Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish driver and roundabouts

• 19-04-2010 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭

Can someone please explain this to me..

I've been back in the country a couple of years after 20+ years abroad (and did my driving test abroad) and cannot fathom why very few people in Ireland seem to understand the correct lane procedure on 2 lane roundabouts. 99% of people drive in the left lane even if going all the way around the roundabout. I take the M4 going home, coming off at the Clane exit (the one after Maynooth) and even today, about 15 cars queued up in the left lane.. one in the right lane, and everyone went around the roundabout to the 2pm and 4pm exits...

Am I missing something about Irish laws on roundabouts?

Is this not covered in the standard training, tests?

It's not a rant, but have even had somone 2 days ago accelerate from 2 car lenghts behind me, past me in the left lane, and then block me while shouting out his window at me... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Wait 'til you have a go of the M50. Two 'fast' lanes and a 'truck' lane, super mario cart has nothing on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

An lot of drivers on the road have not done a driving test and don't know the rules.

A huge amount of people know the rules but just don't care.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I usually straddle the centre line on roundabouts. Best of both worlds.*
    *This is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

ahh ok.. i was beginning to think there must be something obvious I was missing, or there was a different rule in Ireland.. It just seem's well daft, not to mention dangerous.

Three major roundabouts today, and the same situation at each and everyone one of them. Never ever had anything similar in 20+ years of driving in the UK/US/Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭T83

You have the ones with no clue how to use it, the ones who know how but keep getting blocked into the right lane by the people in the former, and the ones who know how to use it but if they do then some tool from the first category will rear end them as they're crossing the right lane to the left to exit.... Type1+Type2+Type3=Chaos... simples

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Welease wrote: »
    I take the M4 going home, coming off at the Clane exit (the one after Maynooth) and even today, about 15 cars queued up in the left lane.. one in the right lane, and everyone went around the roundabout to the 2pm and 4pm exits...
    The first time ever in Ireland that most drivers along a stretch decided to keep the left and yet they still manage to be in the wrong feckin lane.
    If nothing, Irish drivers are consistent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Jaysus, Clane is coming up in the world :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Roundawhats???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭SQ2

Yeah that Kilcock Roundabout is madness, most drivers just keep in the outside lane even if they're taking the "3 O'Clock" exit.

Are people afraid to change lane on a roundabout to make their exit??

How there hasn't been an accident on it is beyond me

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Americans are worse. They call them "traffic circles".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Poor signage has a lot to answer for too, sometimes signs are on the roundabout exits themselves. In this case I sometimes use LH lane to err on the side of caution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

squod wrote: »
    Wait 'til you have a go of the M50. Two 'fast' lanes and a 'truck' lane, super mario cart has nothing on it.

That makes for a unofficial fast lane on the Inside lane, i.e you can proceed unhindered by the pleb's in the other two lanes without having to overtake to maintain you pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

some havent a clue when it comes too roundabouts ,two lanes coming onto it. stay in the f**kin lane you started in and if you do need to change use the f**kin little orange thing on the side of your poxy car .

the amount of times ive nearly been crashed into on a roundabout by some fool is unbelievable .start in the right lane to go right and instead of staying in that lane when you get to the exit they without indicating go into the next lane

or those who just drive straight over the two lanes ,so annoying
    i pity the fool who does hit me

kazul wrote: »
    Poor signage has a lot to answer for too, sometimes signs are on the roundabout exits themselves. In this case I sometimes use LH lane to err on the side of caution.

sorry but thats no excuse in my oppinion no matter how the signs are you still no how to use the roundabout ,its in the rules of the road and there are even adverts for it its really easy .if the signs are on the exits which i think is the case everywhere surely you can see them before hand .and there is a sign before hand to say what exit is what

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Take it easy, I'm perfectly aware of how to negotiate a roundabout but if the signage on approach is unclear or non-existant which lane would you suggest/prefer that I use?
    Sometimes you can't see signage until you're at the relevant exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭TheColl

kazul wrote: »
    Take it easy, I'm perfectly aware of how to negotiate a roundabout but if the signage on approach is unclear or non-existant which lane would you suggest/prefer that I use?
    Sometimes you can't see signage until you're at the relevant exit.

