Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo: Pure ****

• 25-04-2010 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

I had the misfortune to sit down to watch the league final today hoping for a good game between Cork and Mayo. From the get go it was clear I was to be disappointed, it was men against boys. The Mayo football team should be ashamed of themselves, bringing people all the way up from Mayo to pay good money into watch that farce. Their performance was littered with elementary mistakes that any under 12 team would get a bollickin for. The decision making was appalling, for example going goals only 15 minutes in and a couple of points down. They lost about 70% of their own kick outs and their tackling was fcuking pathetic. The only balls in the Mayo camp have oNeills wrote on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Ah now thats a bit harsh, some Mayo people live in Dublin and wouldn't have to travel :pac:

Seriously though, they didn't seem to be at the races. Aidan O Shea seemed to do all right i thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

lb1 wrote: »
    I had the misfortune to sit down to watch the league final today hoping for a good game between Cork and Mayo. From the get go it was clear I was to be disappointed, it was men against boys. The Mayo football team should be ashamed of themselves, bringing people all the way up from Mayo to pay good money into watch that farce. Their performance was littered with elementary mistakes that any under 12 team would get a bollickin for. The decision making was appalling, for example going goals only 15 minutes in and a couple of points down. They lost about 70% of their own kick outs and their tackling was fcuking pathetic. The only balls in the Mayo camp have oNeills wrote on them.

Yea your dead right...but take that back, only mayo folk are allowed to put down our team like that :pac:

Ah yea depressing stuff, same old mayo, they fill you with confidence and optimism only to sent you crashing down to earth with another hammering in croker!!

At least this time it wasn't the all-ireland final, thank god for small mercy's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

And there was me thinking it was only against Green and Gold jersies Mayo bottled it against in Croker:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Mayo God help us.

Jeez that was another poor performance from Mayo in a Croke Park final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Ah now thats a bit harsh, some Mayo people live in Dublin and wouldn't have to travel :pac:

Seriously though, they didn't seem to be at the races. Aidan O Shea seemed to do all right i thought

He was up against a 22 year old rookie playing his second or third inter-county game, and yet he did very little of any worth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Orizio wrote: »
    He was up against a 22 year old rookie playing his second or third inter-county game, and yet he did very little of any worth.
    Aiden O'Shea is getting so slow that he is almost static.

I am afraid that if he is to become a saviour for mayo he better get some wheels and an engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

They were poor but if they took one of those goal chances in the first half it may have added something to their confidence. While Mayo were poor (and they were), Cork looked like they barely shifted gear and easily took points when they were presented with them, their freekicking was fantastic.

Cork are a very good team, let's not forget Mayo's away wins this year though. We're not going to win the All-Ireland but at least we have a young team that has better prospects than most around the country.

Fair enough, thought he did an ok job at imposing himself the rare times the ball headed for him. Realistically thats all he can do, he isnt going to burning anybody for pace.

Didn't see the first half though.

Fair dues to cork, though it didn't seem like they were pushing it really, i presume they could have stepped it up though.

They must have one of the top panels in the country though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I think Cork could have gone through the gears if they had to, but were content on winning without putting that much effort in. Mayo fans were rightly optimistic beforehand - top of the league remember. All that went out the window today. Optimism should be replaced with realism. They can still have a good year however, with an AI QF being as far as they will go I think. Cork should be there - again - at the business end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Mayo beaten out the gate in Croke Park again - happy days!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think Cork could have gone through the gears if they had to, but were content on winning without putting that much effort in. Mayo fans were rightly optimistic beforehand - top of the league remember. All that went out the window today. Optimism should be replaced with realism. They can still have a good year however, with an AI QF being as far as they will go I think. Cork should be there - again - at the business end.

