Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

West Wicklow Roar

• 19-04-2010 2:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭

I searched for a thread on this race but couldn't find one so apologies if its a duplicate.

Just wondering if any of the top guys from WAR are entering this race too? Or is it too easy ;)

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 12 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    75%
    JipOryxtrentvfguinannerraw1111guaposGoHardOrGoHomeBigAl81chem100479 9 votes
    3 stars (average)
    8%
    Robertd_07 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    16%
    joetiebelcarra 2 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Looks like another good race and the blessington lake setting is gorgeous - did a kayak spin there two Wednesdays ago with Brian of Total Experience and it was a beautiful evening - at the time I remarked on how romantic it would have been if only I wasn't surrounded by hairy AR men...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭trentv

4 stars (good)
    Are you going to get involved Peter? It looks like the easiest of the bunch of the new ARs, but as you say its in incredible surroundings and if the weather is anything like you got on Saturday it will be spectacular!
    (congrats too for a great race on saturday)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Rinker

Did my first AR (sport) last weekend. Loved the event and was thrilled with a top ten finish. Definitely got the bug now so will be entering Roar and GF. Don't know the Blessington area. is there much climbing on the bike and runs sections ?:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

Not so sure that it will be the easiest of the new ARs ;) but we intend making the first run (for both Sports and Expert courses) easier than that for the WAR last Sat based on feedback on our ROAR training day recently and on the times taken by many on the sports course for the Spink run last Saturday.
    There is a marked difference betwee those competing at each end of the field and it is important that we try as best we can to cater for both.

The terrrain up toward Billy Byrne's Gap and Monbane gets rough up top so we are going to have a shorter hill run and add on some distance on the lakeshore for the first run compared to that currently shown on the map.

The sports cycle is shorter than WAR but more undulating so very important to do a bit of climbing on the bike.

There are some decent bike climbing sections for the experts particularly up to Ballynultagh Gap and the Black Hill run section should prove "testing" :D at that stage of the race.

Present indications are that most of the top finishers in the WAR will be renewing rivalry at the West Wicklow Roar so that should make for a facinating day's racing up front.

As the West Wicklow Roar like WAR is part of the National Adv Race Points Series so the race for points will be intense no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Robertd_07

3 stars (average)
    I enjoyed WAR so much I signed up Sunday evening.
    Really looking forward to it now.
    Hope to do even better than in WAR.

4 stars (good)
    Glad to hear you are attracting all the top guns, its testament to the organisation and quality races!
    I've seen the "series" mentioned a few times now, is there a link to a list of the races in the series available? I cant find much about it online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Thinking about entering this.

Can anyone tell me if the kayaks are 1 or 2 person? Hope there 1 person, turned around at war to see the guy i was with, with his paddle across his legs at 1 stage.

4 stars (good)
    I'd say they are two person like the majority of these races. Maybe if you know someone else doing it you could prearrange to share and meet at the shore?

trentv wrote: »
    I'd say they are two person like the majority of these races. Maybe if you know someone else doing it you could prearrange to share and meet at the shore?

Afraid not, all the lads are either injured or too lazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭fguinan

4 stars (good)

Can anyone tell me if the kayaks are 1 or 2 person? Hope there 1 person, turned around at war to see the guy i was with, with his paddle across his legs at 1 stage.

My advice would be to make sure you are in the back of the kayak!!! ;)

fguinan wrote: »
    My advice would be to make sure you are in the back of the kayak!!! ;)

Exactly what i was thinkin:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Enduro

Very funny. Yet another arguement for the BYO kayak approach, and learning to paddle properly.

I'd say that its pretty certain that any kayaks provided by the race will be 2 person sit-on-tops, as with WAR, GF etc. Nasty heaps of crap that they are.

Enduro wrote: »
    I'd say that its pretty certain that any kayaks provided by the race will be 2 person sit-on-tops, as with WAR, GF etc. Nasty heaps of crap that they are.

now now, let's be positive. They are practically impossible to fall out of, they require very little skill and you get to make a friend in them.
    They are slow but so what, if you're in one you probably aren't too pushed about speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Peterx wrote: »
    now now, let's be positive. They are practically impossible to fall out of, they require very little skill and you get to make a friend in them.

The guy I was with Saturday hit me in the head about 4 times with his paddle and did his best to capsize us on numerous occasions. At one point I was thinking I should have kept my bike helmet on.

However he was a sound camper so can't argue with your last point!

3 stars (average)
    Enduro wrote: »
    Very funny. Yet another arguement for the BYO kayak approach, and learning to paddle properly.

