Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Hemperor, Jack Herer has died.

• 15-04-2010 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

http://www.salem-news.com/articles/april152010/jack_herer_died.php
    (SALEM, Ore.) - The sad news has been confirmed. Jack Herer, author of Emperor Wears No Clothes and renowned around the world for hemp activism, has died at 11:17 a.m. today, in Eugene, Oregon...

Jack Herer's health has been poor lately, this last week there have been reports of the severity, and an outpouring of prayers on his behalf. "It's shocking news, even after these last seven, trying months," said Paul Stanford, THCF Executive Director.

"Jack Herer has been a good friend and associate of mine for over 30 years. I was there when he had the heart attack at our Hempstalk festival and I know he wouldn’t appreciate the quality of life he's endured these last months. Still he will be greatly missed. I honor his memory."
    Damn, man down!

One of the most influential figures in the cannabis movement has just passed away. I think we should all pay tribute to this great man who informed the world about the truths of cannabis use, both medically and industrially.

Since his writing of the book, "The Emperor Wears No Clothes", he has been a key figure in the legalise cannabis movement, and we just lost him.

Rest in Peace Jack, you will be missed.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Time to bring out Wesley Pipes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I'll see if there's an old nodger of soapbar down the side of the sofa so I can roll a one-skinner. He would have wanted it this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

*rolls one*

This ones for you Jack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Man..... Herer, Hoffman, I hear Shulgins health is in decline. Heavens gonna fukking rock!

(As soon as it starts existing of course)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭LiNgWiStIkZ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

I loved his skunk when I first came to Amsterdam.
    I'll roll one tonight in his honour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

So the evil marijuana finally got him, eh?

When will you stoners ever learn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

AnonoBoy wrote: »

When will you stoners every learn?

Nice try. But try again

SO THE EVIL MARIJUANA FINALLY GOT HIM, EH?

WHEN WILL YOU STONERS EVER LEARN?

Better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

A marijuana activist? A new oxymoron for the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That's freaky I was smoking some jack herer last night. :eek:

It's some damn fine weed, RIP Jack.

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's freaky I was smoking some jack herer last night. :eek:

It's some damn fine weed, RIP Jack.

He had his own brand of weed? That's awesome.

He developed a lot of the strains of Marijuana that people smoke today.
    The Godfather of Stoned, so to speak.

And not just any old weed, the best weed money can buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Sad day. Gonna get monged tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

SO THE EVIL MARIJUANA FINALLY GOT HIM, EH?

WHEN WILL YOU STONERS EVER LEARN?

Better?

I never said I wad deaf, I said nice try, but try again.

The correct answer was.....

Heart attack.

But thank you for playing!

I never said I wad deaf, I said nice try, but try again.

The correct answer was.....

Heart attack.

But thank you for playing!

Very sorry you thought I was serious. I didn't realise weed had killed off your sense of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Junkies

orourkeda wrote: »
    Junkies

Hardly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

When will you stoners ever learn?

My thoughts exactly

Drugs are illegal for very good reasons.

People who view cannabis/marijuana/weed/whatever as 'harmless', know this: this drug is sold by the same scumbags who deal heroin, who murder people and who are basically the scourge of this society.

By buying cannabis et al, you are financing criminals. It is not harmless, and the sooner more of these aging hippies who want to inflict their noxious dope upon us start pushing up daisies, all the better.

Ahhh Jesus Christ Daz, go and have a fukking drink or something will ye (a joint would be better), "the dealers are eating our babies! Cannabis funds paedofilia!!!!" chill out, it's the weekend.

DazMarz wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly

People who view cannabis/marijuana/weed/whatever as 'harmless', know this: this drug is sold by the same scumbags who deal heroin, who murder people and who are basically the scourge of this society.

By buying cannabis et al, you are financing criminals. It is not harmless, and the sooner more of these aging hippies who want to inflict their noxious dope upon us start pushing up daisies, all the better.

Because it's only the purchase of cannabis and other illegal drugs that contributes to deaths, geo-political machination and misery throughout the world. None of those legal consumer products, at all.
    The thread's a light-hearted tribute to a famed horticulturalist. No need to go all sanctimonious on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭cantankerous

My thoughts exactly

Exactly. Lower class communities were going downhill anyway, they're all degenerates with no ambition. Personally, i don't give a **** if they're being torn apart if it can help keep my children (who actually have a hope in life) away from drugs. Glad to see the headshops being burnt down too.

