Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who vioted for Fianna Fail in the last election and why??

• 21-04-2010 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭

As a democratic society we as the people are directly responsible for the worst government in the history of the state currently in power and they have no sign or inclination to call for a general election when it is fairly obvious to everyone that is what the people want.But who voted in Fianna Fail/Green Party and why??

When parties were canvassing did people put any thought into the performace of the previous government??At the time their pre election promise of 2,000 extra Gardai went unfulfilled, they promised to lessen class sizes which also went unfulfilled, they completed the Luas line 2 years later than schedule and at conservative figures €5.5 million overbudget at the very least. They promised a complete overhaul of the Health system which was described as a national emergency which is now even worse!!(Tallaght??). Also they promised to provide better infrastructure between major cities and towns in Ireland which also went unfulfilled!!They did however manage to increase TD pay, ministerial pensions. With all those massive (and probably more) failures why did we, as a nation, vote them back in???And my greatest fear that if there is a general election Fianna Fail will march back into power although i cant see greens getting 1 seat!But if Fianna Fail get back in power, incredible as it may seem, all we can ask is WHY??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

You'll fit in well in this forum, it seems...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

I voted FF-PDS in 2002 and 2007, in 2002 I voted for FF on the grounds that FG had moved to the left under Noonan plus the fact that Noonan was a complete joke of a leader. the worst FG ever.

In 2007 I voted FF-PDS once again as I felt that Kenny had d himself far too close to Labour plus the fact that I believed Kenny was even more incompetent than Bertie, Kenny had a disastous performance in the leaders debate, mind you Bertie was dreadful also but Kenny was a lot worse.

FG need to become a proper centre right political party and stop worrying about what Labour are thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I dont vote fianna failure, however if i did i would not answer this thread because I doubt you really care. Most politicians are voted for not because of what thy do on a national level but rather what they do on a local level..

Michael Lowry is proof of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I voted for fianna fail in the last election ,because I had finally given in to their tripe. I decided that no one else was putting anything forward that was worth changing for.

Also ,(I thought) fianna fail should know where they went wrong ,if things really went wrong:rolleyes:

For years before that I was slating fianna fail ,mcreevy ,ahern etc. But everyone laughed at me saying that I was a pessimist.

It's fianna fail's lies and corruption that brought me to believe that everyone was the same as them and wanted everything they brought. It's only now and because of places like boards.ie ,that ,I know that wasn't the case. There were people out there who believed what I believed.

Good riddance to them when their time comes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I voted Fianna Fail because I was the cheif executive of a bank and a part time developer. I could see from the internal audit at the bank that it was going to collapse so I needed Fianna Fail to get elected.

Well who else was going to take all those dodgy apartment development loans off my hands and make sure my pension of 750k a year + bonus was safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

You'll fit in well in this forum, it seems...

Awww.....the facts of true public opinion hurt ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭trapsagenius

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Awww.....the facts of true public opinion hurt ?

A bit:D.

Nah, it's just he clearly doesn't care about who voted for FF or why, he just wants to rant.

A bit:D.

Nah, it's just he clearly doesn't care about who voted for FF or why, he just wants to rant.

Rant or no rant, he's telling the truth, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

I don't blame the OP for asking. Everyone who gives out about the Govt. and FF etc. When you try to tease it out of them did they ever vote for FF in the last 3/4 elections - no one ever admits to it. Ireland is in chaos because the people voted for it time and time again despite all the scandals, cronyism and incompetence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I did.

I'd like to Publicly apologize for that here and now BTW. :(

As for the why? Just look to opposition benches. Eamonn Glib-more and Enda KennZzzzzzzz* hardly inspired me to vote for them, as they attempted to outbid FF in a Dutch auction for the voters. That and the fact that I failed to realize how much of a ponzi scheme most of our economy was built on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

SlabMurphy wrote: »
    I don't blame the OP for asking. Everyone who gives out about the Govt. and FF etc. When you try to tease it out of them did they ever vote for FF in the last 3/4 elections - no one ever admits to it. Ireland is in chaos because the people voted for it time and time again despite all the scandals, cronyism and incompetence.

I voted ff because I found kenny and rabitte to be useless and they never had any policy that wasn't simply opposite to ff. Lazy and childish. I'll never vote enda kenny in. He's terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

conorhal wrote: »
    I did.

Not living the 4 car, Bulgarian Bolthole, 6 figure salary dream you thought you were signing up for when you X'd that ballot slip?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

I voted Green, and I'll be voting Green again, for exactly the same reasons as last time.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Scofflaw wrote: »
    I voted Green, and I'll be voting Green again, for exactly the same reasons as last time.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Isn't this off-topic, or have the Greens been assimilated more than we realised ?

