Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't call me Chicken, Pet or hunny please.

• 20-04-2010 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

Unless you're my mother.. Or over the age of 70

"Hi Petal, ah sher isn't the weather great. Have a good one hunny!".. It's even worse when the person is the same age or younger than you.

Do these people not realise how much everyone hates them?

Sheesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

Alright hen, calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I hate this. It's even weirder when it comes from someone younger than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

OK Chick, I think we all need to sit down and have a nice cuppa, Will that be alright Pet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

On an another note, Come down to Wexford, You'll really get your kicks.. IN all the shops, "OK HUN,what can I get you?" "Thanks Love!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭DingChavez

I'm not your chicken, pet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I am guessing 'sugar-tits' is out of fashion now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

LoanShark wrote: »
    On an another note, Come down to Wexford, You'll really get your kicks.. IN all the shops, "OK HUN,what can I get you?" "Thanks Love!"

Ah good old Wexford. Every second word in a conversation in Wexford town contains the word 'Hun' but it needs to be drawn out like Hhhhhuuuuuuunnnnnnnnn! in order for you to get the full effect!!! 'Alrighhhhhtttt Hhhhhhuuuuuuuunnnnnn?' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

DingChavez wrote: »

Im not your pet, hunny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I use endearments like this all the time with friends, aquaintances and people I'm being introduced to. All have the grace to accept it as a term of endearment.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ah snookums, are we upset?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

No probs cock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

No problems Sweetie ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Try Nottingham in England, everyone there calls you "duck" or "ducks" ... male, female, young or old, it makes no difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

okey dokey pumpkin tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

ahhhh laaaaaaddddddd, another Wexford one

I hate being called love, or buddy, buddy wrecks my head as does langer, langer's such a feckin horrible word...oh o, i suspect a lashback from all the Cork users :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

could be worse....you could be in naas........alright bud!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Wossack wrote: »
    DingChavez wrote:
    Im not your pet, hunny!
    I'm not your hunny, doll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Awwww, isn't your rant ADORABLE babykins!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Sykk wrote: »

"Hi Petal, ah sher isn't the weather great. Have a good one hunny!".. It's even worse when the person is the same age or younger than you.

Sheesh

My god man, read between the lines! All these women obviously want a little bit more then a friendly chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I ****ing HATE people who do this! Especially when they do it to people older than them! A way to belittle people is what it is!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I think it's sweet when people refer to me in such a manner (within reason - it is a bit weird if they're strangers and the same age as me/keep saying it over and over. Me and my friends always use such terms of endearment though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Well boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

delly wrote: »
    My god man, read between the lines! All these women obviously want a little bit more then a friendly chat.
    They've already blown it then! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 miss niamh

Oh my god i hate when people use these terms, it makes me cringe, and screams knacker!!

I hate it with a passion.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

They've already blown it then! :pac:

Was it good???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

sorry babe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Just be glad you don't live anywhere around the Thames Estuary or East London. If you watch EastEnders you'll know what I mean!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭GeorgeCostanza

Sheesh

Intimacy issues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I'm not your buddy, guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭alfaz

Sheesh

Are you sat beside me in work? I've got this dumb bint in front of me that anytime she asks anthing, she'll always say 'thanks hun' at the end of every sentence.
    I don't condone beating women, but in this case I'm honestly willing to make exceptions for this eejit! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

I do this compulsively, mostly because I meet a LOT of people and rarely remember their names, so "sunshine", "kiddo", "sugarlips", "sweetcheeks", "petal", "butterfly", "chief", "horse", "babycakes", "sweetie", "darling" etc have to suffice....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Hey yo Dollface, relax.

I hate this too. My mate calls me 'Kid' all the time....."Alright Kid" or "Your round Kid" etc.....the fooker is the same age as me. :confused:

Hey yo Dollface, relax.

I hate this too. My mate calls me 'Kid' all the time....."Alright Kid" or "Your round Kid" etc.....the fooker is the same age as me. :confused:
    I gave someone a dig for that one before :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I'm not your buddy, guy.

I'm not your guy, friend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

one guy i did a bit of work for before, he kept calling me "whizzkid", as in "jayz ur a whizzkid", etc. i eventually turned round and told him to stop brown-nosing, i was still going to charge him the same as i charge anyone else! :mad:

get your minds outta the gutter, i do computer repairs for a living! :D

in secondary school alright everyone used call me my older brothers name because he earned himself a reputation after he flat knocked out a teacher in the class who chose to make an example of him (christian brothers, say no more!), but that used annoy me, never bothered correcting them though, didnt annoy me enough to bother!

actually, now i remember it, a guard called to my door couple o weeks back (nothing i did!), but he recognised ME first, sort of, turned out he was in my younger brothers class in school, but even HE called me by my older brothers name at first! :D

yeas... it could come in handy! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Sheesh

What if I called you 'uptight'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I gave someone a dig for that one before :cool:
    Bored now.
    Byebye dear.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Sheesh
    dont ever come to england,particulary lancashire,the words of endearment like flower,love, ducky,petal ,are used in every sentance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

In Belfast, blokes get referred to as 'love' by women all the time. It doesn't bother me, if I'm honest, I don't give it a second thought. I don't have an inferiority complex to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

In the UK, love is popular as well as a endearment for all men, by women serving etc. . Up north particularly.

I prefer it to the London scowl.

Call me weird.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    What if I called you 'uptight'?
    I ain't uptight. Are all non-chickens uptight?

Oh I bet you're a pet aren't you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Pittens wrote: »
    In the UK, love is popular as well as a endearment for all men, by women serving etc. . Up north particularly.

I prefer it to the London scowl.

Call me weird.
    most of us ;up north; are down to earth and are friendly to everyone,in fact just like the irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I ain't uptight.

you sound pretty uptight

PeakOutput wrote: »
    you sound pretty uptight
    Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Don't call me Chicken, Pet or hunny please.

OK sweet cheeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

I do this compulsively, mostly because I meet a LOT of people and rarely remember their names, so "sunshine", "kiddo", "sugarlips", "sweetcheeks", "petal", "butterfly", "chief", "horse", "babycakes", "sweetie", "darling" etc have to suffice....

so u dont even bother to learn someone's name? That's sad, the nicest thing one can hear is the sound of your own name from someone else's lips

Another one I detest is babe, as heard in the nicer parts of Dubland, and when they say, "you're a star"...:mad: p*ss off and dont be so condescending

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A stranger calling me "babe" would be a bit much all right, or, say, an employer (unless messing) but a friend (m/f): no probs. I like affection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Dudess wrote: »
    A stranger calling me "babe" would be a bit much all right, or, say, an employer (unless messing) but a friend (m/f): no probs. I like affection.

Happy 20,000 babe! :P

I cringe when I hear young people, younger than me, use these terms to people older than them! :( It's one thing for a little old lady to do it, but it usually sounds forced from a young person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Shoesa

I like being called pet names by my friends or by someone who might be trying to be helpful. Some of my friends have been those generic ones, other times I say things like 'kitty,' 'bunny,' 'piggy,' 'snooty' etc.