Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ammo test .223

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Great video Poulo, interesting to see the difference between the ammo thanks for sharing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Four Milk Cartons but only three types of ammo?! What a waste of a milk carton!! :D Could have used a soft point on that one!:D

Good video tho keep em coming!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

patsat wrote: »
    Four Milk Cartons but only three types of ammo?! What a waste of a milk carton!! :D Could have used a soft point on that one!:D

Good video tho keep em coming!;)

ya i let my brother have a shot at the 4th carton,
    any more suggestions on different types of ammo or anything like that
    i will take on bord and try in another vid if you want.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

poulo6.5 wrote: »

I think you have Proved that the Hornady and wolf are close, But the Hornady have more consistant accuracy hence the greater price.

Hornady are also easier on Barrel with Moly coat

Good Vid to show Newbies etc. Well Done;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Fair play another great video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭zulu_dawn

great video
    well produced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

excellent video on the different rounds,very helpful for a beginner like myself....

id love if you could get a video of a fox shot with the horn,
    looks by the quality of the video to be a good camera.
    nice job:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Paulo..... Your just just having way too much fun mate;)

Good vid bud......

coughlan08 wrote: »
    excellent video on the different rounds,very helpful for a beginner like myself....

id love if you could get a video of a fox shot with the horn,
    looks by the quality of the video to be a good camera.
    nice job:)

once we get some more practice with the new camera we will do a night shoot. lamping rabbit and fox. it would be a bit more difficult as we would need lights etc but we will do it soon.

dwighet wrote: »
    Paulo..... Your just just having way too much fun mate;)

Good vid bud......

thanks dwight.
    we did a long range shoot at 250y 400y and 500y on steel with the same three rounds, surprisingly the cheep ammo did just as good as the v-max. i'm just waiting for my brother/camera man/editor to get his finger out and upload it for me.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Nice plain English presentation and easy to understand visualisation of impact characteristics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Good one Poulo.28974647.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Ghost.

Thats a good video,

well done. Its great seeing side by side comparisons like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭yog1

can you get fmj for any caliber, bought a 22-250 and would likesomthing cheaper to get used to the new gun currently using hornady 55g v-max, also have a 22lr to learn/plink with

yog1 wrote: »
    can you get fmj for any caliber, bought a 22-250 and would likesomthing cheaper to get used to the new gun currently using hornady 55g v-max, also have a 22lr to learn/plink with

i think you can only get that cheep wolf ammo in .223 and .308 because they are the same as the NATO 5.56 and 7.62.
    i'm not familiar with the .22 250 so cant comment
    you can buy FMJ for .22 but i cant see why you would as its so cheep anyway, for example you can buy federal in a box of 525 for €21. i use winchester subs in my .22 and i get 500 for €45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Great video paul and I look forward to the accuracy tests

Hornady are also easier on Barrel with Moly coat

Those Hornady rounds in the video weren't moly coated though were they?

Vegeta wrote: »
    Great video paul and I look forward to the accuracy tests

Those Hornady rounds in the video weren't moly coated though were they?

no they were just ordinary everyday v-max ;)

The Only Flaw in the Video was No Moly coated :D

Next vid I might show what the inside of my barrel looks like ;)
    Oh Roll on June till I get some time off!:D

The Only Flaw in the Video was No Moly coated :D

Next vid I might show what the inside of my barrel looks like ;)
    Oh Roll on June till I get some time off!:D

i'll have to get my hands on some of those molly coated rounds, if they are half as good as you say nothing will be safe.

how much are the molly's compared to the slandered v-max:D

what rifle and twist have you

i'll have to get my hands on some of those molly coated rounds, if they are half as good as you say nothing will be safe.

how much are the molly's compared to the slandered v-max:D

what rifle and twist have you

I got them for €26 coz I bought 200. Normally €27-30 depending on dealer.
    1/12 Twist on mine Hence likes the 55grain rounds, it spat out the 75grain like a mouth full of snot as they require a different twist to stabilize.

A mate of mine who is a game keeper was given 200 75 grain and could not wait to get rid of them. I fired them @ a 100m target and they were all over the place.
    JP C put three of them 55gr into a 1/4 inch @100 2 years ago. I've used them ever since.