Funny that you should say that. I think just learning to paddle properly would reap the greatest dividends.
    I play canoe polo and do a good bit of whitewater kayaking (when the rivers allow) so would be fit enough in a boat.
    At WAR on Saturday, there was a guy getting in the water in a polo boat at the same time that I got on the water with some random guy who said he'd a small amount of paddling experience.
    We moved ahead and stayed ahead of the guy in the polo boat. (And I know he'd be handy enough in a boat)
    Was very suprised by that.
    There's a lot to be said for 2 peoples effort (even if one of them isn't very experienced).
    Saying that, if he had been in a K1 it would have been a different story.

I'd say the guy in the polo boat was much quicker then the fella sitting on the lakeside waiting for a couple of minutes for a partner for his two man though.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Causeway

trentv wrote: »
    Glad to hear you are attracting all the top guns, its testament to the organisation and quality races!
    I've seen the "series" mentioned a few times now, is there a link to a list of the races in the series available? I cant find much about it online.

Excuseless is the main man behind the series, he should have more details on a webpage soon.

Races for 2010 to be

Wicklow Adventure Race - Glendalough - 22/04
    Diamond Quest Ireland - Kilbroney - 15/05
    West Wicklow Roar - Tulfarris - 22/05
    Gael Force - Westport - 21/08
    Achill Roar - Achill - 11/09
    Wicklow Adventure Race - Glenmalure - 26/09

All these have an expected winning time of more than 3 hours

Each race to allocate 100 points for the first 100 finishers in each of the Male and Female Categories including all age group categories participants.

100 for 1st, 99 for 2nd, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Are these the only races that are included in the series ?

What about the dingle adventure race http://www.dingleadventurerace.com/, waterford adventure race , http://www.waterfordadventurerace.com/ - both of those of events are similar to the GF, WAR, and WWRoar events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

I'd say the guy in the polo boat was much quicker then the fella sitting on the lakeside waiting for a couple of minutes for a partner for his two man though.......

Unfortunately very true.

3 stars (average)
    That's very true.
    As I was in the Beginner start, there wasn't much chance of that.
    If I were in the elite wave, would have to consider this as a possibility.

Just back from a meeting with the good folk at Tullfarris earlier today and based on the good response to the BYO kayaks at WAR, we are going to have the same option available at the West Wicklow Roar :).

there will be a 300m run mainly on a gravel track to the kayak in/ out point.
    After racking your bike at the end of the race you will have approx 100 m to run on lovely soft grass to the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Dunebuggy

Excuseless wrote: »
    Just back from a meeting with the good folk at Tullfarris earlier today and based on the good response to the BYO kayaks at WAR, we are going to have the same option available at the West Wicklow Roar :).

there will be a 300m run mainly on a gravel track to the kayak in/ out point.
    After racking your bike at the end of the race you will have approx 100 m to run on lovely soft grass to the finish.

No repeats of gohard being first out of the water in a double then !!

Excuseless wrote: »

That's great to see. Good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 DPA

I've cycled the route and found the second run no problem. Can anyone tell me where the entry point is for Run1? It wasn't immediately obvious to me cycling along after about 11k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭glennbhoy

hey, doing the sport option and planning on doing the cycle and/or run this weekend, current map isnt great, any tips or directions for this course where you have to go. Do you start beside the hotel?

4 stars (good)
    Yea, if anyone has a gpx of the route it would be great to use as a guide for a recce!

More details up on the www.roar.ie site about the first run section including arrangements that have been made for training access as it is over private land.

Brian Keogh is due to mark the basic route on Friday so if out training on it this weekend you should be ok.

Regular entries close at midnight this Friday (30th) so if not signed up yet would be better to do so now and save yerself scrambling after the limited late entries.

4 stars (good)
    I have a question about the first run, i was just wondering if the landowner has given permission for people to be there before the race for example this weekend if we wanted to have a look at the course?

I was thinking of just walking it this weekend for a gander, but would like to know that it is alright, and i wont be getting shot at :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Dunebuggy

Just wondering if anyone has completed the cycling section . . and how you would rate it against Achill Roar and WAR.

Looking forward to the event - wonder if the organisers can pull off another sunny day similar to what thay had for Achill Roar and WAR :-)

To answer a few questions raised:

The Sports course run is basically marked with tape and arrows.
    Access across the private farmland has been arranged so no fear of being shot unless of course you are worrying the sheep;).
    Transition Area TA2 will be in the farmerss field beside the No Access sign on the laneway down to the lake shore.
    If you are down there this Saturday and need some assistance come down and ask at the bottom of this lane - This will be the base for the Adventure Race Training day we are running so we are likely to around - training day details on www.roar.ie if anyone is interested.

