Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What a stupid site!

• 21-04-2010 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭

So put 'Irish Bank Holidays 2010' into Google and the first site that comes up is this one:

http://www.bankholidaydates.co.uk/HolidayDates/year/Ireland/2010.aspx

So I visited, and have never been so disgusted in my life with the sheer ignorance if it!

Since when do we celebrate Queen Elizabeths Birthday or St Georges Day... amongst others!

MUPPETS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Well if that all you have to worry about then your not doing too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

It's not the first site that comes up for me. You were on google.co.uk weren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

is there a contact email for these twats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

What the hell is Robert Burns Night (Burns Night) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

phasers wrote: »

It's a night to celebrate the life of Robert Burns.

'Gars auld claes look amaist as weel's the new'...and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

SINCE WHEN do I celebrate Valentine's day........what a stupid site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

did the .co.uk bit not give it away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Oh yeah, I remember my first Burns Night Party, quite the roof raiser...

Is it this guy? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Burns

I don't see why he deserves his own day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

did the .co.uk bit not give it away?

Doesn't matter, who gives a ****e in the Republic about Queen Elizabeths B'day? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Jesus, who the f*ck cares...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Doesn't matter, who gives a ****e in the Republic about Queen Elizabeths B'day? :eek:

Maybe all the Brits that live here do?

aaa you seem to get huffed about it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

So I visited, and have never been so disgusted in my life

Really?

Life-swapsies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

He's Scotland's national poet. It's a night to celebrate scottish culture (and can be a great night).

As Robert himself would probably say...
    'Oh, wad some power the giftie gie us To see oursels as ithers see us! It wad frae monie a blunder free us, And foolish notion.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

AND they called it Boxing Day.:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The Queen throws OSSIM parties. I always celebrate her birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Big f*cking deal!:rolleyes: No doubt half the people getting offended support Man united or Liverpool at the expense of St Pats and Cork city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

'Gars auld claes look amaist as weel's the new'...and all that.

People from Scotland or who have scottish roots generally eat haggis, bashed tatties and neeps(turnips), drink scotch and quote Robert burns.
    When chapman billies leave the street,
    And drouthy neibors, neibors, meet;
    As market days are wearing late,
    And folk begin to tak the gate,
    While we sit boozing at the nappy,
    An' getting fou and unco happy,
    We think nae on the lang Scots miles,
    The mosses, waters, slaps and stiles,
    That lie between us and our hame,
    Where sits our sulky, sullen dame,
    Gathering her brows like gathering storm,
    Nursing her wrath to keep it warm.

^^ I typed that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

syklops wrote: »

^^ I typed that!

Cheers for clearing that up. For a second there I was thinking you were telepathically communicating that to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Since when do we celebrate Queen Elizabeths Birthday or St Georges Day... amongst others!

MUPPETS!!!

I'm pretty sure they think Ireland includes Northern Ireland......

..........MUPPETS!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Cheers for clearing that up. For a second there I was thinking you were telepathically communicating that to me.

I meant I didnt copy and paste it from a website.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Those evil Brits don't get those days as holidays either though so don't worry about it, most wouldn't know when they are either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

People from Scotland or who have scottish roots generally eat haggis, bashed tatties and neeps(turnips), drink scotch and quote Robert burns.

My Dad is from Scotland and has never eaten haggis.
    He does have Dundee Cake on Burns Supper night.. it is always celebrated in our house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

So put 'Irish Bank Holidays 2010' into Google and the first site that comes up is this one:

So I visited, and have never been so disgusted in my life with the sheer ignorance if it!

MUPPETS!!!
    You realize by linking to tha site on boards.ie of all places, which is getting to be one of the biggest independent sites in the web - in her most popular forum - on a wednesday morning - that you've probably just ensured that google will regard that muppet website as the rank 1 search result for irish bank holidays for a long time to come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

^^ I typed that!

Rabbie Burns invented deep-fried battered Mars Bars, ginger wigs and alcoholism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

MUPPETS!!!

Only the dates in bold are meant to be Irish Bank Holidays. Anyway, if you don't like the site, don't use it. There's freedom of dissassociation on the internet.

On an aside, don't you think the more worrying thing is that Christmas is on the 28th of December this year?

Overheal wrote: »
    You realize by linking to tha site on boards.ie of all places, which is getting to be one of the biggest independent sites in the web - in her most popular forum - on a wednesday morning - that you've probably just ensured that google will regard that muppet website as the rank 1 search result for irish bank holidays for a long time to come?

He shoulda waited till Thursday.
    Now there'll be a 'Who the feck is Robert Burns?' thread in AH every 25th of January. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

I just can't believe that an internet website, of all things, might contain inaccurate information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Couldn't give a toss for inaccurate sites, but I love me that Burns stuff. Aye, gannae google mare noo. I love those scottisms. Standard International English should start using them instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Thread fail.......

your thread is making this site look stupid, if you had half a brain you would realise that the bank holidays are in bold and have "bank holiday" wrote after them the other ones are notable date and have "notable dates" wrote after them!!!! You googled to find out bank holidays and that site told you exactly what you wanted to know, why your feel aggreived baffles me??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

MUPPETS!!!

I'd celebrate queen elizabeths birthday if I got a day off work for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 peterdaly

click im feeling lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There should be a hell of a lot more bank holidays, because it will reduce the time that the bankers have to fuck the country up even more than they have done already.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

http://region.int-world.com/

Silly buggers on that site seemed to have forgotten about us.
    We don't exist! :(

Thread fail.......

your thread is making this site look stupid, if you had half a brain you would realise that the bank holidays are in bold and have "bank holiday" wrote after them the other ones are notable date and have "notable dates" wrote after them!!!! You googled to find out bank holidays and that site told you exactly what you wanted to know, why your feel aggreived baffles me??????

I was merely pointing out the fact that it contains inaccurate information aside from the bank holidays.... if you had half a brain you'ld think outside the box...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

What's the big deal?

I presume you wanted to know what dates are going to be Bank Holidays this year, and now you do. Everyone wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

^^ I typed that!

Only people in america drink "scotch".... ;)

I was merely pointing out the fact that it contains inaccurate information aside from the bank holidays.... if you had half a brian you'ld think outside the box...

Ah now dont be silly in your OP you said the above, first line, you were looking for irish bank holidays, the site told you that and very clearly too, it also told you some other as they called them notable dates , so they went over and beyond the irish bank holiday dates that you were looking for and you still found means to complain, some people are just never happy!!!!!

Schism wrote: »
    What's the big deal?

I presume you wanted to know what dates are going to be Bank Holidays this year, and now you do. Everyone wins.

Same goes for you... see post above yours.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Same goes for you... see post above yours.....

Um... ok... sure....

Schism wrote: »
    Um... ok... sure....

Good man! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Thank you, OP, for drawing my attention to this website.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish Her Majesty the Queen a very happy birthday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Burn's Night is the night you mix up the KY with the Vicks.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Maybe all the Brits that live here do?

We don't even celebrate her Birthday here? :confused:

brummytom wrote: »
    We don't even celebrate her Birthday here? :confused:

Ye should;)

Ye should;)

Mod please,

This "chappy" should be banned for inciting boards style hatred and potential violence! (Mostly upon himself) :eek:

Mod please,

This "chappy" should be banned for inciting boards style hatred and potential violence! (Mostly upon himself) :eek:

You should be banned for making ludicrus threads that have no meaning whatsoever.... you went looking for bank holiday dates you got them and because the queen was mentioned on the same page you flipped , my advise build a bridge......

Hooooommmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!

Please take thinking outside the box seriously :D