Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Off-topic' thread for AH - good or bad idea?

• 20-04-2010 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

I realise that not many After Hours regulars ever venture into Feedback too often, so I thought it best to set this Poll up here, rather than there.

Yesterday I started a thread in Feedback to see if Admin would grant us an 'Off-topic' thread along the lines of the below forums:

The Gentlemen's Club: 'Brandy & Cigars'
    Ladies Lounge: Nanger's Bar
    UCC: 'Off-Topic Thread'
    Fitness: Squats The Story
    Sports: 'A/R/T' Off-Topic Thread
    Soccer: 'Off-Topic Thread'
    Fashion: The Chatwalk
    Photography: Out Of Focus
    Beer Guts & RH: The Bar
    Nocturnal Forum: The Lair
    After Hours: (The Lock-Inn)

It's just an idea and I don't think the thread (if granted for a trial period) would make or break AH as the forum is way too good for that.

My reasoning for such a thread is as follows:
    Of all the other 'off-topic' threads that I have frequented all across Boards, they have always made me feel welcome when venturing in for the first time and I never once got a sense of a impenetrable clique, quite the contrary actually.

The Nocturnal Forum even have a thread to welcome Newbies.

Telling people to go chat elsewhere really just ignores the fact they users would rather not go elsewhere.

The AH users that support such a thread, do so as they want somewhere to have the craic with other After Hour's regulars, going elsewhere would mean losing the After Hours atmosphere, they whole point of such a thread is reveal in that, not abandon it.

Of course you will also get a few who totally miss the point and will say:

"AH is not for flirting, chatting.."

This is not something that anyone is disputing but threads do get locked for this reason. Especially at weekends when people want to come onto AH and have a little banter.

As there is no 'off-topic' thread, they will just jump on the most active thread and then it turns to chatter and gets locked.

We all understand the threads meander occasionally and that's fine, but an 'Off-topic' thread would make sure that meandering only went so far.

I'm just putting it out there, so that anyone that wants to can have their say, here in Feedback where it matters and not on some AH thread where you will just get drowned out by those who are strongly opposed.

We love AH and just feel that this thread would make a great forum even better.

An 'off-topic' banter thread would be a positive step for AH imo as it would give the regulars a place to chat and in so doing, keep the needless flirting and chat off the threads.

I feel this would have the effect so that in future the unnecessary locking of threads night after night for going 'Off-topic' could at long last, become a thing of the past.

If you don't want such a thread, all you would have to do is ignore it and don't subscribe.

So, what do you think?

Would you support a trial run for an 'Off-topic' thread?

Don't bite me, tis just a suggestion :)

Would you support a 'trial run' of an 'Off-topic' thread on AH? (If unsure, read the 134 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    43%
    Standard ToasterlucernarianMimikyuyermandan[Deleted User]Hail 2 Da ChimptolosencOutlawPeteNultyOverhealarybvtcw0eolkfKasabianDennis the StoneGillingtonStercus Accidittallaght01pikachucheeksSchismepgc3fyqirnbsxAbi 58 votes
    I'm a boring fence sitter by nature
    56%
    --Kaiser--DocGordonMountjoy MuggerRuu_OldCreatureChinafootRabiesNevynEarthhorseSeiferSuprSiZaphNichololasrainbow kirbyrobinphtoiletduckKierabikoJPA 76 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Woah, deja vu...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

No
    Good idea Pete , on another forum I visit we have a thread where basically you just say whats on your mind , within reason , and it is the thread that the craic really happens.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

when is after hours ever on topic? we'd usually be discussing something completely irrelevent from an OP at the first response...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

surely AH is one giant off topic thread anyway?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Isn't the AH forum just one big off-topic thread? :)

> I realise that not many After Hours regulars ever venture into Feedback too often,

Well that's their loss. There's no problem in pointing out to the AH crowd that the feedback thread exists but it get's a little messy if there are two threads running simultaneously on the same topic.

