Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the things you hate about the summertime in ireland?

• 23-04-2010 7:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭

I mean what gets on your nerves when you think about summers in Ireland
    something that might just drive you insane cause you hate it so much

For me is having horrible Euro dance music blasting at all times of the day and night from the neighbours:mad:

Sitting in work while everybody's out havin the laugh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

The sun.

I'm a rain person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Erkhan

You could try talking to your neighbor or failing that report them, don't let their loud music ruin your summer.

The only bad thing about the summer is when it rains otherwise I love it, I love June when we have 18 hours of daylight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭arsenallegend

Erkhan wrote: »
    You could try talking to your neighbor or failing that report them, don't let their loud music ruin your summer.

The only bad thing about the summer is when it rains otherwise I love it, I love June when we have 18 hours of daylight.

I always find it warmer in April and May then rather in June whioch like July has been awful the past few years.

I always have a word but two days later its the same again. I don't mind them listening to music but its the type of music they listen too i dislike.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Kiera wrote: »
    The rain.

That is a myth:

met.ie
    met.ie wrote:
    The general impression is that it rains quite a lot of the time in Ireland but in fact two out of three hourly observations will not report any measurable rainfall. The average number of wet days (days with more than 1mm of rain) ranges from about 150 days a year along the east and south-east coasts, to about 225 days a year in parts of the west.

Only 1mm of rain in a day is hardly monsoon season, and less than half the days of the year have any rain at all.

Also seen as i have hay fever the cutting and smell of fresh grass is a killer:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

pollen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

robinph wrote: »
    That is a myth:

met.ie

Only 1mm of rain in a day is hardly monsoon season, and less than half the days of the year have any rain at all.
    So when they say "wettest summer on record" they're only winding us up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Semi-dressed knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Kids playing (usually screaming their heads off) on the green well past midnight, keeping me awake!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The tiny flying insects that pop out along country roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Mundy- July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭crow_eat_crow

The days getting shorter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,660 ✭✭✭veryangryman

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Mundy- July.

Take a positive pill matey

Nothing worse than wasps, bees and ants during summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I mean what gets on your nerves when you think about summers in Ireland

The utter lack of what could be readily quantified as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

scumbags walking around topless drinking cans of dutch gold in every green space in dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

RAIN! Every holiday I've had in Ireland over the past eight years, there's been at least three days out of seven that have been completely washed out. I don't know, maybe I've just been unlucky, maybe I pick the wrong weeks to go on holiday. At any rate, I'm in no hurry to go back to Ireland permanently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

When you get woken up at 6am by a large fly that sounds like jumbo jet and you go back to sleep hoping it was just part of your dream, only to be woken up again and again by the stupid fecker hitting into the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭melissavm

Wasps, bumblebees and midgets. And allergies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Knackers migrating on the dart to nicer areas wearing trackie bottoms, a cap, with their ben sherman shirt off and draped over their arm swilling away at cans of dutch, whilst listening to sh!te Euro Dance filth like scooter.

Travel in herds with their hands curiously shoved down the front of their trousers, cause trouble leave nothing but rubbish and cans in picturesque areas.

That and pesky wasps trying to sting me!

when there's no football on but thank god the world cup is on and will help with my fix of daily football:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Being stuck in work when its sunny and all my mates are in a beer garden somewhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

That is a myth:

met.ie

met.ie....good luck with that one.
    Kiera wrote: »
    So when they say "wettest summer on record" they're only winding us up?

Exactly!
    Caoimhín wrote: »
    Semi-dressed knackers.

As in the flowery shorts, no shirt & dutch golden kind?

Interesting comment, nice username matey.
    genericguy wrote: »
    scumbags walking around topless drinking cans of dutch gold in every green space in dublin.

Pathetic isnt it, although toe-rags DO love the sunshine.
    BigDuffman wrote: »
    Knackers migrating on the dart to nicer areas wearing trackie bottoms, a cap, with their ben sherman shirt off and draped over their arm swilling away at cans of dutch, whilst listening to sh!te Euro Dance filth like scooter.

Travel in herds with their hands curiously shoved down the front of their trousers, cause trouble leave nothing but rubbish and cans in picturesque areas.

That and pesky wasps trying to sting me!

