Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glasgow Warriors v. Leinster (Firhill, 23/04/10, 8pm BST)

• 22-04-2010 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

The Leinster team to face the Glasgow Warriors in Friday night's Magners League clash in Firhill (KO: 8pm) has also been named...
    LEINSTER (team v Glasgow Warriors):

15: Ian Madigan
    14: Simon Keogh
    13: Eoin O’Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Michael Keating
    10: Paul O’Donohoe
    9: Chris Keane

1: Ronan McCormack
    2: Bernard Jackman CAPTAIN
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Trevor Hogan
    5: Ciaran Ruddock
    6: Rhys Ruddock
    7: Paul Ryan
    8: Stephen Keogh

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Jason Harris-Wright
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Mark Flanagan
    19: Dominic Ryan
    20: David Moore
    21: Kyle Tonetti / Brendan Macken
    22: Andrew Conway

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/4669.php

POD as outhalf? Eh what???

And why, oh why Chris Keane??? They must be very desperate indeed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

ALH-06 wrote: »
    POD as outhalf? Eh what???

He has played a lot of rugby at out half for Clontarf and a bit for Leinster A. And i think he played a good bit there at school as well.

Should be interesting to see how some of the young bucks get on. Especially looking forward to seeing how Keating and Madigan get on.

chupacabra wrote: »
    looking forward to seeing how Keating and Madigan get on.

Probably not very well considering the team has been cobbled together. Very quick turnaround from connacht and I suspect there will be an eye on the Heino cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

15 Bernardo Stortoni

14 Colin Shaw*
    13 Max Evans
    12 Graeme Morrison
    11 Hefin O'Hare

10 Dan Parks
    9 Chris Cusiter

1 Kevin Tkachuk
    2 Fergus Thomson
    3 Moray Low
    4 Tim Barker
    5 Alastair Kellock CAPTAIN
    6 Kelly Brown
    7 John Barclay
    8 Johnnie Beattie

Substitutes
    16 Dougie Hall
    17 Ed Kalman
    18 Dan Turner
    19 Calum Forrester
    20 Mark McMillan
    21 Duncan Weir**
    22 Rob Dewey

Strong Glasgow side, I can see a Glasgow BP win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

15 Bernardo Stortoni

14 Colin Shaw*
    13 Max Evans
    12 Graeme Morrison
    11 Hefin O'Hare

10 Dan Parks
    9 Chris Cusiter

1 Kevin Tkachuk
    2 Fergus Thomson
    3 Moray Low
    4 Tim Barker
    5 Alastair Kellock CAPTAIN
    6 Kelly Brown
    7 John Barclay
    8 Johnnie Beattie

Substitutes
    16 Dougie Hall
    17 Ed Kalman
    18 Dan Turner
    19 Calum Forrester
    20 Mark McMillan
    21 Duncan Weir**
    22 Rob Dewey

Strong Glasgow side, I can see a Glasgow BP win.

Glasgow should be ashamed of themselved if they don't stuff leinster. That's a very strong team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

leinster will get stuffed, dont know why they picked such a week team for glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

outwest wrote: »
    leinster will get stuffed, dont know why they picked such a week team for glasgow.

Because they targetted conn to give the a team a nice run in to the semi. Particularly with the long trip to glasgow by boat that was on the cards.
    That plan has kind of gone arseways, but they only need a few more points to finish first, and have a home game agsinst edinburgh to come.

Tbf i agree with it. That team should have beaten connacht, but conn were brilliant, and anyway the semi next week is more important than anything.

I'm very worrried about the backline, they all seem to be injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

5 match points for Glasgow me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Should be a wipeout - I wonder do they draw lots to see who goes on these suicidal outings? Last night was sad for Leinster but great to see Connacht coming on strong and hopefully it will give to powers that be in the IRFU something to think about.

Paddy Power Match Betting
    80 minutes play only
    Glasgow
    1/12
    Draw
    35/1
    Leinster
    11/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I'm going to stick my neck out and predict a Leinster win for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

I'm going to stick my neck out and predict a Leinster win for this one.

I'm there with you! Purely for the sake of it.

It'll be....interesting anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

He has played a lot of rugby at out half for Clontarf and a bit for Leinster A. And i think he played a good bit there at school as well.

