Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGowans yis can go and feck right off!

• 17-04-2010 4:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭

Went out for my sisters 29th birthday last night to this fairly well known pub in Phibsboro.This pub was picked by my sis as somewhere different than the norm (Swords)!

So she rounds up a big crowd of mates (about 15 or so) and all got taxis in (€40 per taxi from where we live). Our Dad came out too so i headed in with him first as he was driving. No problem. Bouncers at 9pm all smiles and went "How are yis off ye go"! Sister and her mates ...all sober arrive about 20mins later and got stopped at the door and refused entry for "not being regulars"! WTF? Neither me or my Dad have been there in about 2yrs or more and got in no prob,but the bouncers were havin none of it with regards the others,even the spinless yoke of a manager wasnt budging. The pub had literally no more than 20 people in it.

Cue 10 minutes of completely useless conversation with the bouncers..still nothing.Headed up the road to the Porterhouse where we spent a fortune and had a great night. No hassle from bouncers, savage food and lovely pints...feck yas McGowans! I cannot understand for all their moaning and giving out, publicans who turn away decent paying customers from a pub thats near empty!:mad:

Clearly not all publicans can "feck off"...just this particular shower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

anniehoo wrote: »
    Went out for my sisters 29th birthday last night to a fairly well known pub in Phibsboro (starts with Mc and ends in Gowans...:p). This pub was picked by my sis as somewhere different than the norm (Swords)!

So she rounds up a big crowd of mates (about 15 or so) and all got taxis in (€40 per taxi from where we live). Our Dad came out too so i headed in with him first as he was driving. No problem. Bouncers at 9pm all smiles and went "How are yis off ye go"! Sister and her mates ...all sober arrive about 20mins later and got stopped at the door and refused entry for "not being regulars"! WTF? Neither me or my Dad have been there in about 2yrs or more and got in no prob,but the bouncers were havin none of it with regards the others,even the spinless yoke of a manager wasnt budging. The pub had literally no more than 20 people in it.

Cue 10 minutes of completely useless conversation with the bouncers..still nothing.Headed up the road to the Porterhouse where we spent a fortune and had a great night. No hassle from bouncers, savage food and lovely pints...feck yas McGowans! I cannot understand for all their moaning and giving out, publicans who turn away decent paying customers from a pub thats near empty!:mad:

... then why have "punlicans" in the title?

Anyway, just one reason I never touch a palce with bouncers. Too unpredictable.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Thread should be:

McGowans yis can go and feck right off ... so.

Seen as you don't mean, all publicans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭SlabMurphy

Went out for my sisters 29th birthday last night to this fairly well known pub in Phibsboro.This pub was picked by my sis as somewhere different than the norm (Swords)!

" The pub had literally no more than 20 people in it.......Headed up the road to the Porterhouse where we spent a fortune "

I cann't understand these dicks on the doors :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

"Sorry, regulars only"

How the f*ck can I become a regular if you never let me in ?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Dublin forum
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

peasant wrote: »
    Dublin forum
    >
    Awww dont send it over theeeeeeere :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

So, is McGowan's still full of horny nurses these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I go to a great boozer called McGowan's. Not the one in Phibsboro.

Thread title should be: McGowan's in Phibsboro yis can go and feck right off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I was tempted to move this to the Ranting & Raving forum, but I know the OP from the Pets forum and she's level headed enough to call the shots on bad service.

Given the choice between The Porterhouse (North) and McGowans, The Porterhouse would win hands down every time.

And as you mentioned the food in The Porterhouse - it rawks!.

Pyr0 wrote: »
    "Sorry, regulars only"

I know!!!! This place is renowned for the craic after matches. So how the feck do randomers up from the country get in no prob on the few days a year they come up and a group of well dressed, sober and non argumentative Dubs on a quiet friday night before 10pm dont??? The mind boggles i tell ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Pretty much always been like than in Mcgowans. Its not a good idea to turn up in large groups though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

You don't get refused for not being a regular. It's not a valid excuse. The bouncer refused your sister cause he didn't want her and her mates in there (probably cause there was 15 of them) and used the regulars only thing as an excuse.

mickdw wrote: »
    Pretty much always been like than in Mcgowans. Its not a good idea to turn up in large groups though.
    Sorry should have elaborated. Me and my Dad got there first. My sis and 2 of her mates arrived then in the first taxi. The others were on the way. So it literally was 5 at this time (3 getting refused). The others just met us in the Porterhouse when they heard what had happened.

Ah...im just genuinely shocked by the carry on of the staff there. I can honestly say not one of us was drunk, badly dressed or argumentative. My sister is stunning and so are her 2 mates and they'd made a real effort to dress nicely for the night...so im just seriously amazed by what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Arriving in a big group (i.e. 15) is often a problem at a door. She's turning 29 and she doesn't realize this by now?