Trying to avoiding back-seat modding but maybe this thread should be stickied and closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Actually, I am in two minds about this. I welcome getting the mind numbing inane flirting chatter off the regular threads. I still afear it would spill over though. If enough people want it then I guess there is no reason why it can't be given a trial run. I still don't see why those who really really want it don't just request a private forum for themselves though. And I don't see how that it patronising.
    One thing that would worry me though is if it would be used as a platform for a mod to step in to any AH thread that is going on a natural course to direct the banter to the sticky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

No
    Ponster wrote: »
    Well that's their loss.

No, it is everyone's loss.

There is no Poll in Feedback, it would be pointless there.

More people will get to have their say here, both for and against.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

No
    I thought everything was offtopic in this forum? Things immediately get derailed by stupid pictures and snarky responses.

In turn, here's a picture of a goat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm not wholly bothered (as in not prepared to argue the toss until the cows come home :pac:) one way or another, but I think that off-topic threads are more for specialized or stricter forums where people need a thread to 'chat' whereas AH has the off-topic vibe anyway.

I doubt it would harm AH in any way, but my gut feeling is that an off-topic forum here would just look like (even more of) a clique/flirt-fest to non-involved (especially newer) users.

That said, I'm the wrong person to ask as I was never really sold on the concept of public threads where people basically conduct long-running (as opposed to inevitable, shorter, personal exchanges of course) personal conversations with each other as opposed to contributing posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The weathers lovely todays isn't it?

No
    ScumLord wrote: »
    The weathers lovely todays isn't it?

Can you not do that on the ..

Oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I still think a thread being bumped the whole time or stickied would be damaging to the forum. If there was a sub-forum for chat / blog-like / where to go out / etc threads then I think it would keep the two separate and have little impact on what AH is about

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I think the flirting should be crushed with an iron fist rather than planted into a single thread. Same as I have always thought. It would be bad for after hours. Yer general off topic or bar threads work in some smaller forums. In others they don't work at all however. Like FCL and in ranting and raving. Just don't take. After Hours is a big forum, first place a lot of people find on boards. I just don't want to see threadworthy topics in their own right raised in a huuuuge multi thread.
    For some smaller of private forums where a community isn't so transient it works. In larger places with a general remit like AH it is unnecessary IMO.
    In fact I would wager that it would be another nail in the coffin because you'd take quick-witted replies out of it and replace a structure of a number of thread start points with one huuuuuuuuuge thread which is difficult to search through, would move too quickly, be difficult to moderate and be full of that horrible flirty flirtacious off topic crap that everyone who isn't a goddamned flirtwhore hates!
    HATES!
    Raaaaaarrr.
    TL;DR: Stamp out the flirting. Ban anyone who posts in the off topic mega thread. Lock all the other threads. Women and children will not be prioritised on the life boats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

-1. I've already stated why i do not agree with this on the other 2/3 threads relating to an AH OTT.

No
    I think the flirting should be crushed with an iron fist rather than planted into a single thread. Same as I have always thought. It would be bad for after hours. Yer general off topic or bar threads work in some smaller forums. In others they don't work at all however. Like FCL and in ranting and raving. Just don't take. After Hours is a big forum, first place a lot of people find on boards. I just don't want to see threadworthy topics in their own right raised in a huuuuge multi thread.
    For some smaller of private forums where a community isn't so transient it works. In larger places with a general remit like AH it is unnecessary IMO.
    In fact I would wager that it would be another nail in the coffin because you'd take quick-witted replies out of it and replace a structure of a number of thread start points with one huuuuuuuuuge thread which is difficult to search through, would move too quickly, be difficult to moderate and be full of that horrible flirty flirtacious off topic crap that everyone who isn't a goddamned flirtwhore hates!
    HATES!
    Raaaaaarrr.
    TL;DR: Stamp out the flirting. Ban anyone who posts in the off topic mega thread. Lock all the other threads. Women and children will not be prioritised on the life boats.

That's all very well and good Doc but it won't happen.

You Modded AH, you know that many threads got derailed and locked by flirting and chatting, sometimes by the very people who criticize it which I find laughable.

I know you one of the most vocal against the sometimes needless locking but sometimes I can understand it if a thread has been drowned with chat.

