Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC Undisputed 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

I want this to be good, but after the let down of 1st one I'll be holding off till I see the reviews and feedback on it. For me the game just wasn't as fun to play as it was to watch a UFC :confused: Also it had a feeling of a smackdown game reskined, with the same fiddley controls.

The EA mma game is due soon too, be interesting to see what they do with that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

calex71 wrote: »
    I want this to be good, but after the let down of 1st one I'll be holding off till I see the reviews and feedback on it. For me the game just wasn't as fun to play as it was to watch a UFC :confused: Also it had a feeling of a smackdown game reskined, with the same fiddley controls.

The EA mma game is due soon too, be interesting to see what they do with that.

After the inital few weeks I kind of felt the same way especially with the career mode (at least you can change weight classes this year woot!) and the online gameplay which took them ages to only half fix. But it wont stop me from getting my hopes up here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

PS3 version has some exclusive content. Would have gotten the 360 version if it wasn't for the fact Jens Pulver is one of the exclusive PS3 fighters.

Hope they put in Catchweight fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

rizzla wrote: »
    PS3 version has some exclusive content. Would have gotten the 360 version if it wasn't for the fact Jens Pulver is one of the exclusive PS3 fighters.

Hope they put in Catchweight fights.

catchweight for the win Jens Vs Brock

But yeah you have all these fighters, and they were restricted to weight classes, when the fact was this is a game and people want to do that kind of thing in a game :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

Just watched the vid, still disappointed they aren't using TUF tv show in the career, would've been a great story element.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I was looking forward to the improvements in the Career Mode....... until i see your default trainer is Marc bleedin' Laimon!

Edit: Dana's Video Blog! Lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Denners

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I was looking forward to the improvements in the Career Mode....... until i see your default trainer is Marc bleedin' Laimon!

Edit: Dana's Video Blog! Lol!

Ya i was genuinely dissappointed with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,958 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Can't wait for this. PS3 has Royce Gracie. I'm pretty sure I heard he would be in EA but i'm sure EA would want to secure rights to all fighters who aren't inthe UFC.

I love the Dana Rant about EA. Got the below from Wiki

UFC president Dana White has declared himself "at war" with EA over the development of the EA Sports MMA video game. White assumed that he initially wanted EA to develop UFC 2009 Undisputed and remarks "EA Sports told us, 'You're not a real sport. We wouldn't touch this thing. We want nothing to do with this.'" "We put our asses on the line, THQ and the UFC, to make a video-game deal in the worst economy in the world," White told reporters recently. "We go out there and do this thing, and it's successful, and now [expletive] EA Sports wants to do a video game.[13]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Didnt know that this game is out so soon (28th May)

Read another thing that sounds class:
    Fights can end in TKO due to injury or cuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

The only question left is......is Ireland in it this year????? Yes UFC, IRELAND! One of only a handful of countries in which you've ever actually run a show! We exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

This game needs Tom Egan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

J-Fit wrote: »
    The only question left is......is Ireland in it this year????? Yes UFC, IRELAND! One of only a handful of countries in which you've ever actually run a show! We exist!

I dont think so because I watched one of the Gametrailers videos about CAF and I saw the list of countries and Ireland wasn't there. Pretty annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Dublin, Georgia FTW!

For UFC 2009, I just picked Italy as home country, closest thing to the Irish flag hanging behind you at the start of a fight. Green shorts and a few celtic tattoos and you're sorted!

Huge news!!!

Demo is bening released this Thursday but only to registered members of the UFC Undisputed Community.

PM me with your e-mail address and I will send you an invite to the community.

Here is the update on the site:

The moment you've all been waiting for is almost here! The UFC Undisputed 2010 playable demo for PSN and Xbox Live will be released this THURSDAY, APRIL 29TH, and as a member of the UFC Undisputed Community, YOU WILL HAVE EXCLUSIVE FIRST ACCESS TO DOWNLOAD IT FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY.
    Featuring 4 Light Heavyweight Fighters -- Mauricio "Shogun" Rua, Lyoto "The Dragon" Machida, "Sugar" Rashad Evans and Quinton "Rampage" Jackson, the demo will allow you to jump right into Exhibition Mode or challenge friends offline with Tournament Mode.
    The Demo will be available for you to download in the Community AT NO COST TO YOU beginning this Thursday, April 29th but will be limited to ONE CODE PER PERSON for either Xbox Live or PSN.
    PLEASE NOTE THAT IN ORDER TO GET YOUR FREE CODE TO DOWNLOAD THE DEMO, YOU MUST HAVE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION ENTERED INTO YOUR PROFILE:
    * State
    * Country

In order to edit your Profile information, click on your Username on the top right corner of the Community, then click the "Edit Account" tab and add this information before Thursday so you don't miss out.
    Keep your eyes right here for exact details on how to download your FREE CODE to receive the demo starting this Thursday. And be sure to tell all your friends to join the UFC Undisputed Community so they can also have a chance to be the first to play!

