Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S-Class(W140) vs. 7series(e38)

• 21-04-2010 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭

My apologies if this has been discussed before here, didn't want to go through all the old threads :)

So, I'm going to the trip on the summer holidays with some friends. Going with a car so started to look out for a great comfy car. Didn't want to spend more than 2k for a car which will never come back to Ireland (we are flying ack from destination). My first choice was a 7series BMW but couldn't find a decent one at the buying time. They all were either nearly dying or horribly overpriced. Found an S-class one day which was as a backup in my mind. Went out to see, was an excellent condition and got a nice price so I have a S-class now. It has all the Merc extras, beige leather and double glazing. Gorgeous car. However my heart still wants a 7series but not sure why. Probably it looks better in my eyes but merc has left me with impression that it's much better biult...I have an option to swap my merc for bmw just not sure if I should.
    Just want to hear your opinions on both cars. Which one you would go for, and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Pics or GTFO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

At that end of the market it's all down to the actual car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

As Anan says it depends on the car - I would imagine the Merc is better built ( unless its 2001 - 2005 ), BMW's are softer in my opinion ( not that that counts for much ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I would take the merc. They appear to be a complete tank. You say you have the merc already so if its pretty much in good order, stick with it.

I'd have bought a Camry or Maxima to be honest, less chance of being stranded on the side of the road on a long spin abroad. €2000 for an S class or a 7 series means you are either very lucky or very very good at vetting cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

RoverJames wrote: »
    €2000 for an S class or a 7 series means you are either very lucky or very very good at vetting cars.

I'm very good at choosing cars! :D

I'd have bought a Camry or Maxima to be honest, less chance of being stranded on the side of the road on a long spin abroad.

I don't really like japanese cars. I know the quality on a high level with them but it's just not for me.
    Don't rate german cars so low. I had a lot of them and I dod a long travels around the Europe many times. I trust the current Merc. Chance of being stranded on the side of the road can be with a brand new car also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Yeah I'd stick with what you have. That version was built well. Is it the 320 engine? Keep an eye on the radiator and temperature gauge. If its a 100k mile car then it might cause an issue on a hot 6hr run.

But personally I'd just be positive and not worry about it. Enjoy the comfort and assurance of the Merc.

Yeah I'd stick with what you have. That version was built well. Is it the 320 engine? Keep an eye on the radiator and temperature gauge. If its a 100k mile car then it might cause an issue on a hot 6hr run.

But personally I'd just be positive and not worry about it. Enjoy the comfort and assurance of the Merc.

Yes, 320. Head gasket, oil, filters and belts,waterpump + thermostat were done just recently. New tyres on. Should be alright.
    What would be the main issues with e38 to expect?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Nice one.. my main concern would be the running costs..

Nice to have a decent car though..

Where is the trip to?

Tox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Your trip is with "some friends", so I presume there is 3 or 4 of you travelling? I'd lean towards the W140 so as comfort would be the number 1 priority on my list. You should be ok, although you might have a few electrical issues over time.
    pcardin wrote: »
    What would be the main issues with e38 to expect?

None really provided the suspension is in good working order. But for a tiny budget you need to pick a good car (as Anan said) and not be unlucky, cause any major issue would mean the car is a write-off. From my experience (owning one for 5 years) the E38 is a very well built and very reliable car. Go for a V8 petrol. These engines have the easiest life, and have the least chance of going wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

I'd stick with what you have to be honest.

Why get too emotionally involved in what the car looks like if it's going to be left behind. The Merc will be bigger inside, and if you've got a good one, why risk it for stylistic reasons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

LS400.

V8, tank, soft suspension, leather. Bomb-proof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

JHMEG wrote: »
    LS400.

Best idea really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

From an E38 owner, the merc is the better built car. As to reliability, its much of a muchness with the kind of money you're looking at. How far is the trip going to be, and for how long?

LS400.

Yeah good alternative to the 2 choices in the OP. Although I don't think it has a long version though, does it? My first choice for the OP and his friends would still be the W140. Indeed also leather, soft suspension, tank and V8 :)

From an E38 owner, the merc is the better built car.

Maybe that was just your car? You seem to have had a good few issues? I love what the W140 is all about, but I was put back by the build quality issues. MB of that (Chrysler :rolleyes:) era was at its lowest ever. Apart from a suspension job at 137k miles when the car was 13 years old, I did not have a single serious issue with my E38 during the 5 years I owned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

unkel wrote: »
    Maybe that was just your car? You seem to have had a good few issues? I love what the W140 is all about, but I was put back by the build quality issues. MB of that (Chrysler :rolleyes:) era was at its lowest ever. Apart from a suspension job at 137k miles when the car was 13 years old, I did not have a single serious issue with my E38 during the 5 years I owned it.