I try not to get involved in but would be a liar and a hypocrite to say I didn't and just blame others.

I hate seeing good threads go to shreads because there was so many chatting on it which is why I feel if people had one thread for banter, it would help.

Mods could then delete 'off-topic' chatter posts on sight and just say: "Keep the chat for the 'off-topic' thread.

Respect your opinion though as it's an informed one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Saying "Well these other forums have one, so why can't we?" isn't really an argument imo.

-1, though not because of that. It's just not necessary.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    That's all very well and good Doc but it won't happen.

You Modded AH, you know that many threads got derailed and locked by flirting and chatting, sometimes by the very people who criticize it which I find laughable.

I know you one of the most vocal against the sometimes needless locking but sometimes I can understand it if a thread has been drowned with chat.

I try not to get involved in but would be a liar and a hypocrite to say I didn't and just blame others.

I hate seeing good threads go to shreads because there was so many chatting on it which is why I feel if people had one thread for banter, it would help.

Mods could then delete 'off-topic' chatter posts on sight and just say: "Keep the chat for the 'off-topic' thread.

Respect your opinion though as it's an informed one.

I see in some forums there is an off topic thread used in a more negative manner by the moderators.
    The moderators use these off topic threads to take any epic slagging or fighting off to its own thread if it's detrimental to the existing threads and completely off topic. IE a sort of "don't look at this thread" type thread, it's for people what wage war on a small aspect of an unrelated thread to allow them to have their bloody long multi-quoting wars with each other without other folks having to read them. Could also, however, be mis-used by moderators or create trouble as flirting is difficult to define. As is the off topicness of some posters going doing some serious battling.
    Just saying. It's another way of looking at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

I dunno. On one hand it could be good in that it'll keep most of the threads on topic, tangents are still going to occur in threads. But on the other hand, those off topic tangents are sort of what AH is about.
    Pete; you seem to be over exagerating the amount of threads that get locked because of chatter and what not. But I don't think it's as bad as you make it out to be. Now, while I don't live in AH I'm here a fair bit and I don't see many threads get locked because of chatter. Just the ones that get locked for obvious reasons(trolling, ads...)
    I'd support a trial of this to see where it goes. But I don't think it'll happen fully though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

a kinda flirting thread you mean, thats what usally happens when we go off topic here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Not only should there not be an off-topic thread, After Hours should be removed and everyone who ever posted in it should be banned. Also, the mods should call round to their houses and make salacious comments to their mothers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

There's enough wankery in the forum as it is without giving people a platform on which to do it.

Sure it might be ruled with an iron fist for the first few weeks but that'd soon stop and it'd just snowball.

And yes I know you don't have to read it etc, etc but enough threads on the forum have been ruined by the clique that does exist, whether people admit it or not. IT doesn't need encouraging.

Form a social group or request a private forum.

No
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    enough threads on the forum have been ruined by the clique that does exist, whether people admit it or not.

It's better kept off the threads.

Have done, doesn't work and a private forum would take people away from AH and defeats the purpose of having somewhere that people can use for 'off-topic' chatter rather than derail good threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

AH is spammy enough without giving it what is basically a dedicated spam thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

The social groups are pretty useless though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

No
    There are excellent arguments on both sides really.
    But as the poll says, maybe a trial run will show which argument carries more weight.

It's better kept off the threads.

Have done, doesn't work and a private forum would take people away from AH and defeats the purpose of having somewhere that people can use for 'off-topic' chatter rather than derail good threads.
    This is untrue. I requested a private forum for this very reason. The members of the private forum i mod are regulars in AH too so it wouldnt take away from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

No
    no one knows what is goin to happen.

thats why the only way to know is to start the thread and see how it goes.

i don't see the big issue of trying it out?

if its no good just get rid of the feckin thing. :confused:

No
    Kiera wrote: »
    This is untrue. I requested a private forum for this very reason. The members of the private forum i mod are regulars in AH too so it wouldnt take away from it.

How many posts on average per day?

