Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airtricity 11 vs Man. Utd - **MOD NOTE POST 457**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

eagle eye wrote: »
    Anybody who goes around thinking that the colour of a front door has anything to do with soccer is nuts imo.

I would happily paint my door red and black, but everyone would think I am a psycho, so I leave it the way it is :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Hang on a sec. I presume you are Irish. If Manchester United were playing the Republic of Ireland senior team who would you shout for?

I would know im probably in the minority but I would be club over country every single time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,870 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

flahavaj wrote: »
    Ireland personally, but I wouldn't be too pushed if someone supported United either tbh.

I'd have much more affinity to the Waterford hurlers myself.:pac:

I am interested too see where you're going with this though.
    This team was not representing a club, its representing the Irish football league so its representing the Irish people. How on earth could you shout for an EPL club against them? I'm a Blackburn fan but I would never support them against any team that represented the Irish league or Ireland.

I don't follow the League of Ireland anymore but its embarrassing imo when you hear Irish people in an Irish stadium shouting for an EPL team against a team representing the Irish league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,559 ✭✭✭✭CSF

This team was not representing a club, its representing the Irish football league so its representing the Irish people. How on earth could you shout for an EPL club against them? I'm a Blackburn fan but I would never support them against any team that represented the Irish league or Ireland.

I don't follow the League of Ireland anymore but its embarrassing imo when you hear Irish people in an Irish stadium shouting for an EPL team against a team representing the Irish league.
    This makes perfect sense to me, so I'm glad to have heard it from someone who isn't a LOI fan at last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,870 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    I would know im probably in the minority but I would be club over country every single time.
    Well I feel sad for you that doesn't have any national pride.

Why are you treating it as all or nothing? I just have less affinity for the England team than I do for Utd. Its not that I dont have ANY national pride.

edit: i just find it very strange to people to put, especially their league, over their own team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Even though only a small percentage of Irish soccer fans, nevermind Irish people give a monkey's about the league? And from what I've heard from people I know that are ardent LOI fans, even supporters of LOI clubs thought this match was a bit of a joke, so it seems this team doesn't really represent too many people at all tbh. Especially a team where being Irish in any way wasn't a criteria for selection.

Even though only a small percentage of Irish soccer fans, nevermind Irish people don't give a monkey's about the league? And from what I've heard from people I know that are ardent LOI fans, even supporters of LOI clubs thought this match was a bit of a joke, so it seems this team doesn't really represent too many people at all tbh. Especially a team where being Irish in any way wasn't a criteria for selection.
    The match WAS a bit of a joke, but that shouldn't have any influence on allegiance. Irish people sitting in a stadium cheering on an English team against an Irish 1 is definitely going to be 1 of those social phenomenon that people look back on in years to come and think 'ah jesus' like flares and mullets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

The bit in bold is untrue, tbh.

Even though only a small percentage of Irish soccer fans, nevermind Irish people give a monkey's about the league? And from what I've heard from people I know that are ardent LOI fans, even supporters of LOI clubs thought this match was a bit of a joke, so it seems this team doesn't really represent too many people at all tbh. Especially a team where being Irish in any way wasn't a criteria for selection.

I always think of the national team as being the one representing the countries people and not the league. Chelsea playing in Europe do not represent me at all as an English person.

I think its just some people put their club before country and others take the reverse viewpoint.

CSF wrote: »
    The match WAS a bit of a joke, but that shouldn't have any influence on allegiance. Irish people sitting in a stadium cheering on an English team against an Irish 1 is definitely going to be 1 of those social phenomenon that people look back on in years to come and think 'ah jesus' like flares and mullets.

Was it an Irish team though? Technically speaking it could have been made up of Africans, Lithuanians etc etc. It was a team of the best players playing in the LOI. There were three Irish lads on the United team as well by that same token.

Are Sligo Rovers not an Irish team? They have a Cameroonian and a Benintinian player, get the boat.

At least Sligo itself is a place in Ireland though, people from Sligo would have a reason to support them.

And the League Of IRELAND actually happens to be a place in Ireland too. It is actually so big that it encompasses nearly the WHOLE island. If they'd called the team Ireland Rovers, would that be ok for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,993 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

IMG_4560.jpg

IMG_4554.jpg

scudzilla wrote: »
    IMG_4560.jpg

IMG_4554.jpg
    Quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

That first photo is magic. You could sell that.

And the League Of IRELAND actually happens to be a place in Ireland too. It is actually so big that it encompasses nearly the WHOLE island. If they'd called the team Ireland Rovers, would that be ok for you?

Not really. Its not the name as much as the premise. You actually expected people to go to a game and cheer on a one off team thrown together for a meaningless friendly, on the basis that they somehow represent them in some way? A team and a game that a lot of ardent fans of the very same league think is a waste of time? Moreover you're surprised that United fans who don't give a sh*te about the league would go to the game and support their team?