I gave the Greens a few preferences somewhere in there but never, ever again - they've proven that they're more interested in unaffordable Green taxes (and unaffordable Green minister salaries) than any actual meaningful reform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Because of John Gormleys unwaivering integrity? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

cordially,
    Scofflaw
    You might as well be voting FF as Green. The tail always follows the dog etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

Don't shoot the messenger. FF has delivered the country into an awful mess. The frustrating thing is the number of posters that say they won't vote in FG or labour because of their leaders. The purpose of government is to govern and we should vote in the people we believe will govern the country effectively. It was glaringly obvious as the nose on ones face that FF was/ is only interested in enriching those close to it with the interestes of Joe and Mary public a much lower priority.

What a lot of posters have said is that that is prefferable to anyone in the opposition. SO they believe that the opposition will do a worse job. How is that even possible? Have you had a look at the country lately?

Sticking with FF has got us here, we might like to think about the incredible responsibility we have to the children of this nation and how our squandering of our votes has severly dented the prospects of their nation. Its not feckin pop idol folks!

Because of John Gormleys unwaivering integrity? :)
    He looks like Gandhi next to Bertie.

talla10 wrote: »
    And my greatest fear that if there is a general election Fianna Fail will march back into power

If you watch the video for Radioheads 'Just' with the man lying on the ground. If you watch his lips carefully you'll see him telling the others 'after all this sh1t they've voted FF in again' at which point everyone gives up hope and just lies down. I seriously will just give up if this country makes the same mistake again. We do it to ourselves we do, and thats what really hurts.

Ddad wrote: »
    He looks like Gandhi next to Bertie.

He's not standing beside de Bertie. Bertie has a new job as a guest speaker columnist a.w.o.l TD.
    Gormless now lives on planet Bertie. He looks like a snivelling apologist and crutch for FF (and also like emperor palpatine)

Because of John Gormleys unwaivering integrity?

No, because the Green Party are the only Irish party with anything even vaguely approaching an environmentally conscious policy stance. I don't agree with all their views - I'm obviously more pro-European than the majority of Greens, and I don't give a hoot about things like hare coursing, fluoridation, GM foods, nuclear power and many other things that the Greens are most publicly associated with - but the other Irish parties all think of the environment as somewhere to park the car and throw litter out the windows into.
    SlabMurphy wrote: »
    You might as well be voting FF as Green. The tail always follows the dog etc

If we imagine for a moment that the Greens survive into the next Dáil, and that their support allows the formation of an FG-led coalition government, then we'll have exactly the same spurious comments about the Greens and Fine Gael. Coalition government means going into coalition with people whose policies are different from yours.

I vote Green in order to have Greens in the Dáil, and preferably in government, because they're the only Irish party with anything even vaguely approaching an environmentally conscious policy stance. I'm not really aware that there's any other considerations involved. Fine Gael would probably be marginally better than Fianna Fáil when it comes to environmental issues, but it's a very marginal marginally.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭katkin

I voted FF last election :o for two reasons: 1) we were heading into tough times and I thought they'd be better able to handle it then any opposition parties; 2) it's a family tradition. I've voted FF all my life, but never again, my eyes have truly been opened. Having said that I am dismayed at the lack of any credible alternative, Kenny and friends are just more of the same, "give us more CE scheme places" - same parish pump ****. Labour are a joke, Gilmore thinks the govt should reverse PS paycuts. ****ed we are. But I will vote for another party if only to ensure FF go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Raiser wrote: »
    Not living the 4 car, Bulgarian Bolthole, 6 figure salary dream you thought you were signing up for when you X'd that ballot slip?????

Well in fairness, I never did.
    I rent, as I couldn't afford a house during the boom (hopefully things might now change on that front), I don't drive and I work for a stingy company that's are, when it comes to pay and remuneration, about as generous as a pre-epiphany Scrooge.
    But, the country on the whole seemed to be on the upswing.
    I never thought FF were a particularly effective government. They were a bit like watching the slow kid play 'pin the tail on the donkey' when it came to the length of time and the amount money it cost to get anything done in this country, but at least the pin (eventually) went into the donkey’s ass and not into mine, as it might had it been in Gilmore's hand.
    Of course, now we all have a pin in the eye and a pain in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭danman

I voted for the FG candidate in the last GE for a number of reasons.

Firstly, he is young and seemed to be dynamic, he was coming from the senate.
    Secondly, FG promised to abolish stamp duty. I had family members that wanted to buy a house.
    Thirdly, for selfish reasons, I believed that they would follow through on their promise to lower PAYE from 20% to 18%.
    Fourth reason, I don't believe any government should be in power more than 1-2 terms.

I'm not a pensioner, so the policy of raising old age pension to €300 doesn't effect me, but it did for my parents.

