Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake Tan

• 24-04-2010 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Sinemo

I'm just wondering peoples view on this (mainly to solve my own dilemma!)

I know the smell of it is quite...eh horrible to the say the least :P but I'm still intrigued to try it.

I'm quite pale skinned -or naturally irish some might say! And am afraid of looking like something out of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory ;)

So basically, what has people's expreince of fake tan been like? (both professionally done and privately done)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Can't stand fake tan. Professional or otherwise. It's not enhancing your own features, it's just making your skin a different colour... why bother?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I'm not a fan of it. I'm pale so it looked ridiculous when I did do it the few times in my teens. The smell is horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Can't be arsed. Anyway I look silly with it on, I'm naturally very pale, blonde hair, blue eyed etc.... So oh well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭miss5

Never used it, honestly I have rarely seen it look well on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Handful of times used it and one of them was three nights ago.
    Was wearing an incredible dress to a ball. Just needed shoulders and arms done. Used an instant one for legs (a beautician recommended). No idea of name of it. It was brilliant. Less than five mins to put on. And shower off following morning. It looked really natural and smooth. Some very light shades of it. Although probably not ideal if your going to get wet:-):-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

never had it done professionally, but when i was younger i used the instant ones a few times on nights out/grad -i do find they made me feel slimmer healthier lookin'.
    i do think those moisturizers-with-tan are brilliant, and use those a couple times a week. they wouldnt cause anyone to think i was 'tan' but they take the snow white glare off me without smelly manky, or being streaky, or feeling fake on me, and look really natural.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm pale and rarely use it, but if I do, it would just be a hint to give a bit of a "sun-kissed glow" rather than a tan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I wouldn't go for it myself, I did try it once but it was far too annoying to keep doing. Now I have people trying to pressure me over it and to be honest they reminded me of some of the Cindy Sherman photos of American women. (which is a comic representation of herself as other women)

I often see women over do it with fake tan, the latest in memory I lost any respect for since she let out a not so nice comment on me not tanning it up, she didn't like it when I then called her an oompa lumpa (she was a deep orange) Things like this make me want to be fake tanned even less. I see it as people doing it to fit in with the crowd they don't want to be the pale one 'in' the group because in the group it is just not acceptable. (at least that's how it is with people around me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

We went to a wedding one time and the normally pale, blonde, blue eyed bride who I had always thought was absolutely beautiful had really gone overboard on the fake tan. She looked like that medium brown leather that's so popular in handbags lately. It was AWFUL - and I felt even worse for thinking that the bride looked terrible on her wedding day!

I've never used fake tan. I'm pretty inept so I don't really try things that I don't know how to do, so that's part of it, but I really just don't see the point. I'm very pale. It'd look incredibly fake on me.

I have a friend that it looks pretty good on, in small amounts of course. But she gets a tan very easily if she stays in the sun and it looks brilliant - but she'd rather not damage her skin so I think in that case a bit of fake tan to keep her from giving herself skin cancer/wrinkles is alright!

Edit: Also, one time when I was on the bus it stopped an let on some girls at GMIT... the guys behind me started singing ever so softly: "oompa loompa doopedy doo.." and I let out this HUGE snort (I HAD A COLD!) and it was very embarassing :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 spacebunny2k

I use fake tan quite regularly and find it brilliant! Clothes look better on and it makes me feel slimmer and more confident!

I use johnsons tinted moisturiser during the summer - it gives a subtle tan

If im going out in a rush/ dont want any tan the following day i use rimmel sunshimmer for fair skin - i find this really good and it washes off easily....but dont wear it if u think your going to get wet (and in Ireland that's always a possibility!!)

My favorite fake tan is Loreal Sublime - but only the one for fair skin and it's the gel one - definately DO NOT use their spray....its awful !!

Sally Henson is brill for legs too...it really does give an airbrushed effect...but i find it quite expensive for what you get!

The only problem I have with the wear off ones is that sometimes its hard to get your hands/feet right!