Should be interesting to see how some of the young bucks get on. Especially looking forward to seeing how Keating and Madigan get on.

I didn't realise POD played outhalf at all... It will be very interesting to see how he gets on tonight, against a very solid and capable international halfback pairing. Madigan has a lot of talent but so far has failed to impress at this level - let's hope he shows us what he's capable of! But there are still question marks over his mental game... Keating is on the wing? Isn't he normally a 10, or am I confusing him with someone else?

How exactly are Ryan, Ruddock and co going to deal with that Glasgow backrow?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

He's never played outhalf for clontarf. Crazy decision to play him there, potential to ruin confidence.

I didn't realise POD played outhalf at all... It will be very interesting to see how he gets on tonight, against a very solid and capable international halfback pairing. Madigan has a lot of talent but so far has failed to impress at this level - let's hope he shows us what he's capable of! But there are still question marks over his mental game... Keating is on the wing? Isn't he normally a 10, or am I confusing him with someone else?

How exactly are Ryan, Ruddock and co going to deal with that Glasgow backrow?!!!

Keating's a wing or full back, class operator, great broken field runner, just glides past players, going to stick my biased clontarf neck out and suggest he's a far better player than David Kearney.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

bamboozle wrote: »
    He's never played outhalf for clontarf. Crazy decision to play him there, potential to ruin confidence.

Well he's definitely played there for Leinster A a number of times, so the management obviously think he has potential there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Should be a win for Glasgow and a play off place for them to boot. From a Munster perspective it's a pity Leinster didn't target this game instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 seanan37

bamboozle wrote: »

he has played out half for clontarf!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheTMO

I didn't realise POD played outhalf at all... It will be very interesting to see how he gets on tonight

Hes played lots of games at 10 for Clontarf and Leinster A.

Madigan has a lot of talent but so far has failed to impress at this level

Hes only played two senior games and he was excellent when he came on against Connacht.
    [But there are still question marks over his mental game...

? As someone who knows Madigan personally I really don't know where you pulled that one from as he is an extremely confident and relaxed person.

Keating is on the wing? Isn't he normally a 10, or am I confusing him with someone else?

You're confusing him with a promising young fly half called Ian McKinley who had a career threatening injury and may not be able to play again. Keating is a young winger who was the AIL's div 1 top try scorer last season (or was that the season before last?)

Ruddock has always impressed me when hes played and Ryan looks like he can do a job.

Off topic but its a shame Leinster have brought Jack McGrath as I reckon this will rule him out of St. Mary's AIL final on Saturday? I know Leinster is obviously above AIL level but today's game is going to be a mickey mouse game and it seems a tad unfair that St.Marys are forced to lose one of their most intergral members the day before a cup final.
    (Yeah, AIL fan here in case you didnt know)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

If O’Donohoe continues to improve, and proves he can play both 9 & 10, he is a priceless asset in a squad. Big test for him, but a versatile 9/10 is worth it's weight in gold for a bench place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

TheTMO wrote: »

You're confusing him with a promising young fly half called Ian McKinley who had a career threatening injury and may not be able to play again. Keating is a young winger who was the AIL's div 1 top try scorer last season (or was that the season before last?)

word on Leinsterfans last week that he is making great progress and is back with the leinster academy. Was an accidental eye injury, required surgery. All best to him.

seanan37 wrote: »
    he has played out half for clontarf!!

in the 3 season's he's been with clontarf firsts ,Ian Keatley, Peter O'Brien and Martin Dufficey have shared the 10 jersey, O'Donoghue has never played an AIL game at 10. maybe he's played some underage matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

im going glasgow by at least 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭magicface1

I wish ye all the best against Glasgow. Leinster will have to step it up majorily if they want to get something out of the game. Two games lost in a week would be very bad

Hes played lots of games at 10 for Clontarf and Leinster A.

Hes only played two senior games and he was excellent when he came on against Connacht.

? As someone who knows Madigan personally I really don't know where you pulled that one from as he is an extremely confident and relaxed person.

Ruddock has always impressed me when hes played and Ryan looks like he can do a job.