Seems like a good few people have lots of niggly issues with the E38 which might not bother some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've had zero problems? Two PDC sensors and an ABS sensor go in two years thats it. Its common knowledge that on the E38 boards that the W140 is better built, has a better ride and the refinement all round is generally better. The E38 looks and drives a lot better though.

My mate had an S500 W140 and its like you're completely detached from the outside world when riding along. The E38 isn't like that, as comfortable as it is.

From an E38 owner, the merc is the better built car. As to reliability, its much of a muchness with the kind of money you're looking at. How far is the trip going to be, and for how long?

Trip is for two weeks. We'll be going from here to France, Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Poland, Baltic States and Sweden. Then taking plane back from Sweden to Ireland.

Yeah good alternative to the 2 choices in the OP. Although I don't think it has a long version though, does it? My first choice for the OP and his friends would still be the W140. Indeed also leather, soft suspension, tank and V8 :)

LS400? Is it Lexus you are talking about?

Ye just dumping the car there then ? Seems a shame if it's a minty €2000 car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭alpina

LS400? Is it Lexus you are talking about?

Yeah the Lexus as JHMEG suggested. Even softer and quieter than a W140 and I reckon it would be more reliable too. I'd seriously consider the LS400 if I were in your situation.

What height are you and your friends? I find that even in cars this size, it is not great for a >6 feet passenger to sit behind a >6 feet driver. If you're all tall, you might want to consider a long wheel base version (not sure if that's available on the Lexus of that age / value?)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

That is a nice car!!!! The 2k a year tax would kill me, but for this journey, its worth the 3 months tax and would be so nice to drive.. sweet!!

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    The 2k a year tax would kill me

It's not that bad, motor tax is only €1,566 a year :D

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    The 2k a year tax would kill me,

€1566/annum, €869/6 months, €442/3 months.
    The 3 monthly cough up would nearly tempt me, I reckon she wouldn't use drastically more than the 1993 520i I'm running at the moment.

Yeah the Lexus as JHMEG suggested. Even softer and quieter than a W140 and I reckon it would be more reliable too. I'd seriously consider the LS400 if I were in your situation.

What height are you and your friends? I find that even in cars this size, it is not great for a >6 feet passenger to sit behind a >6 feet driver. If you're all tall, you might want to consider a long wheel base version (not sure if that's available on the Lexus of that age / value?)

Lexus probably is a good car but it's not for me. Sorry lads! Was offered Audi A8 but didn't like either. Curently choosing between e38 and W140. Second one I own already just thinking if it's worthwile to go for swap to e38.
    I'm 1,9m tall and W140 is absolutely huge even for me. E38 is also big enough (had it one for a week before it was stolen). Pasengers are smaller than me but there is a enough room on the back of W140 I have even it's short-wheel-base. I think the e38 should be around same size.

€1566/annum, €869/6 months, €442/3 months.
    The 3 monthly cough up would nearly tempt me, I reckon she wouldn't use drastically more than the 1993 520i I'm running at the moment.

I'll only buy tax for 3months as outside Ireland the tax we pay here doesn't count anyway. Fully insured. Booked for NCT on 23May. Should pass.

on the highway bmw 740i won't drink much more petrol than 520i however in the city traffic fuel consumption will drive you nuts.

The W140 I have is S320

If your S320 has no problems and it passes the NCT, I see no point in swapping it for an E38 (or any other car for that matter) for your trip. Bon voyage :D

@RoverJames - sum quick sums: 20MPG (E38 V8) vs 25MPG (E34 6L) in mixed driving @10k miles per year saves you a tenner a week with petrol at €1.30/l...

Good man Unkle :)
    I'll see later this evening if my e34 has returned 25mpg mixed driving over the last 160 miles, I doubt it has to be honest, should be over the 20 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I wouldn't mind some pics of these classic cars :)

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65352144#post65352144

in the unlikely event you were referring to the yoke I have :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

And as quiet and refined at 150 mph as it is at 50 mph, speaking from personal experience.