Jeeeze thats a tough one. Maybe 150/200, could be more. I still have to check them all to make sure no one is breaking any rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

No
    I like this idea, maybe it'd help to keep other threads on-topic. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

No
    I like the idea, it could be a bit of fun, certainly worth a trial run. I would be the first to complain if it ended up with a clique running the show, but it might actually be a nicer palce to get to know new users and let them introduce themselves rather than them starting a thread, being slagged for 5 pages or so, then never coming back.

You could call it the introuctions and chat thread or something. (Lock-Inn is a great name though, so 'The Lock-Inn: Intros and chat' maybe.

The occasional thread being lokced because people are having a slightly (or totally) off topic conversation is, imo, counter to the idea of a boards pub. Drunks have meandering rants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I voted no.

I enjoy the craic and banter in all threads, I'd rather not have a mod come onto a thread and tell me to take it to one "off topic" thread.

No
    Jeeeze thats a tough one. Maybe 150/200, could be more. I still have to check them all to make sure no one is breaking any rules.

So, lets say The Lock Inn (;)) was a private forum like SnG.

It's late Friday night in here and everyone one is bantering away on one or two threads as usual, banter that has zero to do with the thread.

MOD posts: "'Keep on Topic folks.."

Do you really think they are all going to shoot off to a private forum?

The whole point of this thread is PREVENT the derailing of threads and have somewhere that MODs can say, 'shag-off' too.

Of the two years that I have been regularly posting here, off-topic chatter is by far the thing that seems to piss people off the most.

I have and do take part somewhat and it even annoys me at times.

I even bull****ed that Zohan had limited me to one flirtatious post per night as a hint to other to stop as I could see that some threads were being destroyed.

It's just an idea, one which I genuinely believe in and think would benefit the forum greatly, otherwise I wouldn't waste my time and others with quite frankly.

I feel an 'Off-topic' thread would fill a much needed void, maybe I am wrong, if I am I can accept that.

TheZohan wrote: »
    I voted no.

I enjoy the craic and banter in all threads, I'd rather not have a mod come onto a thread and tell me to take it to one "off topic" thread.

That's a bloody good point actually. Using the off topic thread as a stick to beat posters with
    "Take it to the off topic thread."
    Could kill the fun in the existing threads too.

So, lets say The Lock Inn (;)) was a private forum like SnG.

It's late Friday night in here and everyone one is bantering away on one or two threads as usual, banter that has zero to do with the thread.

MOD posts: "'Keep on Topic folks.."

Do you really think they are all going to shoot off to a private forum?

The whole point of this thread is PREVENT the derailing of threads and have somewhere that MODs can say, 'shag-off' too.

Of the two years that I have been regularly posting here, off-topic chatter is by far the thing that seems to piss people off the most.

I have and do take part somewhat and it even annoys me at times.

I even bull****ed that Zohan had limited me to one flirtatious post per night as a hint to other to stop as I could see that some threads were being destroyed.

It's just an idea, one which I genuinely believe in and think would benefit the forum greatly, otherwise I wouldn't waste my time and others with quite frankly.

I feel an 'Off-topic' thread would fill a much needed void, maybe I am wrong, if I am I can accept that.
    There used to be a lot of this before SaG was opened which is a year and a half now. So on a Friday night if we're all drunk we'll post in there and not ruin AH threads.

Like i said, there are at least 150 posts a day which do need to be modded, not that anyone ever breaks the rules. But just in case. It would be a nightmare in AH to mod and too much time would be wasted on it and spam/trolls/personal abuse in other threads wouldnt be picked up as quick.

No
    TheZohan wrote: »
    I voted no.

I don't get this?

Mods, including yourself, have complained when Banter was derailing threads, such as The Beers thread.

Nobody wants people told to take 'On-topic' banter to an 'Off-topic' thread.

One has a place on threads, the other destroys them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I agree with TheZohan and Dr B.

The whole attraction of AH is the relatively relaxed rules there compared to other forums - things like not being told to keep it on topic. I mean when I go to a different forum I have to mentally gearshift to be less frivolous.

I will say this thou - as a thanks-whoring exercise this campaign is pure genius

I don't get this?

Mods, including yourself, have complained when Banter was derailing threads, such as The Beers thread.