P.s - its always a good idea to put loads of moisturiser on and exfoliate well for a few days before putting the tan on! (but dont moisturise directly before putting the fake tan on)!!

But sure why dont u just put some fake tan on on a day that it doesnt really matter and see if you like it?!?

hope this helps!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭cant26

I always wear some form of fake tan when I go out on a night out. To be honest I would feel horrible if I didn't have it on.. Use the lancome one or Sally hansen which is so handy cos its instant and doesnt have the usual rotten smell of fake tan! It for your legs but i use it on my arms and back too! so do a lot of my friends.. It's usually priced between 14-18 euro but I have often seen it on offer in random pharmacies priced at 7euro which is brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭StinkySocs

I love wearing Fake Tan. I don't wear it very often, but if I have a big night or weekend coming up I love the glow it gives.

I use fake bake if i have a few days to prepare or rimmel sun shimmer for instant.
    I used Tantastic once that was pretty good and didn't smell.
    One of my mates uses Sally hanson for legs one and it looks great.

I've gotten it done professionaly a few times - for big things like weddings - but it really depends of the person doing it, as I would get it done in the same place and sometimes it would be brill but others a disaster!
    I'd get it done on lunch and come back to work and everyone would FOTFL the colour of me cos i'm super pale.
    But it's worth it in the pictures on FB the next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

im blonde and pale (& freckly!), i tried proper fake tan once, st.tropez for a ball in college, helped by my friend. we were so careful with it & i still felt horribly streaky and fake, i SCRUBBED myself in the shower before the ball, think i got the majority of it off.

i tried the moisturisers with tan in them, have tried the johnsons and the dove one (the lightest varieties) & no matter what i do or how careful i am it streaks on me :confused: i cant be THAT bad at it (at least i dont see how i can be) so i reckon im just too pale for it. besides, im happy enough to be pale most of the time. the only problem i have with it is paleness is not very forgiving, any sort of bump/bruise/blemish shows up very easily :(

its gotten to the stage now that fake tan is used to often that when my friend had a lovely natural tan on her legs she got comments like "omg you did your tan so well!" :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

jellie wrote: »
    its gotten to the stage now that fake tan is used to often that when my friend had a lovely natural tan on her legs she got comments like "omg you did your tan so well!" :pac:
    It's because we in Ireland can easily forget about the existence of natural sunlight! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I'm really really pale and amn't bothered about it.
    Got spray tan done twice for weddings as i was wearing a dress(which i NEVER do). Even at that,it wasn't a dark colour,i just got the glare of white off me :D

I think it suits some people,and looks ridiculous on others.
    But it's not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i never use fake tan

i think it looks ridiculous, it looks dirty and i just want to tell the women to go have a good shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

I'm really pale but I use it all the time. I'm never gonna tan otherwise! If it's your first time doing it, just use a light tan, one of those daily moisturiser ones will be good. It means if you make a mistake then it won't be obvious.

The tans that I use are very rarely streaky, I suppose I've been using it for about 8 years so I've got to grips with it. The one thing I'd say is be careful of your hands. I use gloves to apply the tan and then put a small amount on my hands to blend them in. You'll end up with brown palms if you don't look after them!

There's generally an anti-fake tan feeling here but it can look very nice if done properly so have a go and if you don't like it, don't do it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Sinemo

I would tend to agree with a lot of you, about not using fake tan (it being smelly and on occasion looking orange and/or streaky).

But I've got a function coming up and am afraid of looking like a ghost! (My hair is very dark brown and I've a black dress)

Thanks very much everyone I think I might try something extremely light just to take the look of death off me rather then going for a tan as such!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Doof!

I hate using the stuff! in any form! spray or moisturiser! It just makes me feel orange and icky! it irritates the crap outa me when I see girls go out with it all streaky or orange arms and pale hands!