Use the right-hand lane and go around the roundabout fully if needed until you know where your exit is!

TheColl wrote: »
    Use the right-hand lane and go around the roundabout fully if needed until you know where your exit is!

a+1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

OP, I use the same roundabout everyday myself and I try and use the Righthand lane to get to the Enfield exit, and the amount of tools that think I am trying to overtake the, so they speed up just so I can't get back in.

What I have started to do now is use the left hand lane, which I knwo is incorrect and I will hold traffic to allow drivers using the correct lane back into take the exit. All totally wrong, but very few seem to know the rules so feck them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

never mind signage, the rules of the road book has a lot to answer for. Only deals with 4 exit roundabouts with perfectly aligned exits at 12,3,6, and 9 o clock. When do you ever actually come across these...

Thus leads to two interpretations:

1) left lane for first two exits regardless of location, right for after

2) left lane for anything before 12, right thereafter.

(both above are simplified version and ignore the two lanes exiting off onto a DC etc)

Personally, I follow No 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Can someone please explain this to me..

I've been back in the country a couple of years after 20+ years abroad (and did my driving test abroad) and cannot fathom why very few people in Ireland seem to understand the correct lane procedure on 2 lane roundabouts. 99% of people drive in the left lane even if going all the way around the roundabout. I take the M4 going home, coming off at the Clane exit (the one after Maynooth) and even today, about 15 cars queued up in the left lane.. one in the right lane, and everyone went around the roundabout to the 2pm and 4pm exits...

Am I missing something about Irish laws on roundabouts?

Is this not covered in the standard training, tests?

It's not a rant, but have even had somone 2 days ago accelerate from 2 car lenghts behind me, past me in the left lane, and then block me while shouting out his window at me... :)

The testing regime in Ireland has been and continues to be totally unsatisfactory in terms of the calibre of testers and the applicability of the test. When you combine this with a population that has a disregard for rules generally you get the mess that is the Irish driving experience. I've driven in France, Germany, the UK, the USA, Benelux, Serbia, Bulgaria and Kenya and I can honestly tell you that only the Kenyans were worse drivers than the Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭voteforpedro

Anyone here use the dundrum tesco roundabout off the m50? i dont have to use it daily anymore but still is a total nightmare!!! i go straight on so always stay in the left hand lane. Correct no? the amount of people that stay in the right hand entry lane and cut across on front of me and shoot into the shopping centre is un-effin-believable. (and of course it would be my fault for hitting them from behind/side....) sorry rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

You should try the roundabout outside the airport for a laugh.

I drive through it every day and it's comical. Thing is it's not usually tourists in hire cars as you would suspect, but ignorant Irish drivers who barge through lanes and around the outside lanes regardless of where they're going.

As an aside, when you come off the above mentioned roundabout heading south on the old Swords road, there are two lanes, with the left turning into a bus lane as you come off. I almost always come off the roundabout in the right lane, and often people in the left lane attempt to just barge out onto the right lane, and look at you as if you're in the wrong because you're in the right hand lane. Learn to drive!!

coolbeans wrote: »
    The testing regime in Ireland has been and continues to be totally unsatisfactory in terms of the calibre of testers and the applicability of the test. When you combine this with a population that has a disregard for rules generally you get the mess that is the Irish driving experience. I've driven in France, Germany, the UK, the USA, Benelux, Serbia, Bulgaria and Kenya and I can honestly tell you that only the Kenyans were worse drivers than the Irish.

yes very true alot does come down to our education ,but i think alot of it comes to common sense i mean if you stay in the left lane and go to exit 3 your going to block a car in the right lane who is either going for exit 2 or 3 .the new rule is not to use the right lane for exit 2 am i right . but that is something people do and i dont think it will ever change.if you miss your exit why panic and cause an accident or a near one. take any exit and turn around very simple ,might take 2 mins of your journey .but will make it a safer one ..

in saying that though something just occured to me when i did my test i was told you can use the left and the right to go for the 2nd exit..but they have changed things .so now people who have a licence from before the change will drive that way and not be bothered looking up the new rules .and the people with the new rules will drive their way so the conflict will reamain .we need more garda enforcing the rules.which i have actually notice some days there are more around .in oter places youd get pulled for doing anything wrong tailgaitng taking roundabouts wrong etc etc

JCDUB wrote: »
    You should try the roundabout outside the airport for a laugh.