Class vid up now on gamespot with Bruce buffer, Frank Mir and 2 THQ guys testing the game!!!

Frank talks briefly about wanting to fight the Spider and what GSP did wrong (kinda) against Hardy.

http://www.gamespot.com/shows/today-on-the-spot/

Just got into work and the codes are live!!!!!!!!!!!

Just sign in and go to the rewards section!!! got my code but have to wait another 12 hours to finish work and play it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Niall0

Played it this morning, looks pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,608 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Better be more flash submissions and less flash KOs.

Most annoying thing about 09 was the fact that your opponent had to be practically on oxygen from exhaustion before you could finish a sub, every other fight was a straight KO, and it was extremely rare to see someone knocked down, rocked and pounded out for the ref stoppage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭SuperWoody101

Downloading the PS3 demo now. :D

Is it released for the general public now or still just the "Undisputed community"?

Think its being released to general public next thursday. You can still sign up now tho.

I heard you can't hit anyone after KOing them anymore. Can anyone confirm this. Loved doing this to my friends in 09

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Think its being released to general public next thursday. You can still sign up now tho.

I heard you can't hit anyone after KOing them anymore. Can anyone confirm this. Loved doing this to my friends in 09

I have not done it yet.

You mean hit them after they're rocked? You never could hit them after a KO, it cut straight to a shot of them spinning and falling. If you knocked them down you could follow up and hit them. Can't see that being removed, that would kinda make it not MMA anymore.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    You mean hit them after they're rocked? You never could hit them after a KO, it cut straight to a shot of them spinning and falling. If you knocked them down you could follow up and hit them. Can't see that being removed, that would kinda make it not MMA anymore.

You could with GnP. After there KO'd, you could get in 3 or 4 more hits. Yes it is looked down upon but it still happens in MMA. They want to make sure the fight is finished so will keep hitting until ref stops it. I disagree with it in real life except for the Hendo Bomb on Bisping but its always a laugh in the game

You could with GnP.

Ah right, I get you now.

Yeah would be silly to take it out, just have the refs jumping in a lot quicker. It's not like there can be any uncertainty over whether the fighter is definitely out.

Ah right, I get you now.

Yeah would be silly to take it out, just have the refs jumping in a lot quicker. It's not like there can be any uncertainty over whether the fighter is definitely out.

Yes you can hit them after they are out, but you can only get in one or two before the ref jumps in.

Game is much more fluid then last year. Completely different matches when I was playing as different fighters. The graphics are excellent, especially on rampage and rashad, couldn't believe the realism of the sweat and blood!

They can stop the fight for a cut....

Ya, ive seend the ref stopping it but then saying the cut was okay and to continue. I've heard the fight can get stopped altogether as well tho, class! Better this year when you get a TKO, the ref will jump in and push you off instead of just waving his hands

Ya that happend to me, the doc came in and said it was ok to fight one, but I gave him a few more jabs and the ref stops it again, calls in the doc again and the doc stops it.

That sounds class! Do you know how to do the little push to get space? (not push away from the clinch. Happened to me a few times where machida gave me a little push when I got close with elbows.

Heard there's also cage walking to reverse ground transitions.

That sounds class! Do you know how to do the little push to get space? (not push away from the clinch. Happened to me a few times where machida gave me a little push when I got close with elbows.

Heard there's also cage walking to reverse ground transitions.

That happend to me aswell but I dont know how to do it. There is an ACTION LIST menu when you pause the game. I will have to watch the tutorial when the full game comes out.

Ya, couldn't find it in the action list (couldn't find the sway move either, had to figure it out)

I remember last year, I would take a guy down, work into Full mount in no time and finish the fight. Much harder to do that this year, much better imo.