Edit: Never mind, OP has already answered this directly above me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sorry should have elaborated. Me and my Dad got there first. My sis and 2 of her mates arrived then in the first taxi. The others were on the way. So it literally was 5 at this time (3 getting refused). The others just met us in the Porterhouse when they heard what had happened.

Ah...im just genuinely shocked by the carry on of the staff there. I can honestly say not one of us was drunk, badly dressed or argumentative. My sister is stunning and so are her 2 mates and they'd made a real effort to dress nicely for the night...so im just seriously amazed by what happened.

Gick happens, and now the better pub has your money - and furthermore and more importantly in the long run for The Porterhouse, they have your recommendation for a large group heading out into Phibsboro for good craic, good food and great music - not to mention friendly staff!.

Email this thread to McGowans :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

Adyx wrote: »
    You don't get refused for not being a regular. It's not a valid excuse. The bouncer refused your sister cause he didn't want her and her mates in there (probably cause there was 15 of them) and used the regulars only thing as an excuse.

But if you have a half empty pub then why on earth wouldn't you want 15 more customers in? It's fair enough if they were drunk, but the OP says they were sober. It's so ridiculous!

Email this thread to McGowans :D
    Great idea..will do!

My Dads also a bar manager and he was astounded by their attitude (he'd be the first to tell us if we were rude or out of line to either the bouncers or the manager) but he was genuinely shocked that they would turn away business that early on a friday night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Great idea..will do!

My Dads also a bar manager and he was astounded by their attitude (he'd be the first to tell us if we were rude or out of line to either the bouncers or the manager) but he was genuinely shocked that they would turn away business that early on a friday night!

definitely do that, show the idiots up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

moonflower wrote: »
    But if you have a half empty pub then why on earth wouldn't you want 15 more customers in? It's fair enough if they were drunk, but the OP says they were sober. It's so ridiculous!

Well it turns out they didn't all arrive together but large groups tend to be more troublesome and some security staff especially if they're on their own, might refuse groups in case something does kick off. Obviously a manager would want more people in, but a doorman migt not give a fcuk as long as he gets paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Idiot bouncers. Where have i heard this before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

moonflower wrote: »

The reason's pretty obvious why the pub was empty. Who do you think will make the loudest complaints if this establishment ever gets into financial trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

mcgowans are known for the "regulars only" thing, never had a problem there myself and im nowhere near a regular.they are very selective on the crowd they let in though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

McGowans don't want Dubs - end of!

Haven't been there in a long time but they tend to cater to the nurse / gardai / ex-pat (country people living in Dublin) sort of crowd so I guess this is why they were blanked. I'm sure you and your family are lovely people but if one of your sisters friends happens to have an 'AJH' accent or 'look' that could be the route of the problem. Alternatively it could have been a bad call on the night by the doorman but it's regular practice to stand your ground on the door, even if you're wrong. There's no point in employing door staff as a manager / owner then coming out every ten mins to say 'ah sure they'll be grand' to people they have blanked.

That said I'm surprised there was only 20 pax there at 10pm on a Friday night! Are they operating more as a disco bar now? I.e. the crowd don't go there until after a regular pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

sister is stunning and so are her 2 mates and they'd made a real effort to dress nicely for the night...so im just seriously amazed by what happened.

Pics or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I used to drink in McGowans on Kilburn High Street and trust me the bouncers were the least of your worries there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

The bouncers at McGowans are pricks of the highest order, but sure most pubs are like that anyways, besides the bouncers McGowans is a great spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭dragonbet

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Getting turned away from McGowans! How embarrassing. I'd be keeping that to myself...

My sister is stunning and so are her 2 mates and they'd made a real effort to dress nicely for the night

No offence but that's your own interpretation. I've seen plenty of stunning girls in jeans and t-shirt that you could bring anywhere and plenty of half dressed 'stunning' girls where I have thought 'I would love to 'do' her' but would die if my mother saw her in my company!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

McGowans has always been like this.

I hate the place over their attitude. Even inside there is "you're lucky to be here" attitude from some of the bar staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

The same shít happened me there too. Sober as a judge, wearing work cloths.
    "Sorry, regulars only." There was 20 people in the place, 5 of which were my friends. We all left. I will never ever go back to that shíthole and I encourage others to avoid.:mad:

They have had this policy for years, and they don't want for business.

If they place is busy, I dont see the issue with them giving preference to people who will be repeat custom.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    No offence but that's your own interpretation.
    Berkut wrote: »
    Pics or GTFO
    Haha ill PM both of yas pics or ill GTFO ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Apparently they have an over 25's pub which is a bit ridiculas. I've never been there but it's supposed to be a great place. Out of interest, is there another McGowans in Stillorgan. Is it the same McGowans?