I know a lot of swift owners who wish Moly was out years ago as copper fouling is a Bitc& on hot rounds. Copper melts and adheres to rifling. Moly is a grease with a High melting point, Moly BTW are Varmint express coated in Moly;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

Excellent video again Poulo - it's great to see that information is shared - when do you get your first DVD out :D

cheers bud. i'll keep practicing on the film making first thanks.

i'm just trying to answer the questions that i have my self and share the results with ye lads and enjoying the sport along the way.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Collioure

cheers bud. i'll keep practicing on the film making first thanks.

i'm just trying to answer the questions that i have my self and share the results with ye lads and enjoying the sport along the way.:D

Great video....great to see some quality irish vids on rifles on youtube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Poulo, I posted a question about he most effective .223 type round to use on foxes a few weeks back and I have to say that your video was just what I wanted to see - Thanks a million - Great video - Looking forward to the next one !!!

vixdname wrote: »
    Poulo, I posted a question about he most effective .223 type round to use on foxes a few weeks back and I have to say that your video was just what I wanted to see - Thanks a million - Great video - Looking forward to the next one !!!

your welcome. glad to help. i enjoyed making it anyway:D

112174.jpg
    your welcome. glad to help. i enjoyed making it anyway:D

Tackleberrywho, that's some size of a picture i'll have to get a bigger screen.

marlin vs wrote: »

I can't figure out how to make them smaller.
    I've only posted 4 or 5 pics on this.
    Most are just links.

Why can't a pic be just copied and pasted??
    Its windy as fcuk here today with rain in the air so I may wait until sunday to test @200 & 300 yards.:(

I'm so excited to see what this re-crown will do to my bunny hunting.
    I've spent €200~ on my Remington 700. I reckon I have added hundreds on to accuracy; but I will not know until I get a good day to test.

I was thinking of a re-barrel prior to this until I shot that group yesterday with just a re-crown and a Timney Trigger.

That 500yard bunny is coming closer. :D:D

I'm with imageshack and if you right click the picture it will give you the option to resize it, I just set it to medium.
    tackleberrymedium.jpg

I'm with imageshack and if you right click the picture it will give you the option to resize it, I just set it to medium.
    tackleberrymedium.jpg

tidy group, what range . i'm guessing 100m

Yes 100yards, I was out today but it is gusting too much to try for 200. And spitting rain.:(

Will all this wind just blow over in the name of god!

I'm also having difficulty getting scope perfectly level.
    So hard to level bench-rest,rifle and scope and then when I put it up to my shoulder its not level.:mad: Just for me to realise the barrel is not level with the stock. The Joys of taking things apart in 2 mins and taking 2 hours to get them back together :D:D

If I want to get a 500yard bunny I need to get this part perfect. 1 or 2 degrees are not critical @100 yards but when one goes past 100 the angle has the effect of sending rounds off target.

What I'd give for somebody to do all this sh1te for me!
    Any tips on fine Tuning? I can get a rifle on paper in seconds it's the fine tuning I have issue with:mad::mad:
    I used to cheat and get a contact to do it for me, but he is not in the country at the moment so It's down to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

I'm also having difficulty getting scope perfectly level.
    So hard to level bench-rest,rifle and scope and then when I put it up to my shoulder its not level.:mad: Just for me to realise the barrel is not level with the stock. The Joys of taking things apart in 2 mins and taking 2 hours to get them back together :D:D

!

Tack
    Is the level your talking about the cant of the scope?? I.E. the vertical reticle not lining with the rifle bore?

I use the Leupold zero point bore sighter for this. It uses a magnet to attach to the muzzel and the vertical lines from it when viewed through the scope are always vertical even if the zero point is off a little.

Good info here
    http://www.opticstalk.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1630&PN=1

clivej wrote: »
    Tack
    Is the level your talking about the cant of the scope?? I.E. the vertical reticle not lining with the rifle bore?

I use the Leupold zero point bore sighter for this. It uses a magnet to attach to the muzzel and the vertical lines from it when viewed through the scope are always vertical even if the zero point is off a little.

Good info here
    http://www.opticstalk.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1630&PN=1

How much did you pay for that yokiemabob?

I rarely mess with my scope, but it would be nice to be able to get the cant (x,y axis ) spot on before bringing to the range.

I'd be afraid that I might forget to take it off though. I heard some of them turned into impromptu rockets when users forgot to remove.

Thanks for the help. I finally found my set of Imperial allen keys and have the stock off. I'm now looking at the stock and realise that there is a variance in tolerences.
    The old adage once you start customizing you will never stop :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

How much did you pay for that yokiemabob?

I rarely mess with my scope, but it would be nice to be able to get the cant (x,y axis ) spot on before bringing to the range.

I'd be afraid that I might forget to take it off though. I heard some of them turned into impromptu rockets when users forgot to remove.

Thanks for the help. I finally found my set of Imperial allen keys and have the stock off. I'm now looking at the stock and realise that there is a variance in tolerences.
    The old adage once you start customizing you will never stop :D

bout £60 from opticswarehouse.
    http://www.opticswarehouse.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=leupoldzeropointboresighterp

clivej wrote: »

Good man!