This is the famous TV advert:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-7621622662327174932#

(Original Top Gear review: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-7621622662327174932)

I will add the picture of my W140 later this evening.
    picture033c.jpg

If your S320 has no problems and it passes the NCT, I see no point in swapping it for an E38 (or any other car for that matter) for your trip. Bon voyage :D

Thanks! I know that technically I have no need to swap the Merc for anything. It's just a look, design or aura, whatever you call it that makes my heart lean to BMW. W140 is a superb car, wery well built, well equiped and so on. Just when I sit in it I feel myself so old. But I'm not that old yet! :(

@RoverJames - sum quick sums: 20MPG (E38 V8) vs 25MPG (E34 6L) in mixed driving @10k miles per year saves you a tenner a week with petrol at €1.30/l...

Wasn't much wrong with your estimations on what a 520i E34 returns :) 24.4mpg over 208 miles, that's 6 trips up and down to work (regional road for 8 miles), in and out of gym a few evenings a week (mile away in city) and some pootling about urbanly. My 1.6 Rover returned 26mpg over the same sort of driving. I am not driving the 520 hard though as it's geared nice and short so there's no need really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

considering your international trip i wouldnt give a crap about tax, a uk reg car might be a good bet, you could get a newer car for 2k up north or in the uk

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201009353652398/sort/priceasc/usedcars/transmission/automatic/engine-size-cars/5lplus/price-from/0/price-to/3000/model/7_series/make/bmw/postcode/se10ab/page/1/radius/1501?logcode=p :D:D:D:D is all ill say

considering your international trip i wouldnt give a crap about tax, a uk reg car might be a good bet, you could get a newer car for 2k up north or in the uk

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/201009353652398/sort/priceasc/usedcars/transmission/automatic/engine-size-cars/5lplus/price-from/0/price-to/3000/model/7_series/make/bmw/postcode/se10ab/page/1/radius/1501?logcode=p :D:D:D:D is all ill say

I already have a Merc and haven't plan to spend another 2k for BMW. Can only swap ;) And I think I would be giving up on that 750iL you offered already in Rosslare. E38 V12 is a nightmare at that age. :eek: But thanks for advice anyway! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

Don't bother with the tax. Once you have somewhere off road to store it before you leave you'd want to be fairly unlucky to get stopped on teh way to the ferry.

That's what I'm thinking.Car is stored off the road at the moment and will be until the ferry. tax is only for Ireland. In many other countries I will be crossing road/motor tax is added to the petrol which is fair enough. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

That's what I'm thinking.Car is stored off the road at the moment and will be until the ferry. tax is only for Ireland. In many other countries I will be crossing road/motor tax is added to the petrol which is fair enough. :cool:
    There you go then. Is there a disc on it. If it is within 6 months you probably wouldnt' get it impounded and would be jst stuck with an €80 fine if caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Erren Music

There you go then. Is there a disc on it. If it is within 6 months you probably wouldnt' get it impounded and would be jst stuck with an €80 fine if caught.

Tell the cops it is being exported, get a form from the tax office before you drive.

How does it compare to the W220

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

How are you going to dispose of it in Sweden? Just park it up in the airport with the keys in the ignition? Roll it off a cliff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

QUICK REMINDER: Discussing or encouraging tax evasion/avoidance is against the Charter

wyndham wrote: »
    How are you going to dispose of it in Sweden? Just park it up in the airport with the keys in the ignition? Roll it off a cliff?

It will be left at my parents house where it will become like this eventually :D

moto0495.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭what recession?

if you are thinking about the LS400, I hope there are only 4 of you, MAX! Had one in the early 90's around when they came out and the middle seat is, probably like the other two also, like sitting on a concrete block with nails sticking out of it! Certainly not the most comfortable for a long trip. Also, if I can remember, I didn't like the leather in general. You should call up a few garages and give in some cheeky offers on some '99/'00 S-class'.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/S-Class/430-Long/201016197719896/advert?channel=CARS

I honestly can't imagine anyone buying these, especially when the tax is 1/3 of the value and that 4.3 petrol engine isn't going to help matters. I'm sure they'd be happy to get rid of it, they probably gave whoever traded it in next to nothing anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

LS400.

V8, tank, soft suspension, leather. Bomb-proof, Ugly

FYP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mercedes-Benz/S-Class/430-Long/201016197719896/advert?channel=CARS

I honestly can't imagine anyone buying these, especially when the tax is 1/3 of the value and that 4.3 petrol engine isn't going to help matters. I'm sure they'd be happy to get rid of it, they probably gave whoever traded it in next to nothing anyway.

Pretty much my dream car, now I'll never own one thanks to the poxy Greens. Complete bast@rds