The same shít happened me there too. Sober as a judge, wearing work cloths.
    "Sorry, regulars only." There was 20 people in the place, 5 of which were my friends. We all left. I will never ever go back to that shíthole and I encourage others to avoid.:mad:

'Regulars Only' translates as 'I don't like the look of you'
    Moonbaby wrote: »
    They have had this policy for years, and they don't want for business.

If they place is busy, I dont see the issue with them giving preference to people who will be repeat custom.

As above 'regulars only' is just an excuse. It's a nicer way of saying 'I think you're drunk / dressed inappropriately / dirty knacker / scroate / stoned / coked etc. and I don't want you in here' It doesn't mean they're right, it's just what they think based on your appearance / 5 second conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

was in there once, it's nothing special, and even on that night my older brother got hassle getting in.

feck it OP, you have a good experience you tell 2 people you have a bad one you tell 10 (+ boards.ie).

anyways, if you're going as far as there may as well push on to the city centre IMO.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Wimins getting turned away by bouncers. :confused:

Too far fetched a story to be real.

Edit: they did you a favour though as you ended up going to a much better bar.

poisonated wrote: »
    Apparently they have an over 25's pub which is a bit ridiculas. I've never been there but it's supposed to be a great place. Out of interest, is there another McGowans in Stillorgan. Is it the same McGowans?

It's in Churchtown, or used to be, as it's called 'Rodeo Joe's' now. Used to be Faces which started off good and turned in to a scroate hole. Mc Gowans Churchtown started off with strict door policy and was good for a couple of years but they let things slide after a while and it turned in to a scroate hole too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Pyr0 wrote: »
    "Sorry, regulars only"

*Thread Hi-jack*

Happened me once at my local. Bouncer on a power trip. I was sober and even drove down and was going to leave my car in my sisters apartment across the road.

Been going down every weekend, some odd Thursday nights, if not then every 2nd weekend. (This was all when I had a job :p) Then one weekend get stopped and asked for ID. Not a problem so showed the bouncer my ID and my friend showed his to the other bouncer. Get my ID handed back to me and "Go ahead." Then, as I was walking forward the bouncer who checked my friends ID, who I went out with every weekend, grabbed my shoulder, pulled me back and said "regulars only tonight."

Now here's the issues.

1. I have never had any issues with the bouncers at my local.
    2. I know the 2 girls on the door and in the cloak room.
    3. My dad was a bouncer.
    4. 3 of the lads that worked on the doors with my dad still work there and when I asked to speak to one of them the bouncer refused right out to call any of them over the walkie-talkie.
    5. Did I mention the bouncer let my friend in? The one that I always go out to my local with? Well, they did so naturally I was having none of this shíte but I didn't raise my voice or anything with the bouncers I simply said "Look, my dad used to work here with (bouncers names) they know I'm his son just ask one of them to come out and they'll tell you I'm here nearly every wknd and sometimes even twice a week.
    6. I was dressed appropriately, I always am.
    7. There was nothing changed about my appearance for them not to recognise me.
    8. They let 3 Polish nationals from a neighbouring town in. (regulars only, eh?)
    9. They let in 2 girls who don't go regularly plus one isn't 18 'til September. (I'm friends with her cousin and invited to the 18th.)

Just as I was leaving in the car the Gardaí came along and set up a checkpoint just up the road. I was stopped and this is the conversation:

Garda: Not going out tonight lads?
    Me: No. Apparently I'm not a regular.
    Garda: Are you the milkman's son, (dad's name)?
    Me: Yep. How'd you know him?
    Garda: *Laughs* He delivers to the station. Sure he was even on doors down there years ago, wasn't he? Why'd they not let you in?
    Friend: The bouncer who checked my ID pulled him back and said he wasn't a regular, even though when one of is out the other is always there too, it's a joke.
    Garda: Right, pull in there and we'll go down and have a chat with the bouncer.
    Me & Friend: :confused: No no no it's grand I'll just go down during the week and talk to (manager) during the week he's my aunties husbands uncle.
    Garda: No it's grand I'll have a chat with him and see what his problem is, just pull up ahead of the squad car and come down with me.
    Me: *pull car in*

Garda and bouncer have a chat and she comes back.

Garda: Yeah, he's not letting you in tonight and I can't do anything because they holds rights to refuse admission, sorry about that.
    Me: That's grand I wasn't expecting him to change his mind anyway. Thanks anyway have a nice evenin'.

Before the typical AH bull of "Yeah, great story, now why don't you tell us what really happened?" My story is true. I've never been in trouble at my local or even in my life for that matter so they'd no legit reason to refuse me that night. It wasn't even a busy night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

It's in Churchtown, or used to be, as it's called 'Rodeo Joe's' now. Used to be Faces which started off good and turned in to a scroate hole. Mc Gowans Churchtown started off with strict door policy and was good for a couple of years but they let things slide after a while and it turned in to a scroate hole too!

