Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Puns

• 16-04-2010 7:48am

They're going to be the death of After Hours.. Worse than 'yore ma' ever was.
    I read a thread here yesterday and the first 3 pages were puns.. Once you've seen one, you've seen them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

I read a thread here yesterday and the first 3 pages were puns.. Once you've seen one, you've seen them all.

Link!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sketch. Teacher's here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

I hate bad puns. They are just not punny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

"It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door," he used to say. "You step into the Road, and if you don't keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to."
    - J.R.R. Tolkien, "Three Is Company," The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

stovelid wrote: »
    Sketch. Teacher's here.

I hope ya had more craic in secondary school than making bad puns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

How about you stick up an aul poll to see if people like them?

I hope ya had more craic in secondary school than making bad puns?

My nickname was Finbar Saunders back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

My nickname was Finbar Saunders back then.
    Fnarr! Fnarr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

That's what SHE said.

That's what I call a sticky situation.

(Hilarity)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I hate when you spend a few minutes trying to understand the pun in an AH post only to realise there isn't one.

Where's the pun in that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

We're just having a bit of pun, OP.

TheZohan wrote: »
    How about you stick up an aul poll to see if people like them?

On the mobile unfortunately.. If a mod you like to, fire ahead.

You're opening a real can of puns here.
    Shakespeare used an estimated 3000 puns throughout his plays.
    If it's good enough for the Bard, surely it's good enough for AH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Yup.
    I agree.

Unless its something serious then people throw puns in for 'thanks'.

Wouldn't mind if the Thanks function was removed from AH. Serves no major purpose here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

It can be punishing reading through some of these threads alright.

Still, you know what they say... A good pun is its own re-word.

Seriously, how the feck are yiz going to police puns?

Maybe Logic, Banned for making a pun.

Maybelogic to feedback; "I just got banned for making a homographic pun in AH. I think the mods are being a bit harsh because they normally only ban people for making homophonic or heteronymic puns"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Homophonic puns sound gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

From yesterday's sheep thread:
    Am I the only one that's terrible at thinking up puns?

*finds OP's reason for hating puns*

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

If you're talking about the pun-tastic electricution thread, I thought it was excellent. 3 pages of pure pun-mania and I loved it all.

Good puns are a trademark of AH and it would be a shame to try and change that. As AH is the pub of boards bad puns and tasteless, too soon jokes are part of any good pub session and to change it would be to change after hours.

It says in the charter that if there is a more appropriate forum for your thread please post it there. Well I think AH isn't limited by subject but how you want to discuss that subject, mainly in a light hearted, pub type way. If you take that out of AH then there would no longer be a need for AH, and nobody wants that.

I like the thanks function, it seperates the good puns from the bad ones and severely reduces the amount of +1's or single :D posts you'll see in threads and I wouldn't like to slog through 10 extra pages of unnecessary posts.

Well that's my pundementalist ideology anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I hate puns.
    Rabies wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind if the Thanks function was removed from AH. Serves no major purpose here.

It would certainly help remove a lot of the rubbish that is posted here. Thanks whores be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

OP I completely agree.

Puns are terrible and just a replacement of the 'yore ma' shite.

The fad will pass hopefully, and I think the tide is turning.

Rabies wrote: »
    Yup.
    I agree.

Unless its something serious then people throw puns in for 'thanks'.

The pun is mightier than the mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

NothingMan wrote: »
    Good puns are a trademark of AH and it would be a shame to try and change that.

Good puns aren't the problem, it's the really really ****e puns that do everyones head in...I think.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Good puns aren't the problem, it's the really really ****e puns that do everyones head in...I think.

But sure that's AH in general. There's a few nuggets buried in loads of crap. Not just puns, but in serious debates,regular jokes, first replies, comebacks... whatever.
    We're not professional comedians or writers. We can't expect to hit comedy gold everytime.
    For every 4 or 5 crap posts I make, say, I hit on one good one. That's just the nature of the beast.
    We're not all Mikoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Once you've seen one, you've seen them all.