To be honest, not all Mayo fans were as optimistic as you say. I said to a few people that we'd lose by 8-10 points, and its possibly this attitude that some of the players have as well.
    Again, its the Croaking in Croker factor thats steeped into the game today. Mayo have put in far better performances than that this season. Simple things they couldnt get right. Forwards overplaying the ball, dropping shots short etc......Why cant the Mayo forwards learn to shoot on sight (when the opportunity arises).........
    I was extremely disappointed about the way the game went.
    I've never liked O Mahony or the way he was appointed and to be honest I dont think he has what it takes to make us compete at the highest level but thats a different thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

They seemed like a team playing their first match of the year together, surely they had a good campaign to get to this stage? I was baffled

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

They seemed like a team playing their first match of the year together, surely they had a good campaign to get to this stage? I was baffled

Mayo football ( and sport in general ) has a habit of doing this!:)

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Mayo football ( and sport in general ) has a habit of doing this!:)

I knew it would happen, i think that its a mental block with mayo...when they are playing in croke park (especially in a final) as soon as the 1st thing goes wrong the heads go down, its almost like the players think "here we go again" and just lie down.

Its a weakness that mayo have and to be honest i don't know can they get over it any time soon.

I knew it would happen, i think that its a mental block with mayo...when they are playing in croke park (especially in a final) as soon as the 1st thing goes wrong the heads go down, its almost like the players think "here we go again" and just lie down.

Its a weakness that mayo have and to be honest i don't know can they get over it any time soon.

They looked like a team that can't deal with speed and strength in the wide spaces of Croker - the center back in particular, getting shown up like that by Donnacha O'Connor isn't a good sign.

If you look at their record throughout the years in finals its astonishing.
    They continuously have been good enough to get there but besides the recent u21 win they have always come up short...the law of averages mean you would expect them to win an awful lot more. Its like a disease at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Its Mayo in Croke Park.

You were surprised by what happened OP? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

a bad physical strength and conditioning trainer or a case of genetics?

i ask because after the graceful Kerry players in 2002 were easily knoked off the ball by Armagh players they brought in a renowned strength coach, who envisaged Kerry being able to compete with Armagh physicially in the space of two-three years. so what transpired was you had a Kerry team, who while being associated with skill, now had a hard to edge to them which meant they could give as good as they got against teams who were noted for their physicality.
    so i think if Mayo's lack of physical strength in comparison to other top teams can be resolved and they start being more ruthless in games they have a chance of going further than ALL-Ireland quarter-finals. I believe they have the skill to compete but it's definitely their lack of physical strength and fear of the big stage that are letting them down time and time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Oh the green and red of Mayo,
    I can see it still,
    There speechless in the Hogan,
    They’re crying on the Hill.
    Oh they’ve lost another final,
    And do we give a damn,
    Oh the lovely Mayo eejits,
    They will never win the Sam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭beartooth

Aidan is only 19 and in his second season so i don't see your point here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭phunkymonk

As a mayo man,its tough to watch the kind of performance they put in yesterday..we were always underdogs going into it but as a fan you are always hoping they might put in some kind of performance to merit a pat on the back for trying but jesus christ the mistakes they were making,ive seen better junior teams full of auld men hammered the night before the game able to get the basics right game in game out..

also, the atmosphere was dead compared to the great game on show before hand...and part of that comes down to the fans attitude including myself.. ie we've done well to get this far but dont expect miracles when they reach croker..

Aidan o shea should be spendin more time out on the pitches increasing his sharpness than in the gym - he has great potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

phunkymonk wrote: »
    As a mayo man,its tough to watch the kind of performance they put in yesterday..we were always underdogs going into it but as a fan you are always hoping they might put in some kind of performance to merit a pat on the back for trying but jesus christ the mistakes they were making,ive seen better junior teams full of auld men hammered the night before the game able to get the basics right game in game out..

also, the atmosphere was dead compared to the great game on show before hand...and part of that comes down to the fans attitude including myself.. ie we've done well to get this far but dont expect miracles when they reach croker..

Aidan o shea should be spendin more time out on the pitches increasing his sharpness than in the gym - he has great potential.

Aidan O'Shea indeed has great potential, but he loses confidence too easily... a few mistakes and the head goes down. Unlucky not to score a goal yesterday. One to watch.

A very depressing affair yesterday, between the lack of atmosphere and the poor football on display.

At this stage I have nearly lost count of the amount of times I've walked out of Croker early. It started out as looking like a very promising year for Mayo but it's hard to see them getting very far now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

phunkymonk wrote: »

And less time out on the beer too. He's a mess. It's a shame though because he's ridiculously talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I didn't see the final, but I got a text to let me know that I won $350 US in a pool at our local.