No, there's another one in Stillorgan now too. It's been open about 6 months to a year or so. It's all owned by the same family, but they sold the one in Churchtown a few years back.

Meh... McGowan's is just Coppers on the northside. You were better off going to the Porterhouse.

Did you go down during the week to chat to your Auntie's husbands Uncle and if so what was the outcome?

beanyb wrote: »
    No, there's another one in Stillorgan now too. It's been open about 6 months to a year or so. It's all owned by the same family, but they sold the one in Churchtown a few years back.

Meh... McGowan's is just Coppers on the northside. You were better off going to the Porterhouse.

Ah right! Blakes / Bondai / McGowans?

Yet another scroate hole!

Haha ill PM both of yas pics or ill GTFO ;)

All picture no sound anniehoo!

Did you go down during the week to chat to your Auntie's husbands Uncle and if so what was the outcome?
    Bouncer got a bollocking and me and my friend got 10 free passes. Result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

Bonito wrote: »
    *Thread Hi-jack*

Happened me once at my local. Bouncer on a power trip. I was sober and even drove down and was going to leave my car in my sisters apartment across the road.

Been going down every weekend, some odd Thursday nights, if not then every 2nd weekend. (This was all when I had a job :p) Then one weekend get stopped and asked for ID. Not a problem so showed the bouncer my ID and my friend showed his to the other bouncer. Get my ID handed back to me and "Go ahead." Then, as I was walking forward the bouncer who checked my friends ID, who I went out with every weekend, grabbed my shoulder, pulled me back and said "regulars only tonight."

Now here's the issues.

1. I have never had any issues with the bouncers at my local.
    2. I know the 2 girls on the door and in the cloak room.
    3. My dad was a bouncer.
    4. 3 of the lads that worked on the doors with my dad still work there and when I asked to speak to one of them the bouncer refused right out to call any of them over the walkie-talkie.
    5. Did I mention the bouncer let my friend in? The one that I always go out to my local with? Well, they did so naturally I was having none of this shíte but I didn't raise my voice or anything with the bouncers I simply said "Look, my dad used to work here with (bouncers names) they know I'm his son just ask one of them to come out and they'll tell you I'm here nearly every wknd and sometimes even twice a week.
    6. I was dressed appropriately, I always am.
    7. There was nothing changed about my appearance for them not to recognise me.
    8. They let 3 Polish nationals from a neighbouring town in. (regulars only, eh?)
    9. They let in 2 girls who don't go regularly plus one isn't 18 'til September. (I'm friends with her cousin and invited to the 18th.)

Just as I was leaving in the car the Gardaí came along and set up a checkpoint just up the road. I was stopped and this is the conversation:

Garda: Not going out tonight lads?
    Me: No. Apparently I'm not a regular.
    Garda: Are you the milkman's son, (dad's name)?
    Me: Yep. How'd you know him?
    Garda: *Laughs* He delivers to the station. Sure he was even on doors down there years ago, wasn't he? Why'd they not let you in?
    Friend: The bouncer who checked my ID pulled him back and said he wasn't a regular, even though when one of is out the other is always there too, it's a joke.
    Garda: Right, pull in there and we'll go down and have a chat with the bouncer.
    Me & Friend: :confused: No no no it's grand I'll just go down during the week and talk to (manager) during the week he's my aunties husbands uncle.
    Garda: No it's grand I'll have a chat with him and see what his problem is, just pull up ahead of the squad car and come down with me.
    Me: *pull car in*

Garda and bouncer have a chat and she comes back.

Garda: Yeah, he's not letting you in tonight and I can't do anything because they holds rights to refuse admission, sorry about that.
    Me: That's grand I wasn't expecting him to change his mind anyway. Thanks anyway have a nice evenin'.

Before the typical AH bull of "Yeah, great story, now why don't you tell us what really happened?" My story is true. I've never been in trouble at my local or even in my life for that matter so they'd no legit reason to refuse me that night. It wasn't even a busy night!

For people who can't be bothered reading the whole thing: You were turned away for not being a regular and the bouncer still wouldn't let you in after a garda tried to get him to change his mind.

JoseJones wrote: »
    For people who can't be bothered reading the whole thing: You were turned away for not being a regular and the bouncer still wouldn't let you in after a garda tried to get him to change his mind.
    You're obviously one of those selective readers. ;)

Bouncer got a bollocking and me and my friend got 10 free passes. Result.

Coolio! And no problems ever since?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

McGowans has a very strict door policy as a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

You're obviously one of those selective readers. ;)

The sad thing is I actually read the whole thing!

JoseJones wrote: »

What business was it of the Gardai?