The bike section will be a shade easier than WAR with the last section the easiest but the second hill run is where the race will be won and lost most likely. Similar to WAR, Care should be taken on the country roads and in particular on the descent into Lacken on the final expert cycle leg with pothole and gravel dangers.

Up front in the men's race it should be an interesting day out for sure as Enduro might possibly be a little tired after running in French circles this week (good luck w that), PeterX has a niggling injury apparently and Tom Kelly who was third that day now has a "commitment" elsewhere so unfortunately will not now make the start line.
    Those behind these lads who are looking to move onto the podium include top ten finishers Niall Somers (He of sitting on kayak waiting for a partner fame), Keith Heary, John Mc Enri (Top Vet) and Chris Caulfield who is locally based and is in great form as evidenced by his win in the Connemara Challenge last w/e.
    Derval Devaney will again head the ladies field whilst Donna Mahon will be aiming to improve on her third place in WAR providing she gets back ok from her trip to the European Masters Mountain Running race in Barcelona this w/e.
    Rumours are rife of a mountain biker challenge from several elite riders including Mel Spath so that should make for an interesting day's racing.

There are still a few entries available at www.roar.ie but be quick as these are likely to be gone before entries are due to close next Tuesday.

For anyone not able to race or with an inkling to see what the race is all about and able to help out with marshalling on Saturday we would love to hear from you.
    We can offer a meal, race teeshirt and free entry to any of the ROAR events in return.
    If interested please phone Brian at 087-8307214

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭UpHill

Competing on the 22nd and wondered if anyone wants to double up for the kayak section, did okay in the WAR in April, in the low 70s from the 400 plus that competed the long course (4hrs 35mins),
    hoping to do a good time for ROAR and thats it is as challenging as WAR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

4 stars (good)
    What is the expert cycle like?

It 'looks' ok from the maps.

I'm undecided re sports V expert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Rinker

UpHill wrote: »
    Competing on the 22nd and wondered if anyone wants to double up for the kayak section, did okay in the WAR in April, in the low 70s from the 400 plus that competed the long course (4hrs 35mins),
    hoping to do a good time for ROAR and thats it is as challenging as WAR

I'll take up your offer. Did the Sport course in WAR, top ten finish, so we probably have very similar times for the canoe section.

Make Yer Mind up Nerraw111:)!

The expert cycle is about 24km longer with one decent climb befroe the second run and the descent from TA3 is fast and on a somewhat sketchy road surface - fine if you take your time on it but potential for splat if you don't as always with country roads.

Entries closing at midday on Tuesday - www.roar.ie has the details

Ladies Expert race in particular looks like it will be a mouthwatering clash with the top 4 from WAR all confirmed and top mountain/ road biker Mel Spath from Germany (And Dundrum of recent times:D!) being joined on the start line by former Irish Champion mountain biker and Champion mountain runner Beth Mc Cluskey who is sure to be in the shake-up if she makes it off the water in touch with the field.
    In common with several other's with podium ambitions, she has been spotted practicing out at Total Experience's base.
    Prepare to be "beth'ed" lads as she sails past on her bike on the way to TA2:eek:.

Lots of folk were out practicing on the course in the sunshine yesterday The cows and sheep on the first run section have got used to the intrusion at this stage. Just make sure to close gates after you.

Long Term Weather looking promising too.

Hope to have waves starts published on Wednesday.

Because of the punched start system we are employing for this event we hope to be able to accommodate anyone looking to change waves at the last minute to go with friends, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭watergal

had entered for the solo.. but that was before I realised my new bike would take 8 weeks to deliver ( backlog apparently with the bike to work). Only got my bike last Thursday evening and took it out on Fri & Sat. Won't get out on it til next Wed as I'm doing the docks 5 mile run on Tuesday evening and have to work late tomorrow.
    Should I pull out ?
    I've run marathons, but I haven't cycled in years ( was hoping to get a good months practice to get to know the bike - but that got shot to s**t) and have never kayaked in my life ..

I had entered as a jogger as don't know what to expect, but should I wait for another time ? I cycled 13 miles friday and 13 miles sat, followed by a 4 mile flat run (plod - could hardly feel my legs !)
    by the way - it took me an hour to cycle that 13 miles, with only inclines ( no big hills) - so this is the level that I'm at, at the monent !

If you're expecting to win then yes, pull out.