Anyone who's ever had any dealings with drugs should be shot. Prison isn't good enough for the cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 sideshowbob23

peace and love, jack, peace and love.
    happy trails of smoke dude.

Exactly. Lower class communities were going downhill anyway, they're all degenerates with no ambition. Personally, i don't give a **** if they're being torn apart if it can help keep my children (who actually have a hope in life) away from drugs. Glad to see the headshops being burnt down too.

Anyone who's ever had any dealings with drugs should be shot. Prison isn't good enough for the cnuts.

IRISH GOVERNMENT WARNING: Avoiding the use of illegal drugs turns you into a freaking psychopathic elitist nut job......apparently.

strobe wrote: »
    Ahhh Jesus Christ Daz, go and have a fukking drink or something will ye (a joint would be better), "the dealers are eating our babies! Cannabis funds paedofilia!!!!" chill out, it's the weekend.

Thanks, but I'm a very normal person. I'm not some complete straight-edge Christian or anything. But I am very anti-drugs and anyone who tries to justify consumption/production/sale/etc of illegal and harmful narcotics does not deserve to be lauded and called something of a hero.

I've seen far too many lives pulled apart by a dependence upon cannabis (or at the very least complete and habitual use) to be in any way lenient on this subject.

I'm in no way elitist (people from all walks of life use drugs, cannabis in particular) and I've no problem with those that do use drugs. It is those who would profit from their production and sale that I do have a problem with. This ''Hemperor'' may have been a very nice bloke, but he was a drug dealer at the back of it. No different from any of them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

My thoughts exactly

Thanks, but I'm a very normal person. I'm not some complete straight-edge Christian or anything. But I am very anti-drugs and anyone who tries to justify consumption/production/sale/etc of illegal and harmful narcotics does not deserve to be lauded and called something of a hero.

I've seen far too many lives pulled apart by a dependence upon cannabis (or at the very least complete and habitual use) to be in any way lenient on this subject.

I'm in no way elitist (people from all walks of life use drugs, cannabis in particular) and I've no problem with those that do use drugs. It is those who would profit from their production and sale that I do have a problem with. This ''Hemperor'' may have been a very nice bloke, but he was a drug dealer at the back of it. No different from any of them.

He wasn't a drug dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

If this wasn't AH and hadn't been done to death already I could have sworn the above was a very good troll. :(

True story: I once passed out in a coffeeshop in Amsterdam after smoking some Jack Herrer. I was by myself and checking emails before I went onto the hostel. That was pretty embarrassing. :/

The elitist remark wasn't aimed at you Daz. It was directed at the "every person living in a certain area is a degenerate with no ambition", arson approver.

I understand your position and I don't think it's baseless. But I'd take issue with the "No different from any of them" remark. Not all priests are child molesters, not all politicians are corrupt, not all used car salesmen are liers, not all Gardai are complete assholes and not all drug users/dealers are scumbags who murder people and have no conscience. Nothing is that black and white. The world is shades of grey.

My thoughts exactly

You obviously missed the fact that I was joking.

My bad...:o

But I don't think there is any justification for drug dealing. Sorry, there are several groups of people I find loathesome and consider to be akin to the well worn phrase "scum of the earth"... Paedophiles and drug dealers would be two groups of people who fall into that category in my eyes.

Sorry if this offends some people but by engaging in drug dealing of any kind, you are buying substances that the bigger drug dealers use to fund other activities (buying 'harder' drugs, purchasing weapons etc.).

There is no positive to drug dealing, and anyone who advocates it or engages in it or tries to excuse it... I don't think very highly of them. I don't think that is elitist. I don't care who you are. If you engage in drug dealing in any shape or form, I do not want to know you.

That's just my opinion. Sorry if it sounds draconian (it probably is) but that's just the way I feel about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

c[_] <-- Empty carecup!

Sorry if this offends some people but by engaging in drug dealing of any kind, you are buying substances that the bigger drug dealers use to fund other activities (buying 'harder' drugs, purchasing weapons etc.).
    You seem to have a cartoon version of what cannabis users and dealers are, are you a daily mail reader? I buy weed off people that like growing it, not international gun slinging, mustache wearing villains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Fallen Buckshot

ScumLord wrote: »
    You seem to have a cartoon version of what cannabis users and dealers are, are you a daily mail reader? I buy weed off people that like growing it, not international gun slinging, mustache wearing villains.

yep imo no worse than buying other herbs shame on those basil and rosemary growers !