My only problem though is finding foundations that match the rest of my pale body! usually have a slightly orangey face and neck compared to my white arms! still wouldnt use fake tan though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 galwaygirl88

I have to say I think ye haven't given enough credit to fake tan in these posts, yes its tricky and the last thing you want is the brown leather bag or oompa loompa look! But I find it adds so much, not only to apearance but to confidence (inmy opinion). It def makes you appear slimmer!
    So depending on the occasion, you need a fake tan to suit!
    Here's my advice:
    Gradual tan Moisturiser: High end: San Tropez everday or cheaper Dove summer glow for fair/light skin.
    Instant: You cant beat Sally Hansen, its come down to about €10 recently but beware-look out for it! its perfect for all over body, not just legs but should definitely be put on with a mitt. If you get caught in a rain shower (which realistically happens) it wont wash off -unlike sunshimmer.:o
    General Fake Tan for special occasions(as in where you actually put the time into puttin on tome the night before :D) Bronz Express liquid is Brilliant- you cant get better, beautiful glow, it is quite dark though so not for the tan virgins! The smell wen u put it on isnt great but wen u wash it the next day the smell goes. Its salon quality, around 20€ for a bottle but so worth it!;)
    That's my experience anyway! Hope it helps!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Doof! wrote: »
    I hate using the stuff! in any form! spray or moisturiser! It just makes me feel orange and icky! it irritates the crap outa me when I see girls go out with it all streaky or orange arms and pale hands!

My only problem though is finding foundations that match the rest of my pale body! usually have a slightly orangey face and neck compared to my white arms! still wouldnt use fake tan though!

MAC do really good pale foundations - and if they don't make one pale enough for you they sell a pure white one that you can mix in to get your desired shade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

You too, could look like this...

24359_1257247912568_1270713854_582912_2120112_n.jpg

Legs of Beyonce?! W.T.F? :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i hate fake tan with a passion,i was the only one not tanned up at my debs,it just seems like so much effort,not to mention the smell,the most i ever go is that very very light johnsons tan stuff and even then itd be quite rare,pale and interesting ftw!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I use it occasionally for nights out or big events and think it's great. I feel that I look better with a tan so lash on a bit the night before. I think that if it's applied sparingly and correctly it can look very well.

Personally I use St Tropez mousse, used Fake Bake mousse before and thought it wonderful but can never find it in the shops so use St Tropez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I wouldn't mind using it on my legs since they're so pale they're practically blue... but tan just doesn't seem to come up on my skin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm pale and rarely use it, but if I do, it would just be a hint to give a bit of a "sun-kissed glow" rather than a tan.

This is how I use it too. No-one would ever comment that I had a nice tan with it on. I am the only one who notices it, but I prefer the way it makes my skin look.

I hate the professionally done stuff, it's hideous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Getting really sick of fake tan threads where everyone comes on saying it's disgusting, orange, fake, hideous looking crap that they wouldn't be caught dead in etc etc.

The digusting, orange, fake, hideous looking girls who wear it haven't applied it properly. Yes they exist but they're only a portion of fake tan wearers. There are plenty of gradual tanners out there which give a beautiful healthy glow without the orange streaks or nasty smells. I know because I use them all the time. I don't tan and have pretty pale skin but when I put some on last year shortly after a holiday everyone thought that I had gotten the tan abroad.

There's a certain arrogance growing re the use of tan now that I find condescending and irritating. Why would you want to change your skin tone etc blah blah blah. Because some people can make a nice job of it and they're the ones you won't notice and give out about. anyone who wears mascara, lipstick, foundation, eye shadow, gloss or blush shouldn't look down their noses at people who tan.

There are plenty of people out there who do a horrendous job on their make up. It doesn't make me write off make up in general as caked, orange, fake looking slap because some people do it badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

I dont use fake tan because I cant. Im not very good at applying it.

Ive never gone to get a tan done - mainly cos I dunno what to expect. Im not a very girly girl, id probably end up stripping off, starkers and some poor girl will come back and be like "eh WTF??"
    So I dont go to beauty places.

I think fake tan is nice as long as its applied correctly and isn't streaky or orange in color.
    You really need to make sure it suits you before applying it all over.