Off topic but its a shame Leinster have brought Jack McGrath as I reckon this will rule him out of St. Mary's AIL final on Saturday? I know Leinster is obviously above AIL level but today's game is going to be a mickey mouse game and it seems a tad unfair that St.Marys are forced to lose one of their most intergral members the day before a cup final.
    (Yeah, AIL fan here in case you didnt know)

Keating was top try scorer in the '08/'09 season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

(Yeah, AIL fan here in case you didnt know)[/QUOTE]

AIL Final is the 8th May so Jack will be back in the Mary's front row for the final.

It will be good exposure for the young guys to get the experience of Magners level but there is a feeling of lambs to the slaughter about this game. Bookies have it as a 16 point spread, I think Glasgow will win by a fair bit more. Their coach, Sean Lineen, wants a bonus point win out of it so they won't be holding back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Going for a few drinks after work and then up to Firhill for the game :D Will be the first Leinster match that I have been to since the HEC final last year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

magicface1 wrote: »
    I wish ye all the best against Glasgow. Leinster will have to step it up majorily if they want to get something out of the game. Two games lost in a week would be very bad

I'm assuming this is an attempted wind up. Off you go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

I was referring to his on-pitch mental strength, not his personality. Two very different things. I question Madigan's mental strength because in the two matches I remember seeing him in, he made some glaring errors under pressure. Not ideal for a fullback / kicker. Remember him versus Dragons last season? And I know it's harsh on the lad but I'll never be able to wipe that 'missed kick in front of the posts v Kilkenny' SCT incident...

I am indeed, that's the guy I was thinking of. How serious exactly is his injury?
    Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    If O’Donohoe continues to improve, and proves he can play both 9 & 10, he is a priceless asset in a squad. Big test for him, but a versatile 9/10 is worth it's weight in gold for a bench place.

If that's true he'll be something of an anomaly on these islands... Giteau, Pienaar, Michalak and O'Donoghue? Looking forward to seeing him play tonight, and really hope he gets on well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Is this on TV anywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

crisco10 wrote: »
    Is this on TV anywhere?

Setanta Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Matt Williams continues to be the best Rugby pundit on this country. I swear Setanta don't know how lucky they are to have him on.

Always enlightening to listening to his insight.

Another strether needed for a Leinster man. Paul Ryan this time. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

And we think we have it bad with bad refs, enter James Jones worlds most annoying blind ref.

Stev_o wrote: »
    And we think we have it bad with bad refs, enter James Jones worlds most annoying blind ref.

That reversed peno was incredibly generous/annoying (depending on your allegience!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

20 minutes gone and I think Leinster have been the better team.

EDIT: 23 minutes :(

Cormic wrote: »
    20 minutes gone and I think Leinster have been the better team.

Shame they missed the 2 kicks. Turning them over a lot. its good stuff actually.

Ah damn. Try glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Glasgow warming to the task a bit but Leinster stringing some good phases together. Good stuff.

They are keeping their heads up. Nice run of play up to the penalty.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,611 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Very impressive start from this team, not sure how long they can keep it up, but with a little better kicking would be ahead or just a point down. They've been well on top in all the areas that Francis said they wouldn't have a chance at!

He makes up for it with that one from inside his own half though. Great kick.

two cracking kicks in the last 3 mins

Madigan nails a kick from almost his own 10m line. sick.

7-6 to Glasgow.

crisco10 wrote: »
    Madigan nails a kick from almost his own 10m line. sick.

7-6 to Glasgow.

Great kick.

Cormic wrote: »
    Great kick.

Esp after fluffing the first 2 awfully.

• The young lads are doing well.

This isn't even as strong a team that got mauled by Dragons. Hope they can last the 80

What was the bin for?

• Very harsh Card imo.

Great hit by Ryan

• Cormic wrote: »
    What was the bin for?

not rolling away / killing the ball

Very harsh. Why does my wife talk to me when interesting things are happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Good play from the young lads. Bit of inexperience in there giving away penalties but overall quite good show, lets hope they can fight for a win

• chris85 wrote: »
    Good play from the young lads. Bit of inexperience in there giving away penalties but overall quite good show, lets hope they can fight for a win

I'd be delighted with a losing bonus point to be honest.

Lot of lads seriously commiting to the game, fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

the babies are doing well but i reckon the bigger size of the glasgow team will tell in the end.

I think Glasgow have figured out that leinster are defending very narrowly and in groups allowing glasgow loads of space and extra men out wide...i reckon they'll get the bonus point by the end of the game