You pass here, in Bavaria, on your way to the one above

317354260_3w2ma-S.jpg

or take a wrong turn and you end up here, also in Germany

CEN_TownOfWank_01_3_860653a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

For english speaking people it's always quite funny to cross from Jutland to Funen in Denmark, because the first town you hit on the other side is "Middelfart" :)

http://www.middelfart.dk/

Anyhow, there's loads of funny places, so please post stuff you've driven past yourself (it's the motoring forum) or car related items.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

There's two little places in the midland somewhere called:

Sex bridge
    &
    Carnal way

There are at least 3 NewTwoPotHouses in the country, you'll pass through two of them on the road from Cork to Galway.

I also think Batterstown is a funny one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

Hal1 wrote: »
    county_sligo_map.gif

My bro in law moved there a few weeks ago lol

Placenames in general when driving through Wales. You cant even begin an attempt at pronouncing some of them.

Some examples:

Cwmbran
    Pontypridd
    Llanmihangel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

chris85 wrote: »

They have group option!

Muff Diving
    Whether for individuals or groups, we should have the diving expericence for you. We will be introducing our seasons schedule very shortly so please keep an eye on our Muff Diving section on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Random speed limit!!!

355FED438E58488CAE93B5F3E7AE223F-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

No picture of the sign, but always used to have a smirk when passing this before the M1 was open.

bogofthering.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Magic_Roundabout_Schild_db800x600.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 gerdee

Is there not a petrol station in Muff of the "Top" company?

If i recall correctly sign reads:
    Muff
    Lowest Sterling Prices

Correct me if I'm wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

Effin Co. Limerick

http://www.effingaa.com/

Kilcock

Ballsbridge

Mooncoin in KK,

Horse & Jockey, Limerick Junction which are both in Tipp

There's a place in Limerick thats called Hospital :D

There's Horestown near Lusk, and Horeswood in Co. Wexford!

There's a place in Limerick thats called Hospital :D

I feckin hate that place. I would be ringing into work and they would say
    "Where are you now"
    "Just heading into Hospital"
    "Everything ok?"
    *Sigh :mad:

Hackballscross in Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

not a sign as such but ever seen the "Fucker" bus around europe? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

2007-06-26twatt.jpg

slutshole_lane.jpg

wankeBN1-col4.jpg

23crapstone_600.JPG

250px-DildoNewfoundland.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Saw this one recently, the spot clearly has a rich and ancient history to deserve such an imaginative name:

112021.JPG

Note the two signposts encouraging people to drive the wrong way around the roundabout. :confused:

Is that Roundabout in Naas? Seems familiar.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Yep, that's the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Dont forget Crazy Corner in Mullingar Crazy Corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's not a place but if you go from Templemore to Templetouhy via the bog road there's a sign there that reads "River Ghoul" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Berty wrote: »
    Note the two signposts encouraging people to drive the wrong way around the roundabout. :confused:

Yep. And no county counciler or garda ever thought of removing them, nor did the people that stuck'em up or get them made think about, what they actually are doing. So much for traffic safety and consistancy.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

When I did the year in Oz,I used to pass this sign in Melbourne every day.Had to take a photo eventually

n523449120_1139748_1858.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

When I did the year in Oz,I used to pass this sign in Melbourne every day.Had to take a photo eventually

n523449120_1139748_1858.jpg

Holy Distractionary Roadsigns, Batman!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

gerdee wrote: »
    Is there not a petrol station in Muff of the "Top" company?

If i recall correctly sign reads:
    Muff
    Lowest Sterling Prices

Correct me if I'm wrong

Not sure if it's still there, but last year I ended up with a "Top Muff" keyring. Have a photo of it somewhere..................

EDIT - Found it:
    image258t.jpg

I do not have a picture but you "Dubs" can spot it way down the M50 a little further south of Sandyford. It is a sign in the Northbound lane telling you what exits are off the M50.

It says M1 Belfast(North), M6 Galway(West) & N8 Cork(South).

There's no exit for Cork until you get to Portlaoise, it's the N7 FFS! :rolleyes:

aaaahhhhh dubs! :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

JHMEG wrote: »
    You pass here, in Bavaria, on your way to the one above

317354260_3w2ma-S.jpg

or take a wrong turn and you end up here, also in Germany

CEN_TownOfWank_01_3_860653a.jpg

Actually, as I once read, it's not far from Petting to Fuсking.... only around 40km!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Near Sheffield airport, there is a road called Letsby Avenue. There is a police facility there. map link

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Near Sheffield airport, there is a road called Letsby Avenue. There is a police facility there. map link

Ahhhhh took me a while to get it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

bonzodog2 wrote: »

I just got that. Class!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

At the juction of the R108 and R122 (back of Dublin Airport) there is a place called Pass if you can.
    Or is that an instruction?:confused:
    And on the R149 between Clonee and Leixlip there is a place called Passifyoucan!:confused::confused:

Genealogy Forum Mod