I see girls who have fake tan on and its looks lovely and very natural.

Im not a very pale skinned person. If I get a bit of sun throughout the summer its kinda holds on me. So Id love to apply those tinted moisturisers but Id get fed up after a while.

So Im not against it as long as its applied nicely and doesnt make you like a tangerine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

i hate fake tan with a passion,i was the only one not tanned up at my debs,it just seems like so much effort,not to mention the smell,the most i ever go is that very very light johnsons tan stuff and even then itd be quite rare,pale and interesting ftw!
    Being pale now makes you unique in Ireland, wtf is going on?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

pookie82 wrote: »
    Getting really sick of fake tan threads where everyone comes on saying it's disgusting, orange, fake, hideous looking crap that they wouldn't be caught dead in etc etc.

The digusting, orange, fake, hideous looking girls who wear it haven't applied it properly. Yes they exist but they're only a portion of fake tan wearers. There are plenty of gradual tanners out there which give a beautiful healthy glow without the orange streaks or nasty smells. I know because I use them all the time. I don't tan and have pretty pale skin but when I put some on last year shortly after a holiday everyone thought that I had gotten the tan abroad.

There's a certain arrogance growing re the use of tan now that I find condescending and irritating. Why would you want to change your skin tone etc blah blah blah. Because some people can make a nice job of it and they're the ones you won't notice and give out about. anyone who wears mascara, lipstick, foundation, eye shadow, gloss or blush shouldn't look down their noses at people who tan.

There are plenty of people out there who do a horrendous job on their make up. It doesn't make me write off make up in general as caked, orange, fake looking slap because some people do it badly.
    But doesn't everyone think they can do a brilliant job even the one's who end up looking like oompa loompa.

Anyone who looks like an oompa loompa is going for a dramatic effect. You don't look like that otherwise. You need to go for a really orange colour which is totally at odds with your own skin tone and load it on. The girls in post no.23 here has not used a bit of Dove gradual tanner for a couple of nights. That looks like hardcore dark fake bake which has been plastered on in large amounts. I fail to see why people would think I had gotten a natural tan whilst away if I resembled one of those.

If you're exceptionally pale and ANY kind of fake tan looks orange on you then fair enough, I totally accept it's not for everyone. But some people CAN wear it and not look ridiculous.

People can't seem to accept that a lot of girls get it right. But they're the ones you DON'T notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭MissMotivated

pookie82 wrote: »
    Anyone who looks like an oompa loompa is going for a dramatic effect. You don't look like that otherwise. You need to go for a really orange colour which is totally at odds with your own skin tone and load it on. The girls in post no.23 here has not used a bit of Dove gradual tanner for a couple of nights. That looks like hardcore dark fake bake which has been plastered on in large amounts. I fail to see why people would think I had gotten a natural tan whilst away if I resembled one of those.

If you're exceptionally pale and ANY kind of fake tan looks orange on you then fair enough, I totally accept it's not for everyone. But some people CAN wear it and not look ridiculous.

People can't seem to accept that a lot of girls get it right. But they're the ones you DON'T notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Beffy

I would never go on a night out without fake tan on. I'm very pale and don't have flawless porcelain skin so not wearing tan isn't an option for me. I don't have the pale & interesting option.

I feel great when I have it on, it makes me feel slimmer and shows off muscles (leg/arm/stomach). I have had years of practice however so don't think I look like an oompa loompa.

Beffy wrote: »
    I would never go on a night out without fake tan on. I'm very pale and don't have flawless porcelain skin so not wearing tan isn't an option for me. I don't have the pale & interesting option.

I feel great when I have it on, it makes me feel slimmer and shows off muscles (leg/arm/stomach). I have had years of practice however so don't think I look like an oompa loompa.

Me too. It definitely makes you look slimmer and healthier and really compliments some clothes colours. I'd feel kind of naked without tan now, much like I would without make up.