Well done lads !!

beartooth wrote: »
    Aidan is only 19 and in his second season so i don't see your point here

He is a lot more experienced then Jamie O'Sullivan (nevermind far stronger and more talented), so the point is very clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭manster

Don't see your point either. A 19 year old versus a 22 year old. Jesus he's one year out of minors and you're talking about experience. Get off your high horse.

manster wrote: »
    Don't see your point either. A 19 year old versus a 22 year old. Jesus he's one year out of minors and you're talking about experience.

Well re-read my posts, and then if you still don't get it, go for some classes to improve your basic comprehension skills.
    Get off your high horse.

Aidan O'Shea indeed has great potential, but he loses confidence too easily... a few mistakes and the head goes down. Unlucky not to score a goal yesterday. One to watch.

In fairness he is not the only Mayo player with that temperament once they get inside the gates of Croker. I really think so much of it is psychological at this stage. Theres no other excuse for it.
    He is young and relatively inexperienced at this level so I wouldnt knock him as he was one of our better performers on the day. Theres more than him that didnt stand up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭TheWestsAwake

lb1 wrote: »

Thank God for the Dubs they make their shame only a Dublin Bus ride away

2009 Dublin 1-07 Kerry 1-23
    2008 Dublin 1-08 Tyrone 3-14

To the Dub above all I say to you is

whin297l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

No offence to Mayo but that game wasn't worth much to Cork either. I said it was a big mistake to let Mayo beat them in the final league game. Counihan should have out out his strongest team and bust a gut to knocked them out and play the Dubs in the final.
    Even if Dublin had performed as poorly as Mayo did yesterday (which I doubt) there would have been a bigger crowd there and it would have benefitted the newer players like Aidan Walsh, Ciaran Sheehan and Jamie O Sullivan to play in an atmosphere like that. More people from Cork would have gone too (I was there myself before you ask;atmosphere was zero).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭TheWestsAwake

lukin wrote: »
    Even if Dublin had performed as poorly as Mayo did yesterday (which I doubt) QUOTE]

Seriously does the rest of the country not get RTE or visit Croke Park on big Championship football days when Dublin have to play non-Leinster opposition. :mad:

Thank God for the Dubs they make their shame only a Dublin Bus ride away

2009 Dublin 1-07 Kerry 1-23
    2008 Dublin 1-08 Tyrone 3-14

To the Dub above all I say to you is

whin297l.jpg
    lukin wrote: »
    Even if Dublin had performed as poorly as Mayo did yesterday (which I doubt) QUOTE]

Seriously does the rest of the country not get RTE or visit Croke Park on big Championship football days when Dublin have to play non-Leinster opposition. :mad:

Jesus mate. We are not getting a dig in when we say Mayo played badly yesterday, you can't seem to take any criticism your team.

They were pretty dire, by the standards they set for themselves in the league, not compare to Dublin or whoever else anybody mentions. No need to go on the attack when somebody mentions this.

Any comments on the game? Its not like ye are out, the championship is a different kettle of fish, and ye always have one big game in ye, having taken out tyrone (which we haven't yet) and dublin in big games in the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

TheWestsAwake, bringing up the same old Dublin arguments helps nobody (least of all yourself), and that's a road I'm not letting this thread go down. This is about the performance of the Mayo footballers and nobody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

missed the game yesterday but the impression i get of mayo footballers is they think they are something because they are inter county footballers.like conor mortimor there last year against us comes on flash boots flash hair do and he was rubbish.probably meaths best player that day actually :p its all in the head with them they have the skills and the fitness but the heads aint right.

rpurfield wrote: »
    missed the game yesterday but the impression i get of mayo footballers is they think they are something because they are inter county footballers.like conor mortimor there last year against us comes on flash boots flash hair do and he was rubbish.probably meaths best player that day actually :p its all in the head with them they have the skills and the fitness but the heads aint right.

Id agree with the gist of that.
    There are defo some mental/motivational issues, specifically when we get to Croker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

andyman wrote: »
    And less time out on the beer too. He's a mess. It's a shame though because he's ridiculously talented.