I've just had a brain wave. I went against all my Engineering principals and my dads spirt level and I eyed the scope's cant.(I always speak in X,Y,Z and theta, I thought Cant was the language of the pyebald crew)

It looks like it has worked.
    I'll just tip down to the range in a min, fire off a few rounds and hopefully thats it.
    It is still gusting a bit so I will not go for a tighter group than yesterday but If I get damn close it will be good enough until we get our next calm day to test.:D

Thanks again Clive!

Good man!
    112306.jpg

I've just had a brain wave. I went against all my Engineering principals and my dads spirt level and I eyed the scope's cant.(I always speak in X,Y,Z and theta, I thought Cant was the language of the pyebald crew)

I'll just tip down to the range in a min, fire off a few rounds and hopefully thats it.
    It is still gusting a bit so I will not go for a tighter group than yesterday but If I get damn close it will be good enough until we get our next calm day to test.:D

Thanks again Clive!

I Just tested my theory and it seems to work. Group not as good as yesterday, I have 3 shots and I thought i was doing great and I pulled a shot. Still respectable though for a very windy day.(It is windier today than yesterday in my present location)

Notice one enlarged hole, i was on a high here i reckon I had buck fever for the third shot:D:D
    i may get that imaging thingy fixed, I can't get images unless they are Huge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Thomasofmel

I Just tested my theory and it seems to work. Group not as good as yesterday, I have 3 shots and I thought i was doing great and I pulled a shot. Still respectable though for a very windy day.(It is windier today than yesterday in my present location)

Notice one enlarged hole, i was on a high here i reckon I had buck fever for the third shot:D:D
    i may get that imaging thingy fixed, I can't get images unless they are Huge

Good shooting - what distance did you shoot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Great groups Tac are you using a bipod and rear bag combo or a benchrest ?

100 Yards
    Harris bipod 9-13 on 9 setting. The only bag I had was between my legs, I'm a hunter not a benchrest person. I have a bench rest but I only use it when cleaning etc to hold the rifle.
    Hornady 55 grain Moly. Wind was gusting. Tree branches were blowing etc and Sky was heavy with rain.

I hope to test Sunday at 200 & 300 weather permitting.
    Wish I had done this years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

If you go to the bottom right hand side of your screen there is an icon of a magnifying glass and a control for zoom. Use that to make the picture smaller.

sfakiaman wrote: »
    If you go to the bottom right hand side of your screen there is an icon of a magnifying glass and a control for zoom. Use that to make the picture smaller.

Anybody glass bed there Rifles? And did they notice much difference??:pac::pac:

there is a guy on youtube that did it to his remmy. and did a before and after shot group with good results.

http://www.youtube.com/user/wildernesseducation#p/u/27/JdUhYz0q30o

this is part 1 of 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Had my remmy .204 and .22 anschutz glass and pillar bedded .I found a good difference .

tomcat220t wrote: »
    Had my remmy .204 and .22 anschutz glass and pillar bedded .I found a good difference .

My remmy is bedded on Aluminium,the vid Paulo shows a very cheap rifle stock.

What model Remmy was yours?

Its a vls with a laminate stock.

Was your stock Aluminium bedded previously, mine is but I wonder if extra bedding is worth the effort??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Collioure

Good man!

Thanks again Clive!

These shot savers look very handy...for me it would be nice to make sure my zero is spot on before I go out....however I use a moderator....I would presume that once I am zero#s in with the moderator....I then take it off and put on the bore sight and take the grid ref.......next time I'm going out just in sure the same ref before putting on the moderator

Collioure wrote: »
    These shot savers look very handy...for me it would be nice to make sure my zero is spot on before I go out....however I use a moderator....I would presume that once I am zero#s in with the moderator....I then take it off and put on the bore sight and take the grid ref.......next time I'm going out just in sure the same ref before putting on the moderator

I personally think the WINDAGE is more important that the angle of scope is correct. Otherwise Round goes off on a tangent.

My .223 is moderated and bullet rises 100mm 4inches~ when mod is off. I zero with Mod on.

So if the Bore sighter is level with the barrel and stock then level scope accordingly.
    I might re-bed my stock to make it more level with the action & Barrel. thus keeping system in equilibrium

The more things that can be keep equal the more accurate it should be, In Theory:D:D:D
    But Murphy did have a law!

Was your stock Aluminium bedded previously, mine is but I wonder if extra bedding is worth the effort??
    Alunminium bedding plate and glass bedding that, is a top job ,imo ;)Who does your bedding or do you do it yourself ?

I'll get Fergal White to do it. I'll participate if I can. That schtuff tis mighty interetin to me :D:D
    I hope to give it a go soon.
    Thanks Tom