Otherwise, just relax and enjoy the event. It'll take you as long as it takes you to complete it. You'll learn loads about yourself, and how to race this particular race, and others like it (and no amount of theorising is ever as good as actual experience). You'll set yourself a target which which should be no problem for you to come back and better next year. What could you possibly gain by pulling out?

watergal wrote: »
    had entered for the solo.. but that was before I realised my new bike would take 8 weeks to deliver ( backlog apparently with the bike to work). Only got my bike last Thursday evening and took it out on Fri & Sat. Won't get out on it til next Wed as I'm doing the docks 5 mile run on Tuesday evening and have to work late tomorrow.
    Should I pull out ?
    I've run marathons, but I haven't cycled in years ( was hoping to get a good months practice to get to know the bike - but that got shot to s**t) and have never kayaked in my life ..

I had entered as a jogger as don't know what to expect, but should I wait for another time ? I cycled 13 miles friday and 13 miles sat, followed by a 4 mile flat run (plod - could hardly feel my legs !)
    by the way - it took me an hour to cycle that 13 miles, with only inclines ( no big hills) - so this is the level that I'm at, at the monent !

No way should you pull out. Take your time and try not to consider it a "race" but more of an adventure. Theres no time limit and there will be loads of people there who's only aim will be to get around the course. The kayak's are 2 person sit on tops which are easy to use even with no experience so you should be fine.
    If you do think the course is a little long however you could always see if you can swap to the sports race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 earsandasmile

I am new to Adventure racing and I have entered the sports category for Saturday's race. I am wondering what type of pedals to fix to my bike. Clip ons or normal pedals?

I took part in the Connemara Challange last weekend and used clip ons. I had the wrong type of bike and it totally ruined my day. :mad:

I'd really appreciate any advice so I can avoid a repeat. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

What do people plan to do if they are using road bike shoes and runners ?

Bag on back style ?

How far is the run from the start to kayak ? Would it be best to start in bike shoes ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

4 stars (good)
    dario28 wrote: »
    What do people plan to do if they are using road bike shoes and runners ?

Bag on back style ?

How far is the run from the start to kayak ? Would it be best to start in bike shoes ?

I was planning on bag on back. The kayak is quite close to the transition area but would I be right in guessing that you're going to get your feet wet at some stage anyway ?

Anyone here get to do the run part over the weekend ? The hill part looks quite rocky, how is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

This is my first adventure race also, and I'm going to cycle in my trail shoes with the standard plastic toe clips on my road bike. Tried it out Saturday and although not ideal it works for a relatively short spin. Does anyone know if the first run (along the lake) is on the shore/sand or in the woods?

4 stars (good)
    r0nanf wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the first run (along the lake) is on the shore/sand or in the woods?

For Sports it looks like it's both, along the lake and then up onto the hill/mountain. Expert also do that run and another afterwards which is all hill/woods or whatever is there, looks pretty barren in places.

Had a look from the Lacken carpark (checkpoint 1b) end last weekend and everytime I found a trail in the woods it seemed to lead into someones gaff or workshop! Must be mainly on the beach?

3 stars (average)
    Was out there yesterday.
    From what I can see (and going by the description on the website) it's a run into the mountain to checkpoint 1a and then back down, past transition and on to checkpoint 1b.

I just had a look at the kit for the race, seriously a foil blanket is considered necessary. Surely it's ok to not have one for the sports class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

r0nanf wrote: »
    I just had a look at the kit for the race, seriously a foil blanket is considered necessary. Surely it's ok to not have one for the sports class?

Do you not want to look cool after ya finished !

Its going for 20+ degrees on Sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

4 stars (good)
    So does anyone who has trained on the course fancy giving us a bit of a description? Its a pity the website doesnt have the profile of each section like they did for WAR or maybe i havent looked hard enough. Best of luck to everyone on Saturday

4 stars (good)
    The cycle section for the Sports course is not too bad, it's fairly up and down for the most part once you take the left after Valleymount but there aren't any very steep sections, just a couple of long drags here and there. The road back into the hotel afterwards is in a bad state though.

I'd like to hear what the run sections are like though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

Has anyone registered for this yet? Did they give any indication of whether the rain gear etc will be required?

Also - what type of timing chips are they using - the ones you strap to your foot or the dipping one?

Edit: Just saw that registration does not open until tomorrow!

4 stars (good)
    I think the timing will be done by punch card, pretty sure I read it somewhere on their site.

As for rain gear, it's supposed to be a warm week and as it's not a particularly long course I'd imagine it won't be needed, but again I suppose we have to wait till we hear from the organisers.