People keep advocating the natural look nowadays and going on about how pale is beautiful...not in my case it's not. I have the typical Irish chicken skin which is deathly white with red blotches thrown in for good measure and a few horrible freckles. If i had natural peaches and cream flawless white skin then maybe I'd consider going without tan but there's no way I'd be caught dead at a wedding/night out au naturel. The Irish climate is not kind to my complexion. I'd feel half dressed if I went to a wedding or an occasion in a skin revealing dress with my blotchy pale skin on show. Not a good look for me.

Thank god for fake tan say I!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

SugarHigh wrote: »
    Being pale now makes you unique in Ireland, wtf is going on?:D

you wouldnt believe the amount of people that have come up to me and said that they like the whole pale thing i have going on!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Been reading a book about extraordinary uses for ordinary things. Anyway you can tan your skin with tea
    Give pale skin a tanned appearance without exposure to dangerous ultraviolet rays. Brew 2 cups of strong black tea, let it cool and and pour into a plastic spray bottle. Make sure your skin is clean and dry. Then spray the tan directly onto your skin and let it air-dry. Repeat as desired for a glowing tan.

Never tried it myself, but that book is like a bible for saving time and money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

The only problem I have with the wear off ones is that sometimes its hard to get your hands/feet right!

Me too! I love fake tan when it's applied correctly not a la oompa loompa (!) but this is a problem for me! Any solutions please??! I try blending it but doesn't always work! Btw Xen tan is very good!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Jessica-Rabbit

leahyl wrote: »
    Me too! I love fake tan when it's applied correctly not a la oompa loompa (!) but this is a problem for me! Any solutions please??! I try blending it but doesn't always work! Btw Xen tan is very good!:D
    Prep you skin a week in advance.. buff and exfoliate and then moisturise daily for a week. The night you apply the tan dont moisturise. but apply a tiny amount of moisturiser on your elbows knees and heels to avoid the tan staining these area's. Then once you have applied the tan wait for it to dry .put on loose baggy clothes and go to bed. next day have a shower and moisturise your skin daily to keep the colour. moisturiser prevents that patchy look also when your tan is fading.. and one final tip try a priduct that dosnt have any citrous in it like an organic product or simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Jessica-Rabbit

Prep you skin a week in advance.. buff and exfoliate and then moisturise daily for a week. The night you apply the tan dont moisturise. but apply a tiny amount of moisturiser on your elbows knees and heels to avoid the tan staining these area's. Then once you have applied the tan wait for it to dry .put on loose baggy clothes and go to bed. next day have a shower and moisturise your skin daily to keep the colour. moisturiser prevents that patchy look also when your tan is fading.. and one final tip try a priduct that dosnt have any citrous in it like an organic product or simple
    Oh and when your applying the tan dont go over the same area twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I like the gradual, glowing effect of tinted moisturisers. I'm very pale myself (and fair) so I prefer the hint of a tan rather than full-on "oh I'm just back from somewhere really tropical and far-flung!" dramatic look.

I've been sprayed a few times for big dos/events but to be completely honest I much prefer either going as a paler or with a week's accumulated Johnson's :D

It's probably because I'm lazy and I couldn't be bothered half the time. Saying that it can make you feel better, look a little healthier and it does cover blemishes.

Been reading a book about extraordinary uses for ordinary things. Anyway you can tan your skin with tea

Never tried it myself, but that book is like a bible for saving time and money!

I vaguely remember my mum talking about doing that! Don't know if she tried it for a laugh or did it on a regular basis. She has great stories about trying to fake a tan in the old days (though they did get actual summers here during which they could tan for real).