BTW he whispered to me on his deathbead that i should be the new Hemperor

Long Live Hemperor Buckshot !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

s.Sorry if this offends some people but by engaging in drug dealing of any kind, you are buying substances that the bigger drug dealers use to fund other activities (buying 'harder' drugs, purchasing weapons etc.).

hmmm says a man with declaring himself a Chelsea football club supporter :pac:

did you ever take a closer look at Mr.Abramovich's shady dealings in the past?

i.e the Aluminum wars in which more than 100 people are believed to have been killed in gangland feuds

I do not read the Daily Mail, I am not a criminal... I'm loving the rush to judgement.

The only reason I am so vitriolic about this is because I have seen friends of mine have their lives torn apart by use of cannabis.

And it is a fact that many drug dealers use cannabis to fund other activities.

Again, I apologise if my views seem extreme, but if you saw what has happened to people I love and care about, you would feel the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If they cremate him, everybody within a ten mile radius will be as high as a kite for a week.

I do not read the Daily Mail, I am not a criminal... I'm loving the rush to judgement.

The only reason I am so vitriolic about this is because I have seen friends of mine have their lives torn apart by use of cannabis.

And it is a fact that many drug dealers use cannabis to fund other activities.

Again, I apologise if my views seem extreme, but if you saw what has happened to people I love and care about, you would feel the same way.

I have friends that have destroyed thier lives with drugs. I don't feel the same way as you. You play with fire, you might get burned. I have huge sympathy for them and for your friends, but no one held them down and force fed them the drugs.

That's their own fault, I have yet to meet someone who's had their life torn apart from smoking weed.

strobe wrote: »
    I have friends that have destroyed thier lives with drugs. I don't feel the same way as you. You play with fire, you might get burned. I have huge sympathy for them and for your friends, but no one held them down and force fed them the drugs.

if they do/have done every drug in the book you can hardly blame cannibis

and the whole gateway thing is bs thats like saying drinking milk or water leads to drinking beer/wine/spirits

if they do/have done every drug in the book you can hardly blame cannibis

and the whole gateway thing is bs thats like saying drinking milk or water leads to drinking beer/wine/spirits

I didn't even mention cannabis. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

I lost a dear one to heart disease caused by obesity. The person genuinely couldn't stop eating chocolate and high fat foods. Should we ban chocolate because it helped cause her death?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

R.I.P

Roll in Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

LOL. What type of weed were these cats smoking/Injecting :rolleyes:

Not posting in here again, you'll all be sorry to hear I'm sure...

Last word:

But the people I know literally spent every penny they had on weed/cannabis/etc... Some ended up in prison for possession. Some cannot go a day without a joint because they are so in need of it.

Say what you will; cannabis is not as harmless as people make it out to be.

addictive personalitys lead to this... could be food drink etc if you just have to have it you will seek it exclusively be it legal or illegal

But the people I know literally spent every penny they had on drink/booze/etc... Some ended up in prison for drunk and disorderly. Some cannot go a day without a drink because they are so in need of it.

Say what you will; alcohol is not as harmless as people make it out to be.

I hear ya man. Work is the curse of the drinking class.

Not posting in here again, you'll all be sorry to hear I'm sure...

Last word:

But the people I know literally spent every penny they had on weed/cannabis/etc... Some ended up in prison for possession. Some cannot go a day without a joint because they are so in need of it.

Say what you will; cannabis is not as harmless as people make it out to be.

I have friends that spent every penny on hookers, some were even sent to jail for possession of one. The lads couldn’t go a day without one. I know... ban sex!

My point is that all your above reasons for weed being "evil" is not because of the drug itself.
    1. Your friends must have a serious addictive personality, as ive never come across anyone with the kind of addiction to weed you’re talking about.
    2. The fact that’s illegal got him sent down. Anyway how much weed was he caught with to get sent to prison?

Do you have the same stance on drink?

I hear ya man. Work is the curse of the drinking class.

Was doing the same thing... but with sex as an example....... ah well too late to edit my bad comparison