Surely a bit harsh? or is there antics behind the scenes that suggest that he's going off the rails a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

rpurfield wrote: »

I think thats pretty much bang on to be honest. I was there too. Worst athmosphere i have seen in croker in years (the junior club final was better and Mayo lost that too by the way)

I feel sorry for the younger lads. Most teams have enough pressure on their shoulders when they play in croker but these lads have 60 years of added pressure on top of that.

One thing we have had to get used to over here is taking critisism but i refuse to listen to it from fellow under-achievers (Dublin and Galway in particular)

I really cant put my finger on what has happened AGAIN. If the Mayo lads have any bottle/heart at all they will go out and show Sligo and hopefully Galway a thing or 2 in a few weeks. Dont forget we beat Tyrone, Kerry and Galway twice already this year (I didnt mention Cork for obvious reasons) and only lost to Dublin by a couple of points.

As for O Shea, the jury is out. There is no doubt he is a talent but he has absolutely no pace and he doesnt release the ball quickly enough.

I think Martin McHugh had a point when he compared Mayo to Donegal...."They have plenty of football talent but are simply not ruthless enough mand wont achieve until they learn to be ruthless"

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

andyman wrote: »

With a comment like its obvious pub talk :rolleyes:

Get an understanding of the amount of training and football that this lad has gone through in the last 2 years and believe it or not you might understand why he looks wrecked. He has combined schools/college, minor/u21/senior and club minor/u21/senior in the last 2 years.
    Add in the training with that and you are training or playing 7 times + per week.

Is it any wonder his club are in loggerheads with Mayo U21 and Senior team over his use in every single game they play. Since he has come through onto the senior panel at 18 years of age he hasn't missed a game.

Yes he did look tired Sunday but claiming he is out on the beer is a statement which shouldn't be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

busbybhoy wrote: »

I feel sorry for the younger lads. Most teams have enough pressure on their shoulders when they play in croker but these lads have 60 years of added pressure on top of that.

I feel bad for them because it seems Mayo have no leaders on their team - no talisman to look to when the chips are down which is what you need to see as a young fella to take inspiration from imo.

I really cant put my finger on what has happened AGAIN. If the Mayo lads have any bottle/heart at all they will go out and show Sligo and hopefully Galway a thing or 2 in a few weeks. Dont forget we beat Tyrone, Kerry and Galway twice already this year (I didnt mention Cork for obvious reasons) and only lost to Dublin by a couple of points.

Beating teams of that calibre in the league counts for sfa imo - being a Kerry man, it's easy to see that we use the league as a training ground for breeding in younger fellas like Barry John Walsh, Barry John Keane, David Moran over the past few years. Again this year the Kerry team didn't even look that fit - they're saving themselves for the tough games ahead like they did last season.

Don't get me wrong I'd love to see Mayo do well in Croker (not against the Kingdom obviously :P) but blowing Sligo or Galway out of the water in Connaught counts for nothing if they're going to head into croke park having played their best football, slump before Dublin, Tyrone, Cork etc. and get hammered out the gate.

PaulieC wrote: »
    I feel bad for them because it seems Mayo have no leaders on their team - no talisman to look to when the chips are down which is what you need to see as a young fella to take inspiration from imo.

Beating teams of that calibre in the league counts for sfa imo - being a Kerry man, it's easy to see that we use the league as a training ground for breeding in younger fellas like Barry John Walsh, Barry John Keane, David Moran over the past few years. Again this year the Kerry team didn't even look that fit - they're saving themselves for the tough games ahead like they did last season.

Don't get me wrong I'd love to see Mayo do well in Croker (not against the Kingdom obviously :P) but blowing Sligo or Galway out of the water in Connaught counts for nothing if they're going to head into croke park having played their best football, slump before Dublin, Tyrone, Cork etc. and get hammered out the gate.

Now THATS constructive critisism and thats always welcome :D

And Paulie...beating Sligo or Galway is realistically the only joy that this team is capable of giving us im afraid....and it gives us the rare oppurtunity to say to the Galway fans...."If we are so bad how bad are ye!" :D

yop wrote: »
    With a comment like its obvious pub talk :rolleyes:

Get an understanding of the amount of training and football that this lad has gone through in the last 2 years and believe it or not you might understand why he looks wrecked. He has combined schools/college, minor/u21/senior and club minor/u21/senior in the last 2 years.
    Add in the training with that and you are training or playing 7 times + per week.