Apparently the stuff back then was absolute muck. She can't believe the quality of the stuff nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I think what bothers me about the whole fake tan thing is, "Oh, you'll look soooo much healthier with a bit of a tan". I dunno, I find that kind of insulting. I'm perfectly healthy, I just happen to have very white skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 sma2008

Discovered this last year when i was on holidays. Bought it again for this years holiday and have been continuing to use it since i came back a month ago...It looks like i still have a natural tan when in fact it's fake!!It's great as it acts like a moisturiser(much better than dove or johnston's in my opinion) and there's no smell.. have been applying it every 2 or 3 days after a shower and everyone is commenting on how well my tan is keeping up..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 summersunplease

Loreal Sublime gel all the way :) I always get positive comments when I wear it that it looks natural. It does depend on how well the tan is applied however. Never do your tan in a rush if you're using a gradual one like Sublime. Sally Hanson is also good I find for those nights that you haven't planned going out! I got tan done in a beauty salon a couple of times and I did like it but I'm happy in doing it myself at this stage :) I don't think there's anything wrong with wearing fake tan when it's applied properly!

Novella wrote: »
    I think what bothers me about the whole fake tan thing is, "Oh, you'll look soooo much healthier with a bit of a tan". I dunno, I find that kind of insulting. I'm perfectly healthy, I just happen to have very white skin.

My grandmother was trying to nag me for years into wearing it. Years, I swear. She finally stopped when I had enough and told her HER fake tan was very orange and didn't remotely suit her or look natural (ok I was a tad more tactful than that ;) ). And that no, I don't give a damn what "all the young people are doing". "But how can you go to a wedding in a dress with white legs" BECAUSE I AM WHITE AND I LOOK FINE.
    But yeah I got the "you'll look healthier" line too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭stellarartois

bluewolf wrote: »
    My grandmother was trying to nag me for years into wearing it. Years, I swear. She finally stopped when I had enough and told her HER fake tan was very orange and didn't remotely suit her or look natural (ok I was a tad more tactful than that ;) ). And that no, I don't give a damn what "all the young people are doing". "But how can you go to a wedding in a dress with white legs" BECAUSE I AM WHITE AND I LOOK FINE.
    But yeah I got the "you'll look healthier" line too

I guess that being pale is a common side effect of being sick. When I have flu or a hangover or am just generally unwell, I go deathly pale. In many it's an indication of ill health, hence people thinking that a tan gives you a "healthy" glow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I'm another fake tan deserter. Could not be bothered with it anymore, I quite like my pale Irish frecklyness. The only product I'd use would be Sally Hansen on my legs to even out the skin tone, cos I have a few scars from my tomboy years! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Omigod, do I ever hate fake tan! Hate it hate it hate it! Between the smell of the stuff and looking like an Oompa Loompa, I have no time for the stuff.
    My natural skin tone is "milk white with a yellow undertone" and I constantly get the "hey, are you sick or something" shtick because of it.
    I've had two sprae tans in my life- for the debs and my mother's wedding-and on both occasions, I looked like a purse.

I have no time for that shi'te. It's so stupid the way people go about lashing it on like no tomorrow- I often wonder if some of them are actually colorblind when it comes to the orange Tango'd look I see about town.

Since when did everyone stop embracing their natural complexion? Irish girls were once famous for being "fair skinned and freckly". Bet it's a bit of a shock to the tourists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

McChubbin wrote: »
    Omigod, do I ever hate fake tan! Hate it hate it hate it! Between the smell of the stuff and looking like an Oompa Loompa, I have no time for the stuff.
    My natural skin tone is "milk white with a yellow undertone" and I constantly get the "hey, are you sick or something" shtick because of it.
    I've had two sprae tans in my life- for the debs and my mother's wedding-and on both occasions, I looked like a purse.

I have no time for that shi'te. It's so stupid the way people go about lashing it on like no tomorrow- I often wonder if some of them are actually colorblind when it comes to the orange Tango'd look I see about town.

Since when did everyone stop embracing their natural complexion? Irish girls were once famous for being "fair skinned and freckly". Bet it's a bit of a shock to the tourists...

You've just reminded me on a different website they were talking about this, the website more people from different parts. They were saying that Irish people had great skin and looked better without a tan. Then some tanners came along and said the healthier and slimmer thing.

I don't get the slimmer thing, if you look big your still going to look big but with a tan, I don't think it actually makes you look that much skinnier.