Edit: Those photos are amazing, everyone should thank them and make them post of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I was unable to watch this match but looking at the skysports story about it, i cant help but feel like their pointing and laughing at the standard of our LOI players a bit

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6295117,00.html
    Skysports wrote:
    The standard of their opponents could be measured by six representatives from a Bohemians side surprisingly beaten by Welsh outfit Total Network Solutions in the second qualifying round of the Champions League in Damien Richardson's starting line-up.

United's opener arrived in suitably farcical manner when Gavin Peers cut out a Park Ji-sung cross bound for Rooney at the far post then got himself in a complete mess as he decided what to do next.

Why exactly was it "suitable"?

And before anyone gets down my throat for nitpicking here, i'm a United fan :rolleyes:

Zonda999 wrote: »
    I was unable to watch this match but looking at the skysports story about it, i cant help but feel like their pointing and laughing at the standard of our LOI players a bit

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6295117,00.html

Why exactly was it "suitable"?

And before anyone gets down my throat for nitpicking here, i'm a United fan :rolleyes:

Reading into what Sky Sports spout is somewhat comparable to reading what the Sun spout. I never take anything they say seriously.

Not really. Its not the name as much as the premise. You actually expected people to go to a game and cheer on a one off team thrown together for a meaningless friendly, on the basis that they somehow represent them in some way? A team and a game that a lot of ardent fans of the very same league think is a waste of time? Moreover you're surprised that United fans who don't give a sh*te about the league would go to the game and support their team?

Edit: Those photos are amazing, everyone should thank them and make them post of the day.
    I never said I was surprised, just appalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Funny country. There was a time when supporting the 'foreign games' like soccer meant you had no national pride. Nowadays if you're not supporting an Irish soccer club side you have no national pride.

Maybe we should leave behind these silly notions and accept that people support the sports and teams that entertain them? Or would that ruin the fun of the pissing contests?

Anyways I'm off to iron my Dublin jersey and preparing for my Irish language class tomorrow. Hopefully I won't miss Fair City. Have to support these local actors after all.

Alex Ferguson speaks to the press after the 7-1 win over the Airtricity XI. Filmed by Peter O'Doherty for extratime.ie

I never said I was surprised, just appalled.

There's no need really. Just go watch some hurling next time, where everyone on the pitch truly represents their locality and doesn't even expect to get paid.;)

Funny country. There was a time when supporting the 'foreign games' like soccer meant you had no national pride.
    This is still the case among the most militant GAA fans, when was this ever the case outside of GAA lovers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Even though only a small percentage of Irish soccer fans, nevermind Irish people give a monkey's about the league? And from what I've heard from people I know that are ardent LOI fans, even supporters of LOI clubs thought this match was a bit of a joke, so it seems this team doesn't really represent too many people at all tbh.
    Personally, it wasn’t so much the game was considered a bit of a joke, but rather the idea that it would in some way put the Airtricity League in the ‘shop window’ – that was a joke. There is simply no way the League of Ireland could possibly come out of this fixture with additional credibility – it was never going to happen. Now that they’ve been on the end of a pasting, the 40,000 people that paid, what, upwards of €40, to watch this spectacle will simply go away with their preconceptions about football in this country strongly reinforced. But of course, if those 40,000 people were to spend €40 attending fixtures at their local clubs every now and again, then maybe the quality of football on show, and grounds in which it is played, would be of a higher standard. As long as people continue to expect the same standard of football at Dalymount and Tallaght (for example) as they see at Old Trafford and The Emirates (for example), then football in this country will never, ever progress beyond what it is at the moment.

This game achieved absolutely nothing other than generating some funds for the FAI and was never likely to achieve anything more than that.

I’m told that Gilesy acknowledged that the standard of football in the domestic league has improved over the last 20-odd years? Reminded me of some videos on the Pat's website - a stark reminder of days gone by and incontrovertible evidence that things have certainly improved, on the facilities front if nothing else:

There's no need really. Just go watch some hurling next time, where everyone on the pitch truly represents their locality and doesn't even expect to get paid.;)
    I should probably support Kilkenny if I do. There might be a Wicklow man on the Dublin panel anyway, so they don't even represent Dublin as a county.

djpbarry wrote: »

Jaysus, those were the dark days.

I should probably support Kilkenny if I do. There might be a Wicklow man on the Dublin panel anyway, so they don't even represent Dublin as a county.

Exactly - so why be so pedantic about this or the meaningles friendly that was played tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,384 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

So true. You'd.never see American, asain or African fans cheering an epl side against a local one. Never. So Irish.