Is it any wonder his club are in loggerheads with Mayo U21 and Senior team over his use in every single game they play. Since he has come through onto the senior panel at 18 years of age he hasn't missed a game.

Yes he did look tired Sunday but claiming he is out on the beer is a statement which shouldn't be made.

Well said! The guy is a kid....There is way too much expectation about O Shea...I just hope we havent ruined him already! It says a lot about the expectations of Mayo fans when we pin all our hopes on a teenager because he has a bit of Kerry blood in him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i hope some of the lads that appear as neutrals here are not mayo lads in disguise cos if they are, it once again shows up how mayo fans are amongest the worst in the country. no county sets themselves up for a bigger fall, i mean nobody. happens every year, the amount of unrealistic expectations is unbelieveable.

they lost this game, big swinging mickey, its the league final. nobody will remember the league in september. Mayo fans should be happy to have got to the final and they will learn from this more than a win and its another competitive game.

i hope some of the lads that appear as neutrals here are not mayo lads in disguise cos if they are, it once again shows up how mayo fans are amongest the worst in the country. no county sets themselves up for a bigger fall, i mean nobody. happens every year, the amount of unrealistic expectations is unbelieveable.

they lost this game, big swinging mickey, its the league final. nobody will remember the league in september. Mayo fans should be happy to have got to the final and they will learn from this more than a win and its another competitive game.

Are we not allowed to hope? Obviously when we get to a final (which we do a lot) it is a 2 horse race. Why wouldnt we be optimistic? Isnt that what being a fan is about? Do Dublin fans not hope and expect to be there in the closing stages of every tournament they play in?

As i said in my previous post i will gladly take critisism from fans of successful teams but im afraid that doesnt include Dublin

Thats a tad unfair.
    Mayo have managed over the years to get into a good number of finals. And while they've gotten the jocks knocked off them, they've generally performed very/exceptionally well to beat the teams to get to those finals. We had major chances against Meath for example to win those games but ultimately we didnt close them off. Its gone psychological with the players and even some of the fans. I dont think that many of the fans are THAT unrealistic about Mayo. Ultimately a decent team till Croker opens its doors, in league and championship, but once we're in Croker the odds of us winning against the teams we need to win against are substantially lessened.
    To be honest they would have learned a lot more from Sunday had the won. Would have done the mental side of their game no end of good. Getting defeated in that manner was just another knock in the long line of knocks the Mayo players/fans have had, whether you expected it to happen or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

zn216s.jpg

zn216s.jpg

No doubt.
    How to resolve the issue is the crux of the matter. JOM doesnt seem to have the answer.

kippy wrote: »
    No doubt.
    How to resolve the issue is the crux of the matter. JOM doesnt seem to have the answer.

And who does?? he can only prepare them. Its up to the players for the 70 mins. As a previous poster said...Its leaders on the pitch that Mayo lack

I wasnt going to say this but its a perfect example of where the lads heads were on Sunday.....At one stage i looked over towards the scoreboard and a plane was taking off from Dublin airport. When i looked back at the pitch i noticed C Mortimer was also looking up at the plane taking off....Enough said!

And who does?? he can only prepare them. Its up to the players for the 70 mins. As a previous poster said...Its leaders on the pitch that Mayo lack

I wasnt going to say this but its a perfect example of where the lads heads were on Sunday.....At one stage i looked over towards the scoreboard and a plane was taking off from Dublin airport. When i looked back at the pitch i noticed C Mortimer was also looking up at the plane taking off....Enough said!

OBVIOUSLY the volcanic ash caused this miserable performance. OBVIOUSLY :D

He picks the players and is responsible for some level of motivation.

Theres plenty leaders on the pitch for the other 90% of games they win in a season where they get to a final.

Theres psychological issues there, either JOM drops those guys effected by it or sorts it out somehow.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

OBVIOUSLY the volcanic ash caused this miserable performance. OBVIOUSLY :D

Brady called it NAMA last nite (Not Another Mayo Abolition)

Good graph that ;)