You summed up the Irish summer perfectly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

why is it exactly that in the summer time suddenly irish women become more attractive??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Kids running into the road chasing footballs / kids in general

VW 1 wrote: »
    why is it exactly that in the summer time suddenly irish women become more attractive??

they wear less clothing and we get to see more flesh:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I like the summertime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

they wear less clothing and we get to see more flesh:)

...not necessarily a good thing :mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Also seen as i have hay fever the cutting and smell of fresh grass is a killer:(

The smell of freshly cut grass is brilliant. Always lets me know that summer is here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Quiet estates becoming noisy estates.... kids out till all hours, running around and for some reason shouting at the top of their voices??
    The sun then suddenly the PISSING RAIN...???
    Hangovers on sunny mornings... awful.
    The almost constant sound of lawn mowers...

Lots of things I do like but I hate the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Obese, pasty skinned women looking like they borrowed some clothes from their 11 year old daughther, subjecting everyone else to seeing their rolls of lard flapping about over their bulbous crotch region which is barely being contained within the tight pink lycra leggings they are wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Being at the beach for the one day you're off and dropping food in the sand or getting sand in your drink, and then having someone say "ah sure it's only sand".
    Yeah, only sand people having been walking on and dogs have been pissing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Dean09 wrote: »
    The smell of freshly cut grass is brilliant. Always lets me know that summer is here!!

Not if you have pollen allergy/hayfever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Fucking ice-cream van with the stupid fucking music. I'm going to be doing my masters thesis at home this summer and trying to write about δ13C and C/N ratios isn't that easy with that shite-hawk coming into the housing estate three or four times a day. Fucking summer, I fucking hate it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

1. Scumbags congregating in parks, beaches, boardwalks, median strips.. basically anywhere to drink cans of Dutch on a deck chair..
    2. Traffic jams on every road to every beach the minute a flek of sunshine comes through the clouds
    3. Ice Cream vans barrelling onto your road at 11PM with their sirens blearing
    4. The smell from the Liffey
    5. Hay fever
    6. Wasps
    7. Muffin tops, builders cracks and other visual treats* on display
    8. Can't get a seat in the beer garden

I'm sure there's more..

I'm generally a moany fcuker :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I hate not being there in summertime. I live abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Sweet Maryland

I actually love summertime in Ireland because you can go for long romantic walks in the evening and wear lovely summer clothes.
    And everybody is happy.

Nothing worse than wasps, bees and ants during summer

Nah, mate, they all help in the pollination process and various other advantageous activities. Wasps, bees, ants....all good guys.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I actually love summertime in Ireland because you can go for long romantic walks in the evening and wear lovely summer clothes.
    And everybody is happy.

Wrong thread tuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

TheZohan wrote: »
    I like the summertime.

whats not to like, i just hate being a hayfever sufferer.... :mad:

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sweet Maryland viewpost.gif
    And everybody is happy.

Wrong thread tuts

Sorry.
    I really hate when builders go around with their tops off and whistle at you.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sweet Maryland viewpost.gif
    And everybody is happy.

Wrong thread tuts

Sorry.
    I really hate when builders go around with their tops off and whistle at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Bag grease!!

Trying to walk around in the stinking heat with your clackers marinating in clear fluid and the crotch of your jocks damp and sticky, while your arse crack acts as a funnel to feed down the salty sweat from your back into the same grease trap.

That, and fcukers in those cargo shorts with the fcuking pockets on the side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Noopti wrote: »
    Obese, pasty skinned women looking like they borrowed some clothes from their 11 year old daughther, subjecting everyone else to seeing their rolls of lard flapping about over their bulbous crotch region which is barely being contained within the tight pink lycra leggings they are wearing.

ye the amount of spare tyres i've seen over the past 2 weeks is horrible

Bag grease!!

Trying to walk around in the stinking heat with your clackers marinating in clear fluid and the crotch of your jocks damp and sticky, while your arse crack acts as a funnel to feed down the salty sweat from your back into the same grease trap.

That, and fcukers in those cargo shorts with the fcuking pockets on the side...

HAHAHAHAHA!!! Effing legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Men walking around in speedos.
    Doesn't matter what sort of body they have, it looks ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

i love summer time in ireland, but saying that i always get out off dublin for the summer and get to go back down home which is lovely, for all ye give out about the bog it is the warmest place in ireland during the summer! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That is a myth:

met.ie

If it hadn't been raining so feckin much, they would have been outside having a proper look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

I hate having conversations with GAA nuts when I'm only passively interested in GAA, and can barely hold my own in a conversation.