I still stand by my last reason, the others were a mistake.
    I'll take a longer this time, before I decide whose policies I will consider.
    But, for me, I'm voting for someone who wants to represent me, they're not called local representives for nothing.
    I'm very dissappinted with the FG TD I voted for. Out of all the TD's and senators I've contacted on 2 seperate issues, his was the least helpful.

Like I said, I don't care if you call it parish pump politics, we are voting for individuals. If I decide that the FF candidate (who didn't get in) is better for my area, then they will get my vote.

Local Representitive

And thats how we get such eminent statesmen as Jackie and Mattie. Great for the locailty but what about the country?

danman wrote: »
    I voted for the FG candidate in the last GE for a number of reasons.

Firstly, he is young and seemed to be dynamic, he was coming from the senate.
    Secondly, FG promised to abolish stamp duty. I had family members that wanted to buy a house.
    Thirdly, for selfish reasons, I believed that they would follow through on their promise to lower PAYE from 20% to 18%.
    Fourth reason, I don't believe any government should be in power more than 1-2 terms.

I'm not a pensioner, so the policy of raising old age pension to €300 doesn't effect me, but it did for my parents.

I still stand by my last reason, the others were a mistake.
    I'll take a longer this time, before I decide whose policies I will consider.
    But, for me, I'm voting for someone who wants to represent me, they're not called local representives for nothing.
    I'm very dissappinted with the FG TD I voted for. Out of all the TD's and senators I've contacted on 2 seperate issues, his was the least helpful.

Like I said, I don't care if you call it parish pump politics, we are voting for individuals. If I decide that the FF candidate (who didn't get in) is better for my area, then they will get my vote.

Local Representitive

You are voting for a NATIONAL government! Take your local issues up with the county council

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Who vioted for Fianna Fail in the last election and why??

Not that im a fan of FF but tbh this is none of your business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Are we talking about Fianna Fáil or the Nazi's here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

darkman2 wrote: »
    Not that im a fan of FF but tbh this is none of your business.

What's the point of a Witch-hunt without the 'hunt' part?

- That just leaves you with a Witch and its not Halloween again until October....

You are voting for a NATIONAL government! Take your local issues up with the county council

Funny that, I always thought I was voting for someone to represent me in the Dail, our national parliment.
    Where did you hear any different?

I also vote for the candidate that I feel will represent my in Co Co elections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

No you are supposed to vote for the candidate who you think can do the most for you. Personally I think party politics should be banned. I think the whole concept of political parties is contrary to a republic. Every candidate should be individual.

k_mac wrote: »
    No you are supposed to vote for the candidate who you think can do the most for you. Personally I think party politics should be banned. I think the whole concept of political parties is contrary to a republic. Every candidate should be individual.

Do the most for you how? You vote them in to represent you on a national forum for national issues. And you should vote for a candidate based on their national policies, not simply whether they'll campaign for the local gaa pitch to be resurfaced.

So, if not to represent the people in their constituency, what do we have back bench and opposition TD's for?

I'm sorry if you don't think we should have any backbenchers or opposition. I'm quite happy having people that I can contact, that represent me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

conorhal wrote: »
    I did.

As for the why? Just look to opposition benches. Eamonn Glib-more and Enda KennZzzzzzzz* hardly inspired me to vote for them, as they attempted to outbid FF in a Dutch auction for the voters. That and the fact that I failed to realize how much of a ponzi scheme most of our economy was built on.

Eamon Gilmore was not party leader at the last election. Pat Rabbite tied the Labour party to FG and the joint programme for government was as bad as FF's.

Currently Labour is going back to its roots of being a centre-left party, in every sense of the world. Nothing too rash, we are not Joe Higgins and we will not shake the economy. What we do propose is stimulus to get people back to work. The more people in work, the greater the tax take, the lower the social welfare burden.

Giving over 70 billion to the banks was not the way to go. AIB and BoI are systemic banks to Ireland that should never be allowed fall. But Anglo-Irish should have been wound down or allowed hit the wall. This is where Labour differs to every party in the state in being the only ones to oppose the bank guarantee.

What I will say is Labour are a different party than they were 3 years ago under Rabbite. We have new policies, they are on the Labour party website. They are perfectly sane reasonable proposals. Judge the Labour party on policy and read for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

cordially,
    Scofflaw

well, you will be voting for a soon to be non existent party

DaDumTish wrote: »
    well, you will be voting for a soon to be non existent party

Yes, I'm aware of that, and will regret it if it happens. That doesn't change my voting intentions, though.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Yes, I'm aware of that, and will regret it if it happens. That doesn't change my voting intentions, though.