I drive through it every day and it's comical. Thing is it's not usually tourists in hire cars as you would suspect, but ignorant Irish drivers who barge through lanes and around the outside lanes regardless of where they're going.

As an aside, when you come off the above mentioned roundabout heading south on the old Swords road, there are two lanes, with the left turning into a bus lane as you come off. I almost always come off the roundabout in the right lane, and often people in the left lane attempt to just barge out onto the right lane, and look at you as if you're in the wrong because you're in the right hand lane. Learn to drive!!

yes ive seen that too,and they usually only end up one car ahead ,wow what a diffrence that made to their journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

QUOTE;the amount of times ive nearly been crashed into on a roundabout by some fool is unbelievable .start in the right lane to go right and instead of staying in that lane when you get to the exit they without indicating go into the next lane&ltQUOTE I deal with this daily, why do people think they have to exit on the left lane? 2 lanes entering - 2 lanes exiting - driver going straight through roundabout It is beyond me why when exiting the roundabout you (sometimes) see left indicator coming on and they merge to the left lane nearly wiping out the traffic flowing in that lane or creating a tailback from them having to brake.

Maruney wrote: »
    QUOTE;the amount of times ive nearly been crashed into on a roundabout by some fool is unbelievable .start in the right lane to go right and instead of staying in that lane when you get to the exit they without indicating go into the next lane&ltQUOTE I deal with this daily, why do people think they have to exit on the left lane? 2 lanes entering - 2 lanes exiting - driver going straight through roundabout It is beyond me why when exiting the roundabout you (sometimes) see left indicator coming on and they merge to the left lane nearly wiping out the traffic flowing in that lane or creating a tailback from them having to brake.

last time this happened me .i beeped the muppet and ,the driver ,the passenger and the back seat driver looked supprised as to why there was a car in the left lane and where making angry faces at me i broke my b***ocks laughing at them .and there faces changed maybe the penny dropped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Anyone here use the dundrum tesco roundabout off the m50? i dont have to use it daily anymore but still is a total nightmare!!! i go straight on so always stay in the left hand lane. Correct no? the amount of people that stay in the right hand entry lane and cut across on front of me and shoot into the shopping centre is un-effin-believable. (and of course it would be my fault for hitting them from behind/side....) sorry rant over

is there not an arrow on the road there showing the left lane is only for turning left at the first exit? I'm not sure but one of the roundabout around there definitely does have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

SQ2 wrote: »
    Are people afraid to change lane on a roundabout to make their exit??

It's illegal to change lanes on a roundabout. However, it's so natural a thing to do ~ which is why we have so many crashes at them.

General comment.

Because each roundabout will or can be locally tailored by the volume of traffic, it can be confusing to know where one should go. Made more difficult by poor or lack of signage ~ road markings are obscured by traffic on them.

Also, on the smaller roundabouts there is mostly only one lane on the roundabout itself, despite two lanes running into them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

I'm usually ok on roundabouts and generally stick to the rules. However there is only one roundabout that has me bamboozled. Thats the one in Midleton. There are no fewer than eight entry/exits on it. What happens in that case. The way I figure is the left lane is for the first two exits and the right for anything after that. The quesiton is though - am I correc in making this assumption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

It's madness at that roundabout and the two previous. The first one to go straight ahead is the left hand land (even though most people use the right hand lane. I witnessed this on Sunday where there were 3 cars in the right hand lane, I stayed in the left but behind the last car just to keep out of their way) - then the next roundabout you use the right hand lane to go straight ahead as per the road markings which are only visible at the end of the lane. Why can't they stick up sign posts beside roundabouts esp the ones where they differ from the RotR.

Can someone answer me this, if you approach a roundabout with two lanes and need to go ahead you take the left hand lane (as per RotR assuming there's no signs saying different) now coming off the roundabout is two lanes ( = O = ), which one do you take??