Ya, couldn't find it in the action list (couldn't find the sway move either, had to figure it out)

I remember last year, I would take a guy down, work into Full mount in no time and finish the fight. Much harder to do that this year, much better imo.

I was just saying that to a friend of mine (That was the only way he could win in the last game) man I can't wait for the full game to come out, have to have a few friends over and a few beers and have some fun playing the game.

Ya, exactly! Thats all it came down to, who could get into the full mount first or who ever had the better sub skill would just make the other tap. This is a much more dynamic game. Ya the tournaments for getting the lads around should be a right laugh!!

Ahh I see you are from Limerick, Same as myself, do you play on Xbox 360 or PS3?

I play on PS3, could never use those gammy xbox controllers!

For those who have played it, what's the craic with flash KOs and submissions?

Last year it was far too easy to get a KO, not enough TKOs by ref stoppage and ridiculously hard to get a submission.

For those who have played it, what's the craic with flash KOs and submissions?

Last year it was far too easy to get a KO, not enough TKOs by ref stoppage and ridiculously hard to get a submission.

Someone in a different forum put it perfectly when they said it is too easy to flash KO and makes the fighters bleed "no one is defending themselves properly and if you took a clean unguarded haymaker or high kick, you would be bleeding and KO'd too"

Don't play it on easy. I'm on experienced at the moment but will move it up soon. The fights are way more entertaining. Although, As soon as Machida gets me in a sub its over! I spose you just have to be careful not to be caught in any ground positions with him.

How about the subs then? In 09 it was pretty much impossible to sub anyone unless their stamina was completely empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭gloryutd

Subs weren't as hard as your making out in 2009 tbh. You could get them on first try easily if your fighter had 115 for subs from career.

I find them harder in this one, they're not in typical stages anymore really.

It favours the gung ho fighter even more so than in 2009, which is the opposite of what they were going for. If you go out to jab and leg kick etc you'll eventually get caught with something and it will ko you. If you go gung ho it's really easy to ko the ai.

Getting more used to it the more I play it but I'm a little disappointed tbh. I did play 2009 a lot though, still play it more than anything else.

gloryutd wrote: »
    Subs weren't as hard as your making out in 2009 tbh. You could get them on first try easily if your fighter had 115 for subs from career.

I must just be crap then. My second career all I tried to upgrade was subs, still by the end of my career it was a beast to try and sub anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I hate Evans in this Demo.Constant fcuking takedowns!
    ....actually I hate takedowns in real life too.....maybe its just me

Ya, last year if you had bad sub defense and the opponent had good sub offense, you were screwed but I guess thats how it is in real life. Fighting Big Nog, you are gonna do your best to stay off the ground for a reason, same applies here.

Its easy to counter the gungho type. They 'telegraph' their punches and kicks, easy to catch and have at your mercy. Other then that just keep your guard up and sway a lot. The takedowns are lethal this year, much quicker.

Problem is at the moment, everyone wants to finish the fight in the first fight with a flying kick and wonder how they are bleeding so quickly from being constantly hit with jabs when they are trying their huge kick.

ps. I finished Rashad with a scissors kick last night (dunno the name, fake kick right but kick with left) and it was delicious!

I must just be crap then. My second career all I tried to upgrade was subs, still by the end of my career it was a beast to try and sub anyone.

It might be my technique, I dunno. I've not seen anyone else play the game in person so I might be doing something completely different. I spin the right stick (PS3) , but to do it I place my palm on it and spin it that way.

gloryutd wrote: »
    It might be my technique, I dunno. I've not seen anyone else play the game in person so I might be doing something completely different. I spin the right stick (PS3) , but to do it I place my palm on it and spin it that way.

I could only picture using my palm for the shine. I just hate the feeling that the right stick could break off at any second. Devs even said they got loads of reports of broken right sticks because of the shine and my 50 quid dual shock is worth more than getting out of a sub.

Played it today. Few little things that make it great are 1, Buffer 180. 2, Camera change when you GnP in full mount. 3, Jump kicks, Bicycle Kicks. 4, Slams are easier 5, Cut stoppages 6, Clinch seems a lot better.
    I think it's a big improvement on the potential 2009 had.

Yeah clinch is great. Dirty boxing up against the cage is nice, too. They don't block well in clinches though. Very easy to just clinch and uppercut them to death, especially up against the cage. This was a problem on 2009 too though.

Yeah I like the way you can push /be pushed against the cage.