Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Froch V Kessler

• 19-04-2010 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,534 ✭✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/8569063.stm

well, in some better news, the above fight looks to be going ahead this weekend. I see Kessler bouncing back to score a knock out by the middle rounds in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Good stuff, this will be a good fight..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I've been very negative towards Froch, his belief that he'd whoop Calzaghe seems askew and his ability in ring has never prompted me to believe he was anyone of worth in the division, but if he beats Kessler, who will come to fight, I think I'll have to reassess my opinion of him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Froch should be a huge star by now, but sometimes 'cocky boxer talk' just sounds too arrogant and people just dont like him.
    He's too cocky, not good enough, talks people down etc. other boxers can 'trash talk' and get away with it because they show some humility during other interview (soccer am etc.) Froch just sounds like a knob 24/7 and I hope he gets slapped around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I think quite the opposite, I don't think he has the skills or the resumé to be considering a top star so he runs his mouth to fast track himself to the top... in a way as David Haye has done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Kessler is a slight favorite here at 8/13 and Froch at 5/4.

This is one of, if not the hardest fights to call so far in 2010.

Kessler seems far more polished and technical; he is tough and strong and has a good chin.

I don't know. Froch seems to find ways to win. He's a winner. I think maybe Kessler's more accurate and pinpoint shots will find Froch easier than Carl's more telegraphed punches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Froch should be a huge star by now, but sometimes 'cocky boxer talk' just sounds too arrogant and people just dont like him.
    He's too cocky, not good enough, talks people down etc. other boxers can 'trash talk' and get away with it because they show some humility during other interview (soccer am etc.) Froch just sounds like a knob 24/7 and I hope he gets slapped around.

The only reason Carl Froch isn't huge in the UK is Mick Hennessey, give Mick Mayweather vs Pacquiao and he'd barely be able to fill the York Hall with no tv.

Froch is quite well known here though, it's just no one knows when he's fighting, on what channel, who against etc. The Pascal and Taylor fights did build him a name over here(along with appearances on things like 'The Weakest Link', but when you're defending you title on Primetime which most people don't even know exist you'll struggle to really make it big.

A lot of what Froch says is tongue in cheek, and the rest he backs it up. He's been very respectful to Kessler actually, saying he'd 'knock him out' is the only bad or 'cocky' thing so far and he's been quite complimentary of Kessler's talent.

I suspect the Cobra will pull things out again, he's much more skillfull than most realise and he's always got the advantage when it comes to intangibles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,534 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

The only way i see Froch winning is if Kessler has not recovered mentally from the beating he took from Ward. Froch's will to win is huge, but i think Kessler is the more skillful fighter and has the power to eventually grind Froch down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Boooourns

I have a sneaky feeling for a Froch win in this one, Kessler was awful against Ward and its going to take a massive turnaround against a confident tough boxer on a very good run to win this. Home advantage could be massive for Kessler but you could hit Froch all night and he'll keep coming forward.
    It's hard to see Froch win on points against good technical boxers but Kessler looked on his way down in his last fight.

http://www.boxingscene.com/?m=show&id=27129

Carl Froch is mouthing off about Joe Calzaghe again. The guy seems to be obsessed with him at this stage. If Froch does pull it off this weekend, i can see Calzaghe being tempted to come out of retirement especially as the slating will likely only get worse from Froch. On the other hand if Froch loses this weekend, Calzaghe will have the final say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭mr.mayo

First of all, I'm just going to state my opinion on Froch: He's an arrogant, delusional cock who certainly doesn't deserve to be called world class. He was well beaten by Dirrell but was miraculously saved by his hometown judges, he talks a lot of trash, usually I like trash talk, it adds excitement to proceedings but with Froch it's different from when say Mayweather or Haye do it. Mayweather has been the biggest name in boxing for the past number of years and has won world titles in numerous weight, he can say whatever the hell he wants. Haye, while still relatively unproven at Heavyweight, has dominated the Cruiserweight division and has shown himself to be quite the fighter, so again, he can say whatever the hell he wants. Carl Froch on the other hand, has only two noteworthy victories(apart from the Dirrell robbery), the first was against Jean Pascal, I'll give him credit here, Pascal is a good fighter. The second was against Jermaine Taylor who obviously wasn't the fighter he once was. I don't even think a 30 something has been Robin Reid counts as a notable victory btw

Anyway, despite all that, I actually wouldn't be surprised if Froch won here. I don't think Kessler is as good as he once was, the defeat to Ward is bound to affect him. That said, he still is a far superior technical boxer to Froch and if he fights a smart fight, he's almost certain to get the UD here. The only way I can see Froch winning this is via stoppage, I'm still split on who to go for here. Last week I went for the technical Martinez over the slugger Pavlik, but I feel like a change this week:) Froch via stoppage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

i take it this isnt on tv again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,007 ✭✭✭Big Ears

i take it this isnt on tv again?

It's on Primetime, which is a pay-per-view channel.
    Save your money and just watch it on a stream is my recommendation.