I'm thinking of the one in Dundrum. I would normally take the left hand lane and exit at the left hand lane (which turns into a bus lane and then I'd move back to the right hand lane). Can you decide which lane to go into or do you automatically have to take the first one you come to? If that's the case can you take the right hand lane to exit at the right hand lane? Normally indicating doesn't really work when the two lanes are so close and roundabout drivers can be so wrapped up in their own little world esp those in BIG BIG BIG monster truck cars.

Sorry if that is confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

was taking the 3rd exit off a roundabout last night, driver in a Xsara was in the left lane, cut across me and took the exit, was a bit peeved. 1 mile down the road was taking the 2nd exit, he takes the right lane, indicates right and cuts me up again. this time I kept going, blasted the horn and he stopped dead. 5 minutes later on the motorway he flys past me and gestures.

What's scary is he probably thought he was in the right.....

rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

wyrn wrote: »
    It's madness at that roundabout and the two previous. The first one to go straight ahead is the left hand land (even though most people use the right hand lane. I witnessed this on Sunday where there were 3 cars in the right hand lane, I stayed in the left but behind the last car just to keep out of their way) - then the next roundabout you use the right hand lane to go straight ahead as per the road markings which are only visible at the end of the lane. Why can't they stick up sign posts beside roundabouts esp the ones where they differ from the RotR.

Can someone answer me this, if you approach a roundabout with two lanes and need to go ahead you take the left hand lane (as per RotR assuming there's no signs saying different) now coming off the roundabout is two lanes ( = O = ), which one do you take??

I'm thinking of the one in Dundrum. I would normally take the left hand lane and exit at the left hand lane (which turns into a bus lane and then I'd move back to the right hand lane). Can you decide which lane to go into or do you automatically have to take the first one you come to? If that's the case can you take the right hand lane to exit at the right hand lane? Normally indicating doesn't really work when the two lanes are so close and roundabout drivers can be so wrapped up in their own little world esp those in BIG BIG BIG monster truck cars.

Sorry if that is confusing.

2 Lanes Entering - 2 Lanes Changing - You Going Straight Ahead? Of course you exit in the same lane you entered, why would you make a lane change for no reason. Things like this amaze me how people have no common sence, see my earlier post of how dangerous this can be.

Sorry what I meant was could you use the right hand lane to go straight ahead to take the right hand lane when coming off the roundabout?
    The left lane turns into a bus lane fairly quickly (although it's not in service at the moment).

Just to note before anyone starts I always take the left hand lane on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

You should always exit a roundabout in the left most lane. If there are two lanes entering a roundabout you should be in the left lane unless you are turning right, i.e taking any exit after 12 o clock.

wyrn wrote: »

You don't change lanes. Two cars may enter a roundabout at the same time in adjoining lanes. That is one in the left and one in the right lane.

The car in the left lane MUST exit 2nd left the car in the right lane has OPTION to exit 2nd left.

Both cars can manoeuvre this simultaneously, the car in the left lane exists 2nd left and stays in the left lane. The car in the right lane exists 2nd left but stays in the right lane ... when it is then safe to do so he occupies his correct position in the left lane.

gbee wrote: »
    You don't change lanes. Two cars may enter a roundabout at the same time in adjoining lanes. That is one in the left and one in the right lane.

The car in the left lane MUST exit 2nd left the car in the right lane has OPTION to exit 2nd left.

Both cars can manoeuvre this simultaneously, the car in the left lane exists 2nd left and stays in the left lane. The car in the right lane exists 2nd left but stays in the right lane ... when it is then safe to do so he occupies his correct position in the left lane.

Cheers :) I thought this but I wasn't 100% sure so I always took the left hand lane.
    Didn't want to chance it with some of the chancers on the road.

There's another roundabout in which it's exactly the same layout however when joining the roundabout the right hand lane is indicated for going straight on only (left lane for turning left).

I think it's time for the RotR to be updated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Velocitee

My favourite is the roundabout on the M7 (northbound after Abbeyleix - don't get me started on that place.)

Dublin exit is the 4th exit I think (open to correction, could be 5th).

Cars go in right hand lane to get to Dublin exit - perfect, exactly as should happen.

When they want to come off for Dublin they go from right hand lane and don't use the left hand lane just drive across it to get off!