Nobody wants people told to take 'On-topic' banter to an 'Off-topic' thread.

One has a place on threads, the other destroys them.

The chat in the beers thread was hindering the suggestions for venues for the beers.

I think you just want to sanitize After Hours by cutting out all the fun, chat and banter from all the other threads and destroy the forum by making everyone post in the one thread.

To quote Dylan Thomas:
    "Do not go gentle into that good night, Old age should burn and rave at close of day; Rage, rage against the dying of the light. Though wise men at their end know dark is right, Because their words had forked no lightning they Do not go gentle into that good night. Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay, Rage, rage against the dying of the light. Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight, And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way, Do not go gentle into that good night. Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay, Rage, rage against the dying of the light. And you, my father, there on the sad height, Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray. Do not go gentle into that good night. Rage, rage against the dying of the light. "

By agreeing to have one off topic threadin After Hours you are trying to take OUR FREEDOM!!!!

To quote Braveheart:
    "They may take our lives, but they'll never take our FREEDOM!"

Fight the powah people, don't let them shove all our fun into one thread!!!!!

After Hours belongs to us, not just one thread!!

No
    That's a bloody good point actually. Using the off topic thread as a stick to beat posters with
    "Take it to the off topic thread."
    Could kill the fun in the existing threads too.

You can't have it both ways.

You think an 'Off-topic' thread could "kill the fun of existing threads" and that "flirting should be crushed with an iron fist".

So who decides what is fun and what is flirtatious?

Both seem to merge from my experience.

If people are allowed to chatter 'off-topic', it is just as bad as flirting as far as I am concerned.

Both destroy threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

No
    So who decides what is fun and what is flirtatious?

I do, big boy.

There used to be a lot of this before SaG was opened which is a year and a half now. So on a Friday night if we're all drunk we'll post in there and not ruin AH threads.

Like i said, there are at least 150 posts a day which do need to be modded, not that anyone ever breaks the rules. But just in case. It would be a nightmare in AH to mod and too much time would be wasted on it and spam/trolls/personal abuse in other threads wouldnt be picked up as quick.
    Just to add to this. There are only 26 members in SaG. There are a hell of a lot more in AH. Screams "nightmare to mod" to me!

I do, big boy.

Ah here now. Keep it on-topic would you ???

No
    Ah here now. Keep in on-topic would you ???

Who decides what goes into an 'Off-topic' thread is "on-topic" :)

Thank you Pete for highlighting my point.....c'mon you usually get sarcastic points fairly well

No
    i'm probably going to be bollocked for this, but, i think its slightly unfair letting mods/previous mods vote in the poll.

yes, i know you are normal posters too, but your viewpoint is different to non mods.

i think the votes of the normal everyday poster are more important in this instance.

*legs it*

I think its unfair that people who ruin threads by being flirtacious and cliquey are allowed vote in the poll but there you go.
    Actually the concept of a poll is kinda inconsistent.
    I've just re-regged 723 times. Prepare for my wrath.

No
    I think its unfair that people who ruin threads by being flirtacious and cliquey are allowed vote in the poll but there you go.
    Actually the concept of a poll is kinda inconsistent.
    I've just re-regged 723 times. Prepare for my wrath.

are sayin i'm in a clique?

yes, i have been flirtatious in threads, but i've toned it down after the beers thread.

anyway, i'm just a poster, as are all the non-flirtatious people on this site.

both sides get to vote.

i'm probably going to be bollocked for this, but, i think its slightly unfair letting mods/previous mods vote in the poll.

yes, i know you are normal posters too, but your viewpoint is different to non mods.

i think the votes of the normal everyday poster are more important in this instance.

*legs it*

Well if you read my posts in this thread you'll see that one of the reasons I don't want an off-topic thread is because I don't want existing mods telling us that we can't post a bit off topic in (non-serious)threads.

I'm an everyday poster now, have no special priviliges AT ALL.

If we went by your reasoning we could say that only subscribers should have a vote as they're the only ones that care enough about the forum to contribute towards it's upkeep. But that too would be unfair.