I just don't understand why Ward isn't getting the recognition he deserves for beating Kessler. Eveyone seems to attritbute Kessler's loss as indication of his decline rather than him meeting a classy opponent who Bamboozled Kessler with his speed and footwork. I'd like to think if Kessler comprehensively beats Froch people will revise their opinion, as despite what people think Froch is no mug and he won't back down against anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

On the other hand if Froch loses this weekend, Calzaghe will have the final say.

I can see it already.

Calzaghe will absolutely RIP Froch for losing to a "Calzaghe victim".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I just don't understand why Ward isn't getting the recognition he deserves for beating Kessler. Eveyone seems to attritbute Kessler's loss as indication of his decline rather than him meeting a classy opponent who Bamboozled Kessler with his speed and footwork. I'd like to think if Kessler comprehensively beats Froch people will revise their opinion, as despite what people think Froch is no smug and he won't back down against anyone.

Beating Kessler was a very good win for Ward.

He beat a tough technical boxer in a fight where many, if not most, thought he would lose.

Kessler - Froch is an interesting pairing. I have a bias towards Kessler, but I do think that Froch's style will suit Kessler, which should allow Kessler to land more than he did against Ward.

Would be no surprise if Froch was to pull something from this match up either though.

The Ward- Greene fight has caught my eye as well. Greene has been doing a hell of a lot of talking about Ward the last few years.

The last two fighters that he gobbed off as much about were Miranda and Echols. Losing to the former and pulling out of the fight at the last minute against the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

anyone know what time this starts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,825 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Although Kessler is slight favorite with Paddy Power, their rds betting is identical for each fighter... That syas what I am thinking, that this bout is
    one of the hardest to call for 2010.

Bout should start at 2230 hrs Irish time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

I just don't understand why Ward isn't getting the recognition he deserves for beating Kessler. Eveyone seems to attritbute Kessler's loss as indication of his decline rather than him meeting a classy opponent who Bamboozled Kessler with his speed and footwork. I'd like to think if Kessler comprehensively beats Froch people will revise their opinion, as despite what people think Froch is no mug and he won't back down against anyone.

Cant find the exact results for the first four rounds - til kesslers eye opened up - but i think it was 3-1 to ward. After that, well, its easier if you see blood on the opponent with adrenalin etc pumpin. Kessler did meet a classy opponent, but the accidental butt ruled out a fair fight, imo, and thats leaving out any criticism ward received after for fighting a dirty fight. that said, i think froch will win this one, plus who knows if kessler wont cut again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

just saw the weigh in video on eastside boxing

Kessler looks UP FOR IT bigtime!!!!!!!

will their be a stream posted later?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 470 ✭✭Joe Musashi

Is this available to Chorus customers?

If not, it will have to be a stream for me. :(

Is this available to Chorus customers?

If not, it will have to be a stream for me. :(

You can buy it and watch it online on the primetime site but i suggest watching a stream as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭goalie2

lads, what time is fight starting at and where is it being streamed?

any streams???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

All the justin.tv streams have been ordered to shut dwn by the pay per view crowd. There is a sopcast stream available, am watching it now, Romanian commentary I think. Are we allowed to post stream links on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=74237&part=sports

Might be a decent one in there somewhere although I'm not having any luck as of yet. If I find a good one I'll post it asap.

magma69 wrote: »
    http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=74237&part=sports

Might be a decent one in there somewhere although I'm not having any luck as of yet. If I find a good one I'll post it asap.

The top sopcast link works fine.

sop://broker.sopcast.com:3912/60341

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

djhaxman wrote: »
    All the justin.tv streams have been ordered to shut dwn by the pay per view crowd. There is a sopcast stream available, am watching it now, Romanian commentary I think. Are we allowed to post stream links on here?

yep

This fight should be a barnstormer.

Have to head to my friend Justin's house to watch it though.

any working links??

TechnoPool wrote: »
    any working links??

Did the one I posted not work?

dosent for me , let me try it again.

All the justin.tv streams have been ordered to shut dwn by the pay per view crowd.

Oh, a change of plan then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 glens73

http://sports-4-u.com/

Try this, a bit intermittent but works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭jimmybeige

The last link is from an infected site.

nah get seem to find a linkage , has it started or is it in the next hour?

Boooourns wrote: »

That's the one I posted.

Its the best one fo far mate.

I'm after finding one, the quality isn't great but it's acceptable
    http://www.ustream.tv/channel-popup/s2-00000970

mr.mayo wrote: »
    I'm after finding one, the quality isn't great but it's acceptable
    http://www.ustream.tv/channel-popup/s2-00000970

working great thanks

Lets ave it! Kessler UD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

keane=cock wrote: »
    working great thanks
    x2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 glens73

x2

x3

battle of the metal anthems on the walk ins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Don't know about ye lads, but I wouldn't kick that Karen out of the bed for eating toast.

They're booing God Save The Queen, so disrespectful, hope Froch wins to stick it to them!

I think they were booing Karens singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Cant see Froch out boxing Kessler.

Just hope it lives up to the billing. This could be fight of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

No way in HELL Froch wins this if it goes the distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭docmartin

excellent link mr.mayo, tight opening round, maybe froch edged it, carrying his hands very low again though