So you have no problem with them reneging on the following :

1) Don't worry, we won't go into government with FF
    2) We'll stop the American use of Shannon
    3) We'll protect Tara

....or the fact that they had a chance to stop NAMA and the bank guarantees
    ....or the fact that they voted in support of Willie O'Dea and John O'Donoghue

No problem with those ?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    So you have no problem with them reneging on the following :

1) Don't worry, we won't go into government with FF
    2) We'll stop the American use of Shannon
    3) We'll protect Tara

....or the fact that they had a chance to stop NAMA and the bank guarantees
    ....or the fact that they voted in support of Willie O'Dea and John O'Donoghue

No problem with those ?

None whatsoever. If you look, you'll see that none of them have an environmental component, bar, arguably, Tara - but one can only protect Tara within the limits of the law. Personally, I expected them to go into government with Fianna Fáil if it was an option - it's not something I regard as significantly different from going into government with Fine Gael.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭bored and fussy

danman wrote: »
    Funny that, I always thought I was voting for someone to represent me in the Dail, our national parliment.
    Where did you hear any different?

I also vote for the candidate that I feel will represent my in Co Co elections.

If we are voting for a national government nobody told the politicians, all local politicians tell us what we want to hear, remember €300 for my parents old age pension they voted fine gael the first time in their lives, they believed their Bull******t so be careful what you wish for you just might get it

You think of environmental concerns as a single issue?

inquiringly,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I voted for Labour(Joe Costello) but did give a preference to Fianna Fail and didn't to Fine Gael.

At the time I simply disliked Fine Gael more than Fianna Fail.

You have to remember Kenny was coming out with the whole "contract" bull about resigning if he didn't follow through. Then Bertie destroyed his healthcare plans in the leader's debate. Remember Kenny's ambitious health plans were based on economic growth continuing when it was looking liek that was unlikely.

Now next time I will vote for Fine Gael. Not expecting them to do great things or anything but some of their politicains (Bruton etc) have impressed me since the last election and we really need a Fianna Fail time out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

@Scofflaw

is there a need for the Greens any-more considering that now the environment/green issues are firm on the agenda of all other parties?

Have they not succeeded in that dept? (lets leave the long list of failures for another thread)

I care about the environment but in a practical sense, I see environmental issues as issues that can be fixed via engineering projects and private enterprise, not in the hippy sense that makes the Green party so repulsive for so many people

for example: i am pro nuclear (rather a clean reliable energy source that coal plants) as a gap until a proper grid/wind system is in place few decades from, most Greens object to it in nothing more that hippy idealist grounds

Another example: the waste/joke that the electric car scheme is, that money could have been better spend on extending the insulation grant scheme

While "green" issues are important, i really have no respect left for the current lot they are now in the same pile with SF,FF :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    @Scofflaw

is there a need for the Greens any-more considering that now the environment/green issues are firm on the agenda of all other parties?

You must be joking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    You must be joking!

No im not joking

Broadly construed, then, would you consider yourself as an 'economic' voter, or a 'social' voter?

simplistically,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭cm2000

I did.

I figured they had a great growth and jobs record, and seeing as though all the manifestos were basically the same I thought I'd give them my vote. Another reason was that, as I live in Dublin 15 and can't stand Burton or Higgins, I thought Lenihan was the best of the bunch. I didnt know much of Varadkar at the time. Honestly I'm not convinced I made the wrong choice, not that the government have covered themselves in glory obviously, but seeing as though there was no different political philosophy other than "here's how were going to solve your problems" then I think the same results would have occurred.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

In 2007 I was certain FF would be out of government and contemplated voting for a candidate I admired who was not FF. However, my usual fear of the alternative took over and I remained loyal. My fear of the alternative is now worse than ever and I can see 1982 happening again, blame FF on bankrupting the country and then go into government and multiply the problems !

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    @Scofflaw

Have they not succeeded in that dept? (lets leave the long list of failures for another thread)

I care about the environment but in a practical sense, I see environmental issues as issues that can be fixed via engineering projects and private enterprise, not in the hippy sense that makes the Green party so repulsive for so many people

for example: i am pro nuclear (rather a clean reliable energy source that coal plants) as a gap until a proper grid/wind system is in place few decades from, most Greens object to it in nothing more that hippy idealist grounds

Another example: the waste/joke that the electric car scheme is, that money could have been better spend on extending the insulation grant scheme

While "green" issues are important, i really have no respect left for the current lot they are now in the same pile with SF,FF :(

If you actually think the mainstream parties have taken environmental issues on board, then you are probably mistaking having a policy about something with thinking about it.

As to your preference for engineering solutions to environmental "problems", a large number of hard-earned lessons point the way to failure there, as well as a certain amount of confusion on your part. Nuclear power isn't an engineering solution to an enviromental issue, and the majority of Greens who object, do so on the basis that nuclear waste disposal is an untested trial with very long-term consequences. I happen to disagree with them, but there's a logical argument to it, just as there is with GM foods.

cordially,
    Scofflaw