A racist colleague of mine feels the same about the Chinese.

"Once you've seen Wan," he says, "You've seen them all."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

AnonoBoy wrote: »

The racist Asian thread is that a way
    >

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

AnonoBoy wrote: »

It works better with Puerto Ricans.

But then you'd have to find a Puerto Rican work... of art and admire it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

MaybeLogic wrote: »

Maybe Logic, Banned for making a pun.

Maybelogic to feedback; "I just got banned for making a homographic pun in AH. I think the mods are being a bit harsh because they normally only ban people for making homophonic or heteronymic puns"

Appropiate pun-ishment bwhahahaha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

enda1 wrote: »
    OP I completely agree.

Puns are terrible and just a replacement of the 'yore ma' shite.

The fad will pass hopefully, and I think the tide is turning.

No. YOUR MA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    We're not all Mikoms.

And a tip of the cap to you, Miss Corningstone.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    From yesterday's sheep thread:

*finds OP's reason for hating puns*

/thread

That's the only post in this thread that actually made me laugh..

The rest of the 'funny replies' where absolute muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

where they?

Sorry to have disappointed you. I'll demand a jolly good thrashing for us all from the next passing admin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

As far as I'm concerned, the punny replies are the only thing on After Hours worth reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Hagar wrote: »
    Sorry to have disappointed you. I'll demand a jolly good thrashing for us all from the next passing admin.

I was just proving my opening point in the same thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't think puns are funny at all, ever.

However, I don't think you can ban people from punning, it's not as clear cut as Yore Ma.

so just try and ignore it.

It can be punishing reading through some of these threads alright.

Who's making you?

/joke

Well i'd never suggest bannings, It just takes away from the humor in a thread if you're sifting through bad puns all the time.. Which most are.

How many people have said 'punny' for 'funny' in this thread.. Post count whores or what.

Who's making you?

/joke

Hardly the point.

Well i'd never suggest bannings.

Well, thanks. That's a relief.
    How many people have said 'punny' for 'funny' in this thread.. Post count whores or what.

On the question of yore ma. Not fat, I mean I didn't personally find it funny, but it was infinitely preferable (or more easily ignored) to listening to self-appointed police types trying to shape the forum to suit their own tastes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Some stories are crying out for puns (those criminals who dressed up as sheep) and some aren't - in general I like them here though. People saying "punny" is just desperation though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

This thread is funny, considering you couldn't pun yourself out of a wet paper pun.

Well, thanks. That's a relief.

On the question of yore ma. Not fat, I mean I didn't personally find it funny, but it was infinitely preferable (or more easily ignored) to listening to self-appointed police types trying to shape the forum to suit their own tastes.

My own tastes? There's def more people than me who appreciate actual humor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

So AH should be based on YOUR tastes? And yeah, obviously there are plenty who along with you dislike puns, but there are plenty who like them. It would hardly be fair if one group gets to have the upper hand - so here's what to do: ignore the bits of AH you dislike.
    On the question of yore ma.... I mean I didn't personally find it funny
    Liar :pac:

Seriously though OP, why on earth are you trying to change something silly on a silly forum? And why do you care?

My own tastes? There's def more people than me who appreciate actual humor.

The key word is highlighted.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relativism

Stop reading pun threads and let people enjoy themselves as they see fit.

Humour is very subjective, what's perceived as funny varies greatly from person to person. Otherwise there would only be one comedian telling the same joke and we would all be screaming with laughter while rolling on the floor in a sea of our own urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Whenever I read a pun I always hear "Ba dum TISH" after it and sarcastic applause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Bluefox21

phasers wrote: »
    Whenever I read a pun I always hear "Ba dum TISH" after it and sarcastic applause

with your eardrums?

phasers wrote: »
    I like the really subtle ones that go over the head on first reading.