What should happen is they check mirrors, signal and move into the left (outermost) when they pass the exit immediately before their own, then drive off.

The amount of numpties who do this is unbelievable, I never see anyone come off correctly in front of me. (and I always stay well back because they don't know anyone will be in left lane to come off so just cut straight across without checking).

Of course 70% of the time I see people doing this properly BEHIND me (on seeing me do it.)

I hope that they remember for the next time they use such a roundabout but it really shouldn't be up to drivers to impart knowledge onto other drivers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭dublinscot

in saying that though something just occured to me when i did my test i was told you can use the left and the right to go for the 2nd exit..but they have changed things .so now people who have a licence from before the change will drive that way and not be bothered looking up the new rules .and the people with the new rules will drive their way so the conflict will reamain .
    Ahh that explains it, thanks. I've been wondering why people do this ever since i moved to Ireland a few years ago.

Around what year did the change in rules happen?

what about walkinstown ,that was scary the 1st few times i went on it .kamikazi roundabout ,but now i find it easy ,but you gotta be watching whats around you for sure .i think some just cant handle all the lanes and exits .and panic

dublinscot wrote: »
    Ahh that explains it, thanks. I've been wondering why people do this ever since i moved to Ireland a few years ago.

Around what year did the change in rules happen?

cant remember the exat year i did mine in 2001 so i just got in before the theory test came in and after that they started changin things .im nearly sure if you get an old rules book itl be in there .thats why even some roundabouts had the merging part so you could come from the right lane into the 2nd exit i think some still do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Velocitee wrote: »
    My favourite is the roundabout on the M7 (northbound after Abbeyleix - don't get me started on that place.)

Dublin exit is the 4th exit I think (open to correction, could be 5th).

Cars go in right hand lane to get to Dublin exit - perfect, exactly as should happen.

When they want to come off for Dublin they go from right hand lane and don't use the left hand lane just drive across it to get off!

What should happen is they check mirrors, signal and move into the left (outermost) when they pass the exit immediately before their own, then drive off.

The amount of numpties who do this is unbelievable, I never see anyone come off correctly in front of me. (and I always stay well back because they don't know anyone will be in left lane to come off so just cut straight across without checking).

Of course 70% of the time I see people doing this properly BEHIND me (on seeing me do it.)

I hope that they remember for the next time they use such a roundabout but it really shouldn't be up to drivers to impart knowledge onto other drivers!
    If I was there, you'd see me doing it correctly too. :)

The eastbound slip onto the M7 (towards Dublin) is the fourth exit off the roundabout if you enter it from Abbeyleix/Cork/N8.
    It's one of those big oval roundabouts/motorway junctions, and this exit is at the end of one of the narrow ends of the oval. That's still no excuse for people slingshotting across the lanes though.
    It's a roundabout I always tread carefully on, as people do some of the most peculiar things there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭200motels

A lot me drivers from Dublin don't know how to use them, down here most do from my experience but the thing they do down here that bugs me is very few indecate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Ahh well the drive home today was more of the same... Single 97 White VW Polo in left lane went all the way around to the 4th exit (4 o clock) cutting up 1 cars, a lorry and me in the process :)

God bless him, he did indicate right all the way around though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Ahh well the drive home today was more of the same... Single 97 White VW Polo in left lane went all the way around to the 4th exit (4 o clock) cutting up 1 cars, a lorry and me in the process :)

God bless him, he did indicate right all the way around though ;)

Thats the problem, they think they are driven in the correct lane, the bleeding muppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

Apologies for ressurecting this thread but twice in the last 2 weeks a similar incident has happened me at roundabouts (different) and I'm wonder if anybody else has experienced it. Both times I am on the roundabout and a car pulls out which is fine as he is accelerating and has time but the guy behind is not looking at me but the car in front and thinks everything is clear causing me to brake to avoid collision. The first time I blew the horn at the guy and he apologised the second time there was no need for the horn as the look of fear on the guy's face said it all when he realised how close he came to an accident. Has annybody else seen this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Roanmore wrote: »
    Has annybody else seen this?
    That's a new one to me. Guess you're just lucky:pac: